The Letter X + Queer Graphic Novels + Teenage Blogger Central

Three things have been on my mind lately, and I wanted to share them with you!

-~-

I’m only three letters away from completing the A B See Photo Challenge… but I don’t have any ideas for the next post! Do you have any suggestions for a theme beginning with the letter X?

P.S. I’d prefer suggestions forΒ broad themes, if possible. I mean, sure, xylophone starts with X, but… I’m not taking five pictures of xylophones because that would be boring!

-~-

Does anyone know of some good graphic novels with LGBTQ+ characters and/or themes? I know that Marvel Comics has some good stories in that genre, and I’ll certainly look for them at the library, but what others have you read and enjoyed?

I’m asking because I really like reading graphic novels but… where are all the queer characters?! I haven’t found any so far, and it makes me disappointed.

-~-

The other day, I found a website called Teenage Blogger Central and it is SUPER AWESOME. It’s basically a directory of blogs written by teens, and as long as you meet the age requirements, you can add your blog to the list. And that list is looooong – my blog ended up being #264!

Anyway, I just wanted to let you know that I really like the site and thought some of my readers might as well. It’s fun to scroll through the lists and stumble across wonderful blogs that I wouldn’t have otherwise found. Also, I’m really loving all the variety in those blogs. Some have a definite theme; others are more like mine, and talk about anything and everything.

Go check it out!

-~-

I, um, don’t really know how to end this post, so… have a nice day? And I’d really appreciate it if you answered the questions I asked in this post!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Letter X + Queer Graphic Novels + Teenage Blogger Central

  1. Julia says:

    I remember liking Drama by Raina Telgemeier… A couple of the main characters are gay and that’s sort of a theme throughout the book, but it wasn’t like the fact that they were gay was taking over the entire plot, which I really liked. But I can’t think of any others.

  2. F says:

    Thanks very much for mentioning TBC, I see there are 2 new people in the last hour alone!
    πŸ™‚

  3. Fiona says:

    The Runaways comics are really awesome. They have at least two queer characters (a lesbian alien who’s probably one of my favorite characters ever and a genderfluid Skrull) and amazing writing.

    The Young Avengers are great too (NOBODY is straight and it’s wonderful).

  4. Mo says:

    Hmm, I know of a couple online comics with queer characters, but no graphic novels. There are a couple comics in The Letter Q (actually I really liked Paige Braddock’s), but beyond that, I don’t know… The representation in Drama was just sort of… eh.

    Maybe you could do “X marks the spot” and take pictures of anything that makes an x-shape? Or lots of crossed things, like railroad tracks or intersections or something?

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, I’ve read You + Me = Dream, or whatever that one was called. Princess Princess is online, too right? I should try that one as well.

      Meh. Darn.

      Yeah, I’ve considered that… well, thanks for the vote for that option! πŸ™‚

      • Mo says:

        I haven’t heard of that one, but Princess Princess is fantastic (and right here). Or read this chapter of Gunnerkrigg Court.

        …I’m just bad at naming things that start with X. xD

    • nevillegirl says:

      *squeals like the geeky gay girl that she is* Thank you for the links! πŸ˜€

      I’ve been dreading this letter’s theme for a while… xD

  5. Sorry, I don’t read graphic novels…I did love Drama, but that was mentioned above. XD
    X-ray (just had one done of my back for skuliouses–it looks so cool!), Xenophelius Lovegood (:D), xylophone (sorry!)…That’s all I know. maybe you could do something creative with Scrabble letter x’s? Or “xoxo”?

  6. Drama is a pretty good book with a bunch of side characters/MCs that were gay or bi…it was really good. πŸ™‚ Oh, and here’s a link for words starting with the letter x: http://words-that-start-with-x.worddetector.com/p/x*/

  7. Greyhound005 says:

    For X, maybe you could photograph anything as long as it comes in quantities of ten or above? Because 10 is X in Roman numerals? Sorry, I had something else that might have been better but I forgot.

    Love the blog, by the way!

  8. Pingback: Senior Year Saturday: My First Week In Review | Musings From Neville's Navel

  9. Pingback: Reading The Rainbow: Drama | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

