Senior Year Saturday: My First Week In Review

senior year saturdayWelcome to Senior Year Saturday, my newest regular feature! Essentially, I talk about any and all things related to my final year of high school, from homework and extracurriculars to updates on college planning and thoughts on graduation. And more! (Such as that dreaded feeling known as “senioritis.”) Enjoy!

So I know I said earlier that I wouldn’t post Senior Year Saturday stuff each and every week – and that’s still true. Even if if seems otherwise, because look! Another SYS post just a week after the first!

But that’s only because I have a lot of ideas at the moment…

Anyway. I thought it might be fun to look at what I did during my first week back at school. Again, this won’t be a weekly thing, but the first week is always kind of weird, so why not talk about it? Here are some of the things I did, both academic and nonacademic.

  • On Monday, I blogged about my last first day of school.
  • My mom took a photo of me on my “last first day” and I realized that twelfth-grade!me is really not that much taller than kindergarten!me.
  • I became overly excited about my astronomy class because star stuff is really really really cool.
  • That evening, I saw the Doctor Who premiere at the movie theater and it was incredibly geeky – I hadn’t seen that many people dressed in costumes since Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows‘ opening days a few years ago.
  • On Tuesday, I attended my first Spanish 201 class.
  • I already feel like Hermione Granger in that class because when the teacher asks questions, I’m one of the few students who raises their hand and is almost always right
  • But at the same time, I’m slightly terrified that as time goes on I won’t do so well in that subject because CONJUGATING IS HARD.
  • I read and analyzed “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” and “The Devil and Tom Walker” by Washington Irving and… neither one was nearly as boring as I’d expected?
  • Also on Tuesday: I asked if any of my fellow Whovian bloggers would like to co-write reviews of the series eight episodes and YOU PEOPLE ARE AMAZING – I didn’t expect so many responses! I now have people to review each and every episode with me! Thanks!
  • Finally, on Tuesday night my brother and I co-wrote a review of the first Doctor Who episode and it was so much fun! I didn’t think Quentin would even agree because writing isn’t usually his thing, but he did and it was a ton of fun and now I want to write something with him again.
  • I watched six half-hour economics lectures in two days and that subject is… also not as boring as I thought it would be. Yay?
  • On Wednesday I blogged about, among other things, the A B See Photo Challenge – I needed suggestions for the letter X. Well, my readers were very helpful, so thank you once again! I chose a theme (X Marks The Spot) and am currently in the process of taking photos for that post.
  • On Thursday, I rejoiced in the fact that I have to attend a college class (Spanish 201) only two days a week – my brother attends class four days a week. Eugh.
  • I am very glad that this year, finding my classroom was easy. In years past I’ve gotten kind of lost… I’m directionally challenged.
  • I also freaked out a bit that day because HOLY COW I AM A SENIOR NOW WHEN DID THAT EVEN HAPPEN?!
  • [Insert studious Engie noises here (“Hmm…”) as I completed nearly all of that week’s assignments by Thursday]
  • Oh, and on Thursday I also posted that c0-review of “Deep Breath” (…and unlike with the links above, I’m posting this one here just to see if I can get more comments on that post because I WANT TO FANGIRL WITH YOU but only three people have commented!).
  • On Friday, I did the only assignment I had left, the one I’d been putting off all week: statistics. And it actually wasn’t as boring as I’d thought. (I’m noticing a pattern here; how about you?) My stat textbook is kind of fun to read, really.
  • I blogged about seven books I’d read lately.
  • To end the week, my family had a picnic at the beach that ended much earlier than expected because it started raining.
  • I realized that adjusting to the school year’s schedule will take some time – after I finished my 4-H projects and my part-time summer job ended, there was very little for me to do. I spent most of August either reading or writing. I wish I could keep doing that ALL THE TIME, but I can’t, because school. So. I need to work on being motivated.
  • And last but not least: I know I said this earlier, but I just wanted to remind you that this post-a-day thing ends September first. I’d love to blog more, but to do so would be to neglect my schoolwork…

What did you do this week?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Senior Year Saturday: My First Week In Review

  1. Mom says:

    “What did you do this week?”

    I took a call from Engie who panicked when she couldn’t start the car and was going to be late for her college Spanish class. 😛

  2. Miriam Joy says:

    Now you should watch the TV show Sleepy Hollow. You could probably fit in the first series before it comes back in about three weeks’ time? 😉

    Last week I wasn’t at home, so I did lots of interesting things. This week, on the other hand, is shaping up to mostly involve watching Buffy. For several hours each day. Because I have no life.

  3. Pingback: Senior Year Saturday: Year’s End & A Wrap-Up | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

