Top Ten Characters Who Would Be At My Lunch Table

Hello! Today I’m linking up over at The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday. The latest prompt is: “top ten book characters who would sit at your lunch table at school.”

I’ll get to the list in just a second, but first I would like to say two things.

1. I haven’t sat at a lunch table with anyone in nearly ten years, since I stopped going to public school at the end of second grade. This makes me feel weird.

2. …on the other hand, maybe I have – unless only real people count here. I often read while eating (which isn’t quite the same thing as eating while reading), so I suppose I have fictional characters at my lunch table everyday, in a matter of speaking. I usually read the newspaper during breakfast, read a few chapters from a book during lunch, and eat dinner with my family whilst wishing I had a book in my hands.

Anyway.

Time for my list.

1. Cameron from The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth

Because she’s smart and sarcastic and I feel like we have a lot in common. We would probably point out all the cute girls in the cafeteria to one another and end up being too shy to even say hi to any of them.


2. Johanna Mason from the Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

 dramaramaI think Johanna would be the biggest troublemaker in this group, and that’s saying something because nearly everyone listed here is rebellious to some degree. She’s bright enough to be at the top of all her classes, but I feel like she’d always be in trouble with the teachers for making smart-aleck remarks.
…she would be an awesome, amusing friend.


3. Sadye from Dramarama by E. Lockhart

She has a good sense of humor and she’s smart and creative and kind of a nerd. We would have excellent conversations.

4. Arya Stark from the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin

Let’s just say that if anyone were to start a food fight, it would be Arya.

5. Tiffany Aching from the Discworld novels by Terry Pratchett

Although she’s one of the youngest members of this group (along with Arya), I think she’d probably help the rest of us with our homework. I mean, she’s read the entire dictionary. (…but she’s not that great at pronunciation. Like me, actually.) Plus, she’s very sensible.

6. Frankie from The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart

Frankie would plan epic pranks for us to carry out, and the two of us could geek out about books we’ve read lately.

7. Cath from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I need a quiet person on this list, to balance things out. Cath and I would have a BLAST
together, constantly talking about our favorite books and analyzing our favorite characters. We might even write stories together!fangirl

8. Ruby from the Ruby Oliver series by E. Lockhart

Ruby reminds me of myself. She’s a massive nerd who stresses out over silly little things and is quite fond of making lists. Her demeanor is similar to mine, too – sometimes she’s quiet, but sometimes she just DOESN’T SHUT UP.

9. Blue Sargent from the Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater

BLUE! Blue is cool. I can’t decide whether I want to be like her or be her girlfriend. Maybe both? I just really admire her. She can be quiet at times, but she’s not afraid to say what she really thinks.

10. Grover Underwood from the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan

Because he would eat any and all empty soda cans after the rest of us finished our lunch.

Just kidding. I mean, yeah, he would eat them, because that’s just what satyrs do. But he’s also a really nice dude. I wish he were in the Heroes of Olympus books. I miss him.

-~-

Aaaaand for the record, I would like to state that if I could A) pick an eleventh member for this top ten list who was B) far too old to attend school, it would be Gandalf. He would tell very interesting stories, I’m sure. Alas, alas, this isn’t a top eleven list.

-~-

Before I began my list, I made a few short observations. Now that I’ve finished my list, I’d like to make a few more.

  • I really, really like E. Lockhart’s books. I’ve read nearly all of them! And I will post a review of her latest work, We Were Liars, sometime later this week. (Spoiler: It’s the only one I don’t like, though. Blergh.)
  • I like people who have a good sense of humor, especially if it leans towards sarcasm. This is probably due to my parents. They both have an excellent sense of humor so I guess I just expect the same from other people.
  • I don’t have many boy friends. Do I have any? I’m not sure. They might be just acquaintances. None of the boys I know are interesting… fictional guys are better but even then, this list is ninety percent female.

-~-

Which characters would sit at your lunch table? And what do you think of my selections?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Top Ten Characters Who Would Be At My Lunch Table

  1. Mo says:

    I’m not actually that familiar with many of these characters.

    I’m not sure who would be at my lunch table–mine would probably be a mix of gay ladies, people from musicals who never stop singing, and then people who are way cooler than I am.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Which ones are you familiar with? I’m curious.

      Pffft, that sounds like a lovely combination. But no one is cooler than you are.

      • Mo says:

        Uh… *squints* Cam, Cath, Johanna, Blue, and possibly Ruby? I think I read the first in her series. A quick Googling says I did. I mean, I’ve heard of most of these characters before, but I really only *know* Cam and Cath, tbh.

        I should ponder this and come up with an actual list. Really? I’d say I’m very hot.

    • nevillegirl says:

      You need to read Dramarama then. 😀 (I mean, the other books are good too, but Dramarama is one of my favorites.)

      I’d like to see it! 🙂

      But are you hotter than Venus? It’s 800+ degrees Fahrenheit. *makes noises of astronomy geekery*

  2. Cait says:

    I haven’t ever sat at a lunch table. I mean, I was in school when I was 7 but we sat at a bench and not at able anyway. *shrugs* But CATH YES OH YES CATH! I would have her at my lunch table. But, to be strictly honest, I would only have Cath, because I’m the kind of person who doesn’t do well in crowds. 10 friends at once? I would probably be hiding under the table even though they’re all awesome. 😉

    • nevillegirl says:

      Honestly, I would probably never ever ever sit at a lunch table with ALL of these characters. I might eat lunch with a few of them at a time, and at some point that would add up to all of them, but… that’s a lot of people for this introvert to handle at once. O_o

  3. (Nods) Grover is a good choice for clearing litter. Funny you should mention him, though, when I just finished The Titan’s Curse yesterday. But seriously, I’d like Grover at the lunch table, as well as Nico. And then let’s see … I would really like to meet Eowyn but I would be rather intimidated and probably not able to eat lunch properly. I’d also like to meet someone from my own story (Meron, because I really like him as a friend)! Finally, I’d have Cress because we both have a wild imagination.

  4. Johanna Mason- a perfect, sarcastic crazy addition to any lunch table. 😛
    Cath I would totally want too. And Grover. Can I just come visit your lunch table? 🙂

  5. themagicviolinist says:

    I have a few boy friends, but they’re usually either much younger or much older than me, which isn’t generally a “problem,” but they do have their own group of friends that they tend to hang out with. Luckily, my girl friends aren’t the girly-girl-drama-queen-“OMG-THAT-BOY-IS-SO-CUTE” type, so it’s not a big deal. 😉

    Cath! Yes! I would so hang out with Cath. I would add Hermione, Hazel, and Ellie to this list (from Harry Potter, The Fault In Our Stars, and the Ellie Sweet series, respectively).

    • nevillegirl says:

      I know like maybe three boys (not counting the ones at work, and I barely talk to them even there xD), and I’m not very well acquainted with them, so… *shrugs* I guess I don’t know very many interesting boys.

      I try to make friends with girls who are more like “OMG-THAT-BOOK-IS-SO-AWESOME.”

      I’m really glad that I thought of Cath. I need quieter friends, not just sarcastic ones…

  6. bookworm445 says:

    Probably…
    1. Blue Sargent (of course. She’s awesome!)
    2. Cinder
    3. Cress
    4. Hermione Granger
    5. Luna Lovegood
    6. I don’t know… maybe Celaena Sardothien
    7. Valkyrie Cain
    8. Greta from Greta and the Goblin King
    9. Penryn from Penryn and the End of Days
    and finally:
    10. errr probably Kat from Heist Society or Cammie from Gallagher Girls

    (Have you noticed that I would sit and talk about books with an assassin-fey-princess?)

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

