DOCTOR WHO Series Eight Review: “Robot Of Sherwood” (Co-written With Star @ The Place The Universe Forgot)

Hello there! It’s time for another co-written Doctor Who series eight review. This time I’m discussing “Robot of Sherwood” with Star over at The Place The Universe Forgot. She’s pretty cool. She kind of reminds me of little!Engie.

This discussion’s format is similar to the one Miriam Joy and I used to talk about “Into the Dalek.” Actually, it’s the same exact format. Because… I don’t know. Because why not? There’ll be different styles of review later on, don’t worry.

Now it’s time for a quick bio-thingy provided by Star, and then the review itself!

P.S. You can find previous collaborative reviews here.

-~-

Star is a multi-fandom little weirdo who spends most of the her free, non-Internet time either writing stories about witches and destruction, or rereading Harry Potter for the seventy-third time. She still hopes that Jack Harkness will return to Doctor Who, for however short a time. You can find her irregularly updated blog at The Place The Universe Forgot.

-~-

Warning: Spoilers ahead, sweetie!

-~-

“What did you think about Twelve in this episode?”

Star: Well, personally, I like him. I didn’t really think I would like him all that much originally, and, although I started out disliking him in his first episode, I’ve grown to enjoy him. No one will ever replace Nine, of course, but still… he’s very… eccentric, I guess.

Engie: [Makes happy noises because NINE]

Star: I especially loved his obsession with how Robin Hood absolutely, definitely, probably couldn’t be real, and the part where he was taking bits of the Merry Men and examining them. (When he told that poor fellow that he only had six months to live, I laughed. Cruel, but still hilarious.) So, all in all, I liked him in this episode, and I probably will for the rest of his career. He’s interesting, kind of bratty, an awful person, yet endearing.

Engie: Oh, I totally agree. It was so much fun to watch Twelve – he’s hilarious, but is trying so hard to be Such A Serious Doctor. He’s not exactly like Nine, and I didn’t want him to be exactly the same anyway, but he’s just reminiscent enough to make me happy.

“And what did you think about Clara?”

Star: Ooh, you’ve really opened up the floodgates now. Right, so, my love for Clara was dwindling during the hiatus between season seven and season eight. It was dying, collapsing, rotting away. But “Deep Breath” alighted the fires once more, and although this episode didn’t exactly fuel the flames, it kept it burning.

Engie: Ha ha, my love for Clara died very quickly, just after “The Snowmen.” (Victorian!Clara is the BEST version, in my opinion.) So I spent series 7b being pretty disappointed. But I like her more now in series eight, and I liked her in this episode. And I liked her dress. She looked like a princess! An adorable princess!

Star: Is it just me, or is it really cute that her hero is Robin Hood? ‘Cause he’s not exactly stereotypical hero material, he’s a thief with a heart of gold (oh, clichés), and that’s the (apparently fictional) man she idolizes. But that’s mainly about Robin, so let’s focus on Clara.

Engie: Yes, let’s.

Star: Clara was glorious in this episode. The whole part where she kind of seduced that guy (what was his name?) was really great. I kind of wish she wouldn’t be reduced to someone that everyone flirts with every episode, but unfortunately, given that Moffat is the writer, we won’t get a good Clara for a while.

 Engie: Most of Moffat’s female characters, companions and others, are like ninety percent flirtation and ten percent actual character development.

“What did you think about the interaction between Twelve and Robin Hood?”

Star: Although I didn’t focus much on their interactions, their banter – especially in the prison cell – was hilarious. I kind of wish it had turned out that Robin was a robot, though, because I feel like that would’ve made it infinitely sadder. And Twelve would’ve been a bit sad about the whole thing. I don’t know…

Engie: Oh my gosh, that banter in the cell. And their archery competition (shown in the video above) was so funny too! They tried to one-up each other throughout the whole episode… but not in an “I’m mad that you like Clara romantically” way. I hate plots that are just about guys fighting over girls. Like, get a life! Instead Twelve was just determined to prove that Robin was just a guy pretending to be the legend, and who would mess up because he wasn’t real.

“What is your favorite quote from the episode?”

Star: Personally, my favorite would have to be…

 TWELVE: “I have no sword! I don’t need a sword, for I am the Doctor, and this is my spoon! En garde!”

Engie: Ha ha, nice. My favorite is…

TWELVE: “I’m not a hero.”

ROBIN HOOD: “Well, neither am I. But if we both keep pretending to be, perhaps others will be heroes in our name. Perhaps we will both be stories. And may those stories never end.”

“So overall, did you like this episode?”

Star: Oh, yes! It wasn’t the most brilliant thing I’ve ever seen, but I did enjoy it. Not as much as I may have enjoyed it if it were a bit less light-hearted, but… still. Sometimes you need that little bit of humor instead of endless torrents of sadness, although I definitely wouldn’t object to the latter.

Engie: Me, too. “Robot of Sherwood” was ridiculous, but in a good way, a funny way, not in a “why am I wasting my time watching this?” way. The episode was worth it for the TARDIS’ bookshelves alone. I WANT THEM. Anyway. It was a decent episode. Better than what I expected!

“And last but not least, who do you think Missy is?

Star: THIS IS GOING TO BUG ME UNTIL WE FIND OUT. I have no idea. Clearly, she knows the Doctor personally, maybe even romantically, and she’s more than a bit weird. But it’s only episode three, so hey, we have plenty of time until Moffat gives us the answer to this.

Engie: I’ve given up trying to figure out who Missy could be, honestly. We’ll just have to wait and see…

-~-

What is YOUR opinion on “Robot of Sherwood?” I’d love to know!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to DOCTOR WHO Series Eight Review: “Robot Of Sherwood” (Co-written With Star @ The Place The Universe Forgot)

  1. matttblack42 says:

    I thought this was the weakest episode of the season so far. It was still enjoyable; I just prefer my Doctor Who darker and a bit more serious, and this episode wasn’t.

    For the first time (maybe ever), I thought Clara was the strongest part of this episode, from her geeking out over Robin Hood and then getting the villain to reveal his plan, and of course her reaction to the whole bantering in the cell scene. My favorite quote from this episode would probably be Clara’s “The Doctor and Robin Hood locked up in a cell, is this seriously the best you can do?”

    I also forgot the villain’s name. 😦

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, same here. But for a silly episode (and there’s always at least one REALLY silly ep per series), it was nice. Like I said above, it was funny, and not something that made me go, “why am I even watching this?”

      Clara was awesome in this episode. 🙂 She’s starting to remind me of Donna… she doesn’t let the Doctor boss her around anymore!

      Did he even have a name? I didn’t catch it. He barely featured in the episode, tbh.

      • matttblack42 says:

        Yeah I agree with the Donna/Clara comparison. I just hope Clara gets a happier ending.

        I think he was referred to as The Sheriff, but I don’t know if his actual name was said.

        (Also, did you see Listen yet? TBH I hope we end up with completely different opinions on the episode, cause I feel like that would lead to an even more interesting review.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Well, yeah. Of course. 🙂

      Oh, right. That would make sense… the Sheriff of Nottingham.

      (No, I haven’t yet but I’m going to tonight. What did you think of it (without mentioning any spoilers)? I’ve heard that it’s REALLY good.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      I LOVED the beginning of “Listen,” with Rupert. It was terrifying, and I totally checked under my bed that night. Because there could be monsters there. xD
      But I thought the non-Rupert storylines weren’t quite as strong. Not as terrifying… I like it when Moffat turns something completely ordinary and relatable into something terrifying. As in, monsters under the bed. Not monsters in outer space.

  2. Alexandrina Brant says:

    Awesome, you two!
    Can’t wait to see what you thought of Listen!

  3. Pingback: “Doctor Who” Series Eight Recap: Reviews + Thank You + Lists + Analyses | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

