First Reactions To The “Mockingjay: Part One” Film Trailer

It’s time for one of my favoritest types of posts! I love to write up my reactions to various film trailers… and the trailer for Mockingjay: Part One was released just two days ago. I’M SO EXCITED! I’ve been impatiently waiting for this film ever since the credits rolled at the end of Catching Fire almost one year ago. I LOVED Mockingjay-the-book (sometimes I feel like one of the few people who did) and I am so ready to see the story onscreen.

P.S. You can find my earlier film trailer reactions here.

Warning: Spoilers ahead, so read/watch at your own risk!

0:11 – Is that District 13?!

0:17 – See, this is one of the reasons I loved Mockingjay: We were finally able to see the full effects of Katniss’ participation in the Games. She has PTSD and she’s under a lot of pressure from all sides… so of course she’s not going to be Little-Miss-Sunshine. I thought Suzanne Collins was actually very realistic in her portrayal of Katniss during the last book. And if you disagree with that, then I’ll just laugh at you and ask how well you would react if your friends and family members were killed off one by one. Sheesh.

0:19 – PRIM! I regret every moment I used to hate her. Prim. Little butt-kicking nurse Prim.

0:23 – I really shouldn’t love President Snow’s voice as much as I do, because he’s evil and all that, but it’s glorious. His actor should record audiobooks or somethng.

0:32 – OH MY GOD OH MY GOD IT’S THE INSIDE OF DISTRICT THIRTEEN!

0:34 – Beetee! [High-fives him]

0:37 – I’m interested to see the changes in Effie, that’s for sure.

0:40 – The only part of this movie that I am not looking forward to is Gale. Go away, please.

0:45 – Ooh, it’s Katniss’ battle-outfit-thingy! I’ve been wondering what the movie’s version would look like.

0:52 – [Makes sad Engie noises] Peeta! Nooooooo!

0:56 – Haymitch looks so not-fierce in a fuzzy hat.

0:57 – Oh my god. I thought Caesar Flickerman’s suits couldn’t get any weirder, but this new one is, um… interesting.

1:05 – You tell them, Katniss! You go, girl!

1:06 – I DON’T WANT TO WAIT EVEN JUST TWO MORE MONTHS FOR THIS MOVIE.

1:11 – Finnick, don’t do the sad-face-thing. Because it makes me feel like I need to hug you, and there aren’t enough hugs in the world to help you.

1:14 – OMG OMG OMG. Natalie Dormer! I have a huuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuge crush on her. (It’s a major crush, so I feel justified in using all those Us.) She’s on Game of Thrones and she was in the first Captain America movie and also in some other things I want to watch, such as Elementary. She’ll play Cressida in Mockingjay, and I don’t even care that she has such a tiny role because… she is awesome. (I have a feeling that when we go see the movie my friends will be all, “Peeta! Gale! Finnick!” and I’ll just be like, “Cressida!” and they’ll just ask, “Um…. who?) I literally squealed with glee when I found out she was going to be in the movie.

1:17 – Well, this is certainly a change from the Games. And I’m looking forward to it – Catching Fire felt too much like a repeat of the first book. Now war isn’t just a game. It’s real.

1:20 – Did they rappel down anything in the book? I don’t remember this scene. But it looks cool, so it’s all good.

1:25 – I don’t recall this exploding-dam scene either, but whoa.

1:27 – And here we see a sad Katniss in the rain.

1:35 – I AM SO READY TO SEE THIS MOVIE.

So. That was a pretty awesome trailer, wasn’t it? I’m looking forward to so much: Katniss kicking butt, Finnick gaining more depth and character development, Cressida, a look at places other than District 12 and the arenas, et cetera.

During the rest of the year I always feel like I’m such a moderate fan of anything and everything Hunger Games… and then a new trailer comes out and this happens. This fangirling. I love the books, and the film adaptations thus far have been amazingly good and accurate to the original stories. So I have high hopes for this latest movie, too. I can’t wait to see it!

What do you think of the trailer for Mockingjay: Part One?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to First Reactions To The “Mockingjay: Part One” Film Trailer

  1. As you probably know, I’m not a fan of THG. I liked the first book, the second was “meh,” and the only reason I read the third was to say that I’d read the series.
    I haven’t seen the movies, but I’ve heard that they’re better than the books. And this trailer makes me want to:
    a) Reread the books to give them a second chance
    b) Watch the movies
    So maybe I will!

    • nevillegirl says:

      I wasn’t aware that you disliked THG, actually. 😛 But honestly, I didn’t like it much either – a few years ago. I actually read the first book before it became a “thing” that everyone was reading, and once I’d finished it I was just like, “….so?”
      But I changed my mind. Eventually. I’m not saying that you definitely will too, but it’s amazing how a few years (and some awesome book-to-movie adaptations) can change one’s mind.

      THG’s movies are one of the few book-to-movie series where I think you could just watch the movies instead of reading the books. I mean, the books are good too, but I don’t think you’d need to worry about not understanding the story if you only watched the movies, or barely remember the plot of the books in the first place.

      Thanks for reading and commenting! I’m currently reading your post from today about rethinking THG. 🙂

  2. Cait says:

    OMG I AM FANGIRLING INSANELY WRITE NOW. BECAUSE AFJDSLAKFDSA FINALLY!!!! It took forever to release this trailer. What did they want to do?! Torment us. (Yes, yes, they did.) Seeing Effie without all her Capitol clothes was sad. I mean the whole movie is going to be freaking sad. My older sister reckons they’re going to change it hugely since they’re splitting it into two movies, but I don’t care. I don’t CARE if it’s different from the book BECAUSE I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THE CHARACTERS AND I WILL TAKE MORE OF THEM IF I CAN.

    Haymitch’s hat though.

    Tears for Peeta. And I completely agree with your comment on :40. Btw. I LOVE THESE POSTS.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I know, right? I was able to do the trailer reaction post for CF in, like, March 2013 because they released that trailer so much earlier. O_o

      *nodnod* It’s going to be sooooo sad. Although not as sad as the last movie… *shudders*

      Thanks! I love writing them. 🙂

  3. Mo says:

    *cheers* To be honest, I wasn’t a huge fan of Mockingjay–I thought it was pretty good, but I didn’t like it, if that makes sense. But the trailer looks really good.

    I think my main (new) reaction to the trailer is wow, Katniss is wearing even less make up. I mean, it makes sense, but I wasn’t really expecting it.

  4. Okay, I don’t like THG, but I will admit that is one epic trailer. I think I’d have enjoyed the plot a lot more if it had more of Mockingjay elements – full of conspiracies and proper battle-war stuff.

  5. I. AM. SO. EXCITED! Is it wrong for a 38-year-old woman to fangirl over a movie? Too late! I loved the books. I adore the movies. And even the minor changes don’t bother me too much. And hubby said the same thing about the dam scene! I literally tear up and get chills every time I see the trailer. This is what I want to write. Something that makes your heart just burst inside you with the FEELS! November can’t come soon enough. And considering I hate winter, that’s saying something!

    • nevillegirl says:

      I. AM. TOO! And I don’t think it’s weird for you to fangirl… like what you like, and if something makes you happy, then be the most fangirlish person you know!

      Me, too. I want to make people have FEELS with my writerlyness.

  6. Reblogged this on Jennifer Austin – Author and commented:
    Being pretty busy right now, I don’t have time to blog my feelings on the new Mockingjay trailer, so I’ll let Neville Girl do it for me! I CAN’T WAIT!

  7. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up #3 | Free As a Girl With Wings

  8. themagicviolinist says:

    OMG so excited for this movie!!! 😀 But I totally agree with you about Gale. He just gets on my nerves. Every single one of them. He’s too jealous, too angry, and has zero chemistry with Katniss. N-O-N-E.

    Prim! 😥 *sniffles* I’m excited to see her do more in “Mockingjay,” but dreading the big kaboom. Another reason to hate Gale. Wasn’t he in charge of that whole operation?

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, he just rubbed me the wrong way. And I didn’t think he was the right person for Katniss, either.

      Well, I’m hoping that the Prim scene will happen in Part Two! *worried face*

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

