The To-Be-Read Tag + The Book Blogger Confession Tag

Good afternoon, minions and readers-of-mine! This Friday, I’m going to take part in not one but two blog tags about books. This morning, Cait @ Notebook Sisters tagged me in a to-be-read tag, and yesterday Sabrina Wolfheart @ Books and Bark tagged me in a book blogger confession tag. Thanks, guys!

First up is…

The To-Be-Read Tag

1. How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

…what do you mean by that? I don’t, really. I just add books to my Goodreads to-read list whenever I wish, and I have stacks and stacks of books just laying around my room waiting to be read.

Seriously, one group takes up most of the bottom shelf of one of my bookshelves, another is stacked on top of another bookshelf, and the third is right next to my bed. Sometimes I trip over them when getting out of bed. Oh, the things I do for books.

2. Is your TBR mostly print books or ebooks?

Honestly, I only read ebooks if I A) don’t have any print books handy at the moment or B) a particular story only exists as an ebook. So my list is mostly comprised of print books.

3. How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

It depends on a few factors, some of which are more shallow than others:

  • What books have to go back to the library first (I am the Queen of Overdue Books and Late Fines)
  • Which books are shiniest and newest
  • Which books I’ve been looking forward to the longest
  • Which books have pretty covers
  • Which books have been recommended to me by oodles of friends (so that I can say, “I finally read it! Are you happy now?!”)

4. A book that’s been on your TBR the longest?

I have no idea. I’m not sure that Goodreads adds books to my to-read list in the same order that I added them – they seem all mixed up – but I think it’s The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.

5. A book you recently added to your TBR?

I’m going to make this question more interesting and list the ten most-recently-added books! (In reverse order, so that the first is the most recent.) I read a lot of different genres, so I thought it would be neat to see which ones recently made it onto my to-read list.

  1. Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare (fantasy)huntress
  2. Pink by Lili Wilkinson (contemporary, romance, LGBTQ+)
  3. Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith (dystopian, LGBTQ+)
  4. The Kill Order by James Dashner (dystopian)
  5. The First Part Last by Angela Johnson (contemporary)
  6. The Hunt for Red October by Tom Clancy (thriller, mystery, adult)
  7. Doctor Who: The Clockwise Man by Justin Richards (science fiction – NINE!)
  8. Doctor Who: The Crawling Terror by Mike Tucker (science fiction – Twelve!)
  9. Doctor Who: Silhouette by Justin Richards (science fiction – Twelve!)
  10. Hoot by Carl Hiaasen (contemporary)

6. A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover?

Huntress by Malinda Lo… pretty girls! With SWORDS!

7. A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading?

I Am The Messenger by Markus Zusak, honestly. I tried to read it about, oh, five or six years ago? And it was really dull. But everyone keeps telling me I have to read it.

8. An unpublished book in your TBR that you’re excited for?

17378508There are four I’m super-excited for, actually:

  1. The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan (Publication date: October 7, 2014)
  2. Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater (October 21, 2014)
  3. Winter by Marissa Meyer (November 24, 2015)
  4. The Winds of Winter by George R.R. Martin (Who even knows? “When the sun rises in the west and sets in the east,” perhaps.)

9. A book in your TBR that everyone recommends to you?

Looking For Alaska by John Green, maybe? Bleh. (It’s one of the books I added just so that I could someday say that I’ve read it.)

10. Number of books in your TBR?

Are you ready for it? You should probably sit down if you’re not already, just so that you don’t fall down from shock after seeing how large my list is.

Anyway.

…four hundred and eighty-seven!

-~-

I’m tagging:

-~-

The Book Blogger Confession Tag

Which book did you recently not finish?

we were liarsI almost always finish my books, but… one that I came close to not finishing was E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars. I couldn’t stand it.

Which book is your guilty pleasure?

Currently, it’s Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard. The plot and writing style are sooooooo simple, but the story is fun.

Which book do you love to hate?

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green! It’s one of the worst, most-sloppily-written books I’ve ever read. People generally yell at me for saying that, because it has a huuuuuge and very vocal fanbase.

Which book would you throw into the sea?

I don’t like The Fault in Our Stars, but I wouldn’t throw even that book. Books don’t deserve to be thrown into the sea!

Which book have you read the most?

Um. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling, I think? But I haven’t reread it in years.

Which book would you hate to receive as a present?

…have I mentioned The Fault in Our Stars too much already? No? Well, then. That book. I can totally see how a well-meaning relative who knows I love books would buy me that book for Christmas or my birthday, because after all it is one of the most famous YA stories of all time.

Which book could you not live without?

Kiki Strike: Inside the Shadow City by Kirsten Miller, because it is an amazing and escapist story.

Which book made you the angriest?

Um. I don’t know? The Death Cure by James Dashner, maybe, because it had SO MANY DEATHS and I was SO SAD.

the fault in our starsWhich book made you cry the most?

All of the (as-yet-published) books in George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series, and The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth. Tears, people. TEARS.

Which book cover do you hate the most?

I know I haven’t been very nice to The Fault in Our Stars today, but… seriously. Its cover looks like plain old clip art. I like minimalist covers, just… not that minimalist.

-~-

I’m tagging:

-~-

And as always: Feel free to answer these questions on your own blog, even if I didn’t tag you!

P.S. What books are you reading at the moment? And what will you read after them?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to The To-Be-Read Tag + The Book Blogger Confession Tag

  1. Mo says:

    Pfft, these all seem like you. I have to say, I don’t keep a huge TBR pile around–maybe five or six books in the house that sort of linger until they have to go back or I decide, “You know what? I’m bored. I give up.” And I’ve been thinking about making a GoodReads account sometime soon, to have a better list of books I’ve read and want to read.

    I read Grasshopper Jungle a couple months ago, and I have to say I wasn’t impressed. I thought it was going to be more sci-fi-y and more about giant grasshoppers. Instead it essentially was about a guy being confused as to why pretty much everything turns him on. And grasshopper sex.

    I just finished a book called The Inventor’s Secret by Andrea Cremer, because a friend was going on and on about how great it was, but my reaction was just sort of meh. It was steampunky, but not very well used steampunk. And it was also pretty similar to The Hunger Games–Girl is unsatisfied with her life, she and friends go to Important City, Girl is presented as a Lady, but wait–there’s a rebellion. And also two hot guys to choose from.
    I’m in the middle of Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo, which isn’t spectacular tbh, but it’s quite enjoyable. Yeah, it’s a girl-has-special-powers, must-be-trained-to-use-them book, but what I like is that it’s Russian-inspired fantasy, which you don’t see a lot.
    I’m also in the middle of a couple DW novels. And I read La Gallina Degollada for my Spanish class (it’s a short, Poe-like story). And… other stuff for school.

    • Mo says:

      Oops, apparently I didn’t end the italics part. Sorry.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’m really looking forward to those DW novels, although I have no idea when I’ll be able to read them. I don’t think my library has them, and… well, they’ll probably be FUN to read, but IDK if they’re worth my money to BUY so that I can read them. Idk.
      You /should/ join Goodreads. It’s very cool. 🙂

      Oh. Darn. Well. Hopefully grasshopper sex doesn’t turn him on as well? Because that would be weird. O_o

      Shadow and Bone is on my to-read list. 🙂
      (Ooh, which DW novels?)

      • Mo says:

        I think it depends on the novel… I own The Bodysnatchers and Earthworld and if I had the choice, I would probably only own The Bodysnatchers. As Ace said, it’s a little bit similar to Deep Breath and it’s pretty well written to boot.
        Yeah, it’s more about parental permission and then actually doing it.

        …I forget, but… I dunno. Maybe. It wasn’t really great.

        I finished it! 😀 It was good. I place a hold on the next one.
        (Shada–though I’ve seen the serial, The Wheel of Ice–I think it’s Two and Jamie, Bullet Time with Sarah Jane and Seven which seems interesting but isn’t well written, and Hunter’s Moon with Eleven and the Ponds.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      I should read The Bodysnatchers, then. 🙂
      Ah, right. Well. Maybe they would be more inclined to give you permission if they knew that GR automatically sets its under-18 user’s profiles to private? (Like… I would’ve linked to my massive TBR list in this post but there’s no point since only people who are already my friends there can see it. 😛 But that’ll change in a few days!)

      Pffft. That really sucks, though. I’d been looking forward to it. I might just read it ’cause this one friend keeps pestering me to…

      Ooh, yay. Btw, have you read Only Human? It’s about Nine + Rose, and it’s supposed to be good. 🙂

      • Mo says:

        Yeah, you’d like it. And Sam.
        Probably. IDK. I’ll let you know, though.

        Unfortunately I haven’t read Only Human. I’ve only read the ones I mentioned above and they’re about all that my library has.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Oh. Hmmm. I think my library mostly has stuff about Eleven, Rory, & Amy? So I’m not even sure that I want to read those stories.

  2. I AM SQUEALING SO BAD RIGHT NOW BECAUSE I FINALLY GOT MY HANDS ON THE LUNAR CHRONICLES AND AM HALFWAY THROUGH CINDER, IT IS SO GOOD I WANT TO GOBBLE IT UP WHOLE. 😀

  3. 487? Well, I *am* surprised! I really shouldn’t be but I am such a not-bookworm in comparison.

  4. Cait says:

    Blue Lily, Lily Blue…yessss I NEED IT IN MY LIFE. I’m not trying to wish the year away or anything, but I could really handle another Stiefver book right about…now. Hehe. My TBR is very out of control, as you know, but it’s mostly virtual! It’s not like I have 700 books to read right. now. I just WANT those 700 books to read. hehe. Because I’m deluded into thinking I can read them all. BUT YOU NEVER KNOW TILL YOU TRY.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I know, right? I should go read Stiefvater’s earlier books since I have 6 left of them left (the entire Wolves of Mercy Falls series, plus Lament and Ballad) buuuuut I want to read more about Gansey and Ronan and all the rest! Like right now! :/

      I bet you CAN read them all… although by the time you’ve gotten through all of them you’ll have probably added another 700 books to that list! 😛

      • bookworm445 says:

        I originally had ‘The Raven Boys’ in Ebook form, and ‘The Dream Thieves’ in Hardcover, but now also have ‘The Raven Boys’ in Paperback and cannot wait until Blue Lily, Lily Blue comes out! 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      I want BL,LB NOW. Unfortunately I still have to wait several more months…. xD

  5. Aww thanks for the tag 😀

    I didn’t really find TFiOS sloppily written persay, but the characters were just SO PRETENTIOUS for 17-year-olds that it just wasn’t realistic. Plus, a girl with stage IV terminal cancer can’t travel overseas to Holland, okay?!? And neither can a boy who dies two months later. I actually like the cover, strangely. 😛

    Hm, I’ve heard good things about Lockhart’s books (not G. Lockhart, E. Lockhart 😛 *HP nerd alert*), except for We Were Liars. I want to read some of them, though. Gosh, I have to read Kiki Strike…

    AND WINTER AHFSOHSDSJKS although I shouldn’t talk because I’ve banned myself from Cress until November. 😦

    Thanks for the tag! 😀 Ahahahha…. I don’t even think my Goodreads profile could keep track of all the books I want to read. 😛

    • nevillegirl says:

      You’re welcome. 🙂

      They were INCREDIBLY pretentious… and it sucks because people excuse it by saying, “Well, FINALLY we have smart YA characters!” Um. No. It’s possible to be smart, even precocious, without being an utter stuck-up jerk about it.

      E. Lockhart is amazing. ❤ ❤

  6. themagicviolinist says:

    My room used to be a mess before I got a bookshelf. My dog would get stuck under my bed because of the amount of books that were under there, the books on my headboard would topple on top of me in the middle of the night (and let me just say hardbacks = ouch), and every corner was piled high with books.

    Being a volunteer at my library means I don’t get late fees 😉 #Score

    Whaaaaat, I didn’t realize I had to wait that long for Winter! 😦 Darn. Now I have two things to look forward to in late 2015 . . .

    I never get sick of reading Harry Potter. Ever. And PoA is a good one. 🙂

    Right now I’m reading Hoot (okay so far), Where Angels Fear to Tread (meh), To Kill a Mockingbird (LOVING it), Paper Towns (good), The Krillitane Storm (a little weird, but good overall, especially considering I’m not a huge fan-fiction person), Please Ignore Vera Dietz (not into it enough to form a valid opinion), Because of Mr. Terupt (a cute Wonder-esque MG book), Shatter Me (loving the writing style), and Compulsion (also not into it enough).

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahaha, my room is a bookish mess even with my… 11? bookshelves! 😛

      I’m jealous! Maybe I should volunteer at my library and save myself some money… 🙂

      Yeah, I thought Winter was out in February 2015. I guess not, though. 😦

      I’ve never read any of those books, unless you count To Kill a Mockingbird, and I didn’t finish that one.

  7. bookworm445 says:

    Sorry for being (probably) frustrating, but you have 487? I have 977. Thats like, 490 more books than you. How many do you have on your ‘read’ list?

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahaha, it’s not frustrating. I’m sure there are plenty of people who have more TBR books than I do. 🙂
      I have… *checks* 182, but I also haven’t added many of the books I read before getting an account on Goodreads. (I’ve really only been active on there since December of last year.)

      • bookworm445 says:

        Really? You don’t find it rude or frustrating or something that I said that?
        Same here. Only joined Goodreads this year and I found it last year. One of the reasons I have read like 400 books but only have 288 on my read list. 🙂 BTW, have you seen my blog? I just wrote a prologue to a book I’m going to write and posted it there. You may like it 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      Nah…

      I’ll check out your blog! 🙂

  8. Pingback: Passive Intentions To Read | Miriam Joy Writes

  9. matttblack42 says:

    I liked TFioS, but I agree about the cover. With the exception of Paper Towns (the version with the map on it), I don’t think any of his book covers are good.

    Anyhoo, thanks for nominating me. I think I’ll do all the tags I’ve been nominated for recently in one big post.

  10. Pingback: Book Blogger Tag | Miss Alexandrina

  11. Pingback: Outside the Box of Reading | Kate's Bookshelf

  12. Pingback: My Lovely and Long TBR (A Tag) | Books and Bark

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

