Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2014 – Books, College, OneRepublic, And More!

Hey, everyone! Today is the last day of summer (s0b!) so it’s time for another quarterly rewind. Where did this season go?!

Anyway. This post covers the time from June twenty-first through September twenty-first. And as always, the idea of a quarterly rewind is not mine – the credit for that goes to Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner.

P.S. You can find earlier quarterly rewinds here, if you’re interested.

Image From This Summer

DSCN3996

Taken in mid-June at the Vietnam Wall in Washington, D.C.

Favorite Quote From A Book I Read This Summer

“We are not youth any longer. We don’t want to take the world by storm. We are fleeing. We fly from ourselves. From our life. We were eighteen and had begun to love life and the world, and we had to shoot it to pieces.”

All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque

A single quote can’t possibly do this beautiful book justice; in order to really show you how great this classic is, I’d have to quote the whole book. So instead I’m just going to tell you: READ IT.

This Summer In One Word

Busy.

Most Popular Review This Summer

Strangely enough, that would be my review of We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. I gave it only two-point-five out of five stars… but evidently a lot of people read it, even the ones who I know for a fact love it.

Top Two Books I Read This Summer

  1. The Eternal Ones by Kirsten Miller is AMAZING and basically everything I’ve ever read by her has been awesome. She’s not a very-well-known author, but I wish she were. Also, I need to review this book. I read it in… July, I think? And I still haven’t talked about it. I HAVE A DESPERATE NEED TO FANGIRL OVER IT.
  2. Many of my bloggy friends spent the past few YEARS trying to convince me to read Good Omens by Terry Prachett and Neil Gaiman. Well, I finally did. And it was sooooo funny and well worth reading.

Two Things I’m Looking Forward To This Fall

  1. Movies, honestly. Book-to-movie adaptations, to be more specific. Such as The Maze Runner and Mockingjay: Part One and The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies.
  2. My future university’s housing applications open in October (see below for more specific news about college) and I’m anxious to see who I’ll have for a roommate. Hopefully someone who is not too annoying? And who is also a nerd?

Three New Obsessions This Summer

  1. The Piano Guys! They’re two musicians who post amazingly BEAUTIFUL videos on YouTube. They write some of their own stuff, but my favorites are the pieces where they combine classical music with a modern song. My favorite video from their channel is discussed in one of the lists below.
  2. Everyone Is Gay! It’s basically an LGBTQ+ advice website-thingy, and the two ladies who run it are sooooo funny and friendly and just… you should go check it out. It makes me laugh. It makes me smile. (Random side note: Cait. Hey, CAIT. If you’re reading this post – that website reminds me of your blog. Its writing style, I mean. Very casual and fun.)
  3. James Dashner’s Maze Runner series! I have yet to read the prequel, The Kill Order. But I can’t wait to!

Most Popular Five Blog Posts Overall This Summer

  1. I loved writing Amy & Rory; Kissing For Science; And Time-Traveling, Crime-Fighting, Interspecies Lesbians and I guess my readers loved it too!
  2. A Recap Of Pride 2014 discussed the LGBTQ+ blog posts I wrote in June.
  3. In Fifty-Five Questions About Books And Reading, I discussed… you guessed it. Books and reading! And I noticed that a lot of my readers later answered those questions on their own blogs – it was fun to read all your posts!
  4. Doctor Who Series Eight Review: “Deep Breath” (Co-written With My Brother) was a hit, evidently. OH HOW I ENJOYED WATCHING THAT EPISODE. And writing that post, too, of course.
  5. In Collaborative Reviews Of Doctor Who, Series Eight + In The Forest Of Titles And Theories, I listed a bunch of wild predictions about possible happenings in each episode. And I was spot-on with my guess about “Listen,” so that makes me happy.

Five Posts I Loved On Other Blogs This Summer

  1. Cait @ Notebook Sisters made me giggle a lot with her post 28 Reasons Why Being A Bookworm Actually Sucks.
  2. Alex @ The Afictionado always writes well intriguing fandom-analysis posts anyway, and I love them even more when they’re about one of my favorite authors… so Fairies, Aliens, Bisexuals, And Other Fantastic Creatures: Alex Reads Malinda Lo was a recent favorite of mine.
  3. Sabrina Wolfheart @ Books and Bark is one of my most recent awesome-blogger discoveries, and I loved her post called What Professor McGonagall Taught Me.
  4. Emily @ The Loony Teen Writer made a list of 12 Places To Put Your Books (When You Run Out Of Shelf Space). Have you ever put books on your cat? She does. Apparently.
  5. Aaaaaaand now we transition from the silly to the serious! Miriam Joy @ Miriam Joy Writes compared current events such as Ferguson to the currently popular genre of YA dystopia in Our Reality Is Dystopia.

Five Things That Happened This Summer

  1. I applied to my top-choice college, the University of Iowa, and was accepted shortly thereafter! So I’ll be going there next fall. I’M SO EXCITED! I plan to double-major in Creative Writing and Journalism, with a minor in Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies.
  2. I had a part-time summer job during the county fair, and now I really appreciate all the work that is necessary for the event to function smoothly. I’d never spent so many days in a row – ten – at the fair before!
  3. My family went on a road trip to Utah. I took lots of pictures (so many I needed not one but two posts to show you my favorites) and read lots of books (nine in eight days – a new record for me).
  4. I completed my goal of reading one hundred books in 2014. I just finished my one hundred and eighth, in fact.
  5. I proposed the idea of collaborative Doctor Who reviews and have been surprised at how well that’s worked out. I’d been worried that someone would drop out at the last minute and I’d have to scramble to find someone to co-write with me! Well, that hasn’t happened so far and I have my fingers crossed that it won’t. It’s been so much fun!

Six Songs That I Listened To Far Too Often This Summer

1. “Beethoven’s Five Secrets” – The Piano Guys

THIS SONG. IT IS GLORIOUS. It’s a combination of Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony and OneRepublic’s “Secrets.” It’s an unlikely combination, I know, but don’t doubt it. The two songs are perfect together.

2. “Fix You” – Coldplay

I used to dislike this song. Can you believe that?! The beginning still isn’t my favorite, I’ll admit, but when the tempo and volume pick up it’s WONDERFUL. It always cheers me up!

3. “Ordinary Human” (The Giver) – OneRepublic

This song is spectacular… and it almost makes up for the suckiness of this adaptation. I love love love the lyrics, the beat, the way the singer sounds every-so-slightly angry, the… everything about this song, really.

4. “If I Lose Myself” – OneRepublic

I’ve been on a big OneRepublic kick lately. (As you probably already suspected.) This song just makes me feel… happy. Other OneRepublic songs I have enjoyed lately include:

5. “One” – U2

Oh my god! This song! It’s beautiful. U2 and Coldplay are probably tied for my favorite bands, to be honest.

6. “Amy’s Theme” (Doctor Who, series five) – Murray Gold

Music is powerful stuff. Case in point: I LOATHE Amy. But this piece gives me ALL THE FEELINGS.

What did you enjoy most on my blog this summer? And what have you done during these past few months?

P.S. This is the last post by technically-still-a-child-Engie! Tomorrow I shall be an ADULT. Scary, right?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2014 – Books, College, OneRepublic, And More!

  1. Miriam Joy says:

    “Fix You” makes me cry and then it makes me angry that it made me cry because it’s SO OVERUSED but it works for EVERY OTP ANYONE IN THE WORLD HAS EVER HAD and I just can’t even deal with it. ARGH. Pretty sure it’s on at least two of my novel playlists…

    • nevillegirl says:

      It IS overused, but it’s wonderful. 🙂 It makes me cry, too. And so does “Beethoven’s Five Secrets”… because it’s so pretty.
      (….wait yes it does work for any otp. *is currently listening to it and having feels about NINE AND ROSE*)

  2. F says:

    Happy almost-birthday, and congratulations on getting into college! I just thought I’d say that every time I read your blog I add at least one new book to my TBR list. Great post!
    🙂

  3. moosha23 says:

    Yes, oh my gosh, YOU NEED TO READ MORE TERRY PRATCHETT! He is an amazing writer (well so is Gaiman, but Pratchett is the best in the fantasy genre in my opinion)…he’s just really wacky, and all of his books have this underlying meaning to it…it’s absolutely awesome!

    And I’m a big fan of onerepublic and coldplay too! Thanks for introducing me to The Piano Guys and Ordinary Human – it sounds brilliant.

    Happy 18th birthday! (The prospect of being an adult is (hopefully) not as daunting as it sounds…you’re going to your top-choice university (and what you’re studying sounds pretty awesome too…)!

    (And yes, I’m also sobbing that summer is over. But here in London the sun’s very hot…we’ve even had a few thunderstorms our way…as well as the typical British day of everything-at-once. (Yes, sun, rain, thunder, and hail stones…sigh. British weather is very annoying.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’ve read probably eight or ten Pratchett books so far. 🙂 Haven’t read much by Gaiman, though – only Good Omens and The Graveyard Book. (Which I adored.)

      I am in love with those songs. 😛

      Thank you!

      (Ehehe, everything-at-once weather?)

  4. Cait says:

    CAIT IS READING THIS. (She almost always does, right? Such a stalker. Send her away.) *ahem* Yes, I’ve finished talking about myself in 3rd. BUT ANYWAY. I would give my condolences for you losing summer buuut….I GET IT NOW! *enjoys not wearing 32 million layers* Summer! YES!
    I really like One Republic too! I hadn’t heard that one with the Giver soundtrack yet. It is awesome. 😉 Counting Stars is probably my favourite but I really like Love Runs Out.
    Yaaaay for The Maze Runner! I probably won’t see it in cinemas, so I’m thinking of reading book #2 to appease myself while I wait. 😉 LIBRARY HERE I COME.
    Alright off I go to check out that site….

    • nevillegirl says:

      AND ENGIE IS RESPONDING TO CAIT. 😛
      Yay for Aussie summer!

      I used to be kind of meh about that band, but all of a sudden I really love it. ^-^

      Aw, poor Cait. The movie looks awesome… haven’t seen it yet, though. But I’m going to tomorrow!

  5. This is my first time commenting here and it’s a long time coming, because I always see you popping up on my blog! So I’ve finally subscribed. Since it’s school holidays I actually have time to read everyone’s wonderful blogs. There is a LOT of awesome stuff here!!! You listen to great music. Just sayin’. I love the Piano Guys 😀

    Oh, and good luck for college, that sounds exciting!!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Hey, Emily! It’s nice to see you here! 🙂 (And thanks for subscribing!)

      Ahaha, thanks! I listen to pretty much all kinds of music…

      Thank you! It seems rather daunting, and yet… I’m also anxious to JUST GO ALREADY and see what it’s like!

  6. Happy birthday! Also, I can’t believe summer is over *boohoo* I don’t know what you’re going by, but I’m back at uni now officially (though, technically, I don’t start lectures ’til next week, but still…), so that ties in well. Love that Beethoven/OneRepublic cross. I’m listening to it as I type this comment 😀

  7. Nirvana says:

    *quickly clicks all links*

    Ack! I’m looking forward to Mockingjay and The Maze Runner SO MUCH. I read it about a month ago, and the start failed to really suck me into it’s world (I didn’t like Thomas. I have no idea why 😀 Just, one minute he’s moping)
    BUTTT…THE ENDING WAS AMAZING! It made me take away some of the utterly horrible things I was about to say about it 😛

    I’ve only read the Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, but I think I might give it a try *scribbles onto TBR*
    AND ONE REPUBLIC HAS BEAUTIFUL SONGS – Escpecially Counting Stars…
    (On a truly random note, i notice I did’nt comment much on your blog. Even though, Iike, I stalk your every post *smiles sheepishly* BUT, I’ve stopped lurking now :P)

  8. themagicviolinist says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY AGAIN! 🙂

    Oh my gosh, I LOVE OneRepublic! 🙂 “Counting Stars” was probably the biggest inspiration to me when I was writing Flightless Birds.

    Ooh, The Piano Guys are good. I loved their cover of “Story of My Life.” So pretty!

    The “Doctor Who” reviews are some of my new favorite posts by you. 🙂 I’m really excited to do ours!

  9. Speaking of Maze Runner, please tell me you’re planning on watching the movie because I just did and wow.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I saw it on my birthday! IT WAS SO AMAZING OMG I CANNOT EVEN.
      …it’s definitely one of the best book-to-movie adaptation I’ve seen, EVER.

      • OH MY GOD I KNOW RIGHT. It’s so great and they did such a good job and I am soooo happy with it. Also, y’know, there’s the part where the film stuck to canon for once and didn’t try to force a terrible romantic subplot on us. But yes, I approve. I approve a lot.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, I know! 😀 I was so happy that they didn’t try to insert anything romantic into the film. I’M SO EXCITED FOR THE SCORCH TRIALS IT’LL BE OUT NEXT SEPTEMBER. 😀

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

