20 Things You Might Not Know About Me

I was recently tagged for this blog meme by Cait @ Notebook Sisters! Thanks, Cait!

So. This tag has twenty questions, asking me to tell things that you probably don’t know about me. But we’ll just have to see about that! Whether you’d like to know me better or you’re trying to see how well you know me by predicting my answers, read on!

P.S. You can find Cait’s version of this tag here.

1. How tall are you?

As my mom says, “Exactly tall enough to reach from the top of your head down to the ground.” Whatever that means. She’s kind of weird…

Anyway, I am a whopping five foot ZERO. I am by far the shortest person in my family – the next tallest, my mother, is eight inches taller.

Meanwhile, my younger brother – who is the tallest in our family – is about six foot two and growing. People call us Tall One and Small One.

2. Do you have a hidden talent? If so, what?

I have many hidden talents. Whether or not they are actually useful remains to be seen…

  • Being messy
  • Eating quite a bit of the chocolate chip cookie dough before it’s been baked
  • Hugging people
  • Reading 322% faster than the average human being
  • Having bad hair days
  • Losing pencils (this has been my least favorite part of the new school year thus far)

3. What’s your biggest blog-related pet peeve?

Bloggers who don’t interact with their readers/subscribers/commenters, I guess. People, I want to TALK to you! It’s always disappointing when I leave a comment on someone’s blog and they don’t even bother to reply to it, let alone leave a comment on my own blog.

4. What’s your biggest non-blog-related peeve?

Steven Moffat?

5. What’s your favorite song?

My favorite song changes ALL THE TIME. It’s never the same thing for more than, like, a week or two. Currently, I’m a big fan of “Yellow Flicker Beat” by Lorde. It will play during the credits of the upcoming Mockingjay: Part One movie.

It’s a really pretty song, and the lyrics have so much meaning if you’ve read the book – but mostly, I’m impressed because Lorde is… seventeen? I think? She’s seventeen and she was asked to make music for a hugely anticipated film. That’s impressive. Yay for her!

6. What’s your favorite Etsy store that isn’t yours?

I don’t have an Etsy. (Because I’m bad at arts and crafts and no one would want to buy my stuff from me.) But I do like GracefulDiligence‘s shop. They make handcut paper bookmarks using designs from Doctor WhoSherlock, and The Hobbit.

7. What’s your favorite way to spend your free time when you’re alone?

I spend most of my free time (and non-free time, such as school time) alone. I like it that way. When I’m alone I like to read and write. Wow, aren’t I exciting?

8. What’s your favorite junk food?

Pepperoni pizza! IT IS THE BEST.

9. Do you have a pet?

Yes! I have a cat named Mr. Whiskers. He’s black-and-white and basically looks like he’s wearing a tuxedo with socks. He’s very adorable. Sometimes he chews my books. I do not know why.

10. What is your top favorite nonfiction and fiction book?the raven boys

My favorite fiction book is The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater because it has beautiful
writing and a highly original plot.

My favorite nonfiction book is Boy: Tales of Childhood – Roald Dahl’s first autobiography. I read it when I was about seven and have loved it ever since.

11. What’s your favorite beauty product?

Um. Eyeliner and eyeshadow, I guess? I think it looks gorgeous on other girls, anyway. I have no idea how to put it on, so I don’t wear any.

12. When were you last embarrassed? What happened?

I had an interview on Thursday (for a 4-H thingy) and I said “um” a lot. Which isn’t very professional. Oops.

13. If you could only drink one beverage (besides water) for the rest of your life, what would it be?

My mom buys this extremely sweet berry tea mix and IT IS DELICIOUS.

14. What’s your favorite movie?

Up, probably. Its plot and characters are very well written, and it has the perfect combination of sadness and humor. Yay for animated kid’s movies that aren’t annoying!

15. What were you in high school? Prom queen, nerd, cheerleader, jock, band geek, valedictorian, loner, artist, prep, et cetera?

Somewhere in between “nerd” and “loner.”

This post is about me, after all, so... here is a recent photo of THE ENGIE. Behold my strange self!

This post is about me, after all, so… here is a recent photo of THE ENGIE. Behold my strange self!

16. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you live?

SAN FRANCISCO. Because it’s a beautiful city and it has really really amazing food and it’s really liberal and IT’S SO COOL. I have only been there once, and I would love to go back.

17. PC or Mac?

PC, I guess? My laptop is a Toshiba and apparently any type of computer that isn’t a Mac is a PC? I don’t know. I just googled it. Google may be wrong, for all I know.

18. Last romantic gesture from a crush, date, boy/girlfriend, spouse?

Well, I’m not sure that this next bit was meant to be romantic, but… maybe you can help me figure it out?

Today at work the extremely cute (and queer!) new girl winked at me. WHAT ON EARTH DOES THIS MEAN?! Was this just a goofy friend wink? Does she like me? Did her eye twitch? Maybe she’s the lesbian equivalent of Captain Jack Harkness from Doctor Who and she winks at ALL the girls. I DON’T KNOW. Tell me your theories, people, because I AM SUCH A CONFUSED ENGIE RIGHT NOW.

19. Favorite celebrity?

David Tennant! I like him for quite a few reasons, and here is just one of them: As a child he was a fan of Doctor Who, and later become an actor because he wanted to play the Doctor. And eventually he did play the Tenth. I think that’s really sweet. Not everyone gets their dream job, but he did.

20. What blogger do you secretly want to be best friends with?

ALL OF YOU! I’m not saying that because I don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings by not mentioning them, but because you are ALL cool, in many different ways. Some of you make me laugh. Some of you love to geek out with me about [insert book/movie/TV show here]. Some of you have long, thinky conversations with me. Et cetera. (So keep talking to me!)

-~-

I’m tagging:

And as always, feel free to do this tag on your own blog even if I didn’t tag you!

So, how well do you know me? Did you learn anything new?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to 20 Things You Might Not Know About Me

  1. My rabbit tries to eat my books, what’s up with that? I love Tenant too, I’m watching the new Gracepoint just because he’s in it. (Same with that weird vampire movie where he was shirtless) haha at your moffat peeve. Don’t we all! I wish I had advice, but no one has actually winked at me (who wasn’t my father). I’d just assume she was trying to be silly/friendly, because that way there are no misunderstandings. But then I’d do so if she were a guy too. I never notice when someone’s flirting. (So I’m told, I didn’t notice. Not that this is often a problem for me.) It was nice getting to know you better. 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, you have a rabbit?! That’s cool. I always wanted a rabbit when I was little. ^_^

      I really need to watch more movies and stuff with David Tennant, don’t I? xD Is Gracepoint any good? I liked Tennant’s page on FB so now my feed has a bunch of stuff about Gracepoint ’cause it’s his latest project, apparently…

      Hmm….

      • I’ve watched loads of stuff just because he’s in it. Yeah Gracepoint just started. The pilot was good, I have no idea who did it. Tennant’s character isn’t very likable yet. Yup he’s a tiny black fur ball who gives me bunny kisses. 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      I want to watch Hamlet because he’s in it.
      Well, that’s good… although I admit I thought you were talking about Tennant at first and then I realized you meant your rabbit! xD I was like… “David Tennant gives you bunny kisses?!”

  2. This looks cool! Thanks for tagging me! 😀

    One of the reasons DW is one of my favorite shows is because all the actors wanted to be in the show. Although my friend posted a video of the beginning of “Journey’s End” and I was just *sobs with the feels*

    Ah, you read so fast! I only read 104% faster than the average human being 😛 I guess that’s good, because I thought I was slow.

    San Francisco is beautiful… ❤

    "4. What’s your biggest non-blog-related peeve?

    Steven Moffat?"

    ENGIE I AM LAUGHING SO HARD RIGHT NOW (internally, because if I laugh externally at seemingly nothing my parents will look at me oddly). BUT YES. STEVEN. OUT OF THE TARDIS. NOW.

    I don’t understand makeup either. *high-fives* Or wear any.

    NEEERRDS! Hello, fellow nerd! 😛

    Ahhh, I can’t wait to do this! 😀

    • nevillegirl says:

      You’re welcome! Can’t wait to see your post! 🙂

      Peter Capaldi’s fanboy days amuse me. 😛

      Yeah, I was surprised that I read so quickly!

      Pffft, I’m glad that answer amused you. If he stays on for series 9 I swear I will explode from frustration.

      I’d like to try wearing makeup, but I don’t even know where to start! Like… what shades of what kind of product would look good on my face? I HAVE NO IDEA. So right now, I just don’t bother with it. Maybe someday, though…

  3. I learnt LOTS of new things! I could have guessed Steven Moffat, though, haha. That man. *shakes fist* OMG THE NEW GIRL AT WORK WINKED AT YOU??? Mmmmmmm girl.

  4. Cait says:

    I’m still quietly pouting here because you read faster then me. AND I TRIED SO HARD. *sulks in the corner* But stiiiiill. I assume I will survive.
    Is your brother older? My brother is older, and like 6ft something and GAH. It’s ridiculous standing next to him. I just quit. Plus there’s only 2 years between us but he is SO MUCH TALLER. I think height could be spread evenly in families, so at least we don’t have to feel like adopted hobbits amongst marshwiggles. *sigh*

    BTW I LIKED THIS POST A LOT.

    • nevillegirl says:

      HAHAHAHA CAIT I READ FASTER THAN YOU HAHAHAHA 😛

      Nope, he’s younger! By a little over a year… *le sigh* I have resigned myself to midget-dom. (Also, I agree that height should be spread evenly. People like to joke that my brother made up for all the growing I didn’t do. xD)

      THANK YOU I LIKED YOURS A LOT TOO. 😀

  5. moosha23 says:

    Yes…Steven Moffat is The non-book related peeve -_- I swear he laughs every time he sees us frazzling over the last cliffhanger…!

    Wooh…someone needs to get their flirt on! I say go all ahead (if she’s plain flirty, just be plain flirty back, right?) who knows? Maybe she wants to be just friends, with a little flirtation involved. *wiggles eyebrows*

    eyeliner is probably my favourite beauty product except every time I use it I look like a ghost/monster and so I tend to stay away from it… (me and make up generally have a bad relationship anyway…bare faced and beaming it is)

    P.S. YOU LISTEN TO GOOD MUSIC!!!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Indeed!

      Hmm. I shall have to consider it. xD I’m not very good at flirting, probably because I spent so long pretending I wasn’t gay so I barely even /talked/ to cute girls for the longest time. Hmm.

      I think I look like a raccoon when I wear it. And one time I poked myself in the eye with the eyeliner pencil-thingy, so… yeah. *fail*

      P.S. THANK YOU!!

      • moosha23 says:

        *whispers* practise makes perfect missy! *stops whispering and tip-toes away…*

        Oh my gosh, the amount of times I thought I had a splinter in my eye and started panicking about turning blind and my darn eye sight vanishing because of poking the eye pencil thing in my eye! I swear I’ve stopped using them (on the rare occasion I deem them necessary to put on!) and now I’m sorta experimenting with the liquid version. (But then I start painting my eye lids instead so…)

        Make-up kills. I think I’ll stick to the internet. All the artificial cyberness should keep my skin looking good.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah… yeah, I probably should at least ask her, somehow, what she meant by that wink. xD I should probably get more practice, otherwise I’m going to head off to college and be like HOW DO I EVEN TALK TO GIRLS?!

      Yeah, I’ve heard that the liquid version looks really good once you know how to properly apply it – but apparently it takes a lot of practice to become good at it? *shrug*

  6. Your reading speed is super human.

  7. matttblack42 says:

    I think the new girl may be into you. Now, in order to properly flirt back with her, you must follow my very sane and 100% reliable advice: Next time you see her, wink back at her. Except you want to be twice as flirty, so you must wink with both your eyes at the same time. But just to be sure this isn’t confused with a simple blink, you must drag it out for about twenty, maybe thirty seconds. While your eyes are closed for this period, you should try imitating a pterodactyl by screeching and flapping your arms about, but do it in a sexy, flirtatious way. Good luck.

    Also, I’m the exact same height as your brother, which is a little too much of a coincidence, if you ask me. Perhaps I am your brother, I just don’t know it yet, somehow.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I shall take your advice with the utmost seriousness. I look forward to flirtatiously pterodactyl-ing and I’m sure the new girl will be in awe of my charms.

      MATT YOU GUESSED MY SECRET
      WHICH IS THAT I HAVE A SECRET BROTHER WHO DOESN’T KNOW HE’S MY BROTHER AND HE’S A BLOGGER NAMED MATT
      GOSHDARNIT MATT
      YOU WERE NEVER SUPPOSED TO KNOW

    • nevillegirl says:

      But what if your grave is discovered? *cue Doctor Who theme music and the noises of Strax blowing up a thing or two*

      (I shall keep you informed on my progress with the pterodactyl method of flirting. Although, tell me one thing: What is its success rate?)

      • matttblack42 says:

        That would be very bad, especially since I’d probably have the secret carved into the headstone. It’ll read something like:

        “Matthew Black:
        (1998-2300)
        Friend, Blogger, Secretly Engie’s brother (but don’t tell anyone!) and loved by all.”

        (I can tell you this: it hasn’t failed yet.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      You’re going to live for 302 years? Really? I’d love to know what your secret for long life is.

      (Hmm. Guess I’ll definitely have to try it, then. *screeches like a pterodactyl and flies away into the night*)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Urgh. I hate oranges. Guess I’m destined for an early grave, then. xD

  8. Leinad says:

    You don’t know how jealous I am. I read 14% slower than the national average. In other words, if the two of us spend the same amount of time reading in our lives, you will read 4.9 times more books than me. (Or rather, 4.9 times more words. You won’t read that many times more books, because you read A Song of Ice And Fire and I don’t.)

  9. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up #6 | Free As a Girl With Wings

  10. themagicviolinist says:

    #3, yes!!! There are a lot of super cool blogs I read that I’ve commented on a few times, but I don’t anymore, because they NEVER. RESPOND. It’s so annoying. It feels like I’m talking to a mirror or something, for all the good it does me. I also hate it when you can’t subscribe to follow-up comments, because I don’t want to check back and refresh the page to see if someone responded. Grr . . .

    So I know I’m super late on this, but I wouldn’t have known what kind of advice to give you about the new-girl-winking-at-you-thing because I suck at that. 😛 I’m too young to be interested in that sort of stuff yet, so I’m pretty oblivious when it comes to flirting, or so I’m told. Apparently a couple of people have flirted with me and it went over my head until my mom mentioned it later. Maybe your parents have some ideas? 😛

    • nevillegirl says:

      It IS like talking to a mirror! 😛 I’d never thought of it that way before, but you’re totally right.

      Ehehe, I think I was interested in that stuff when I was your age, but to each their own. 😛 It still doesn’t mean that I’m any good at flirting… I ended up talking to her last weekend about SCHOOL of all things, which isn’t very flirty… *headdesk*

  11. You should flirt with her because winking is like the way to show you’re interested in someone and you think they’re cute. That said, I have no idea how to actually flirt. See, there was this cute guy in my 8th period last year who flirted with me the whole year and it went entirely over my head until my friend mentioned it and I was like *sudden realization*.
    But yeah you should flirt with her. (and I realize I’m like hella late to this post and I’m so so sorry ugh wow I feel like a bad friend)

    In other news, I realized that I’m exactly your height now.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, I’ll try! I’m just so freaking shy IRL (and especially around girls who I think are cute) and I go to work like hECK YEAH I’M GONNA FLIRT WITH THE CUTE GIRL and then I… don’t. 😛

      I don’t think any guys have ever flirted with me, but… I’m not very good at telling if GIRLS are flirting with me, so IDK. It’s entirely possible that guys have flirted with me and I just thought they were being weird.

      Ehehe, yay! We match! 😛

      • Good 🙂 Yeah, apparently I’m either really smooth IRL or a huge mess of stutters and blushes, and the thing is, I never know which I’ll turn out to be until it’s all over. Also I use really bad pickup lines very frequently (but then, you knew that) and for some reason that’s my default for flirting?

        I’m terrible at telling if girls are flirting with me at all, because they’re always like “Wow, I love your _____!” and I’m like wait are you straight-girl-complimenting me because in that case thanks, or are you gay-girl-complimenting me because I literally cannot tell the difference. Mmm, yeah, I can tell when guys are flirting with me but it’s almost always weird because usually I’m not remotely interested in them and it’s like //cries. But then, guys’ “flirting” is almost always weird anyways.

        We’re both hobbits uwu.

    • nevillegirl says:

      What are you even saying really bad geeky pick-up lines are the best.

      I know, right? I wonder if it’s easier for queer guys. I mean, most guys don’t compliment each other on their clothes or looks or whatever. But a lot of girls do that ALL THE TIME, so it’s very difficult to figure out if a girl is telling me that my hair looks pretty because she thinks it’s pretty or because she’s jealous or because she has a crush on me. 😦

      *tiny hobbit high-five*

      • My time has come no but seriously idk why but this line is my fave to use: If you were DNA, I’d want to be helicase so I could unzip your jeans. Also a second is: You must be a newly discovered unidentified fossil, because I’m an archaeologist and I want to date you so bad. (I’ve only tried the second one once but damn it got results. By which I mean blushing and stuttering and general adorableness on her part.)

        Yeah, it’s probably way easier for guys, compliment-wise. And I KNOW right, like /why/ are there so many hidden meanings when a girl gives you a compliment like w h a t.

        Awww omg *tiny hobbit high-fives back*

    • nevillegirl says:

      Pffft, yay for science-y flirting!

      *le sigh* It’s very confusing, isn’t it?

      *has tiny hobbit second breakfast*

      • Coming from the person who decided to use paleontology lines? uwu just kidding I love you.

        Y es omfg. You’d think people would see all the rainbows. (I swear I’ve got like three or four pieces of LGBTQ+ related things I wear regularly, but nah apparently they’re invisible or something.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      I know, right? I have a shirt that says “how to pick up chicks” and shows, well… a person picking up a tiny adorable baby chick. ^-^ Anyway, now everyone thinks I love chickens??? And I’m like no I’m TRYING TO SHOW OFF MY GAYNESS OVER HERE AND NO ONE IS PAYING ATTENTION.

      • This reminds me of the week all the Agriculture students were carting baby goats and baby chicks around school. Like they’d bring them into class and everything and it was /adorable/.
        Straight people are remarkably bad at spotting queer references in general, though. The drama club at my school used this for their club shirt this year: “Mom, I’m a thespian.” “It’s just a stage, honey.” and it took everyone in my sociology class like forever to get it. Me and the other three queer kids were just like headdesking.

    • nevillegirl says:

      BABY GOATS OH MY GOSH I LOVE BABY GOATS I WANT TO OWN SOME GOATS SOMEDAY
      That shirt design sounds awesome… and yeah, cishet people are unbelievably oblivious when it comes to noticing anything queer. Speaking of that… I’ve heard of a new (joke) word, “heteroblivious.” It’s very useful when you’re trying to describe your straight friends who are like, “Wait, those characters are gay?!?!?! I didn’t notice.”
      (Seriously, I have a Sherlockian friend who tried to argue with me about the show’s homophobia and they didn’t see what was wrong with the portrayal of Irene Adler because… first they claimed they didn’t realized she was gay, and then they said they thought she was joking about it all. HETEROBLIVIOUS.)

      • BABY GOATS ARE SERIOUSLY ADORABLE OMFG
        “Heteroblivious,” omfg, that’s sooo gold. And very applicable to the recent Korrasami confirmation. There’s also one for when you’re pretending to be straight around people: “hetlagged,” and one for when you’re pretending to be cis around people: “cistressed,” and I am totally putting all of these to use in daily conversations now hell yes.
        (Oh my god, really? Pfff, Irene’s totally gay as hell, idc what Moffat or Gattiss decide to write her as. Speaking of which, her portrayal totally pisses me off, ugh. But I don’t think you want me to get into it; I can rant for hours.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Maggie Stiefvater raises goats and basically I want to be her kind of author like omg GOATS.

      Ehehe, I’m still not in that fandom, but I really need to start watching it… and I LOVE how pissed off the st8 ppl are right now because of the hetbaiting. Like omg, whine some more, babies.

      (Same here. They ruined that character – she’s amazing in the Conan Doyle original – and basically there are so few canonically LGBTQ+ characters that I get really really attached to them and then I get frustrated when we’ve basically been queerbaited like ugh why.

      • Do the thing.

        I used to watch The Last Airbender, and I’ve only seen like three episodes of Korra’s run, but omfggggggg the Korrasami Conclusion is b e a utiful. You should watch it it’s really good. And I know, they’re in such denial and it’s great and so freaking funny tbh. I saw a youtube comment on the final scene that went something like “The writers and creators can write what they like, but always remember the way Korra looked at Mako.” and it’s like honey, no.

        (The whole existence of that show is just queerbaiting, imo. I switched over to Elementary tbh. POC and platonic relationship representation ftw.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, I guess they’ll just have to get used to not having their OTP be canon. *shrug* I deal with that all the time.

      Yes!!! I watch Elementary now too, and it’s soooooo much better. I’ve only seen a few episodes, and it’s so much better. Like… Sherlock is just kind of ridiculous because it’s so white and so male and so straight-and-the-only-time-queerness-is-mentioned-is-just-for-laughs. And Sherlock is an absolute asshole to everyone, even his quote unquote friends, and no one calls him out on it. On Elementary, though, Joan is like, “Dude. Stop it, you’re being unreasonable and rude.” And it’s wonderful. 😀

      • Same, dude, same.

        Ikrrr, like BBCSH never faces the actual consequences of his general shitty treatment of everyone, and ESH gets called out all the time and it’s beautiful. Which really annoys me in the BBCSH case because Molly and Donovan (esp. Donovan + most of NSY) are treated terribly and the whole fandom kinda just brushes over that, excuses his actions, and what sort of message does that send to kids who might be watching this show? That if he’s attractive and smart and mysterious, then he can treat you like dirt but it’s okay, he doesn’t mean it, he really quite values your existence? Especially in s1e1, where Sherlock essentially slut-shames Donovan and a huuuge majority of the fanbase thinks that she deserved it? Like no, there’s something fundamentally wrong with that. No. Just. And Molly is treated like shit, even by the writers. She’s hated on and her self-esteem is regularly crushed by SH, and basically made into a laughingstock, but we’re expected to believe that SH values her so much that she’s basically part of his subconscious/whatever she represented in his mind?

        Lucy Liu is also a great selling point for ESH. Like damn son.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, and that’s also really weird because… like, both women are just trying to do their jobs? And they actually do that pretty well and don’t dick around like Sherlock, so why does everyone hate them?

      Actually… I’ve been thinking about writing a post about Elementary once I’ve watched more of it – maybe we could collaborate on that post? 🙂

      LUCY LIU IS AMAZING DAKGHADLGKHLDGHGDFG 😀

      • Yeah, like considering they’re both pretty damn competent at their jobs, and they’re in male-dominated task-forces, I don’t know why people hate them. It makes no sense whatsoever. If we look at the characters completely separate from canon, they’re actually pretty successful women in a society where that…isn’t exactly encouraged, I guess. And Molly’s done nothing wrong at all, she just has a crush on SH and has a hard time hiding it, and that shouldn’t be a crime, but it is. At least to the BBCSH fandom. And yes, I can see how Donovan might not exactly be likeable considering she’s said some pretty mean stuff about Sherlock, but Sherlock’s given back all the shit she gave him and more. And yet, people still hold it against her?

        Ooh, I’d love to, but I don’t know where to find past episodes. Are they online anywhere?

        B R O. UNDERSTATEMENT. LUCY LIU IS LIKE. AJKHDGAIULWHERGUWAE ASDGJHGJHRG. Like omfg.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *sighs* *does her Effie Trinket impersonation* That is MISOGYNY.

      Here you go, my tiny gay friend: http://full-stream.net/3133-elementary-saison-1.html
      I have to remember how to change the French audio into English audio, though. Hmmm… I will get back to you once I’ve figured that out.

      Lucy Liu should be in every movie and TV show. *nodnod*

      • Aka why I don’t really count myself as part of any of the superwholock fandoms anymore. (Jfc, the underlying sexism, racism, and just general problematic things with both the fans and canon are like no.)

        Thank friend~ Good luck with that lol

        She should, it’d be awesome.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *nodnod* Out of those three shows, I’ve never watched Supernatural (and never wanted to… it sounds shittier than Sherlock), have watched Sherlock but disliked it, and like Doctor Who more or less but I critique it a LOT. I… kind of regret introducing one of my friends to DW because from there she went on to become a SUPERWHOLOCKIAN *gasp* *shudder* and now she won’t shut up about those shows and insists they are perfect and completely unproblematic and just… gah.
      Like, it’s OK to still watch/read/like something even it has issues; just realize that it has issues. Like with GoT… it can be really misogynistic, has way too much “sexposition” (instead of exposition, get it?), White Savior Trope, etc. It’s OK to critique something and still appreciate other bits of it. But she just doesn’t get it.

      • Tbh, Supernatural can be extremely problematic. Female and POC characters are nearly always cast as villains and subsequently killed off, the constant queerbaiting gets annoying, and it’s a very White Saviour type macho-man show. But despite that, I still like it? Idk man, I think I just like the idea of the universe it’s set in? But yeah, it’s very problematic.
        I know the feeling though, most of the Who fans I know have rose-colored glasses on when it comes to that show, and it’s like. Something can be multifaceted, okay?
        Yeah, I’ve sort of noticed that about GoT. (and they handled most of the Drogo/Dany subplot badly tbh) But yeah, the main point of liking something is that you’ve gotta be aware of it’s problems. If you don’t, you’re kinda just feeding yourself poison.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yep, that’s exactly what I’ve heard. And I can understand that “liking the universe it’s set in” thing – I freaking LOVE the world of HP, but I think JK could’ve done so much more with the story. I like what she started, but don’t really like where she went with it. *shrug*

      *nodnod* I HATE Moffat’s stuff, but I’m not even completely happy with RTD’s era, either. Like the DW quote said (I’m paraphrasing) life is a bundle of good and bad things. No story is entirely bad or entirely wonderful.

      Gah, yes, the Dany/Drogo subplot. It was missing so many little nuances from the book…

      • Yeah, I thought she was going to take the whole ‘Harry can’t die now, because Voldy’s dead and one can only die at the hand of the other or w/e the prophecy said’ route because honestly there was so much potential there and so much potential throughout the whole series and just. Sigh.

        Moffat’s just. Ugh. And yeah, RTD does have his own problems, but I think we can agree that he’s much better than what Moffat’s done with the show, right?

        Like okay, that first sex scene turned into a beautiful mutual thing in the book and both parties were completely consenting but the show turned it into rape and like. Why. Why would you waste that.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I honestly never even considered that theory until I saw it online, but… IT’S BEAUTIFUL AND PERFECT AND YES.

      Indeed.

      Omg yesssssssss. I mean, she was nervous at first, but he was gentle and wanted to make sure she felt at ease and… yeah.

      • I honestly thought that was how it was gonna go when I finished the 5th book, but she took it a different way and I just ;-; because she could have done so so much and nooooooooo.

        Ikr, but then in the show he was just kinda pushy and she started crying and I was like ajsdhjsgjsdg no.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *nodnod* I ship them so hard in the books and… not really at all in the show. 😦

  12. Taylor Lynn says:

    Wow, I am so super late here it’s not even funny. Oops! However, I did enjoy your 20 facts, and here are my belated reactions are:

    My mom is about your height as well! But I tower over you by a half a foot–all of my sisters and I surpassed my mom by the time we were about eleven, haha. 😉 As for me, I also find it disappointing when bloggers don’t interact with their readers and commenters! I understand not following everyone back, but at the very least I think it’s nice when bloggers comment back on their own blog. It makes their followers feel less like they’re shouting into the void when they leave a thought on a post. 😉

    Unfortunately, I have very little experience in the flirting department, seeing as I haven’t had a reciprocated crush since I was thirteen. So, I’m no help there (and even if I was, my advice would probably be long overdue, seeing as how late my comment is!). HOWEVER, how did things turn out with the cute new girl, did anything come of that mystifying wink?!

    Also, thanks for tagging me! Not sure if I’ll end up posting this on my blog, but I appreciate it just the same. Hugs!

    • nevillegirl says:

      It’s OK! 🙂 I’ve slacked off on commenting on your blog, so no worries.

      Ehehe, I’ve resigned myself to being hobbit-sized forever. xD

      Yeah, I’m always disappointed whenever I write a post that I’m really proud of and then I get, like, 2 comments. 😦

      Ummmmmm…. IDK. I think she’s flirted with me more, and I’ve tried flirting with her, but IDK whether it’s working. Possibly I misinterpreted the whole thing. 😛

      You’re welcome! *hugs back*

      • Taylor Lynn says:

        Ah, that horrid little feeling of wondering if you’ve misinterpreted the whole thing. That self-doubt is a real buzzkill. Fingers crossed for you, I hope things work out well!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, thanks! I hope it does too! 🙂

  13. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Fall 2014 – Movies, TV Shows, Senior Year, And An Awful Lot Of Reading | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

