Review: The Blood Of Olympus

the blood of olympus

Nico had warned them. Going through the House of Hades would stir the demigods’ worst memories. Their ghosts would become restless. Nico may actually become a ghost if he has to shadow-travel with Reyna and Coach Hedge one more time. But that might be better than the alternative: allowing someone else to die, as Hades foretold.

Jason’s ghost is his mother, who abandoned him when he was little. He may not know how he is going to prove himself as a leader, but he does know that he will not break promises like she did. He will complete his line of the prophecy: To storm or fire the world must fall.

Reyna fears the ghosts of her ancestors, who radiate anger. But she can’t allow them to distract her from getting the Athena Parthenos to Camp Half-Blood before wars breaks out between the Romans and the Greeks. Will she have enough strength to succeed, especially with a deadly hunter on her trail?

Leo fears that his plan won’t work, that his friends might interfere. But there is no other way. All of them know that one of the Seven has to die in order to defeat Gaea, the Earth Mother.

Piper must learn to give herself over to fear. Only then will she be able to do her part at the end: utter a single word.

I’m so excited to review this book! I’ve been waiting for it since… well, since about this time last year, and it was finally published on October seventh. In fact, I was so anxious to read it that I bought it on its date of publication, which I’ve never done before.

Anyway.

This review WILL be spoilery – mostly. I know that quite a few of my blogging friends want to read this book but most of them probably haven’t yet, and I still wanted to talk with them a little bit about the story. So. Everything below this sentence will be spoilery, but if you haven’t read The Blood of Olympus yet and just want to know if it’s any good: IT IS AMAZING.

Warning: Spoilers ahead! 

I loved Riordan’s choice of narrators. 

They are, in no particular order:

  • Jason
  • Piper
  • Leo
  • Reyna
  • Nico

At first I was a little upset that Percy and Annabeth didn’t narrate, because they’re awesome. And because they’ve been part of the story from the very beginning, so I felt they should tell how it ended.

On the other hand, if you told me that I had to trade Percy’s and Annabeth’s POV chapters in order to read Nico’s and Reyna’s POVs I would be like, “OH YEAH.” So. In the end, I was more than happy to exchange two favorite POV characters for two other favorites.

Also, I’m glad that Riordan cut back the number of POVs. The previous book, The House of Hades, featured seven POVs. When I heard that Reyna and Nico would narrate part of this last book, I just assumed that meant nine POVS… which is a lot to handle. But that didn’t happen, so yay!

Piper and Jason have improved so much over the course of the series!

I couldn’t stand those two at first, and I nearly didn’t finish the first book because of them. I found the pair annoying, boring, shallow, and too perfect. But over five books, they’ve become much more realistic and much more interesting. Yay!

I think this book’s design has a lot of symbolism.

If you take off the dust jacket* of The Blood of Olympus, you’ll see that the cover is purple. And the first few inside pages are orange. At first this struck me as a weird color combination, but then I realized that those are, respectively, the colors of Camp Jupiter and Camp Half-Blood! Yeah, it’s a tiny detail, but it’s still cool and it’s so fitting that this was done with the final book.

*Oh my god! A naked book! Quick, cover the children’s eyes!

Nico did come out to Percy – and it was adorable!

Mostly because Percy was so confused and all like, “Wait, what?” while Annabeth’s attitude was basically like I’M SORRY ABOUT MY BOYFRIEND HE IS A DORKY SEAWEED BRAIN.

Also, while we’re on the subject of Nico: I think Riordan was hinting that he’d eventually end up with Will Solace? Cool. I’m glad he’ll end up happy and with someone, although I do admit that at first I didn’t remember who Will was. (He’s a really minor character.)

None of the seven died. Neither did Nico nor Reyna. 

At best, one character died and then came back to life, which is basically what I expect of a middle grade story. But at times I totally thought Leo, Frank, Hazel, and Jason were going to die for real.

The ending is ambiguous and I LOVE THAT SO MUCH.

I don’t want to know exactly what happens to all my favorites (and my least favorites, ha ha)! I want to imagine their endings for myself, and Riordan let me do so. Thanks, man.

-~-

So, what’s the final verdict? YAY. That’s it. My final opinion on this book is YAY.

Let me explain a thing. When I started reading this series in about January (yes, I know I’m late to the party here), I nearly quit halfway through the first book. I ended up giving The Lost Hero two out of five stars, which is below average in my book.

But I kept on. I told myself, “Maybe it will get better,” and it did. It became amazing, and I’m really happy that I stuck with it. I’ve loved this series, and The Blood of Olympus was a lovely conclusion. I suppose my ONE complaint is that the defeat of Gaea seemed a bit rushed, but honestly? I’ve never cared too much about that part. I care about the characters. I love the characters Riordan created, and their sense of humor, and their adventures.

I’m glad I continued this series and didn’t give up. I HIGHLY recommend it!

Rating: 4/5

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review: The Blood Of Olympus

  1. Richard says:

    Nice review! 🙂 I agree with you on quite a few things especially Nico’s POV.
    But I felt a bit underwhelmed with the ending *spoilery* … We’ve been building up to the finale for 5 books but Gaia is defeated before she even does anything which I found bizarre, especially considering she’s caused more mischief and damage while asleep. Some more of my thoughts are in my review if you would be so kind to have a look at. 🙂
    http://rwh92.wordpress.com/2014/10/09/bloody-brilliant/

  2. Kalia says:

    That’s just because Gaea would have come to full strength it would have been nearly impossible to defeat her.. only way it could’ve happened, personally I wish something more tragic could’ve happened at the end (Jason and Leo both dying) and even Festus being forced to choose but that’s just because it was a Greek/Roman story. At least in the first series Silena and Charlie both died so it wasn’t so perfect… but I still absolutely loved the book

  3. Pingback: Book Review: “The Blood of Olympus” | The Cheap Reader

  4. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Fall 2014 – Movies, TV Shows, Senior Year, And An Awful Lot Of Reading | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

