Blogiversary #4 + Thank You + How Well Do You Know Me?

Today is an important date in Engie-world. It’s my fourth blogiversary!

[Insert cheering noises here]

I can’t believe it’s been four years already. Actually, what I really can’t believe is how terrible my earliest blog posts were. Let’s just say that fourteen-year-old me was a little too fond of exclamation points and emoticons. Gah. It’s just so embarrassing. I’m pretty sure everyone expects to be embarrassed by, like, their fifth- or sixth-grade selves, but their ninth-grade selves?!

Thankfully, my writing skills have improved (mostly) since then. Practice makes perfect, I suppose. (Or it makes one closer to perfection, at least.) So. I’m really glad that I stuck with blogging for so long, because it’s a lot of fun and I feel that my writing skills have really improved!

I have just one more thing to say before I move on to the other subjects of this blogiversary post, and that is: Yes, I did start my blog on 10/10/10. Pretty cool, no? I didn’t even plan that or anything.

-~-

I should probably thank people for reading Musings From Neville’s Navel and for being so supportive, so I’ll do that now. First, many thanks to Mom and Dad for allowing me to start a blog in the first place.

Secondly, I’d like to thank all my readers/followers/commenters/et cetera. YOU ARE ALL AWESOME.

And finally, I’d like to write individual thank-yous to some of bloggers who have been the most helpful during this whole weird endeavor. There are six of them, listed in no particular order…

Cait @ Notebook Sisters: You’re one of the funniest, geekiest, and nicest bloggers I know. Thanks! (Also, I am in awe of how many books you’ve read thus far this year. Whoa.)

Miriam Joy @ Miriam Joy Writes: Thank you for… a lot of things, really? Thank you for great book recommendations and long thinky conversations and for writing a blog that I love so much and just for being generally awesome.

Kate @ The Magic Violinist: Thank you for being geeky and infectiously enthusiastic and for watching all those shows I suggested such as Doctor Who, even if they made you have ALL THE EMOTIONS (and mostly the sad ones). Also, I think we have the blogging equivalent of a big sister / little sister relationship, so that’s cool.

Orphu @ A Mirror Made of Words: YOU’RE A MASSIVELY DORKY NERD. THANK YOU.

Thomas @ The Quiet Voice: Thank you for being encouraging and level-headed and just generally a very pleasant person to talk to!

Matt @ The Little Engine That Couldn’t: Thank you for making me laugh. I can’t wait to read your books someday when you’re a published author!

P.S. Hey, you. Yes, you. If you’d like to see your name on a list like this next year… talk to me! I may have three hundred and forty-one followers, but I really only interact with about thirty or forty of those people even semi-regularly. So don’t be shy; leave a comment. I don’t bite!

Well, unless you’re made of chocolate or pizza. And then I might bite. But that is a different matter altogether…

-~-

The last part of this post is a little quiz! How well do you know me? I don’t care whether you answer the following questions using only your memory or whether you use my blog’s search engine and turn this list into a scavenger hunt of sorts. Just write down your answers, or tell me your best guesses!

  1. What grade am I in currently?
  2. What is my least favorite book? What is one of my favorite books?
  3. When is my birthday?
  4. How tall am I, approximately?
  5. Name four fictional characters – one that I adore, one that I despise, one that I have a crush on, and one who is similar to me according to the MBTI test.
  6. Which book(s) made me cry?
  7. What is one of my favorite movies?
  8. What is one thing that I did this summer?
  9. When did I first take part in NaNoWriMo?
  10. What was my first regular blogging feature?

And for those of you who answered the questions above in about thirty seconds flat, here are three that are trickier. Bonus points for these!

  1. What is one of the subjects that I’ve studied in my dual-credit college classes?
  2. I’ve traveled all over the United States, but have been to only one foreign country. Which one did I visit?
  3. How many bookshelves do I have?

Post your answers in the comment section below!

-~-

I’ve already told you how happy I am that I started blogging and then continued for several years, so… now I have just one more thing to say. What has been your favorite part of my blog thus far? I’m curious.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Blogiversary #4 + Thank You + How Well Do You Know Me?

  1. Cait says:

    *flails forever* OH HAPPY BLOGVERSARY AND THANK YOU FOR THAT NOTE BECAUSE YOU ARE THE NICEST AND IT HAS JUST MADE A NOT-SO-HAPPY DAY INTO A TRULY FABULOUS AND SPLENDID ONE. And sorry for the all caps. BUT HAPPINESS. *throws cake* And I am going to thoroughly embarrass myself with the scavenger hunt, but we’ll see. *settles down to work*

    What grade am I in currently? Senior year!
    What is my least favorite book? The Fault in Our Stars?! Well, maybe it’s not least but I know it IS. What is one of my favorite books? Omg…I’m failing. I know you like Gregor and The Hunger Games and
    When is my birthday? September 22nd!
    How tall am I, approximately? Around 5ft?
    Name four fictional characters – one that I adore, one that I despise, one that I have a crush on, and one who is similar to me according to the MBTI test. Well THIS post I remember very very well. But I shall have to cheat and search… Similar = Lucy Pevensie. Despise = GAH I DON’T KNOW. Crush = Black Widow?
    What is one of my favorite movies? The Hunger Games…Up? Captain America? OH Miss Congeniality!
    What is one thing that I did this summer? I assume you ate food so: I win this one.
    When did I first take part in NaNoWriMo? 2011

    I bow out of the rest because #epicfail I have no idea. BUT THIS IS A GREAT POST IDEA. Now you know which of your followers are super stalkery. *nods*

    • nevillegirl says:

      THANK YOU

      Of course! You’re a really cool, fun person – of course I had to thank you! 🙂

      Grade: Yes.
      Least fave book: Yes.
      Fave book: Yes!
      Birthday: Yes!
      Height: Yes.
      Fictional characters: similar = yes, crush = wHY YES BLACK WIDOW IS DEFINITELY AN ACCEPTABLE ANSWER ❤
      Movie: Yes to all four! 😛
      Summer: *stomps foot* That's cheating! 😛 Well… I suppose you /are/ technically right… I did eat food…
      NaNoWriMo: Yes!

      Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed the post!

  2. Congratulations, Engie! I can’t believe this is your FOURTH year blogging. Whoa. I’ve got a long way to go. I love your blog SO much.
    Because I’m lazy, I’m going to guess on the questions. 😛 Be prepared for some goofy answers!
    1. Senior
    2. I’m going to go with Catching Fire for least favorite, and Harry Potter or Percy Jackson/Heroes of Olympus as your favorite.
    3. Random guess: August 7!
    4. 5 ft.
    5. Percy, Draco, Annabeth, Luna Lovegood.
    6. TFIOS?
    7. Harry Potter.
    8. Blog. 🙂
    9. 2010…?
    10. —
    11. —
    12. —
    13. Eleven.
    I wonder how I did!

  3. matttblack42 says:

    Happy blogoversary! And thanks for thanking me.
    Anyhoo, I’m going to answer all your questions without the use of any search engines:

    1) You are in 12th grade.
    2) Least favorite: The Fault in Our Stars. Favorite: The Miseducation of Cameron Post.
    3) I know it was on Hobbit day, but I don’t know when Hobbit day was, except that it was probably in late September.
    4) You are five feet tall. Exactly.(?)
    5) One that you adore: Nico D’Angelo (I think that’s his last name); one that you despise: Amy Pond; one that you have a crush on: Martha Jones; One that is similar to you: Arthur Dimmesdale. 🙂
    6) The Miseducation of Cameron Post, and The Absolutely True Story of a Part-Time Indian. And Game of Thrones.
    7) Up.
    8) Watched The Maze Runner movie. And you had a few family picnics outdoors.
    9) I don’t think I was around back then, so I’m going to take a guess and say November 2010. If I’m wrong, just assume that was a typo.
    10) I believe you had a stuffed animal named Neville.

    And as for the bonus questions:
    1) Spanish? (And chemistry! i think)
    2) I’mma have to go with Canada here, because that’s relatively close by.
    3) Not enough.

    And what’s my favorite part of your blog so far? I can’t think of a specific thing above all others, so I’ll have to go with: the posts you write. Oh, and the compliments you give me. They make my day.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you! And no problem. 🙂

      1. Yes.
      2. Yes and yes!
      3. Close enough. Yeah, it was on Hobbit Day… September 22nd. 🙂
      4. Yes.
      5. Yes to all four!
      6. Yes to #1 and #3!
      7. Yes indeed!
      8. Yes!
      9. Nope, 2011.
      10. Nope, it’s the A B See Photo Challenge.

      1. Yes to both!
      2. Yes!
      3. Ahaha, “not enough” is an acceptable answer. Eleven is the actual answer, but I was actually talking to my dad just the other day about how I’ve run out of space on my bookshelves… *sad bookworm face*

      Ha ha, I’m glad! You really do make me laugh a LOT. Thanks.

  4. matttblack42 says:

    Oh, and I’m already a published author, you know. I just go by the pseudonym James Dashner.
    (Don’t look this up or anything; just take my word for it.)

  5. orphu44 says:

    Happy Blogiversary!
    (And ahh, thank you for the mention!)

    What grade am I in currently? Grade twelve!
    What is my least favorite book? What is one of my favorite books? The Fault in our Stars (which is a shame since it’s got such a lovely name, but I’ve never read it, so what do I know), and … Ash. (I’m so bad at picking favourites even when they’re not my own favourites, apparently.)
    When is my birthday? September 22nd.
    How tall am I, approximately? You’re five feet.
    Name four fictional characters – one that I adore, one that I despise, one that I have a crush on, and one who is similar to me according to the MBTI test. Miriam from AMoG, Augustus Waters, Vastra, Wall-E.
    Which book(s) made me cry? Cam Post did.
    What is one of my favorite movies? Up.
    What is one thing that I did this summer? You went on that trip! To Washington, I think.
    When did I first take part in NaNoWriMo? 2011.
    What was my first regular blogging feature? I dunno, actually.

    What is one of the subjects that I’ve studied in my dual-credit college classes? Spanish? Unless dual-credit is referring to specific classes I’m unaware of.
    I’ve traveled all over the United States, but have been to only one foreign country. Which one did I visit? You came to Canada, but not a part of Canada that’s anywhere near me.
    How many bookshelves do I have? I definitely remember you mentioning this, but mainly what I remember is thinking that you have a heap more bookshelves than I do.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you!
      (Of course!)

      All your answers are right… except for the one about blogging features, but you didn’t really answer that one, so it’s all right. xD

      Anyway.
      No, sadly, I was not anywhere close to your area of Canada. 😦 😦 😦

  6. Alexandrina Brant says:

    Woop! *pulls party popper* I’m not going to answer the questions, though, ’cause I’m pretty sure I’d be terrible at all of them.

  7. Mo says:

    These were strangely easy questions. (Well, for me.) But congratulations!
    What grade am I in currently? 12th!
    What is my least favorite book? What is one of my favorite books? TFioS, CamPost/AMoG.
    When is my birthday? September 22!
    How tall am I, approximately? 5 feet!
    Name four fictional characters – one that I adore, one that I despise, one that I have a crush on, and one who is similar to me according to the MBTI test. Sansa Stark, Augustus Waters?, anyone played by Natalie Dormer, and Luna Lovegood.
    Which book(s) made me cry? CamPost.
    What is one of my favorite movies? Miss Congeniality.
    What is one thing that I did this summer? Came to DC.
    When did I first take part in NaNoWriMo? IDK, but you joined the YWP in 2011.
    What was my first regular blogging feature? …I didn’t know you then so I don’t know. NaNoBlogPo?
    What is one of the subjects that I’ve studied in my dual-credit college classes? Spanish, English, maybe something else.
    I’ve traveled all over the United States, but have been to only one foreign country. Which one did I visit? Canada? I dunno.
    How many bookshelves do I have? Too many? Um, I can really only remember you saying you have like three bookcases.

  8. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up #6 | Free As a Girl With Wings

  9. I’m so embarrassed about my ninth grade stuff, including my essays. I can’t believe the teachers gave me As!

    Quiz:

    Erm …
    1. 12th
    2. Um … not sure for least favorite. One of your favorites: Ash?
    3. Hmm …
    4. 5 ft
    5. Adore: Lupin
    Despise: Augustus Waters
    Crush: Cameron Post?
    Like: Um …. wait, I’m getting it …. Well, Frodo’s sometimes classified INFP so maybe him?
    6. The Miseducation of Cameron Post
    7. The Fellowship of the Ring
    8. Write on this blog
    9 and 10. ?

  10. Congratulations on your blogiversary! 😀

    As for the quiz…
    What grade am I in currently? Um, college classes and… 12th grade?
    What is my least favorite book? What is one of my favorite books? Least favourite, The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan. Favourite book, The Miseducation of Cameron Post and Ash!
    When is my birthday? Um…July something?
    How tall am I, approximately? Like 5 foot.
    Name four fictional characters – one that I adore, one that I despise, one that I have a crush on, and one who is similar to me according to the MBTI test. Adore- Luna Lovegood, Despise- Umbridge maybe? Crush- Ash, MBTI type- I have no idea. 😛
    Which book(s) made me cry? The Miseducation of Cameron Post.
    What is one of my favorite movies? The Maze Runner.
    What is one thing that I did this summer? Went to Washington D.C.
    When did I first take part in NaNoWriMo? 2011.
    What was my first regular blogging feature? I have no idea.
    What is one of the subjects that I’ve studied in my dual-credit college classes? Gender studies.
    I’ve traveled all over the United States, but have been to only one foreign country. Which one did I visit? England?
    How many bookshelves do I have? 5?

    • nevillegirl says:

      Almost all of your answers are right! 🙂 But my birthday is in September… and I’ve never taken gender studies classes yet. But I’m going to minor in that subject in college! I’m so excited for it! 😀

  11. YAY ENGIE!!! 😀 Congrats! It must be amazing to have blogged for four whole years. And now for the Engie Quiz:
    1. What grade am I in currently?–12th
    2. What is my least favorite book? What is one of my favorite books?–well, least favorite, one of them is TFiOS, one of the most is the Miseducation of Cameron Post
    3. When is my birthday? — SEPTEMBER 22, EVERYBODY GO WISH ENGIE HAPPY BIRTHDAY! 😀
    4. How tall am I, approximately?–5’0” ish I think
    5. Name four fictional characters – one that I adore, one that I despise, one that I have a crush on, and one who is similar to me according to the MBTI test. — adore Nine (I think?), despise Eleven (and The Devil From Scotland), crush on Mme. Vastra, similar to you… IDK who’s similar, but according to the 16 personalities one, Luna Lovegood and Eight
    6. —
    7. —
    8. What is one thing that I did this summer? Well, blogged :3 And read. Oh, and I stumbled upon your blog and we became bloggy friends 😛
    9. When did I first take part in NaNoWriMo? — 2011?
    10. —

    BONUS:
    3. 11 bookshelves 😛

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY MUSINGS FROM NEVILLE’S NAVEL! And what a fantastic blog, too 😛

  12. themagicviolinist says:

    HAPPY BLOG BIRTHDAY!!! 😀 Your little blog is growing up so fast . . . *sniffs*

    Aww, thanks for mentioning me. 🙂 It’s been, what, two years since we found each other on NaNoWriMo? And I’m glad we did because of SO many reasons. Your posts (obviously), trading book recs, finding new blogger friends, and I might not have watched “Doctor Who” if it weren’t for you! Even though they made me feel ALL THE SAD EMOTIONS (though I forgive you for that). Ha ha, now that you mention it, it is sort of like that, which is super cool, because I’ve never had a sister, older or younger. 🙂

    (I didn’t read any of the comments before doing this, so I didn’t cheat. 😉 )

    What grade am I in currently? (12/Senior)
    What is my least favorite book? What is one of my favorite books? (TFIOS for least favorite. Umm, either THE DREAM THIEVES, THE RETURN OF THE KING, or THE MISEDUCATION OF CAMERON POST for your favorite.)
    When is my birthday? (September 22nd)
    How tall am I, approximately? (5’0)
    Name four fictional characters – one that I adore, one that I despise, one that I have a crush on, and one who is similar to me according to the MBTI test. (One that you adore: Rose Tyler, one that you despise: Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters :P, one that you have a crush on: Martha Jones, one that is similar to you according to the MBTI test: Luna Lovegood.)
    Which book(s) made me cry? (THE MISEDUCATION OF CAMERON POST and the GoT series.)
    What is one of my favorite movies? (“Up”)
    What is one thing that I did this summer? (Read. 😉 )
    When did I first take part in NaNoWriMo? (2011)
    What was my first regular blogging feature? (The Good-Sinful Alliance.)

    What is one of the subjects that I’ve studied in my dual-credit college classes? (Spanish)
    I’ve traveled all over the United States, but have been to only one foreign country. Which one did I visit? (Gah, I know what it is, but I can’t remember. 😛 )
    How many bookshelves do I have? (11)

    How did I do? 🙂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

