Top Ten Series I Want To Start Reading

Hello, readers/minions. I have something horrifying to tell you.

…I haven’t read anything in like a week. Actually, it’s been longer than that. It’s been eleven days. Why haven’t I read anything?

  • Because I’ve been busy doing other things
  • Because I’ve been super tired lately
  • Because I’ve read one hundred and eighteen books thus far this year and so I think I deserve a break
  • Because I’ve felt rather blah lately and that affects my reading habits

Fear not, though. I’ll probably pick up a book before this week is out. I usually have a few “reading blahs” every year; this March I had one that lasted for two weeks. It happens.

Anyway, this is a roundabout way of saying that this week’s Top Ten Tuesday prompt (hosted at The Broke and the Bookish) is rather apt… since I’ve thought about books quite a lot lately but haven’t actually read any in a while.

This week’s prompt is “top ten series you would like to start reading.”

1. The Stormlight Archive series by Brandon Sanderson

THE FIRST BOOK ALONE IS ONE THOUSAND PAGES LONG. And it has nine planned sequels! OMG. I really love long high fantasy novels…

2. Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy by Laini Taylor

I look forward to reading these three books because they’re paranormal/urban fantasy and they take place in Europe! (Prague, to be more specific.) Oh, and because I’ve heard so many lovely things about them.

3. The Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

shadow and boneRussian-inspired high fantasy? Never seen that before. So I want to try it. Also, these books have really beautiful covers. I like shiny, pretty covers.

P.S. Don’t confuse the first book of this series (Shadow and Bone) with the first book in the series above (Daughter of Smoke & Bone)!

4. Starbound trilogy by Amie Kaufman

My blogging friends raved about the first book, These Broken Stars, soooo… I guess I’ll just have to read it and see for myself!

5. Wolves of Mercy Falls series by Maggie Stiefvater

These four books are actually stacked (along with many other novels) next to my bed, waiting for me to read them! But. As I mentioned above, I’ve experienced the reading blahs as of late and haven’t yet read them. But I should. Because werewolves.

6. Legend trilogy by Marie Lu

DYSTOPIAN NOVELS. Enough said.

7. Micah Gray duology by Laura Lam

Historical fiction and fantasy, set at a cirus? YES, PLEASE. Also, these books feature an intersex main character – yay for diverse YA fiction!

8. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series by Douglas Adams

I tried to read the first book a few years and couldn’t get into it, but maybe my reading the false princetastes have changed? I hope so. Offbeat science fiction sounds fun.

9. The Ascendance trilogy by Jennifer A. Nielsen

So, um, this series might be on this list because the cover of the first book is so incredibly beautiful. The high fantasy plot is just a nice bonus.

10. Graceling Realm trilogy by Kristin Cashore

Orphu @ A Mirror Made of Words loves this series and since I’ve loved all her other recommendations, I’m going to try this series. It’s high fantasy… of course. Most of the books on this list are. Hmm, I wonder which genres I like? I don’t know…

Which series would you like to begin?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Top Ten Series I Want To Start Reading

  1. Fiona says:

    Well, I’ve read a couple of these series (is series the plural? or is it serieses? that doesn’t sound right), and most of them are pretty good.

    Brandon Sanderson is an AMAZING author. One of my favorites. I’ve only read Mistborn and Steelheart, though, so I’m not sure about The Stormlight Archives. Judging by the ones I have read, though, I think you’ll love them 🙂

    Wolves of Mercy Falls didn’t really impress me, but I read them a while ago, so my tastes my have changed. They’re definitely not as good as The Raven Boys, though. The werewolves are admittedly pretty cool.

    IMHO, everyone needs to read the Hitchhiker’s Guide. At least the first book. I got lost somewhere around Goodbye and Thanks for all the Fish, but still. They’re amazing and quirky and totally offbeat and you NEED to read them.

    The covers for the Ascendance Trilogy are actually what drew me in too. I liked the first book quite a bit, although it didn’t wow me or anything. I found the second book kind of ‘meh’. Still haven’t read the third (I’m in a reading blah too at the moment).

    And last but not least, The Graceling Trilogy is another of my favorites. ALL of Kristin Cashore’s female characters are well developed and three dimensional and unique and totally kick-butt. I do have a couple of problems with the series (especially Graceling), but they’re definitely worth a read.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I think the plural of series is just series, but who knows? :O

      Awesome; I look forward to reading his books even more now!

      Yeah, I wouldn’t expect them to be. Maggie Stiefvater had had much more practice by the time she wrote The Raven Boys!

      Ehehe, OK.

      Bleh, that’s unfortunate. I hate it when the sequels aren’t as good as the first book.

      *squees* Yay!

  2. Cait says:

    Most my books were some kind of supernatural/epic fantasy thingie. Hehe. Hey but when you love a genre, no harm in gobbling as much as possible, right?!! I liked the first Ascendance book! It was FUNNY. But, as I do, never got around tot he rest. -_- Gosh, I have a problem, don’t I? I never finish stuff.
    Brandon Sanderson scares me. I don’t think…nope. Not ever. I love fantasy but 1000 pages? THAT IS A LOT OF PAGES.

  3. I want to read all of those, too! 😀 I’d definitely recommend the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series. It’s just so funny and quirky, you can’t help but like it once you get into the swing of it. They’re one of my favorite books. Although some people just don’t like them and can’t get into the swing of them, which I also totally get. 🙂

    … I get Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Shadow and Bone confused ALL THE TIME. We need more original titles, people! (Not that it’s the author’s fault in any way, shape, or form.)

    You get to read during the week??? I’ve self-banned myself from books on weekdays (TORTURE because I left off on a cliffhanger/I-just-want-to-read-all-of-this-now-but-don’t-want-to-because-the-amazingness-has-to-last-longer of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell). The idea is that I won’t be tempted to read or think too much about reading and fictional characters during the week so I can concentrate more on school. Although of late, my self-control has been slipping, and I spent the past 3 hours exploring blogs instead of studying for my AP history test…

    • nevillegirl says:

      I think I might like them more now because I’ve read much more Terry Pratchett since I first tried Hitchhiker’s Guide, and… Adam’s and Pratchett’s writing styles seem similar? AKA bizarre.

      It took me quite a while to realize the books weren’t from the same series! 😛

      Yeah, I do. If I have time. 😛 I cannot live without books.

  4. The Grisha trilogy is one I really have to read as well. But, you know, sometimes life gets in the way of reading and I don’t read as much as I would like. So there are millions of series that I’d like to read!

  5. Brandon Sanderson’s Stormlight Archive is brilliant! As are almost all his works though. 🙂

    The Ascendance sounds really interesting though! Might have to read that.

  6. I have the Grisha series here – I can’t wait to start it! I have heard nothing but great things about the series you have listed!

  7. I’ve been rather intrigued by the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy for a while now, having heard many good things about it, but I’ve yet to get around to starting it – I might add it to my ever-growing list though! I’ve read most, if not all, of the Wolves of Mercy Fall series (whilst I didn’t think it was amazing, it’s a far cry better than the Raven Boys books by the same author…), and I started the first book in the Legend series – and I think I’m maybe better to keep that opinion to myself for now!

    As for series I want to read myself, it’s mostly series that I’ve started and have all of, I’ve just not finished: namely, A Song of Ice and Fire, The Lord of The Rings (it’s taken me about 3 weeks just to think about reading the last 40 pages of the first book…), and the Bad Tuesdays series. I seem to stick to reading stand-alone books, so I think it’s time to look into getting some more series on the go!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, I still need to finish some of the ASOIAF books… and The Maze Runner series, and the Mortal Instruments series, and and and… quite a few series. I get distracted by other books and it’s difficult for me to finish a series quickly! 😛

      • As do I; I still have a couple left in that! I’ve got the Maze Runner series, and have had them for a few years, I’ve just never started them – I think I should at some point! As for the Mortal Instruments… I love that series! Especially the 5th book… I could read that over and over forever ❤

        I'm exactly the same – I can't read only one book at a time, I always end up with at least half a dozen on the go!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahaha, I’ve only read the first Mortal Engines book… and then I want to try the Infernal Devices series! 🙂

      I think that right now I’m reading… six books? Maybe seven? Idk.

      • I re-read the whole series just before the 6th one came out (finished the 5th one at 12:30am of the release date, straight away started the 6th and had it finished by half past 6 the same morning – and at over 700 pages, that was quite a surprise!), and it’s weird looking back on the first ones; the 3rd is probably one of my least favourites now! The Infernal Devices is also a good series, which I do recommend!

        I’ve put all my other books aside until I finish The Miseducation of Cameron Post (thank you thank you thank you THANK YOU for writing about it in your band books week post!), but after that I’ll be swapping around like a mad thing!

    • nevillegirl says:

      *high-five* I like reading books as soon as they’re published too… my friends are always like wHAT HOW DID YOU EVEN FINISH THAT BOOK ALREADY IT’S ONLY BEEN OUT FOR 1/2 A DAY 😀

      Eeee, so you like it?! Yay! I ❤ that book so much.

      • It’s great fun! For instance, I’m going to pre-order the new Mara Dyer book for my Kindle so that I can read it as soon as it’s out, because it’s been over a year since the last one and I just NEED to know what happens!

        I loved it, it’s one of the best books I’ve read in ages!

    • nevillegirl says:

      (Ooh, I want to read the Mara Dyer books someday!)

      Yeah… I got Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater (a book I’ve been looking forward to for aaaaaages) from the library yesterday and… I finished it today. BECAUSE I AM AN EXCITED LITTLE BOOKWORM.

      • I REALLY RECOMMEND MARA DYER. That second book… I had chills when I was reading it (also it was at about midnight so the tense..ness was somewhat heightened), and they’re just SO GOOD. If my excessive capitals don’t give that off, I don’t know what will…

        Ohh, I didn’t know that was even out yet! I’m going to wait and get it cheap, though, because I can’t stand the first two – but I can’t leave a series unfinished 😦 But excited bookworms, little or otherwise, are the best things to be, I’ve found 😀

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’ve heard that the first Mara Dyer book isn’t so good but that its sequels are better??

      Oh, really? 😦 Oh, right, yeah, you liked the Wolves of Mercy Falls… I should start the first one while I’m still in my Maggie-Stiefvater-induced bookish hangover. xD

      • I really, really, REALLY liked the first book, but the second one is definitely far superior – I read it at night, and couldn’t get to sleep after xD The third one is out…THIS MONTH :O So I’m looking forward to that!

        Yeah, I just couldn’t get into the story and didn’t like any of the character at all :/ Well, I think “liked” is a bit of a strong word – I enjoyed them at the time, but I don’t think I would rush to read them again. Have you read Lament and Ballad, by Maggie Stiefvater?

    • nevillegirl says:

      Nope, I’ve never read Lament and Ballad! But I want to… someday.

      • Well, I personally found them a lot better than the Shiver series and the Raven Boys books, but again they’re not all THAT great I don’t think – Lament is definitely better than Ballad, that’s for sure!

        Honestly, I mostly just bought Lament because the cover is so lovely xD

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, I often pick up books because they have pretty covers! 😛

  8. Mo says:

    *hugs you* I, on the other hand, have been speeding through a number of books in the past few weeks, of varying quality and enjoyability. Ones I would recommend–Delusions of Gender, nonfiction, you’ve probably seen stuff about it. It was good, although it did kind of start to repeat itself. Trouble and Her Friends–gay and cyberpunk and really cool. What I would not recommend–anything by Lauren Myracle. In the last week or two, I read both ttyl and Shine and they were both fairly quick easy reads but ultimately sucked.
    Mistborn by Brian Sanderson just came in for me, but I’m slightly intimidated by the size and just how goshdarn small the print is.

    Anyways, back to series. That Daughter of Smoke and Bone series sounds a little bit like the Bartimaeus trilogy to me, but I wouldn’t know. I liked the Grisha trilogy and found them easy to get through, but it was a little too “omg so many love interests for Alina”. I think the author made it fairly clear by the beginning of the second book who she was ‘supposed’ to end up with, but that part still kind of dragged on. I’ve read either one and a half or two and a half Douglas Adams books, because my brother had a copy that had all five H2G2 novels, but to be honest, I couldn’t get through all of it.
    That’s really all I know about the series you mentioned, and I’d love to hear what you think!

    • nevillegirl says:

      *hugs you back*
      Ooh, yes, I have heard of Delusions of Gender! Thanks for reminding me of it; I should definitely read that. ^-^
      *adds Trouble and Her Friends to my TBR list*
      I thought the ttyl books were all right, nothing special… and I think the only other Myracle book I’ve read was Kissing Kate, which was pretty good.

      Eugh, huge books with tiny print are always daunting! *patpat* But I’m sure you can get through it. 🙂

      Bleh, if there has to be romance in a book then I’d rather have an author keep me guessing about who the MC will end up with!

      • Mo says:

        Yeah, Trouble and Her Friends was great.
        I kind of enjoyed reading ttyl, but it really wasn’t that good. Hmm, I’m not 100% sure I have, but I think I did read Kissing Kate and I wasn’t impressed, but I could be wrong.

        I think once I get into it, I’ll like it, but right now I’m rereading Beauty Queens. xD

        I started the Grisha Trilogy because I saw something about how someone told the author that it had “unnecessary lesbianism” in it, and I was kind of thinking (at least during the first book) that the MC would be the lesbian, but it was not to be–there’s like three male romantic interests for the MC, plus another offer of political marriage. If that’s not unnecessary, I don’t know what is! 😛

    • nevillegirl says:

      Well, I’ll definitely look for it the next time I’m at the library! 🙂

      I should reread Beauty Queens too. ❤ ❤ ❤

      *straight person voice* But those boy/girl relationships were actually relevant to the plot!!!!1!!

  9. orphu44 says:

    Ooh! The only ones I’d already wanted to read were the Laini Taylor books because I quite liked Blackbringer and for whatever reason didn’t connect the two for the longest time, but there are quite a few others on here that I want to read now.
    For some reason I thought you’d read Graceling already. Huh. (Kristin Cashore and Malinda Lo’s books are, for whatever reason, indelibly linked in my mind, though. Although in Graceling there isn’t any LGBTQ+ representation, though it does introduce characters/a couple that’s confirmed as canon in a later book.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      What’s Blackbringer? Is that another book by Laini Taylor?

      Nope, I haven’t! But I want to. 🙂
      (Same here. Probably because you like both of them so I associate both of them with Pilku…)

  10. themagicviolinist says:

    I also want to start the Wolves of Mercy Falls. And Legend. and The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. And Daughter of Smoke & Bone. I keep getting distracted. 😛 I’ll probably pick the first book of the series for my book club selection so I can use that as motivation. BUT THERE ARE SO MANY BOOKS TO READ!

    Ooh, The False Prince! 🙂 I’d forgotten all about that series. I read the first book years ago (I think I was ten, maybe eleven). It was a very good book. Highly recommended!

  11. I’ve been having a reading blah lately too. D:
    I’ve only read one book on your list, The False Prince, and it’s very very good! I recommend it.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I seem to have escaped my reading blah, though! *squee* ‘Cause I read Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater in like two days and I just finished it and skgahdlgdshg it was so good… I’ve been looking forward to it for a long time. 🙂

      Awesome, I look forward to reading it!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

