Senior Year Saturday: 5 Schoolish Things I Did This Week

senior year saturdayWelcome to Senior Year Saturday, my newest regular feature! Essentially, I talk about any and all things related to my final year of high school, from homework and extracurriculars to updates on college planning and thoughts on graduation. And more! (Such as that dreaded feeling known as “senioritis.”) Enjoy!

Happy Saturday, everyone! I haven’t done an SYS post in a while, so I thought I’d write one today. Here are some of the school-related things I’ve done lately!

P.S. Previous Senior Year Saturday posts can be found here.

1. Applied for housing at the University of Iowa

The residence halls at my future college are known as Living-Learning Communities, and they’re organized around interests/majors. My top choice is the Honors LLC, because A) I’ve been accepted to the honors program and B) I think being around such studious people might help me to work harder because… sometimes I am not very motivated. Oops.

My second choice is the Writers’ LLC. It’s not #1 mostly due to location… it’s a little further from my classes and from the dining hall!

I’ve also begun the roommate-finding process, which is done online and mostly involves matching people based on temperament and study habits. My ideal roommate would be a quiet, creative, super-open-minded nerd, but… we shall have to see about that. I haven’t yet found anyone who seems particularly interesting.

2. Studied The Great Gatsby for American Literature

My brother and I read this over the last few weeks. Or, more accurately, my brother read it and I just answered analyze-y questions and stuff because I read it this past winter and it’s one of my favorite books – so I didn’t really need to reread it to refresh my memory!

I did forget how much I loved that book, though. GOSH IT’S AMAZING.

Oh, and we’re probably going to watch at least one of the film adaptations sometime next week. I’m excited! Wow, it doesn’t take much to make me excited, does it?

3. Forgot about P.E.

Um. I meant to be more diligent about running and whatnot, but I’ve only once in the last three weeks or so. Oops. I don’t like running… and it’s COLD now, so I don’t always want to bundle up just to go outside.

But I shall try to do better. [Tiny noises of self-motivation]

4. Raised my hand too often during college Spanish class

This makes me feel like Hermione Granger. But hey, my participation points will help to make up for any points I lose in conjugation assignments. (I am not very good at conjugation.)

And on Tuesday, my incessant volunteering-answers-routine worked out really well, because we played vocabulary jeopardy. I knew a TON of the answers, so my team ended up winning and getting Snickers candy bars as prizes. Worth it.

5. Discovered that I hate writing essays for scholarship applications

I’ve already received several scholarships from the U of Iowa – some are automatically awarded if one’s SAT/ACT scores and GPA are high enough. But I’m also applying for their top scholarship, which totals $40,000 over four years.

Anyway, I keep procrastinating on my essays for the application. Or I write something and then hit backspace and start all over again because it just doesn’t feel right. It doesn’t feel me enough. I write essay-ish blog posts all the time, but that’s different – I can be sarcastic and weird here. In my essays, though? I feel way too stiff and formal and not like myself.

Blergh.

On the other hand, the essay’s topic is pretty broad (“tell us about an idea you find fascinating and describe how it has changed/altered/impacted the way you think and live”) and that makes things a little easier. I’ve chosen to write about Roald Dahl’s children’s books and how they’ve influenced me as a budding writer of kid’s/YA books.

Oh, and one more thing: I’ll soon ask some people to read my essays and give me some comments/feedback, so let me know if you’re interested! I don’t need a ton of people for this – five would be fine, seven is probably more than enough.

-~-

If you’re still in school: What have you been learning and doing during these past few weeks? I’d love to know1

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Senior Year Saturday: 5 Schoolish Things I Did This Week

  1. I’m starting my final year of high school now as well. SCARY. But the thought of university is also kind of exciting. It’s different here in Australia because not many people live on-campus – I’ll probably stay at home for about a year, because living near universities is EXPENSIVE. Good luck with your essays – not looking forward to them haha.

  2. orphu44 says:

    Hey, I played school-related Jeopardy this week, too! We only won self-promotional bookmarks, though. Congratulations on your Jeopardy Victory.
    Senior Year Saturday actually tends to remind me of things I need to do, since I’ll more than likely be needing to transfer schools (as determined by a string of phone calls that took place after I was already definitely attending my current one) and I keep on putting off looking into that.
    (And as for the essay – if you liked, I’d be willing, but I always feel about 0% qualified whenever I try to give people feedback on things, so there’s that. I dunno.)

  3. Cait says:

    I always hid instead of raising my hand whenever I was in any sort of class. Heh. I’m terrible. But I did so much better at just silently answering any worksheets and then letting everyone else do the discussions. >.> Those scholarship applications sound nervewracking. And I hope you find a good room mate! Agh! That’d freak me out…staying somewhere with someone I’d never met. *hides permanently*

  4. Mo says:

    Aww, look at you all grown up and being responsible. It’s so cute!

    Let’s see, I can’t actually relate to that much in here–my PE is once a week whether I like it or not, and my Spanish class is only three people so it’s rather difficult to be the one answering a lot of questions. xD I would be happy to look over essays if you want–my suggestions now are that you aren’t too serious–like, take the assignment seriously, but still sound like your engaging self, not your dry serious self.
    Over the past week, I started my second quarter (we do a nine-weeks-on, two-weeks-off kind of thing) and mostly I read books and started on basic trig which was easier than I thought it would be.

  5. moosha23 says:

    Wow, senior year must be busy, huh? Well here in the UK I’m in my last year of secondary (I’m 16) but we’re applying for college – not university, just the next two years of further education. I’m pretty clueless about colleges but I’m researching a whole great big list of them this week in the hopes of finding a few that I’d be interested in attending. Man, the goodbyes are getting closer. 😦 (well so is exam season…which I’m definitely more worried about!)

  6. Miriam Joy says:

    The whole roommate thing is so weird. Some unis here have that — my sister was meant to have a roommate in her first year, but the person didn’t turn up, so for half the year she had her own room until one of her friends moved in with her — but it’s really rare. I can’t imagine having to share a room with a complete stranger. Actually, I just don’t think I’d cope very well with sharing. I depend absolutely on having a space that’s mine and no one else’s.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, see, here it’s basically the exact opposite. It’s very very rare to not have a roommate, and some buildings have rooms for 3 or even 4 people total. (But I’m not applying for that, thank god.) So yeah, I’d love to have my own room, but… that’s not happening.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, good point!
      …although… how many students are at your uni, approximately? Because a lot of American schools are HUUUUUGE.

      • Miriam Joy says:

        I’m not really sure. Oxbridge and the like tend to be smaller than other universities and the collegiate system means we’re spread out throughout a (small) city – a city that my American friend seemed more like a small American town in size. But a university like Leeds or Sheffield is going to be larger. I can probably find some numbers but googling may be easier.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Hmmm. Well, I googled “number of students at Cambridge” and it’s about 18K. U of Iowa has 22K, which isn’t really a huge difference… which sort of defeats my theory that maybe American schools have way more students.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *snorts* Yeah. Basically. It costs roughly 6K for a shared room with AC, which is what I’m hoping to get. A single with a bath and AC sounds lovely, but it’s 11K. O_o

      • Miriam Joy says:

        AC? Oh, air con. Yeah, no one has that over here, whether a student or not. I’ve never lived somewhere with it. It’s rarely hot enough to need it and when it is we just cry a lot.
        I see, that’s quite expensive. My accommodation is about £5.5k for 30 weeks (so it excludes holidays). Conversion rate taken into account, it’s probably between the two, which sounds logical (I have a shared bathroom and kitchen and also have to pay for electricity, although it’s subsidised).

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, yeah, here it’s often 26 – 32 degrees Celsius (I converted it from F! Yay me!) in the summer and sometimes even into the fall? Very different weather.

  7. Artgirl says:

    Five Schoolish Things I Wish I Did This Week
    1. Started my historiography essay
    2. Studied harder for my precalc test
    3. Looked at colleges
    4. Found my primary sources for my colloquium
    5. Found an iodine pun for my chem project
    Five Things I Actually Did This Week:
    1. Obsessed over the Avengers 2 trailer
    2. Obsessed over new episodes of Carmilla
    3. Obsessed over upcoming auditions
    4. Obsessed over Possible Opportunity To Be Published
    5. Wrote, rehearsed, spray painted set, and performed a show

    • nevillegirl says:

      Historiography? I didn’t know what that was, so I googled it and apparently it’s the study of historical writing? Sounds cool. What is your essay about?

      I still haven’t seen the Avengers 2 trailer. xD And I should watch Carmilla too… someday…
      EEEEE YAY WHAT WOULD YOU PUBLISH?!

      • Artgirl says:

        It is and it isn’t. It’s also a specific way of writing a history paper and I don’t like it and also the topic is “What was the slaves’ attitude towards slavery?” which is also hard because we’re supposed to be completely impersonal but I’m an emotional person.

        You should most definitely watch Carmilla.
        I applied to write a serialized novel thing for a newspaper. There’s like a .01% chance it would ever work out, but hey, it’s good to apply just in case.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, that doesn’t even make sense! You’re supposed to write an impersonal essay about the slaves’ attitudes towards slavery? Like, wouldn’t THEY have been emotional about it too?!

      I hope to watch it, IDK, maybe over Thanksgiving break or something when I have more time. 😀
      Ooh, well, I hope it works out for you! *high-five*

  8. Congrats on the scholarships! 😀 I’d be willing to proofread/edit for you, if you want, but be warned that I am still a high school student (so I’m probably not qualified enough and yeah).

    Blergh I GET YOU. I really like writing analytical essays for English class because I basically get to put what’s going through my mind on paper. SO HARD. 😛 But then other essays… nope. I love sarcasm. Once I used it in an English essay, and my teacher liked it, although I find it hard to believe the college officials would find it funny… 😛

    • nevillegirl says:

      OK, thanks! I’ll keep you in mind as a possible critique-y person. Basically I just need people to read through the essays and let me know whether or not I’m being coherent and interesting. 🙂

      Yeah, I use sarcasm and humor in essays I write for non-college stuff, but… that’s different. Because my mom is the only one who grades that stuff. 😛

  9. Ugh, essays. I feel for you. In my English class, I can get away with being sarcastic and my weird sense of humor because my teacher’s pretty cool with that stuff, but my writing class is another thing. She makes us write so formally and it’s just so stiff and pretentious and makes me cry on the inside. But we’re getting to write an argumentative essay on gender roles and equality for English this unit, so I’m pretty psyched about that.
    I’d totally read through your essays if you want me to, but I’m still a sophomore so I’m probably not the best person to go to for advice? 😛

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ugh, I hate being formal. But yay for essays about gender roles/equality! 😀 😀 😀

      No, it’s fine, I don’t mind what age/grade someone’s in for this essay-helping thing. I just need people to read through it and tell me if I’m being coherent, basically. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Fall 2014 – Movies, TV Shows, Senior Year, And An Awful Lot Of Reading | Musings From Neville's Navel

  11. Pingback: Senior Year Saturday: Year’s End & A Wrap-Up | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

