Books And Candy

perksI found this Halloween-themed tag on Bookish Serendipity and it looked fun! It’s about candy – specifically, the types of candy that remind you of certain books.

Delicious.

Let’s get started.

1. Apples
Ah, healthy food. It is deep, meaningful, and probably won a lot of awards but, um, it really isn’t your thing.

Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a YA classic, and while I’m glad that I now understand all the pop culture references to it… it just wasn’t my thing. I’m picky about YA contemporary, especially the angsty stuff, so I can’t say my apathy towards it the miseducation of cameron postparticularly surprises me.

2. Milk chocolate
This is the book that you’d recommend to absolutely EVERYONE.

I talked about Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan on Monday and as I wrote the review for
it, I kept thinking, “Meh. This book wasn’t as good as I’d hoped/been led to believe… If I could recommend only one LGBTQ+ book ever it would be The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth!”

Actually, let me rephrase that. If I could recommend ONLY ONE BOOK EVER, it would be Miseducation.

girl in the arenaMy blogging friends Matt and Lifelong Fangirl have been reading it lately, and I’m sorry if I’m irritating you two with my excitement and incessant “Have you read that part yet?! What about this part?!” questions, but… it’s amazing, but not that well known. So I don’t often get to fangirl about it.

3.Black jellybeans
WHY DO THESE EXIST?!

To be honest, I’m not sure how or why I even finished this book. It was a Hunger Games ripoff that started well enough but fell flat on its metaphorical face by the end. Ugh.ash

4. Chocolate kisses
Aww…this novel had the best romance.

I’m REALLY picky about love stories. And I don’t usually like love stories that are the main attraction (…no pun intended, I swear!) and not, like, mostly adventure or sci fi or historical fiction with a love story thrown in as a subplot.

0-545-16044-8So if you catch me fangirling over any love story ever, know this: I must have been EXTREMELY impressed by it. And this is the case with Ash by Malinda Lo. Whilst reading it I had a RIDICULOUSLY HUGE smile on my face and… gah, Ash and Kaisa are amazing together. OMG THERE IS SO MUCH CHEMISTRY BETWEEN THOSE GIRLS.

5. Gummy spiders
Eek! You made sure to check under your bed every night for a week after reading this scary one.

Chris Wooding’s Malice is actually a children’s book. But to be honest, I wouldn’t a game of thronesrecommend to little kids unless they want to be terrified forever! The story is told in both prose and illustrations and IT’S SO GOOD.

P.S. It’s part of a duology; the sequel is Havoc,
if you’re interested.

6. Jumbo lollipop
This took you forever to get through, but hey! You did it!

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin is super loooong. Oh, and it’s about ten thousand times more violent than I was expecting. But was it worth reading? Definitely. I mean, I’m still not over the DEATHS OF SEVERAL MAJOR Ella_enchanted_(book_cover)[1]CHARACTERS IN THE FREAKING FIRST BOOK, but whatever.

7. Cotton candy
Admit it, you loved this when you were younger. (You probably still do.) Think: children’s or MG fiction.

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine is one of the bestest books on this planet and no one can convince me otherwise! It sparked my interest in retellings, especially fairy tale retellings, and it’s so funny and well-written and just generally an amazing book. I first read it when I about eleven years old and I love it to this day.

-~-

I’m tagging:

(Come on, Cait. You really should do this one! I mean, it involves FOOD. Food!)

Link back to this post or put the URL of your post in the comments down below so I can read your responses! And, as always, feel free to participate in this tag whether or not I listed you!

And now, I have two questions for you. First of all, what is your favorite candy? I like Three Musketeers, Twix, Tim Tams, Hershey’s Kisses, white chocolate… basically any chocolate, honestly.

Secondly, what’s the most delicious book you’ve read lately? I just finished the recently-published Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater. This year, I’ve given only three books five-star ratings – and it’s part of that teeny-tiny group. Yay!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Books And Candy

  1. Cait says:

    I WANT TO DO IT but….but….I don’t actually KNOW all these kinds of chocolates. I know what an apple is (calm down, we have ’em in Oz) but I’ve never had jumbo lollipop, black jelly beans or gummy spiders. I’m sure we have chocolate kisses here, but I’ve never had one OR cotton candy (we call it candy floss though, because we take after the mother ship, Britain). SO I WOULD FAIL AT THIS SO BADLY. *cries* OMG WHAT IF THERE WAS A CHRISTMAS VERSION OF THIS?!! Waaaant. If there’s not, I’m totally going to just make one up. *revels in deliciousness*

    Aaaanyway. I like my chocolate bitter and dark. And I can’t say no to Turkish Delight either, so please, someone always come between me and the White Witch or we’re going to have problems with me selling souls to evil for turkish delight.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Gosh, really?! You have apples in Australia? Mind = blown. xD (Sarcasm! 😛 )

      OMG YES PLEASE DO MAKE A CHRISTMAS VERSION THAT WOULD BE FUN ❤

      Yeah, dark chocolate is good too. 🙂 I tried Turkish Delight once and it was yummy, but… not nearly as sweet as I thought it'd be. xD

  2. Ooh, this looks fun… Although I disagree with the part about apples. (I am an apple fanatic. I eat 2-3 apples per day. My mom has to ask me to stop eating apples and start eating… something else). I LOVE LOVE LOVE Ella Enchanted. And I so need to get around to reading those books *sigh* Hm, yeah, I took The Perks of Being a Wallflower off my birthday booklist because it doesn’t seem like *my* kind of book. It seems sort of like the coming-of-age book my mom would want me to read. (Although some coming-of-age books are wonderful; like Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell was just SFHVSFHKJA).

    I’m behind on my posts, but I might just have to do this one sometime this week, because it’s Halloween themed! 😀

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, really? I don’t like most kinds of fruit… my parents are always pestering me to eat more. But I did eat strawberry-banana yogurt today which totally counts as a fruit, right? xD

      Yeah, it was OK. Like, if you enjoy YA classics and knowing all the pop culture references to them (same with The Catcher in the Rye), it’s a decent book. But otherwise? Nah.
      (KDSHGLDSHGALSHG FANGIRL IS A LOVELY BOOK I’M SO GLAD YOU ENJOYED IT.)

      Awesome; I look forward to reading your post! 🙂

  3. matttblack42 says:

    You haven’t been irritating at all. Far from it, actually.

    I haven’t been able to read much of the book lately, but I’ve just read the part where Jane, Cam and Adam go out to get Jane’s pot. I must say, I was wrong when I said Ruth was giving off a Margaret White vibe. I should’ve saved that for Lydia. (I love how the characters even compared her to Carrie’s mom.)

    Ah, A Game of Thrones. I really wish I hadn’t watched the first season first, because the major deaths in the book would’ve had such a bigger impact on me. There’s only been three major deaths in the series that I haven’t been spoiled for 😦

    • nevillegirl says:

      Oh, good. 🙂

      *nodnod* “These homos were as high as kites.”
      (I should read Carrie now… I think we might own that book. I’ll check.)

      I spoiled a number of deaths for myself… because I google things and read too much about the books I haven’t read yet. Oops. 😛

      • matttblack42 says:

        I have the book at my house, if you need it. I’ll just use my slingshot to shoot it in your general direction. (I have great aim.)

        I do the same thing. Sometimes I’ll even see a spoiler tag on the top of the article and decide to risk it anyway, and then (surprise) I get spoiled. I simply can’t help myself.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks, man. I’ll stand outside my house and try to catch it. (The book, not my house.)

      I did that with Doctor Who last night. Oops. Oh well, I didn’t really care about that death anyway… xD

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, I’ve seen it. 🙂

  4. Mo says:

    …oops. I didn’t know Blue Lily, Lily Blue was out yet! *places hold*

    Why are apples considered candy? I mean, I guess, the whole caramel apple thing, but still.

  5. moosha23 says:

    Thanks for tagging me Engie! Miseducation sounds really good, it’s popped up a couple of times in my blog feed earlier on in the year, so I’ll definitely take the chance to read it! We have this kid in my class who is absolutely obsessed with A Game of Thrones, and he’s been trying to force me to read it so we could “fangirl” about it…he even brought his kindle in to maths class and had me reading the prologue. Yeah, it’s intriguing (and I guess the plus points of it being on a kindle and thus not scaring the wits out of those that feel like running away when faced with having to read a book that should’ve been born a doorstopper!) so I look forward to reading that too.

  6. themagicviolinist says:

    Aww, seeing the Ella Enchanted cover makes me all nostalgic. 🙂 (Although I’m probably too young to feel things like nostalgia.) I reread that book SOOO many times. I absolutely adored it. Plus, Gail Carson Levine’s Writing Magic was the first book on writing that I read and loved to pieces until the binding cracked and the pages ripped.

    Yeah, I pretty much hated Girl In the Arena. 😛 Once I saw that the author was using dashes instead of quotation marks like NORMAL PEOPLE, I was done. So, so done.

    Reese’s Cups, all the way! 🙂 Our trick-or-treat night is tonight, and this year I’m handing out candy (dressed as the tenth Doctor, of course), and I requested that we hand out Reese’s Cups and Kit-Kat’s so I can keep the leftovers. 😉

    I’m actually quite disappointed with the books I’ve read recently. 😛 I haven’t read anything fangirl worthy since The Program and We Were Liars. Sad, I know.

    I’ll definitely write something up soon! 🙂

  7. orphu44 says:

    Ooh, thank you! I meant to do this yesterday but I forgot, ack.
    I super-approve of your chocolate kiss and cotton candy choices, by the way. (Which makes me sound like I’m just a massive Cinderella fan, I just realized, but oh well.)
    As for favourite candy … of those listed, I’d have to say apple. Which kind of seems like cheating, but it /was/ listed, after all.

    • nevillegirl says:

      You’re welcome! 🙂

      Cinderella is a lovely story and I’m a massive fan of it too. 😛 BTW, you really should read Cinder… cyborg dystopian Cinderella!! ❤

      That definitely counts, if that's what you like. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Books! And Candy! (Another Tag) | Books and Bark

  9. Pingback: The Candy Book Tag: For Those Of Us Just In It For the Sweets | allthingswordy

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

