NaNoWriMo 2014: And So It Begins

Happy NaNoWriMo!

Is that even a thing? Wishing someone a happy NaNo? People say, “Happy Halloween!” and “Happy New’s Year Day!” so I assume this greeting works too.

Anyway.

I’m doing National Novel Writing Month. As usual.

What’s not usual about my novel is that it’s, um, well, not a novel.

My goal is five thousand words. I’m writing a short story.

There are two reasons for this:

+ Time. I just don’t have as much as I used to. I have schoolwork, college homework, college housing stuff/essay applications/et cetera, academic superbowl studying, a job, and chores. Oh, and I want to be able to keep reading and blogging throughout November. Therefore, 50,000 words is out of the question.

+ Motivation. I haven’t written any new fiction since the beginning of September; all my story-writing (versus essays and blog posts) has been in the form of revising some stories I wrote this spring and summer. Sure, I’ve had some good story ideas, but I just scribbled a few sentences about each one so I wouldn’t forget. I haven’t actually started to write any of those stories, though. I’ve been in a fiction-writing slump lately and can’t manage 5oK words – but I do need a kick in the pants to write something, so I’m going to write a short story. Five thousand words will be enough of a struggle.

So yeah, I’ve seen kindergartners on the Young Writers Program with higher wordcount goals than mine. So what? They probably have more time… I’m pretty sure kindergarten homework involves, like, coloring pages and not conjugating Spanish verbs and making graphs and all that fun stuff.

What am I writing about?

Um. Well. I have a general idea – but to tell the truth, I find myself doing less and less planning each NaNo, so my finished product will probably be quite different from my current story idea.

But anyway, I’m writing about… THE END OF THE WORLD! Because I’m cheerful like that. Basically my story is about nuclear accidents and war and children trying to survive on their own and stuff like that. I don’t want it to be too sad, though, so there’ll be jokes and stuff.

And I might add in a romance between two girls (because they’re so much fun to write!), but only if it fits into the story and isn’t extraneous. (I hate stories that have romance thrown into them for no real reason.) I might also delete the romance bit if I simply don’t have enough time to develop it because let’s face it, five thousand words doesn’t give me much time in which to build a story.

So, that’s what I’m going to work on this month. My story still doesn’t have a title and I know the name of only one of the two protagonists*, but oh well. I’ll figure things out.

*She’s named Gemma, because I’ve liked that name ever since I read A Strange and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray and I wanted to give one of my characters that name.

Well, that’s basically all I have to tell you today. I mean, I’m definitely happy that it’s NaNoWriMo, but I’m quite relaxed about it compared to how I have been in years past. For heaven’s sake, this morning I woke up thinking not, “OMG, NaNoWriMo starts today!” but “OMG, the Doctor Who finale is today!” Oh, well. Different priorities now, I guess.

And now I’m rambling, so I bid you GOODNIGHT. And don’t let the plot bunnies bite!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to NaNoWriMo 2014: And So It Begins

  1. Happy NaNoWriMo, you little ray of sunshine. 😛 Your story sounds fantastic; I’m glad you’re not going to push the romance. In my novel, a contemporary, romance is a main thing, so… But U have at least two gay characters, which I really wanted to have, because real life isn’t all straight people.
    Good luck writing. 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, thank you. 🙂

      Yeah, I prefer stories with romance that doesn’t overwhelm the rest of the story. *smites all the YA dystopians that are more love story than dystopia*

      Thanks; and same to you! 🙂

  2. I meant to say “I” instead of “U”. Stupid fingers. XD

  3. orphu44 says:

    I’d definitely say ‘Happy NaNoWriMo!’ is a proper greeting. Happy NaNo to you, too!
    I do relate with the not much planning thing, though. I changed my mind about what I wanted my NaNo story to be yesterday, with the result that I’ve got the basic premise, but no real plot or characters or anything else.

    • nevillegirl says:

      HAPPY NANOWRIMO! ❤

      Yeah, I always change my ideas a lot anyway, sooooo… I've figured out that planning a lot of stuff isn't really worth it because I usually end up scrapping those ideas anyway! So I just have a general idea of my plot and whatnot. But nothing minutely detailed.

  4. Cait says:

    I think “happy NaNoWriMo” should be a thing. It makes MUCH more sense to me than Halloween. xD Your short story sounds marvellous! I, personally, LOVE end of the world things. Particularly if they’re funny…particularly if it’s like black humour. But I am a very, very strange little bean. ANYWAY. I’m deep into NaNo (trying for a 10K day actually but…sheesh, I’m exhausted right now. xD) and pretty excited about it all! YAY FOR NOVEMBER.

  5. Mo says:

    …I’m attempting 30k but I really only know the name of one of my characters and I don’t have a full plot and I am going to be out of the house three days this week.

  6. moosha23 says:

    Happy NaNoWriMo! The premise of the story sounds nice (end of the world? hell yeah. nuclear accidents? HELL TO THE YEAH.) Yikes, you’re going to be busy this November! But hopefully this short story’ll bring you out of the fiction-slump (any type of slump is so hard to get out of!). 🙂

  7. I like the sound of Happy NaNoWriMo; I might just greet everyone like that for the rest of this month…

    I’ve decided to break my attempt into more manageable goals, the first being 20,000 (because I already have 12,000 from last year (it’s not cheating. I hope…)), and after that just wherever I get to! I was at first undecided between my two main stories: this one, which features NO ROMANCE AT ALL because I generally hate romance, or my other one which is about a transgender zombie. Because why not. But I need to do more research for that one, so I think I shall devote more time to that later on.

    Your short story sounds pretty cool – end of the world + humour = a pretty happy Eilidh 😀 And as you mentioned it oh-so-briefly, I’m also eagerly awaiting your review of the newest Doctor Who episode…

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, yay! 😛

      Zombie main characters ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

      Thank you! I look forward to writing it – I wrote a little yesterday, because it was Day #1 and I felt that I should write /something/, but I probably won't do any more until sometime later this week…

      OMG THAT EPISODE
      MISSY
      CYBERMEN
      DANNY
      OMG

  8. I’m quite partial to zombies, it has to be said!

    I’m the same; I wrote a bit yesterday mostly because it was the first day, but now that I’m getting back into it, I think I’ll carry on – although from updating my word count, NaNo seems to think I’m writing 12,000 words a day, so I think the rest of the month will disappoint it a little xD

    YES, I KNOW. COHERENT THOUGHTS HAVE ESCAPED ME – so I’m leaving that to you! 😉

    • nevillegirl says:

      BRAINZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ.

      Ehehe, 12K in one day? Congratulations. 😛

      *flails* My co-writer for the reviews of the finale (we’re reviewing both episodes together since they’re part of one story) still hasn’t emailed me back with her thoughts and I’m such an impatient little fangirl. xD IT WAS SO COOL. It wasn’t necessarily the best in terms of writing and plot and stuff, I guess, but in terms of BIG REVEALS that will have a huge effect on the plot? yES

      • Best meal of the day, that!

        It was actually only about 1,000, because the rest was from what I had done last year…but don’t tell NaNo that, it’s proud of me xD

        THREATEN THEM. HIJACK THEIR EMAILS. Or get a TARDIS into the future, that works too… It was such a great episode! My dad was saying he thinks it’s been one of the best in a LONG time, and I personally agree – I can’t wait for Saturday now!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Pfffft. 😛 Sometimes we have it six times a day, precious!

      Ah. Well, *whispers* I won’t tell NaNo.

      Ahaha, I’m excited to watch it with /my/ dad! I think he’ll be excited to see that the Master’s back… he grew up watching a lot of 3rd/4th Doctor episodes, so loooooots of Master stuff.

  9. Alexandrina Brant says:

    I think it’s great you’re trying something different like writing a short story. Time is one of the reasons I do the July CampNaNo instead. I mean, I’ve written more words of academic essays (over 4000 this week alone) than I would have done of NaNo had I chosen to November it.
    I am the opposite to you – I seem to do more planning with every NaNo, varying from outlining [entire plot and/or chapters] to mapping the character [physical, normally, but occasionally mental] journey. I don’t do character sheets – I like to have a basic idea of the character in my head first then let them shape their own personalities during the fiction.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks! I would’ve done the July NaNo instead of November, but… July is not a very good month for me either. June and August work fine, but I have loads of 4-H stuff in July and I’m usually busier then than I am in November! :O

      Yeah, I tried character sheets once… but I never used them, so I didn’t see the point after that. 😛

  10. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 2014: And So It Ends | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

