The Seven Deadly Bookish Sins

I found this tag on The Book Chewers and it looked like fun! Enjoy!

Greed
What’s your most inexpensive book? What’s your most expensive book?

Well, at the library’s spring book sale, some of the discarded books that were in particularly poor condition sold for only twenty-five cents! I don’t really mind whether or not my second-hand books have dog-eared pages or are missing their dust jackets (if they’re hardcover books, that is), so I acquired Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods and Gregor and the Marks of Secret by Suzanne Collins and Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan.

As for my most expensive book, I think (but am not sure) that I bought the final two Harry Potter novels for about thirty or forty dollars each!

dramaramaWrath
What author do you have a love/hate relationship with?

Rick Riordan, I think. His modern retellings of ancient myths are outstanding but sometimes his sense of humor feels awkward. Stilted. Sometimes he understands teenagers well and sometimes he makes me shake my head and go, “That is not something we would ever say!”

(I think this depends on the book/series, too. His Kane Chronicles irritated me far more in this respect than Percy Jackson or Heroes of Olympus did.)

Gluttony
What book have you devoured over and over again with no shame?

I love E. Lockhart’s Dramarama to bits and have read it so many times that I’ve lost count! It’s a fast-paced, unusual story that is both funny and sad, and YOU SHOULD ALL READ IT TOO. (Multiple times, hopefully.)

Sloth
What book have you neglected due to laziness?400px-Gatsby_1925_jacket

I keep meaning to read Les Misérables by Victor Hugo – but it’s sooooo long! I could read loads of other (shorter!) books from my uber-long to-read list in the time it takes me to finish Les Misérablesso… while I intended to read it this year, I don’t think that’s going to happen.

I’ll read it eventually, but not any time soon.

Pride
What book do you talk about most in order to sound like an intellectual reader?

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, definitely. I really do love it, old sport, but I also talk about it a lot because it makes me sound like Miss Smarty Pants.

Sometimes I pretend I am Faramir in that picture.

Sometimes I pretend I am Faramir in that picture.

Lust
What attributes do you find attractive in female characters?

Oh gosh, that’s a difficult question. Hmmm, I guess I like female characters who are independent and slightly rebellious (without being too moody). I like fictional girls who have a good sense of humor. And if they have awesome action/fight scenes, that’s cool too!

So basically, Johanna Mason. Or Linh Cinder. Or Tanith Low. Or Éowyn. I’m not picky.

Envy
What book would you most like to receive as a gift?

When the fourth and final Raven Cycle book comes out and they make a boxed set edition of the series, I would absolutely love to receive one. THOSE BOOKS ARE MY PRECIOUSES.

Feel free to answer these questions on your own blog!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Seven Deadly Bookish Sins

  1. Charley R says:

    Awesome! Heh, I still haven’t read either of the most recent Raven Boys books. I should get on that. Snarf.

  2. So I need to read Dramarama then? 🙂 I didn’t like Frankie Landau-Banks or We Were Liars, so maybe E Lockhart’s not for me. But I’m willing to give it a go 🙂 Ugh, I didn’t like Gatsby 😦 But I LOVE Fahrenheit 451, so that one makes me sound smart.

  3. Mo says:

    I know the most expensive book I bought myself was The Bodysnatchers, at $25 and IT IS THIS TEENY LITTLE THING AND IT WAS ORIGINALLY PRICED AT 5 POUNDS
    *ahem* This was an interesting post. xD

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

