The Ultimate Book Tag

I found this tag on the lovely blog My Infernal Imagination. Enjoy!

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Nope! And I’m very grateful for that, too – I read in the car a LOT. (Because: So many books, so little time!) The main reason I dislike driving is that I can’t read while doing so.

(And before you suggest it: Yes, I have considered audiobooks. But I think they would also distract me from driving and that’s kind of what I’m trying to avoid here.)

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Probably Terry Pratchett, because he can be dark, humorous, and serious all in the same book. In the same chapter, even.

thumbnail[7]3. The Harry Potter series or the Twilight Saga? Give three points to defend your answer.

Um, neither? I’m not that interested in either one, so I’m going to list three awesome things about the Hunger Games trilogy instead.

  • The series’ protagonist doesn’t need a man to save her; in fact, she rescues her guy friends more often than they rescue her
  • The series critiques our society
  • The books realistically depict PTSD and the effects of violence on Katniss

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what’s in it? (Besides books!)

Well, I bring (at least) one each time I go to the library, but I don’t carry around a separate bag just for books. That’s what purses are for! I think it is completely pointless to buy a purse that can’t hold at least two moderately chunky books. You never know when you might need an urgent bookish fix…

5. Do you smell your books?

OF COURSE.

My family and friends tease me about it a lot, actually.

How to win my heart and date me: Forget about flowers. Buy me a book. I’ll smell its pages, and love both it and you forever. (And possibly in that order. BOOKS ARE LIFE.)

6. Books with or without little illustrations?

It depends. Are those illustrations any good?

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later that it wasn’t quality writing?

Dare I say Harry Potter?

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

Well, apparently my mom realized I could read when she was reading a picture book to me one day and I finished the sentence even though she’d never read that story to me before. (So I wasn’t saying it from memory.) Apparently she was like, “Wait, you know what that says? When did that happen?!”

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelves?

Roald Dahl’s The Magic Finger. It’s sixty-seven pages long… really, it’s more like a short story than a novel or even a novella.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelves?

The Host by Stephenie Meyer; it’s over six hundred pages long.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself as an author in the future?

Yes and yes! I want to write mostly children’s books and YA.

12. When did you get into reading?

I started reading shortly after my fifth birthday and have never really been anything but obsessed with books!

13. What is your favorite classic book?400px-Gatsby_1925_jacket

I really liked A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens when I was little but now I think my favorite is The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

14. In school, was your best subject Language Arts/English?

Yes, definitely! Let’s be honest: I don’t put much effort into things I don’t care about. I should probably work on this, because sometimes in life there are things one needs but doesn’t want to do. Anyway, what I’m trying to say with all this is that writing is my best subject because I really care about it and therefore work on it a LOT.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated… what would you do?

During the past few Christmases I’ve been kind of worried that a well-meaning relative, knowing my love of YA, will give me The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.

If this ever happens I will say, “OH MY GOSH THANK YOU FOR THE BOOK” while at the same time discreetly checking its pages to see if they included the gift receipt. Later I would return it for something actually worth reading…

16. What is a lesser-known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or The Hunger Games?

Similar to Harry Potter: The Skulduggery Pleasant series by Derek Landy, though written for a younger audience than that of Harry Potter, are WONDERFUL. Very original and funny.

gregor[1]Similar to The Hunger Games: I don’t know why Suzanne Collins’ Underland Chronicles aren’t better known; they precede her later series by a few series and are actually quite dark for middle-grade books.

17. Besides rambling, what is a bad habit you always have while blogging?

Writing super-long posts, I guess? That’s kind of related to rambling, I know, but sometimes I ramble and my post is still relatively short!

18. What is your favorite word?

Um, well, I have a lot of favorite words because I’m kind of a vocabulary nerd. Currently I’m quite fond of the word “gelatinous.” It sounds exactly like what it means, doesn’t it?!

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

According to UrbanDictionary.com, dweebs are “dorky, nerdy people.” So I guess I’m all of the above!

20. Vampires or fairies? Why?

It’s a tie. They’re both fascinating, and in some of the stories I’ve read fairies were just as dangerous as vampires.

21. Shapeshifters or angels? Why?

Well, I haven’t really read much about either, but I guess shapeshifters. The Animagi in Harry Potter count, don’t they?

22. Spirits or werewolves? Why?

Werewolves! Spirits are boring.

23. Zombies or vampires?ash

Vampires; I don’t think I’ve ever read a single book about zombies.

24. Love triangle or forbidden love?

Forbidden love! I read a lot of LGBTQ+ books, and it’s pretty prevalent in that genre, so I’m used to it. Also, I think most love triangles are poorly written.

25. Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in, definitely! I’m really pick about love stories so I don’t often read/enjoy any that are ONLY romance. Some notable exceptions are Ash by Malinda Lo, The Eternal Ones by Kirsten Miller, Fan Art by Sarah Tregay, and Like No Other by Una LaMarche.

Feel free to do this tag on your own blog!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Ultimate Book Tag

  1. moosha23 says:

    Ooh, this is a cool tag! Hah, glad you chose The Hunger Games to talk about instead of HP/Twilight (that war has been raging on for far too long) which makes me really want to reread THG series (I read it…three years ago) because I didn’t notice the PTSD stuff and now I’m really intrigued!

  2. Cait says:

    I waaaaant to do this tag. SO MANY GOOD QUESTIONS. (I’m trying to remember if I’ve done it before, and I don’t think so?
    And can I just say your answer to 3 is THE BEST. That’s what I wish I could eloquently say when people say “eww, the Hunger Games is such a dumb book” and I can never adequately defend it. But you summarised it PERFECTLY. *awards you all the things* I love THG so much. The movies are just making me love it more and more and moooooore. XD

    • nevillegirl says:

      I don’t think you’ve done this one before, either.

      I’m glad you liked my answer so much. 😀 I get frustrated when people complain about THG because… well, I read a LOT of YA, and it’s definitely one of the most intelligent YA series I’ve read in a while.

  3. Ooh, nice. Will have to do this once I’ve finished term for Christmas 🙂

  4. Pingback: The Ultimate Book Tag! – allthingswordy

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

