NaNoWriMo 2014: And So It Ends

Today, November ends, bringing with it the finale of NaNoWriMo 2014.

I doubt I’ll notice the difference between November and December very much this year. Because I simply wasn’t writing as much or as often as I have in years past.

In previous years, I’ve been HARDCORE about NaNo. I mean, I’ve never been one of those people who finished in just a few days (I’m looking at you, Miriam and Cait) but I have been very strict about writing a certain number of words each day.

About staying on track.

This year, I was so, so, so, so much more relaxed about that.

As in, I wrote on only three days. I wrote some stuff on day one, and then a little bit yesterday, and then I decided to finish my goal today. Which, because this year’s goal was small, meant writing approximately four thousand and three hundred words. (Out of five thousand total.)

And that was hectic. I’ve only just now finished, and I probably won’t do exactly the same thing next year, but will I do a similar thing next year? Yeah. Sure. I won’t write most of my short story on the very last day of NaNo but this month taught me, finally, that it’s OK to binge-write during NaNo.

“Staying on track” doesn’t have to mean writing the same amount each and every day. “Staying on track” can also mean falling behind for a little while during the week and then catching up on the weekends.

(Or possibly all on one day.)

I guess what I’m trying to say is that this year, NaNoWriMo was much less stressful for me. I finished my story (well… actually, I need to wrap up that ending better and possibly rethink the death of one character, but I’ll work on those things soon) and didn’t freak out about it halfway like I usually do!

And occasional slacking off meant I wasn’t constantly writing/making notes to myself/et cetera. I read a lot during this NaNo, and towards the end I watched some movies and even an entire TV show because I thought, “My story? Oh, I can do that later in no time flat.” (By the way, expect quite a few fandomy posts soon, thanks to all those books/movies/TV shows.)

It was definitely an unorthodox approach to NaNoWriMo, at least for me. There are some things that I’m very particular about doing often (posting on this blog regularly is one of them) and I think sometimes it really helps to just chill for a while, to teach myself that I can get things done  even if I’m not doing them the way I normally would.

So that was what I learned this month. And I’m glad I did!

What about you? If you participated in NaNoWriMo, how was your month? Do you consider your first draft to be a success? Did you learn anything about writing, or about yourself as an author, during November? I’d love to know!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to NaNoWriMo 2014: And So It Ends

  1. matttblack42 says:

    Congrats on winning NaNoWriMo! (And that character is better off dead, trust me.)

    Ooh, what TV show did you watch? I’m hoping it’s Orange is the New Black, because I love that show and you should watch it. But keep with it for at least three episodes, because the characters felt like caricatures at first (IMO), but then quickly blossomed into lovable complex people with nice hair.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks! (Ehehe, maybe you’re right.)

      Nope, it wasn’t OITNB, but that’s on my to-watch list! (Because I love characters with nice hair.) I spent the weekend watching Carmilla and Pacific Rim, both of which you should watch. (The second one’s a movie, though.)

  2. Cait says:

    Pffft, I’ve got nothing on Miriam. Didn’t she write 50K in 3 days?? CRAZY GENIUS. XD Congrats on finishing, Engie!! WOOT. Any goal and any completion is still epic and amazing. *nods* Although this month has felt sooooo long. *collapses exhausted* Hectic first week and then hiatus and now omg is it really December. o.O THE YEAR IS ALMOST OVER. *deep breaths*
    I’m looking forward to fandomy posts too. ^-^
    AND YOUR BLOG IS SNOWING!! SO COOL.

  3. Mo says:

    Heh. I did do NaNoWriMo and I managed to write nearly every day, although my story kind of disappeared and the document is mostly fanfic at this point. xD

    Your blog is snowing again! 😀

  4. moosha23 says:

    Congrats for finishing NaNoWriMo! (And unorthodox approaches are the Don – which in retrospect doesn’t make much sense, but hey, it’s nearly Christmas and your blog is snowing!) For me I’m definitely going to plan out NaNoWriMo a bit more next year (I’m abandoning this year’s project and working on my writing MY style instead of the “write everyday thing” I do the “organise all my ideas once a week thing”. It’s pretty good.) Even though this year’s NaNo prospects were pretty dismal I’m definitely trying it out again next year! It is sort of addictive…

  5. Erin says:

    Well, I didn’t win Nano OR finish my novel, like I had planned…but I am close to finishing. Maybe 5k more words, and I’ll be done! But knowing me, I won’t write those words until next November…heh.

  6. I did write 50,000 words and reached a high score for words per day. Buuuttt I have a lot more of my story to go and I’m so tired. I’ll probably start working on a new novel, just for a break

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

