‘Bout This Blogger – A Tag

Hello! This morning I’m linking up for a blog party/tag about… blogging! My friend Cait @ Paper Fury recently changed her URL, blog name, and blogging platform; and to celebrate that she answered the questions below on her own blog and is holding a giveaway.

I decided to participate because A) I love tags, B) talking about blogging is fun, and C) writing this post equals extra entries in the giveaway. (Free books? YES, PLEASE.)

Enjoy!

1. Why did you start blogging?

Because I liked writing and because I thought it would be cool to have a blog – to put my thoughts on the Internet for all to see. (Or, well, for my current three hundred and forty-nine subscribers to see.)

Now I blog because I love geeking out about books and whatnot, and because I love getting comments, and stuff like that, but yeah. I started blogging because I thought it would be “cool.” I’m deep that way.

2. What’s the story behind your blog’s name?

I was looking for a title that absolutely no one else would have, so that both my blog’s name and its URL would be utterly unique. I chose “musings” because that’s what I post here – random thoughts about anything – and “Neville” because that was the name of one of my beloved stuffed animals.

Yes. I am a dork.

And then “navel” comes from… well, Neville has this weird spiral-y design on his tummy. So it’s Neville’s navel, right?

So. It’s a ridiculous name, BUT it is also unique and memorable. So I’m keeping it.

3. How many designs have you been through since you started blogging? (Pictures! We demand pictures!)

BUT YOU SHALL NOT RECEIVE PICTURES. Mwahaha!

Seriously though, I’ve only ever had one design. WEIRD, I KNOWBut… I really, really like the colors and design of my current theme, so there’s just no reason for me to switch. I love the purple background, I love the banner picture of trees, and I love how easy it is to navigate my blog and find my past ramblings.

4. Have you ever switched blog platforms? What made you move? If you haven’t ever changed…why?

Nope! I’m not a fan of most Blogger templates, and I think blogs hosted on that site can be really difficult to navigate and subscribe to. Also, most of the time their comment system is sooooo frustrating and makes me much, much less likely to leave my thoughts on someone else’s post.

5. How long does it take you to write a post? What’s your postly process like?

Ha! It depends on how distracted I am. It usually takes me around twenty or thirty minutes to write up my thoughts, but sometimes I become just a wee bit distracted by Facebook or Youtube or other blogs. Oops.

My postly process involves creating post drafts whenever I have a good idea, which happens pretty often. (Not that I’m bragging or anything.) I currently have three hundred and ninety-six blog posts in my Drafts folder – mostly concerning book reviews, lists, random bookish blatherings, photography posts, et cetera.

So I NEVER run out of blogging ideas – it’s just a matter of actually finishing my posts!

6. Have you ever been super nervous about a post? Why?! What was it?

I was nervous when I posted my request for co-reviewers of Doctor Who‘s eighth series, because I was worried that nobody would volunteer to write with me. (But I shouldn’t have worried, because eleven bloggers signed up!)

I also tend to be a little bit nervous about posting my thoughts on LGBTQ+ issues, although I’ve grown less nervous over time. (Because I’ve grown more used to being out? Probably.) Writing posts such as Bi The Way, It’s Bisexual Visibility Day! and 32 Things Not To Say When I Come Out To You make me freak out a little because some of the things I talk about in such essays are misconceptions people have about LGBTQ+ folks – and no one likes to be told that they’re wrong, so I always hope I don’t get any nasty comments after those posts. I’m currently nervous about the comments I might receive on my upcoming My Hero Monday post.

And of course, posting negative reviews (of anything, not just books) makes me a little nervous, especially if most people love what I’m writing about. (See also: Any time I write about The Fault in Our Stars.)

7. Do you have a blogging schedule?

Kind of? Like, I try to post every other day and I’m pretty successful with that. Otherwise, I don’t really have a schedule. I mean, I post my quarterly rewinds on the first day of each new season, but those posts are, naturally, quite far apart.

Basically, I just try to vary my post content – I try to write a few book reviews each month, participate in link-ups (such as Top Ten Tuesday and this blog tag) regularly, try to remember to assemble A B See Photo Challenge posts, et cetera. I try to make sure that I don’t post too many lists or musings about homeschooling or essays about LGBTQ+ stuff in a row, I guess.

8. Do you tell people in Real Life about your blog? Their reactions?

Um. It depends. If they’re into writing or love talking about fandoms with me, then I might tell them. But I doubt most people I know in real life know I have a blog. It’s mostly limited to my parents/brother, some of my cousins (if you’re reading this – HI, ANNA), and one of my friends who discovered I have a blog through my constant links to it on Facebook.

9. Top ten blogs you read/comment on the most! Go! Go!

Well… I read/comment/subscribe to a looooooot of blogs, but these are my favorites! Asterisks (*) indicate blogs run by multiple people… because I couldn’t exactly list ALL of their usernames!

  1. Matt @ The Little Engine That Couldn’t
  2. Cait @ Paper Fury
  3. Miriam Joy @ Miriam Joy Writes
  4. Sabrina Wolfheart @ Books and Bark
  5. Teens Can Write, Too!*
  6. Rhiannon @ Feminist Fiction
  7. The Book Chewers*
  8. Alex @ The Afictionado
  9. Lady Geek Girl And Friends*
  10. Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner

Be sure to check out these blogs; they’re amazing!

10. If you could change/improve things about your blog, what would they be?

Honestly? I wish I posted more often. Like I said above, there are soooooo many things I want to discuss, and posting every single day would almost certainly increase my blog traffic.

But. There is this thing called LIFE. I have homework, and 4-H projects, and chores, and books to read. So as much as I may want to write here every single day, it’s just not feasible.

-~-

Is there anything else you would like to know about Musings From Neville’s Navel, or about my blogging habits? Let me know in the comments!

P.S. If you’re interested in Cait’s giveaway (or just like talking about yourself/your blog), don’t forget to answer these questions in your own post!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to ‘Bout This Blogger – A Tag

  1. moosha23 says:

    Awesome! Musings from Neville’s Navel IS a strange name (and has a big stickability factor)! I thought it was a reference to navel-gazing, but this story is pretty entertaining (that toy must be famous now! :D)
    Hey don’t be nervous about what you write! You always come off as super confident to me, and hey, whatever backlash you do get, just brush it off right? Hah, the good things about fashion mags like Vogue and all those super fashion designers is that they have the best advice: you’re fabulous. ;P

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, you can certainly interpret it as a reference to navel-gazing if you want… after all, I do talk about myself/my life pretty often here.

      Thanks for the reassurance! 🙂

  2. I think most of us started blogging because it was “cool”.

    Ah! I did wonder where the “navel” came from. It is a uniquely awesome name. 🙂

  3. So I FINALLY know where your blog name came from (can’t believe I didn’t ask or something). Go you, having so many drafted posts! I wish I had that some days when I can’t think of what to post 😛

  4. Cait says:

    Oh yay! I wanted to know the story behind your blog’s name. XD I think when I first found your blog, you did mention it in a post or something?? So I vaaaguely knew it was from a stuffed animal. BUT IT’S DEFINITELY UNIQUE AND AWESOME. x)
    Bah, life. It likes to get in the way of things doesn’t it? 😉 I really love every time you post, I just do. I like your variety! And I love your style.
    396 though….0.0 WOW. I have like 70 drafts atm, but most of them need serious revamps because they’re like a year old. You are like an idea queen obviously.

    Thanks for doing the tag and spreading the word!! XD

    • nevillegirl says:

      THANK YOU. 😀

      *shakes fist at life and busyness in general*
      Aww, you’re so sweet. Thanks.

      *adjust her tiara* I’m not AN idea queen, I’m THE idea queen. So there! 😛

      No problem!

  5. matttblack42 says:

    Ooh, I might do this. Although #2 will be a bit tough for me, because there’s no backstory behind my blog name. It just felt right, for some reason.

    Completely agree about Blogger. It’s like the creators of that site have some sort of grudge against us WordPressers, and so they purposefully make it hard for us to comment.

  6. Melanie (YA Midnight Reads) says:

    OH MY GOSH THE SNOW FALLS TOWARDS WHEREVER MY CURSOR IS THIS IS FREAKING GENIUS. The internet has become ultra crazy with all this awesomeness.

    Anyhoo, I went through about 3 designs so far? I’m also about to get a new blog design but my first one was soooooo bad. I legit cannot describe how bad it was. So. Much. Bright. Pink. BLURGHHHH.

    Awesome post! <33

  7. Ashley G. says:

    I know life always gets in the way of blogging. Though sometimes I do run out of ideas. But usually I can get something up, I just can’t do it fast. . .

    Yeah, Blogger is kind of difficult to manage. I’ve been having problems with it. Especially when it comes to adding pictures to your posts. I might switch. One day when I have time. 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, we’re all busy. 🙂

      I’m glad I chose WordPress! I didn’t choose it for any real reason, actually… just randomly picked one, and I’m so happy that I ended up liking it and not wanting to change!

  8. Taylor Lynn says:

    Great post, Nevillegirl!! Your blog name is definitely unique, and it totally stands out from the crowd. 😉 I can’t believe you’ve stuck with this design for so long, though; after awhile I just about always need a change, haha, no matter if I like the design or not!

    Also, I’m the same as far as Things I’d Like to Change, but you already post way more (and more regularly!) than I do, from where I’m standing you’re doing quite well, I think. 🙂

  9. ladyelasa says:

    I think I’ve come across your blog before and that’s an interesting name origin lol. ^ ^ It’s cool to find more geeks. Geeks are just awesome people. Hunger Games fans unite! That’s also cool that you’re in 4-H! I was in it for years. ^ ^ Good luck with your blogging. 🙂

    Stori Tori’s Blog

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

