Now Is The Winter Of My Discontent

I do not like winter.

I like the idea of winter. I like the idea of big fluffy snowflakes, and fuzzy warm scarves, and drinking hot chocolate while sitting next to the fireplace with a good book. I think about this a lot during the hot, sticky summer, because Indiana summers are always hot and sticky.

And then winter actually arrives and I realize I’ve been basically idealizing it, and that I don’t actually like it all that much.

(Wow, I’d be in big trouble if I were from Game of Thrones! I’d probably be one of the first characters to die because I’m pretty sure that there is, sadly, no hot chocolate in Westeros.)

Winter, how do I dislike thee? Let me count the ways…

Reasons To Hate Winter

+ It’s bitterly cold outside. In the American Midwest, one bakes during the summer and is flash-frozen during the winter. And I live on the edge of this region, so the seasons here aren’t even as extreme as they are in more central locales!

+ And I have to put on many layers of clothing just to go outside. I hate bundling up just to, I don’t know, go fetch the mail or something. Blech.

+ It’s cold inside. OK, not all the time, but still! My feet get cold! And there’s nothing worse than stepping out of a nice warm shower into chilly air…

+ I don’t have very many wintery clothes. I only own two sweaters that I actually like, and one of them is too flimsy for winter and is actually better suited to late spring / early fall. So I end up wearing the same hoodie for most of the season. (I do wash it, though, in case you were wondering. And when it’s in the wash I wear that one sweater.)

+ Icy roads are a pain to drive on. I don’t think I would’ve been in such a hurry to grow up and receive my driver’s license if I’d known that slick roads and sleety days are worrying and annoying. (Also, I have having to go outside to start the car and let the engine warm up five or ten minutes before I even leave for my destination.)

+ We never seem to be as busy during the winter as we are during the rest of the year. Which means we don’t go very many places. I used to think I didn’t like going places, but then I realized that I love getting out of the house… I just don’t like talking to other people while I’m at it!

+ The sun sets waaaaaay too early in the evening. Some days I barely see the sun at all, and then it STILL gets dark outside by, like, 5 PM! Ugh. By dinnertime it’s so dark that it feels as though we were eating at midnight.

+ I experience a strong case of the winter blahs. Probably due to a combination of reduced hours of daylight and a lack of busy-ness. I become mopey and tired and bored.

+ I don’t exercise as much during the winter. And then I feel guilty about it. But I hate the cold! I hate running around outside when it’s freezing!

+ The snowflakes around here don’t even know what they’re doing. As in, sure, it snows… but often not that much until January or February. Sometimes we’re lucky enough to have a “white Christmas,” but usually even then it’s just a light dusting of snow on the ground.

+ I hate shoveling snow. Enough said.

+ I’m not allowed to have snow days unless there is so much snow that it has covered the floor and is blocking the path from my bedroom to the kitchen table. Oh, the woes of being a homeschooler. One’s parents can make up some very cruel rules.

Wow… I used the word “hate” quite a few times in this post! But winter is a HUGE PAIN IN THE BUTT, so I feel that it’s justified. Stay tuned for Tuesday’s post, in which I attempt to determine whether or not winter has any good qualities. Not that they could ever make up for the cold and other ickyness. 

What about you, dear readers? Do you love winter, or do you find yourself wishing it were over already? Has it snowed yet where you live? And most importantly, why are winter coats always so annoyingly puffy? They make whoever wears them look like a brightly colored marshmallow with arms!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Now Is The Winter Of My Discontent

  1. I hate winter coats! Marshmallows may taste good but they’re not exactly attractive. 😛
    The darkness is so annoying. I get off the bus and then it’s dark in less than an hour, which is crazy! Bundling up is both fun (pretty hats! Scarves! Etc!) and majorly annoying. I feel you. 🙂

  2. matttblack42 says:

    I have mixed feelings when it comes to winter. Now that I can drive, I’m not a fan of icy roads. (I’m going to have to take my driving test in January, that should be fun.) But I am a huge fan of snowboarding, along with those amazing waffles they have at ski resorts, so all in all winter is a more positive experience for me. Seriously, you need to try those waffles. They are life-changing.

    Yeah, I don’t get much snow until January/February either, except for one year where we had this huge snowstorm right before Halloween, a mild snowstorm at the end of March, and nothing but flurries in between. That was a weird winter.

  3. Mo says:

    …it is still sunny and mildly warm here so I cannot complain. I like it when it’s cold but not too cold. And I get to bring out all my flannel shirts and huge sweaters. ^__^ Overall, I’m a fan of winter, though it’s not my favorite.

  4. moosha23 says:

    Hah…yes winter has its disadvantages. 😀
    I’m split both ways, I love summer because when you do step out of the shower it’s warm (and cold showers are freaking blissful) and in summer the sun is out for longer (which does wonders for my mood!). However I like winter too. I like solitude and night time walks and since I come home around five on most days it’s just me, myself and I enveloped in comforting darkness, streetlights, and beautiful pavements lined with trees. Which is brilliant. I don’t know, London just seems more lively when its dark (even if its not even six o’clock), and oh my gosh shopping at night time with all the wintry Christmas lights is SO COOL. Plus when it snows and you wake up in the morning and head outside it’s like the whole world is muffled, someone dimmed the sound, and everything sounds so quiet. Love it. I don’t like daytime in winter. If it’s daytime I want to stay inside and do nothing. Another reason why I don’t like winter – everything happens, but I feel so lazy! Plus I don’t go out much in winter (it’s dark and methanin makes me sleepy) so it’s kind of hard to have a social life. (Which just brings me back into my introvert cave where I become extremely socially awkward and just act like a zombie for a bit). So winter has its pros and cons. (I just wish it’d snow already! Snowball fights are the best! So is making a snowman with the whole family!)

  5. wondrousadventurer says:

    ahhhh I’m very entertained by the fact that, not only do we have opposite opinions on winter, but we even have some of the same reasons for having them. we just appear to have interpreted the two vastly differently. “it’s too cold outside”, “I have to put on a ridiculous number of layers”, and “the sun sets early” are some of my favorite things about winter

    but what can I say? — it’s my favorite season. of course, I own more of and just generally adore winter clothing, so that may be part of it. bundling up in hats and scarves and my leather jacket isn’t something I get to do all year ’round — plus, my favorite winter hat has /alpine velociraptors/

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, well, I’m glad you’re happy now! 😛 *banishes cold weather from her area and sends it all to yours*

      I demand to see pictures of that hat. It sounds AWESOME. ❤

  6. Winter here is quiiiite different to yours, so I quite like it (doesn’t even get to zero degrees, most of the time). But when I go to England it’s going to be freeeezing, so this post is a good reminder that it’s not all fun and games. I idealise summer here too, then I remember that it’s going to be 46 degrees and melt a little bit…

    Although not right now. Now it’s storming. Crazy weather.

  7. Cait says:

    Well I don’t really know what a true winter is, right?! I’ve never seen snow and it’s NEVER that cold outside! I still hate my version of winter though (mild though it may be). It’s…ugh. It’s just cold and annoying. I really prefer shorts and singlets and barefeet and ice cream. *nods* Although I am partial to layering….but I HEAR YA with wearing the one jacket/sweater all year. -_- I do that too. I have this rainbow one that I’ve had since I was 14 and seriously, it’s all I wear in winter and by the time winter ends I NEVER WANT TO SEE IT AGAIN. Until next year. lol
    Still, I’m lucky that my winter is 14C (like maybe in the 50sF in your degree language?!) XD

  8. The grass is always greener on the other side 😛 I love winter!! Crisp air and rain and grey skies! I live in Australia though, so strictly speaking I only experienced a ‘proper’ winter when I was in Europe. But I loved it! Very chilly but refreshing 🙂 I prefer any sort of cold over Australian summers – we get mid 40s (Celcius) for weeks on end :/

  9. orphu44 says:

    I actually quite like winter, but in the past few days my winter has mysteriously gone missing and been replaced by what appears to be March. I’ll trade you.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

