Winter Is Coming

AND THERE MUST ALWAYS BE A STARK IN WINTERFELL!

…um. Sorry for that outburst. Anyway, in my last post I discussed my dislike of winter.

And then about two seconds after publishing my list of twelve things I hate about that season, I realized that it isn’t even technically winter yet, so… I’m really screwed, basically. Blah. This post is an attempt to cheer myself up after writing all those complaints, because I really do want to feel less mopey about winter and more excited about what’s to come.

So. What DO I like about winter? Let’s make a list! I love lists!

Reasons To Not Hate Winter Quite So Much

+ Hats. I love hats, the more ridiculous the better, and I especially love fuzzy hats. Winter gives me an excuse to wear them. 

+ Christmas! My family doesn’t follow any religion, so our Christmas celebration involves making lots of food, opening presents, and visiting some relatives. I especially love hanging out with two of my cousins, because they’re so much fun and we rarely see one another.

+ Sledding is fantastic. The hill in our backyard is rather modest, but my grandparents’ property has a SUPER FREAKING AWESOME HILL OF AWESOMENESS. It slopes down at, like, a forty-five-degree angle. Perfection.

+ The smell of pine trees. I mean, it’s already cool to have a tree in your house but in addition to that, pine trees smell wonderful. I’m always sad when we take the tree down after the holidays.

+ Shorter work hours. The restaurant where I work is busier during the summer, so during colder months my shift hours there are decreased – nine to three instead of eight to four (or sometimes even eight to five!). Of course, I don’t earn as much money now since I’m not working as much, but I’m OK with that. I don’t buy much stuff, anyway, apart from some books every now and then.

+ New Year’s Eve is fun. My dad usually makes a bunch of food – food is one of my favoritest things in life, in case you haven’t noticed – and I try to stay up as late as possible. Which is usually only one or two in the morning. But still. It’s fun.

+ I enjoy building a gingerbread house. Although last year my dad did most of the work, actually, and he built a gigantic gingerbread TARDIS covered in so much practically-glue-like icing that we still have it. It’s rather adorable and may or may not include a tiny frosting wreath on its door.

+ Snuggling under fuzzy blankets is just more enjoyable during the winter. Enough said.

+ Beautiful Christmas lights are beautiful. I think these are called fairy lights in other countries? Anyway. I love driving around at night and seeing all the houses lit up by strands of multicolored lights. I’ve never been able to take good photos of these – my pictures always end up blurry – but maybe once I get my new camera, I can try again. (Oh, have I mentioned that yet? My dad and I plan to visit some of the fancy camera stores in Chicago sometime this month. I’m so excited!)

-~-

Well, that’s basically it, I’m afraid. I mean, as it is I’ve already added some pretty minor things to this list in an attempt to make it longer. But I’m glad I wrote it anyway, because it made me a bit happier about the approaching season. Yes, I’m still impatient for spring, but now I’m excited about hats and gingerbread cookies and the smell of pine needles.

What do you love most about winter?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Winter Is Coming

  1. Mo says:

    I dislike regular winter hats and I don’t even have one, but I do like wearing my other hats–I have some sort of fedora and a fisherman’s cap, among others. On the other hand, winter is an excuse to wear my lovely TARDIS scarf. And sometimes I end up looking like Sherlock because it is a blue scarf and I usually wear it with a black peacoat.

    I think my favorite thing from your list is snuggling under blankets, but my family has some nice New Year’s and Christmas traditions as well.

  2. moosha23 says:

    Yes fairy lights! We have them everywhere and it just looks so pretty! We have them on trees, on lamp posts, on doors, on walls, on everything! And wow do you have any pictures of the gingerbread TARDIS?! That must have been epic to make!

    • nevillegirl says:

      We don’t have any lights up at the moment, but I’m hoping that we will soon! 🙂

      We literally just unpacked it from the boxes of Christmas decorations, so I’ll take a picture soon!

  3. I wish we had sledding in Australia! Not QUITE cold enough, I’m afraid. And I’ve never made a gingerbread house either. Clearly I’m missing out. Although I can relate to shorter work hours. My restaurant is sooo quiet in winter as well! But since summer is here it’s crazy busy at the moment.

  4. Hats! I love hats. I have a special penguin one I reserve especially for winter (and ’cause I can’t really wear it anywhere else 🙂 )
    Christmas is so fun, especially the music.
    That sounds like an amazing hill! Where I live, when it snows it ices over, making snowballs hurt a lot. 😛
    I think the majority of my teachers have a candle or something that’s either pine or Christmas tree scented.
    THAT SOUNDS LIKE THE BEST GINGERBREAD HOUSE- erm, TARDIS- EVER!!! We had to use wood glue to get ours to stick together this year. 😛
    Fuzzy blankets. That really is enough said.
    My friend’s little brother is obsessed with lights, and so when we’re in her car we’re always on the lookout. 🙂
    And hot chocolate. Hot chocolate is amazing. ❤

  5. matttblack42 says:

    A gingerbread tardis, eh? Is it bigger on the inside?

  6. Cait says:

    Christmas lights ARE awesome. We have streets that do like fantastic displays where every house on the street is totally lit up and they get nominated Christmas Lane and stuff. 😉 It’s awesome to see. Lights are probably my favourite part of Christmas….buuuut, that’s not winter for me, so I’m stumped. heh. The only thing I like about winter is hot chocolates.

  7. Heyy, you got to this post before I could! xD I guess it’s a common thought to do list posts about why winter doesn’t suck so much.

  8. Thomas says:

    I appreciate how you attempted to do away with your disdain of winter by listing things you appreciate about it. Right now I enjoy the season because I will have time to read for fun during it – a commodity I did not appreciate in my youth! Great, well-rounded, light-hearted, fun post.

  9. Pingback: Reasons to Love Winter | Miss Alexandrina

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

