The Heroine Tag

Hey there! I didn’t originally intend to post today – even-numbered days are my days off! – but Cait @ Paper Fury tagged me in The Heroine Tag and… it looks really cool, so of course I had to jump in! I love heroines.

Also, it’s quite appropriate that I’m publishing this the day before my post for My Hero Monday, isn’t it?

Anyway. Enjoy!

P.S. This tag evidently doesn’t have any rules, which means I’m not limited to discussing only literary heroines, right? Right?! So I’m going to talk mostly about heroines from books, but also about a few ladies from TV shows and movies. Because awesome heroines are everywhere.

Which heroine would you trade places with?ash

Ash from Ash by Malinda Lo! I mean, her evil stepmother and stepsisters make her do loads of chores (yes, this is a retelling of “Cinderella”) but on the other hand, fairies. She meets fairies and has a cute girlfriend and that just sounds like the most amazing life to me.

Which heroine would you push off a cliff while hoping that there are some jagged rocks at the bottom?

I would dearly love to do this to Lola from Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins. I liked Anna and Isla, the other protagonists from this trilogy, but Lola is just… no. She’s a brat. She thinks everyone and everything revolves around her!

A heroine you couldn’t care less about? (They’re so bland that they don’t even trigger the hate in you.)

Tris Prior from the Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth, definitely. She’s sooooo dull and nothing in her personality appeals to me. Right now I have the second book, Insurgent, checked out from the library for the THIRD time because I keep trying and trying to read it but it’s just so boring that… I can’t. It’s so frustrating because I can usually manage to slog my way through any book, even the dreariest of classics.

Divergent-posterA heroine you thought you wouldn’t like but ending up liking, and vice versa?

A heroine I thought I wouldn’t like: I didn’t expect to like Donna Noble from Doctor Who! I never hated her or anything like that, but I was kind of unimpressed by her first episode. I’d heard a lot about her from my friends who were already Whovians and when I saw her I was like, “That’s it? That’s the great Donna Noble?” But then I kept watching and realized that SHE IS AMAZING. She’s my favorite companion now.

A heroine I thought I would like: I was SO EXCITED to read John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars in part because Hazel sounded cool. And then I read it. She was pretentious, spoiled, and had this weird Insta-Love thing with Gus. UGH.

A side heroine who is much more interesting than the main heroine?

TANITH LOW TANITH LOW TANITH LOW.

[Clears throat] Um. Sorry about that. Anyway, I really adore Tanith Low from Derek Landy’s Skulduggery Pleasant series. I don’t necessarily think she’s better than Valkyrie Cain, the books’ protagonist, but she’s definitely equal to her. She’s eighty years old but looks twenty (because magic), and kicks butt with a sword, and can run up walls and across ceilings. I may or may not have a gigantic crush on her. since you've been gone

And then in book five a THING happens to her and I don’t want to spoil the story for
anyone, but anyway. It’s interesting and makes me feel ALL THE FEELINGS and really changes the course of the plot.

P.S. She even gets her own book eventually! The Maleficent Seven is a novella set between the seventh and eighth books.

Which heroine would you want as your friend?

Oh gosh, now this is a difficult question because I want to say ALL THE HEROINES. So. Um. I think I might like hanging out with Emily from Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson – she’s an introvert, too, so I think we’d have a lot of… quiet, dorky fun together. I don’t really do well around people who have super-perky personalities, you know?

Every love triangle should be girled the hell up, am I right?

Every love triangle should be girled the hell up, am I right?

Which heroine do you wish would just CHOOSE between the guys girls in her little love triangle?

Love triangles where a girl has to choose between two boys don’t interest me very much, so… Laura from the webseries Carmilla needs to choose between her two (female) crushes: her roommate/vampire Carmilla, or Danny, the TA of her English class. I don’t want to spoil the ending of season one for anyone, so I’ll just say that she did pick one of them buuuuut… the other girl looked so sad about it! And season two has been confirmed, so it’s totally possible that Laura will veer back and forth between them. Because they’re both pretty awesome and cute.

A “bad girl” heroine?

Cam, I think. She’s from The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth. I actually really like her, but WHOA. She smokes, drinks, gets stoned, and shoplifts basically all the time.

17378508Then again, there’s not much to do in The Literal Middle of Nowhere, Montana. So I don’t really blame her for those shenanigans?

(“Shenanigans” is such a lovely word, isn’t it?!)

A “good girl” heroine?

Blue Sargent from the Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater! She’s very sensible, and kind, and helpful. I strongly admire her!

Your favorite heroine of them all? (If you can’t choose, pick your top three.)

  1. Katniss Everdeen from the Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins. I love her spirit – stubborn yet broken, kind yet a loner.
  2. Blue Sargent again, because I see myself reflected in her – and I also see who I’d like to be.
  3. Valkyrie Cain! I’ve loved seeing her grow up over the course of the series, from age twelve to age eighteen. She’s learned so much magic and changed so much throughout the story.

I’m tagging:

As always, feel free to answer the questions here on your own blog whether or not you were tagged!

Talk to me, peoples! Who are YOUR favorite leading ladies? Why do you like them so much?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Heroine Tag

  1. I really need to read Ash sometime, it keeps being mentioned… 🙂
    Lola was a bit of a brat! I haven’t met Anna or Isla yet, but Lola wasn’t that nice. Tris was a bit boring. I liked her more then you seemed to have, but you’re right- she was kinda dull. I’m so excited for when I get to Donna, my friends all rave about her! I just finished “The Girl in the Fireplace” last night, btw.
    WAIT THERE’S A BOOK WITH GIRL NAMED TANITH IN IT?!?!?
    That’s my MC’s name! Yay! Now I need to read Skullduggery Pleasant, ASAP.
    I loved Emily from Since You’ve Been Gone. She was so relatable!
    Carmilla seems interesting! Maggie Stiefvater writes good books. I need to read them, too…this is turning into a TBR list! 🙂
    I especially loved Katniss in Mockingjay, so broken yet vigilant. Great post!

  2. YES I LOVE DONNA. And Rose as well, of course ❤ she's so great. BUT DONNA. And lol, I started hating Tris as well, after a while…

  3. Cait says:

    Yaay! I’M GLAD YOU LIKED THIS ONE. XD I thought you might. 😉 I totally would pick Emily to be friends with as well, because: introvert. She would understand me for sure. heh. And too true! Blue is such a good girl. AHHHHH I need to read more Skulduggery!! I’ve got book 3 out from the library and it’s due soon but I just need to read it. I feel totally unmotivated to read atm, because, you know , end of year….I feel like saving my books so they’ll count for next year. >_< I've only even read a few chapters of lily blue instead of devouring the whole thing like normal. *gulps*

  4. moosha23 says:

    Thanks for tagging me Engie!
    Oh my gosh I can SO relate with finding Tris so bland (I know most of what happens in Allegiant and found Insurgent marginally better than Divergent)…I just couldn’t relate to her. When people started praising Tris as a kickass female protagonist I couldn’t believe it! Is that kickass female protagonists are made up of? She is WAY too bland…my gosh!
    Ooh, with Donna Noble I liked her at first, and in the middle she was absolutely awesome…but towards the end I didn’t like her very much at all…especially when she came back for that last David Tennant episode I was just sick of having Donna Noble in it (but she sure is funny…I loved the episode with the Romans and Caecilius…Pompeii is the best!)

    • nevillegirl says:

      No problem! 🙂 I look forward to reading your answers to this tag!

      *nodnod* She… she is a very REACTIVE character, isn’t she? She’s not proactive – I like heroines (and protagonists in general / characters of any kind) who DO stuff instead of just being like, “Yeah, I’ll just do whatever people tell me to do.”

      I can understand that – she can be a bit much, personality-wise. I think part of her appeal for me is that I see myself in her, so I wasn’t as bothered by the scenes where she was a bit over-the-top.

  5. KITTY AND I @ @ My Little Corner For Books CREATED THE TAG AND AM SO EXCITED THAT PEOPLE ARE DOING IT! 🙂 (Even though nobody knows that we created it… oh, well)

    Awesome answers! I have yet to read most of the books you’ve mentioned but I agree with Tris (I had no reaction when I read that part in Allegiant!) and Blue is AWESOME! 😀

    Seems that you really enjoyed Since You’ve Been Gone! I’ve heard great things and plan to read it soon!
    ~Fari
    If you’re interested in the original post: The Heroine Tag @ My Little Corner For Books

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks for creating it! It was so much fun to answer. 🙂

      I’ve already read that post, actually! I followed the links all the way back to your original post because I was curious about whether there were any rules for this tag. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Life As A Heroine Addict | Miriam Joy Writes

  7. Awesome stuff! Will add this to my post-list pile to do when I get back home. (Have been so busy of late, so this’ll be another quick comment :P)
    Totally agree with you about Donna, by the way. I mean, she’s not one of my favourite companions, but I liked her a lot more as the series went on than I did prima facie.
    I’ve totally sent you fangirling over ALL OF THE SKULDUGGERY girls now, haven’t I? xD I think Landy is great for gender equality in his fiction. It’s not obvious, and that’s what makes it flow.

  8. Pingback: Book Heroines Tag | Miss Alexandrina

  9. Ooh, this looks fun! Thanks for the tag! 😀

  10. Pingback: The Heroine Tag: 10 Questions, Bookish Love, and Girls (Because We’re Awesome) – allthingswordy

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

