Make The Yuletide Gay

Q: How many gay Christmas puns can Engie make in one post?

A: A lot.

MERRY CHRISTMAS, if you celebrate it!

We didn’t get a white Christmas this year, unfortunately, but that’s OK. There’ll be SO MUCH FOOD (my mom baked three pies!), and my cat will attack and try to eat the wrapping paper after we’ve opened our gifts, and my dad put his miniature train track around the tree because he’s kind of dorky that way. And we’re going to see a movie (Unbroken, which opens today) tonight, which we’ve never done before. So that should be fun. And I’m rambling now…

Anyway, I thought I’d keep today’s post short so you can read it quickly and then return to the festivities – which hopefully including giving/receiving some books as presents. (Obviously!) Or, you know, dyking the halls with boughs of holly. Whatever floats your boat.

SO. I have written three posts-posted-on-Christmas so far, and I’ve written other Christmas-themed posts. I’VE USED UP ALL MY GEEKY CHRISTMAS POST IDEAS AS OF RIGHT NOW. So today, I’m going to cheat, kind of, and give you links to some videos with minimal writing from the Engie-beast. I’m only trying to spread the holiday queer… I mean, cheer. Holiday cheer.

This isn’t going to sound very Christmassy at first, but just bear with me: In case you’ve been reading this blog for a while and somehow still haven’t realized that I’m super gay… I’M SUPER GAY.

And considering how many of my friends are super gay/bi/trans/et cetera and/or don’t have accepting families, here are some relevant videos! Because no one wants Christmas to suck, and it’s probably not a good idea to pluck ornaments off the tree and chuck them at the nearest annoying, homophobic guest. Right? Right.

This one is from Camille @ GayWrites and it’s about stuff like not letting people stress you out, dealing with religious services that you may not agree with, et cetera:

And this one is from Kristin and Danielle @ Everyone Is Gay and it’s about pretty much the same stuff. Also, it features people making fools of themselves while wearing Santa hats, which is awesome.

And now for something completely different! If you like to don gay apparel, then OMG look at the stuff I found:

Yes, yes, I know the last item isn’t even Christmas-related, but WHATEVER. (Hey, have you seen the Carmilla Christmas special yet?! Please fangirl with me.) It’s a little late now, but maybe you could ask Santa for them next year? Ho ho homo.

I would apologize for all these puns, but am I sorry? NO. PUNS ARE DELIGHTFUL.

Well, that’s pretty much all I have to say to you today, minions. I hope you have a great Christmas, and that you found those videos helpful and the links amusing. (And whether or not you’re queer, I’d really appreciate it if you shared this post with anyone who is, so that it might help them. Also, it increases the pageviews I get on this blog! Teehee.)

P.S. Actually, no, wait, I have one more thing to say! I couldn’t figure out how to include this joke, but I think I’ve finally hit upon the solution. Have you set up your gaytivity set yet? After all, Jesus had two dads.

All right, all right, that’s enough puns… for now. I’ll see you in a few days with a thoroughly-pun-free and non-Christmassy post! (That is probably also book-related. Because it seems like that’s what I talk about on here the most.) Now go have fun!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Make The Yuletide Gay

  1. Mo says:

    Oh, you cute nerd. This post was delightful and amusing–just like you! 😛

    The only queer Christmas-y thing I got was The Miseducation of Cameron Post, and I’ve been re-reading it and wow I’d forgotten just how good it is.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *blush* Thank you! (Tbh “cute nerd” is the best compliment anyone could ever give me.)

      I got a Barnes & Noble gift card (among other things) for Christmas and I’m going to buy the hardcover edition. 😀 They don’t have it in the store, though, so I suppose I’ll have to order it online…

      • Mo says:

        Well, I do believe it’s quite accurate.

        I didn’t get a lot in the way of gift cards/money (though what I did get, I spent on a LaFontaine hoodie), but I got a book of essays about Tamora Pierce, Cam Post, Vampire Science (an EDA), and Topaz’s book, The Australian Job. The other thing I noticed in re-reading is that I get a lot more of the pop-culture references than the last time I read it.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe. 😛

      I think I just may buy myself that Carmilla “useless lesbian” shirt with my Christmas money – hey, it’s accurate, isn’t it?
      (…such as that Carmilla reference? Lindsey references it!)

  2. I SOMEHOW COMPLETELY MISSED THIS POST AND I’M SO SAD BECAUSE puns. Christmas cheer, yay! OMG ANYTHING CARMILLA GIMME GIMME. I apologize for the excessive use of caps. But wonderful punny post?

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

