Thoughts On “Unbroken” + Questions About “X-Men”

Good morning, everyone! Today’s post is shorter than usual because A) there are only a few things I want to tell you this time and B) I have to leave for work in half an hour (lucky me!), so I couldn’t write all day anyway. (SOB!)

So, without further ado, here are the thingies I’d like to discuss today.

-~-

My family went to the movie theater on Christmas day, which was kind of fun because we’d never done that before! Not sure how I feel about the actual movie, though – we saw Unbroken. If I’m honest, I think my opinion of it grows less and less charitable as time passes…

(If you don’t know what the movie’s about: It’s based on the book by Laura Hillenbrand, and tells the true story of Louis Zamperini, a WWII soldier who survived a plane crash, shark attacks, forty-seven days at sea in a raft, and multiple Japanese prisoner-of-war camps. And he was in the Olympics. He died only this summer at the age of, like, ninety-seven or something, and my reaction after finishing this book was basically, “Whoa, that’s a lot of stuff to fit into one lifetime. That’s a lot of stuff I’m surprised he managed to survive through…”)

SO. If you’re thinking about seeing Unbroken, I kind of think you’d get more out of the experience if you’ve already read the book – I can totally see how the plot could be confusing if you don’t understand it beforehand, and I think there’s a certain element that was in the book but is missing from the movie.

I mean, the book is SO focused on Louis’ thoughts, and I’ll bet that was very difficult to translate into images on a screen. The movie can’t quite get inside his head the way Hillenbrand was able to.

The other big critique I’d like to make was that the ending seemed super-rushed and a little cheesy. The beginning and middle of the film were all right, though…

Anyway, I’ve rambling long enough, so I’ll stop now and just link you to the music video for the credits song, which is AWESOME. This is Coldplay’s “Miracles.”

Actually, no, I’m not going to shut up just yet because I have one more thing to say: I love how the lyrics are so relevant to the story! A lot of religious imagery, no? I’m not religious, but it played a big role in Zamperini’s life (he said it’s what helped him to survive for so long), and I’m glad they included something that was such an important part of his life. Also, it’s just a really pretty song.

-~-

If you’re friends with me on Goodreads, you’ll know that I’ve read a lot of graphic novels this year… especially Marvel comics, which I’ve only recently gotten into! I’ve read a bunch of Captain America stuff (because my library has sooooo much and also because he’s my favorite superhero), finished the new editions of Young Avengers just last night (which was awesome!), and plan to read a bunch of Batman comics (yes, I am aware that he’s from DC not Marvel comics).

Anyway, I think I’d like to start reading (and eventually watching) some X-Men stuff because they seem like pretty cool characters. BUT I don’t know where to start… so if you love those comics, please recommend some to me! I don’t particularly care whether you recommend an origin story or something that is a little further along in the characters’ story arcs, just as long as it’s good.

THANK YOU, BLOG MINIONS/FELLOW COMICS NERDS.

-~-

Well, peoples, that’s all I have to say today. I’d love to hear your opinion of Unbroken (whether you’ve read and/or seen it) and I would realllllllllly appreciate suggestions for X-Men comics!

And if you don’t know anything about Unbroken and the X-Men, never fear! Just talk to me about other stuff! Like… how was your Christmas? (Did you get any weird/awesome presents?!) And have you read any good books lately?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Thoughts On “Unbroken” + Questions About “X-Men”

  1. moosha23 says:

    I haven’t watched/read Unbroken, but the guy’s life reminds me of another WW2 soldier who surprised me with how amazing his life was. In English I was reading Nettles, a short poem about a Dad’s reluctant admittance of not being able to protect his son against getting hurt in life, by Vernon Scannell and naturally, like the geek I am, I get the class to search up the life of said poet of a very boring, mediocre poem. Scannell had a love for boxing and literature (an unusual love, like mine of science and literature). He was enlisted in 1940 for the war, but soon deserted, got caught and punished with a sentence in one of the harshest military prisons ever, then had to take part in the Normandy invasion, then he deserted again, spent two years on the run. While on the run he had jobs in the theatre, in professional boxing bouts, and through teaching – all the while writing award-winning poetry. He got caught in 1947, arrested and court-martialled he was sent to a mental hospital and when released he went to London (through the money earned by teaching and boxing) and settled down into a life of writing.

    This guy was living the life.
    And then he chose to write Nettles. -_-

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, that sounds amazing. Well, not the part about the boring, mediocre poem. But all the rest. 😛 A lot of amazing people fought in World War II… have you read Going Solo by Roald Dahl? Tbh I’m amazed we were ever able to read any of his wonderful stories because there were sooooo many times he nearly died.

      • moosha23 says:

        Roald Dahl was freaking cool wasn’t he? I haven’t read Going Solo but I’ve read a bit about him being an RAF pilot and I’m just in awe.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, he crashed his plane and was almost burnt alive inside of it and got lost in the desert and I just… wow. O_o That’s a hell of an experience… not a good one, obvs. 😛

  2. Bridget says:

    MY TIME HAS COME.

    Okay. Let’s see. The X-Men are great, but you should definitely be aware that, A, there are a LOT of characters to keep track of, and B, they tend to die and then come back to life pretty frequently. Basically, don’t be afraid to use Wikipedia when you need to.

    Anyway. Let’s see.

    All New X-Men is a great series. It focuses on the original ’60s X-Men who have time traveled to modern day. It’s new-ish, and based around the aftermath of Avengers vs X-Men, so you may want to Wikipedia that first before you start reading. A big drawback is that there are no queer characters, but both of the leading ladies are pretty awesome, so at least there’s that.

    Another favorite of mine is Wolverine and the X-Men. It focuses on Kitty Pryde and Wolverine starting up a new school for mutant kids (the Jean Grey School for Higher Learning). This one is based off of the Schism miniseries, but you don’t really need to have read it to understand. The first couple issues tend to sideline the female characters a bit, but it gets better, believe me. The queer character count here is pretty low too, though. You have Anole, who’s a pretty minor character, and Quentin Quire who is totally bisexual and don’t you dare tell me otherwise.

    Uncanny Avengers is another good one. It’s about a combined team of Avengers and X-Men basically trying to “foster better relationships between humans and mutants”. So it’s not technically X-Men, but there are several X-Men on the team, and it’s a good series. Rogue and Scarlet Witch are in it, and they’re both pretty awesome, conflicted characters.

    Anyway, those’re the best picking up points I can think of off the top of my head. Just let me know if you have any more questions because I could talk about the X-Men all day.

    • nevillegirl says:

      OK. 🙂 I’ve been browsing the Marvel and DC comics Wikias lately, anyway, although not too much because I want to avoid spoilers! 🙂

      Thanks so much for your recommendations! I’d heard of the Uncanny Avengers before, but none of the others – and I didn’t realize Uncanny Avengers included anyone besides the Avengers, anyway. I’ll have to see which stories my library has!

      P.S. Have you read the Young Avengers books?! Just… OMG. I need someone to fangirl with!

      • Bridget says:

        No problem 🙂 Finding comics at the library can be a pain sometimes, but good luck.

        And YESSS Young Avengers is so good ohmygosh *flails* Who’s your favorite (if you’re able to choose)?

    • nevillegirl says:

      My library has a TON of comics, though. 🙂 It’s pretty amazing just how many they have… in just the YA section alone.

      Oh, gah, they’re all really cool, but I think America is my favorite. She has so much attitude and kicks butt and is super gorgeous and annoys Loki and ksdajlghdlghaghgsdhsdg. ❤

      • Bridget says:

        Oh, that’s good. My library has a decent selection, but you usually have to request to get what you want, which takes forever.

        Ooh, yes, America is the best 😀 I have a bit of a thing for sassy superheroes with major attitude. And she and Kate together? Perfection. They’re all great, really.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I basically just grab books off the shelves at random, which explains why I haven’t read any Captain America stuff in the right order. xD (Speaking of Cap… have you read The Winter Soldier? ESLDHGALDKGHDLSKGHGS it’s a great book – definitely as good or better than the movie!)

      YES YES AMERICA AND KATE TOGETHER ❤
      Also I just really like her outfit. *nodnod* It's very superhero-y and cute.

      • Bridget says:

        I haven’t read The Winter Soldier yet, but I’d like to, since I LOVED the movie. I’ve never really been into Cap’s comics (or Thor’s, for that matter).

        You’re still planning on reading Runaways, right? Because I need someone to fangirl over it with. And it’s really good, too 😉

        Yeah, I really like both Kate and America’s costumes. But Kate’s especially.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I really only got into them because of the movies… but now Cap is probably my favorite hero. 🙂

      Yeah, I’ll see if I can request them from the library system! I don’t think the branch nearby has them, but I think another one might. 😀

  3. Cait says:

    Batman is the only exception to DC’s notorious FAILS. hehe. I’ve even taught my nephew and niece this. And honestly, my 2 year old niece actually has a HARD time picking between Batman and Spiderman. I am so proud.
    I LOVE COMICS. I wish I’d started them sooner. I’m going to see if my library has Young Avengers. I was reading Uncanny XMen and I have noooo idea where they fit in to the scheme of all things Xmen, but it wasn’t TOO confusing. It was actually a mash of Xmen + Avengers, which was awesome. Wolverine took orders from Captain America. loooool I find that hilarious. xD

  4. Pingback: Winter Break: A Quick Recap | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

