2014 In Review

Hello, everyone. How was your day, the very last day of 2014? Was it productive? Fun? I spent the entire day reading and now my eyes are fried. So, I don’t know how I’ll be celebrating New Year’s Eve – I had planned to make popcorn and marathon the Lord of the Rings films, but who knows? Maybe I’ll go to bed at nine-thirty because I’m just such an exciting person that way. Maybe I’ll keep reading.

But for now, I’m going to recap the past year. Starting with my New Year’s Resolutions from January 2014! Did I manage to accomplish any of them?

HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA. NO.

I wish I could say this is surprising, but… it’s really not. Most years, I don’t accomplish all/any of my resolutions – 2013 was odd in that I actually did complete all three of my goals.

Here were my resolutions from earlier this year, and my observations on their lack-of-completion:

1. Start querying. I did plenty of revising, but have not yet started the “trying to get published” process yet, because I’m still researching it. But maybe next year?

2. Become more proficient at hair / clothes / make-up / et cetera. Instead, I opted for a fashion sense that takes much less work. I call it the “hoodie and fuzzy sweatpants style.” Hey, it’s cold now. I need to stay warm. (Although this still doesn’t explain the lack of work towards figuring out make-up.)

3. Join a Gay-Straight Alliance. OK, at least I TRIED to meet this goal. I contacted the leaders of the GSAs at two of the local high schools, and to make a long story short, they said I wasn’t allowed to join because I’m not an enrolled student. Bummer.

All right… moving on. What did I do in 2014? An awful lot, I’m proud to say, although none of those things were related to my resolutions and only one of them was related to another goal. (I wanted to read at least 100 books in 2014.) Anyway, let’s take a look at the things I did!

  • Read two hundred and three books
  • Read a TON of graphic novels (eighty-one!)
  • Started using Goodreads and realized that it is an excellent way to keep track of the dozens and dozens of books I consume
  • Read some really OUTSTANDING series – the Skulduggery Pleasant series by Derek Landy, the Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan, the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer, the Malice/Havoc duology by Chris Wooding, and the Maze Runner series by James Dashner
  • Slowly but surely fell in love with the superhero genre, which I never thought would happen
  • Started my senior year of high school
  • Visited colleges
  • Took the SAT (again) and the ACT
  • Was accepted to college – the University of Iowa, where I will begin studying in the fall of 2015
  • Started applying for scholarships and housing
  • Realized that I can actually understand chemistry
  • Improved my Spanish skills, particularly my speaking abilities
  • Traveled to Washington, D.C., as part of a summer program in which I learned about history, government, and citizenship
  • Wrote quite a few blog posts about diversity and representation
  • Participated in and won NaNoWriMo
  • Finally broke up with some “friends” who turned out to be horrible people
  • Worked two jobs during the summer
  • Spent ten consecutive days at the county fair either working (see above) or volunteering or just hanging out
  • Practiced my photography
  • Went on a roadtrip to Dinosaur National Monument, Utah, with my family
  • Wrote my first collaborative blog posts ever
  • Met a few really awesome, really cute queer girls and was much too shy to ask any of them out
  • Posted on this blog at least every other day (!)
  • Strengthened my friendships with other bloggers/Internet friends
  • Helped to plan a 5K race and children’s fun run with a group of other 4-Hers
  • Fell in love with the music of OneRepublic
  • Was the president of my 4-H club
  • Won some fairly prestigious county 4-H awards
  • Saw quite a few movies at the theater
  • Turned eighteen years old and became a legal adult
  • Voted for the first time

That list is pretty varied, isn’t it? Trivial things mixed in with big events. But that’s life, right? We remember not only the big things but also the little ones.

All in all, 2014 was an OK year. Sometimes it was fun. Sometimes it was not so much fun. But I think that’s just part of growing up – I think that life gets weirder and more complicated as you get older, but it also has the potential to be more awesome. (Awesomer? Is that even a word?) Anyway. Tell me about your year! What memorable things happened to you, whether they were good or bad? Did you read a lot? Was your year good or bad overall?

Goodbye, 2014. Hello, 2015!

P.S. If you’d like to check out my annual WordPress blogging report, it’s right here. And please give a big round of applause to my top commenters: Matt @ The Little Engine That Couldn’t, Miriam Joy @ Miriam Joy Writes, Cait @ Paper Fury, Mo, and Alex @ Miss Alexandrina Brant. You guys rock. Anyone who reads this blog rocks, in fact. Thanks for following Musings From Neville’s Navel in 2014!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 2014 In Review

  1. Cait says:

    WOOOOT FOR A GOOD 2014! I’m already in 2015 and it’s nice. heh. Well apart from the bit where my dog tore up my Christmas cards I’d been saving. Hmmph.
    ANYWAY.
    I do comment a lot don’t I?! EEEP.
    I read a lot. Basically this year I READ. I read the most I’ve ever read in my life (I have used “read” now so many times I’m kind of embarrassed). I think it was 229 which is actually making me feel squinty. Couldn’t I have squeezed in one more book?! ERGH. 😉

  2. orphu44 says:

    Happy 2015! Sounds like a well-done year, even if you didn’t meet your resolutions. (Also I just quite like this post in general, since I harbour a ridiculous love for New Year’s posts.)
    We’re very close in number of books read, too! I’m within one or two books of you, I think. (I’d check, but I literally just closed the tab with my book list on it before reading this post.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, really? Well then, I guess you’ll like today’s post, too, because I’m writing down my resolutions again. 🙂

      Yay yay yay! What was your favorite book from this year?

  3. orphu44 says:

    … ‘a well-done year.’ Yes, that’s a description that people apply to years, right. I should go to bed.

  4. moosha23 says:

    WHAT BRILLIANCE. It’s like you just checked off your previous goals, realised that you didn’t meet them…shrugged and belted off a HUGE list of achievements and wins last year (!!!) and then…as they say…dropped the mike. BA-BAM! 😀

  5. Mo says:

    …I had no goals and therefore did not accomplish any of them. xD I’m not sure if I’m going to set any for the new year, either.

    Anyways, last night I went to a New Year’s party and it was pretty fun, although I didn’t get to bed until 1:30 and slept until about 11:30. But I finished Series 8 today and that was good.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, that’s OK! 😛

      Well, that sounds more exciting than what I did – I didn’t make it to midnight, technically. I went to bed early and then woke up again when the neighbors started setting off fireworks…
      Yay! So, what do you think now that you’re (almost, not counting the Xmas special) all caught up?! Fave episode? Least fave? Any girls who you thought were cute?

      • Mo says:

        I liked it! I think my favorite episode was either Time Heist or Flatline, and my least favorite was probably Kill the Moon. Please, Engie, all the girls are cute. 😛

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, I didn’t like Kill the Moon either.

      That’s very true. But who was the cutest? Because I personally liked Clara wearing that suit in “Time Heist.”

      • Mo says:

        It seemed a little too silly and forced for my taste.
        Clara, overall, to be honest. She seemed cuter in this than the last season.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, and I don’t think the plot made any sense either. :/

      *fangirl squeeing*

  6. themagicviolinist says:

    When you’re ready to query, I’d be happy to help you out in any way I can. 🙂 I’ve written and revised a lot of query letters this past year, and though I haven’t gotten an agent (yet), they definitely improve each time.

    My mom showed me how to use makeup this year per my request, and it’s actually not as hard as I thought it’d be. It is intimidating when you pick everything out, though. 😛 So. Many. Choices. But I don’t use it every day. Too much hassle.

    That sucks about #3. 😛 I would still count it as a resolution accomplished.

    Happy new Year! 🙂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

