Books I Read In 2014

HELLO, LOYAL BLOG READERS/MINIONS OF MINE! I’m posting yet another wrap-up post today… and probably at least two more after that. If you don’t like them, I’m sorry. But I have lots of stuff to recap! So expect to see a post about the best books I read in 2014 (which may or may not be a top ten list – I haven’t decided yet), and a post about diverse books read in 2014. (Plus a post about bookish goals for 2015.)

The subject of today’s wrap-up post is: all the books I read last year. Yes, that’s right. ALL of them. I wanted to read at least 100 books in 2014, but I ended up reading 203! (Go, me!)

I thought it might be fun to see which books I read when, the wide variety of genres I explored, any bookish trends I followed, et cetera. So, let’s get started!

P.S. To keep this post from getting out of control, I’ve limited myself to listing just the title, author, and a one- or two-sentence remark about my opinion of the book. Enjoy!

Screwtape-Letters1. The Tuesday Club Murders by Agatha Christie. Yay for mysteries in the form of short stories!

2. My Ántonia by Willa Cather. Read for the homeschool academic superbowl – we studied pioneer America.

3. The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis. Dark yet humorous at times!

4. Son by Lois Lowry. A disappointing conclusion to the series that began with The Giver.

5. Viola in the Spotlight by Adriana Trigiani. Not as good as its predecessor, Viola in Reel Life.

6. The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan. I didn’t like this one too much, but thankfully the harry-potter-page-to-screen[1]series improved over time.

7. Ten Things I Hate About Me by Randa Abdel-Fattah. Yay for diverse reads!

8. Harry Potter, Page to Screen: The Complete Filmmaking Journey by Bob McCabe. Fascinating, especially if you’re into film design.

9. Cinder by Marissa Meyer. Probably the most unique book I read in 2014.

10. Ash by Malinda Lo. OMG THIS WAS THE BEST BOOK I READ LAST YEAR OMG OMG OMG.

400px-Gatsby_1925_jacket11. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. This extremely short book contains an extremely high amount of brilliance.

12. Does My Head Look Big In This? by Randa Abdel-Fattah. Not quite as good as her other book. (See above.)

13. Do Hard Things: A Teenage Rebellion Against Low Expectations by Alex and Brett Harris. BLAH.

14. Stuck in the Middle: 17 Stories from an Unpleasant Age edited by Ariel Schrag. Stories about middle school? Meh.

15. A Wreath for Emmett Till by Marilyn Nelson. Short yet heartbreaking.

16. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman. One of the best children’s books I read 0060530928_01_LZZZZZZZlast year.

17. The Eternal Smile by Gene Luen Yang and Derek Kirk Kim. I loved the illustrations in this one!

18. Ghostopolis by Doug TenNapel. A creepy story for the middle-grade crowd.

19. Moomin, Vol. 1 by Tove Jansson. Very cute.

20. Boxers by Gene Luen Yang. Historical fiction in the form of a graphic novel!

21. Saints by Gene Luen Yang. Ditto.

22. Baby’s in Black by Arne Bellstorf. This was about the early days of the Beatles!

23. Time You Let Me In: 25 Poets Under 25 by Naomi Shihab Nye. One of my biggest reading regrets from last year is that I didn’t read more poetry; I enjoyed this.

24. My Own Two Feet by Beverly Cleary. The autobiography of her adulthood!

scarlet25. Divergent by Veronica Roth. If you like science fiction, read something else.

26. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer. I just really love Meyer’s writing.

27. Cress by Marissa Meyer. THIS WAS SO FREAKING GOOD.

28. The Boyfriend List: 15 Guys, 11 Shrink Appointments, 4 Ceramic Frogs and Me, Ruby Oliver by E. Lockhart. Yes, sometimes even I read entire books about boyfriends! (Are you surprised?)

29. Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. MEH.

30. The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan. Better than the first book!oz[1]

31. Oz by Eric Shanower. A graphic novel retelling; very pretty!

32. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black. This is my favorite modern vampire story.

33. Sidekicked by John David Anderson. This book looked so good, but it ended up being disappointing.

34. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I’m not surprised that I loved this; I’m a fangirl too.

35. Fly on the Wall by E. Lockhart. A modern retelling of Kafka’s The Metamorphosis!

36. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. I don’t understand all the hype over this book.

i am number four37. The Boy Book: A Study of Habits and Behaviors, Plus Techniques for Taming Them by E. Lockhart. Lockhart’s books always have the best titles, don’t they?

38. I am Number Four by Pittacus Lore. How is it even possible for a book about teenage-aliens-on-the-run to be boring?!

39. Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad. An absolutely BRILLIANT, dark, and very very short classic I only wish I’d read earlier!

40. Malice by Chris Wooding. My favorite middle-grade book read last year!

41. Havoc by Chris Wooding. Nearly as good as the first book. 0-545-16045-6

42. Sceptre of the Ancients by Derek Landy. OH MY GOSH I FREAKING LOVE THE SKULDUGGERY PLEASANT SERIES.

43. Playing with Fire by Derek Landy. This was hilarious. (“Vaurien Scapegrace, Killer Supreme!”)

44. They Do It With Mirrors by Agatha Christie. I should’ve read more Christie in 2014.

45. Story of a Girl by Sara Zarr. This was OK.

46. Born on the Fourth of July by Ron Kovic. If you’d like to learn more about the Vietnam War – if you’d like a very personal perspective of the conflict – then I highly recommend this book.

47. Same Difference by Derek Kirk Kim. Diversity in graphic novels is excellent.

48. Harvey by Herve Bouchard. Sometimes I read foreign graphic novels.

49. Peanut by Ayun Halliday. Meh?

50. Bad Holiday by Doug TenNapel. Also meh?

28444051. Level Up by Gene Luen Yang. Analogies between video games and the struggles of real life? Cool stuff.

52. Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong by Prudence Shen. Of course, everything went wrong.

53. Mercury by Hope Larson. Creepy!

54. Janes in Love by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg. Not quite as good as the first book, The Plain Janes.

55. Escape from “Special” by Miss Lasko-Gross. Yay for autobiographical graphic novels!

56. A Mess of Everything by Miss Lasko-Gross. Ditto.

57. Friends With Boys by Faith Erin Hicks. So apparently if homeschooled girls switch to public school, they’ll suddenly become obsessed with getting a boyfriend – who knew?

58. Just Listen by Sarah Dessen. I enjoyed this; I plan to read more of her books thisthe geography of you and me year.

59. How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff. Yay for dystopian novels that are set somewhere other than the United States!

60. The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith. Adorable!

61. Girl in the Arena by Lise Haines. Big fat MEH.

62. This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith. Very cute!

63. The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan. This was the point where the Heroes of Olympus series started to become amazing!

inheritance64. Adaptation by Malinda Lo. FIVE STARS.

65. Inheritance by Malinda Lo. Aliens, bisexual protagonists, and love triangles? Yes, please.

66. The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson. Pretty cool, but not as amazing as I expected.

67. The Professor and the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity, and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary by Simon Winchester. If you like history and etymology, read this book.

68. Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare. I loved this play.

69. The Maze Runner by James Dashner. Definitely one of the BEST YA dystopian books I’ve read since The Hunger Games.

70. The House of Hades by Rick Riordan. OH MY GOD YES.

71. Crank by Ellen Hopkins. Again, I say “meh.”the maze runner

72. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley. Sometimes I read classic dystopian novels!

73. Bad Girls by Jane Yolen and Heidi E. Y. Stemple. Yay for middle-grade nonfiction about historical villainesses!

74. Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman. I can’t believe I waited until 2014 to read this marvelous book.

75. The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett. Sometimes this book was slow; sometimes it was wonderful.

76. The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World’s Most Notorious Nazi by Neal Bascomb. I probably shouldn’t have read this book in public; everyone gave me weird looks and I had to explain that yes, I’m reading a book with a swastika on the front cover but it’s about DEFEATING the Nazis, not being one!

The-Darkness-Dwellers[1]77. All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque. I love quiet, brilliant classics so very very much.

78. Women of Vision: National Geographic Photographers on Assignment edited by Anne Curry. Working for National Geographic Magazine is my dream job!

79. The Scorch Trials by James Dashner. A decent, if morbid, sequel.

80. The Eternal Ones by Kirsten Miller. I really need to read its sequel, All You Desire.

81. Kiki Strike: The Darkness Dwellers by Kirsten Miller. Not as good as the first two books in this series.

82. How to Lead a Life of Crime by Kirsten Miller. BRILLIANT.

83. The Half Life of Molly Pierce by Katrina Leno. Well, this book certainly wasn’t about what I thought it was about.

84. Geography Club by Brent Hartinger. I expected more from this book, I guess. geography club

85. Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer by Katie Alender. Pretty cover, pretty sloppy story.

86. Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand. If you’re looking for nonfiction that reads like a story, try this book about a World War II soldier.

87. Roadside Picnic by Arkady and Boris Strugatsky. My brother recommended this short, dark Russian sci fi classic to me and I’m glad he did!

88. The Neverending Story by Michael Ende. If you liked Inkheart and the Chronicles of Narnia, I think you’d appreciate this book.

89. Planet Urth by Jennifer and Christopher Martucci. DEFINITELY THE WORST BOOK I READ THIS YEAR.

90. Open Minds by Susan Kaye Quinn. Meh!

91. Venture Untamed by R.H. Russell. Double meh!

we were liars92. Russian Roulette by Anthony Horowitz. Fascinating premise, but I wasn’t entirely happy with its execution – which is a shame, because I’d been anticipating this book for years.

93. Harry, A History by Melissa Anelli. A must-read for Potterheads and those who used to be one. (AKA myself.)

94. I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai. I LOVE her writing style!

95. The Faceless Ones by Derek Landy. OH SKULDUGGERY YOU POOR THING!

96. This One Summer by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki. A very summery graphic novel.

97. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. SO disappointed with this book; E. Lockhart’s boy meets boyearlier works were better.

98. The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving. Read for school.

99. Captain America: Man out of Time by Mark Waid. This was the first Marvel
comic I ever read!

100. The Death Cure by James Dashner. Sometimes I loved this finale; sometimes I didn’t.

101. The Graveyard Book Graphic Novel, Vol. 1. by Neil Gaiman and P. Craig Russell. Decent.

102. The Hedge Knight: The Graphic Novel by George R.R. Martin and Ben Avery. I really should read the original.

fan art103. Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan. This sucked.

104. Captain America: The Winter Soldier by Ed Brubaker. If you enjoyed the movie, you NEED to read this book!

105. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. A decent story, yet not captivating enough to make me read the rest of the series right away.

106. Fan Art by Sarah Tregay. Read this instead of Boy Meets Boy.

107. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. I don’t normally enjoy contemporary YA, but I adored this SO much.

108. Like No Other by Una LaMarche. A beautiful, diverse, contemporary YA love since you've been gonestory.

109. Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard. So glad I started reading this series!

110. Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang. Very sad.

111. Zac and Mia by A.J. Betts. Read this instead of The Fault in Our Stars.

112. Flawless by Sara Shepard. Me like.

113. Perfect by Sara Shepard. Ditto.

114. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger. So glad that I finally read this classic!

115. Going Solo by Roald Dahl. I enjoyed this book – it’s the sequel to Boy and the autobiography of his adulthood!

116. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain. Didn’t like this as much as I liked The Adventures of Tom Sawyer.

the blood of olympus117. Wonder by R.J. Palacio. This didn’t really impress me.

118. The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan. A thrilling conclusion!

119. Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater. I FREAKING LOVED THIS BOOK.

120. Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan. I don’t like the books these authors wrote individually, so I don’t know why my dislike of this book surprised me so much. FILLED with stereotypes and junk.

121. Drama by Raina Telgemeier. Cute?drama

122. Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan. Two boys being extremely uninteresting for the duration of this book.

123. What If?: Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions by Randall Munroe. HILARIOUS AND EDUCATIONAL.

124. A Bag of Marbles by Joseph Joffo. Graphic novels about World War II!

125. Foiled by Jane Yolen. This was cute.

126. Koko Be Good by Jen Wang. Did this book even have a plot?

127. Rapunzel’s Revenge by Shannon and Nathan Hale. Very creative.

128. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck. Man, I really hated The Grapes of Wrath, and thought I’d hate this too – I was wrong!

129. Will O’ The Wisp by Tom Hammock. Meh.

will grayson will grayson130. Paper Towns by John Green. I would very much like to stomp on this book.

131. YOLO by Lauren Myracle. The earlier books were better!

132. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne. SO. BORING. AND. POINTLESS.

133. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. Mildly cute.

134. Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood by Marjane Satrapi. Oh my, Marjane was a precocious child, wasn’t she?

135. Persepolis 2: The Story of a Return by Marjane Satrapi. I love her drawing style!

136. Tomboy by Liz Prince. I really related to this book.

137. The Sign of the Four: A Sherlock Holmes Graphic Novel by Arthur Conan Doyle and Ian Edginton. I liked this!

138. A Study in Scarlet: A Sherlock Holmes Graphic Novel by Arthur Conan my true love gave to meDoyle and Ian Edginton. Ditto.

139. Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer. LOVED this nonfiction book!

140. Page by Paige by Laura Lee Gulledge. An adorable, creative graphic novel.

141. The Glass Menagerie by Tennessee Williams. This play was irritating.

142. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. Didn’t love this as much as I thought I would.

143. My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories edited by Stephanie Perkins. Cute and Christmassy!

144. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins. I hate Lola, basically.

145. Looking for Alaska by John Green. Why does John Green suck so much at writing complex, three-dimensional female characters?

146. Carmilla by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu. I read this shortly after watching the new webseries adaptation!

v for vendetta147. Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins. Cute.

148. V for Vendetta by Alan Moore and David Lloyd. This may very well be the only graphic novel I’ve ever rated five stars; if you love dystopian stories, you NEED to read it.

149. Rumpelstiltskin: The Graphic Novel by Valdez Y. Alanis. Nope!

150. Sleeping Beauty: The Graphic Novel by Martin Powell. Ditto.

151. Red Riding Hood: The Graphic Novel by Martin Powell. Ugh.

152. Cinderella: The Graphic Novel by Beth Bracken. No.

153. Rapunzel: The Graphic Novel by Stephanie True Peters. Just no.

154. The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven by Sherman Alexie. Darkly comic short stories.

155. Princess Princess by Katie O’Neill. This is an adorable and really really gay this is what happy looks likewebcomic!

156. Dark Days by Derek Landy. I adore this series.

157. Mortal Coil by Derek Landy. I AM STILL NOT OVER THE ENDING OF THIS BOOK AND I SERIOUSLY DOUBT I EVER WILL BE UGHHHHHH.

158. If I Stay by Gayle Forman. Very, very sad.

159. A Christmas Carol: The Graphic Novel by Charles Dickens and Sean Michael Wilson. I prefer the original.

160. Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson. An autobiography told in verse!

161. Jane Eyre: The Graphic Novel by Charlotte Brontë and Amy Corzine. Meh.

162. Death Bringer by Derek Landy. Yay for six-hundred-page fantasy books!

163. Kingdom of the Wicked by Derek Landy. This book was so dark, and I can’t believe the first few in this series were so happy and light-hearted.

164. Tanith Low in… The Maleficent Seven by Derek Landy. I’ll admit it, I have a humongous crush on Tanith. BECAUSE SHE’S AWESOME AND HAS A SWORD.

i am jazz165. I am Jazz by Jessica Herthel and Jazz Jennings. Yay for LGBTQ+ picture books!

166. El Deafo by Cece Bell. This was SO CUTE, but the story lacked that little “something” to make it stand out.

167. Sisters by Raina Telgemeier. Not very interesting.

168. The Pit and the Pendulum: The Graphic Novel by Edgar Allan Poe and Sean Tulien. The original is scarier.

169. A Wrinkle in Time: The Graphic Novel by Madeleine L’Engle and Hope Larson. I know we’re supposed to like Charles Wallace, but I’ve always hated him… oops.

170. The Lightning Thief: The Graphic Novel by Rick Riordan and Robert how to lead a life of crimeVenditti. I didn’t know it was possible to ruin this book.

171. The Sea of Monsters: The Graphic Novel by Rick Riordan and Robert Venditti. SO many plot elements were missing, and the art was terrible.

172. Great Expectations: The Graphic Novel by Charles Dickens and Brigit Viney. I haven’t read the original yet, actually.

173. The Shadow Hero by Gene Luen Yang and Sonny Liew. Yay for Asian-American superheroes!

174. Can’t Look Away by Donna Cooner. Simultaneously interesting and frustrating.

175. Frankenstein: The Graphic Novel by Mary Shelley and Lloyd S. Wagner. I enjoyed this!

176. Captain America: To Serve & Protect by Mark Waid. Cap is my favorite superhero, all right?

177. Captain America: American Nightmare by Mark Waid. So I read lots of books about him.

178. Reality Boy by A.S. King. Sometimes I laughed, but sometime this was painful to read – not because it was bad, but because its protagonist dealt with a bunch of horrible things.

like no other179. Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King. Didn’t enjoy this as much as the book above; the plot wandered too much.

180. I Love I Hate I Miss My Sister by Amélie Sarn. I wasn’t expecting such a short book to make me so sad.

181. Set to Sea by Drew Weing. A short, cute read!

182. Emiko Superstar by Mariko Tamaki and Steve Rolston. I adore Emiko.

183. Cardboard by Doug TenNapel. Meh.

184. Tyranny by Leslie Fairfield. A disturbing graphic novel about a girl with an eating disorder.

185. The Undertaking of Lily Chen by Danica Novgorodoff. THE WATERCOLOR ARTWORK IN THIS GRAPHIC NOVEL WAS BEAUTIFUL.

186. Young Avengers, Vol. 1: Style > Substance by Kieron Gillen. I love these roadside picnicyoung superheroes!

187. Young Avengers, Vol. 2: Alternative Culture by Kieron Gillen. They have so much attitude!

188. Young Avengers, Vol. 3: Mic-Drop at the Edge of Time and Space by Kieron Gillen. And they’re so gay!

189. Brain Camp by Susan Kim, Laurence Klavan, and Faith Erin Hicks. Now this was goofy.

190. Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol. Liked this one much more than I expected to.

191. Life Sucks by Jessica Abel. I had no idea that this was about vampires.

192. Yummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty by G. Neri. Very sad.

193. Orange by Zhang Bin. Beautiful artwork!

the neverending story194. Kin by Holly Black and Ted Naifeh. I need to read the sequels.

195. War Brothers: The Graphic Novel by Sharon E. McKay. I should probably read the original.

196. The Great American Dust Bowl by Don Brown. Packed with facts, but rather dull.

197. Lies in the Dust: A Tale of Remorse from the Salem Witch Trials by Jakob Crane. A short, lovely book.

198. The Saga of Rex by Michael Gagné. Adorable!

199. The Arrival by Shaun Tan. I liked this book, although I still don’t quite understand its plot.

200. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: The Graphic Novel by 17378508
Ransom Riggs and Cassandra Jean.
I liked this even less than the original.

201. Emily the Strange: The Lost Days by Rob Reger and Jessica Gruner. Perhaps a little too weird for my tastes.

202. Captain America: No Escape by Ed Brubaker. So much love for these books.

203. Last Stand of Dead Men by Derek Landy. Remember when the Skulduggery Pleasant books were filled with jokes, not sadness?

-~-

How many books did YOU read this year? (You can list them all if you want to, but you certainly don’t have to!) Did you manage to read more than me?!

Be sure to tell me what you’ve read lately, too! I just finished Carrie by Stephen King, and am currently reading Armageddon Outta Here by Derek Landy. After that, I’m going to read The Dying of the Light by Derek Landy and The Green Mile by Stephen King!

…and according to the introduction of Armageddon, Stephen King is one of Landy’s authorly inspirations, so basically I APPRECIATE STEPHEN KING A LOT RIGHT NOW.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Books I Read In 2014

  1. Cait says:

    YOU’RE MAKING ME SCARED ABOUT SKULDUGGERY. o.O No jokes? JUST SADDNESS? What have I gotten myself into. *sigh* Except I haven’t even gotten book 4 yet because my library is still closed for the new year. MEH. I guess librarians need a break, but really. Get back to work, bookworms. NOW.
    *ahem*
    This is awesome. I love how you set this out!! And I love recaps. You sure read a huge variety of genres, right?! That is so cool. XD

  2. matttblack42 says:

    I think I might want to read one of these Skulduggery Pleasant books some day. . .

    I plan on reading The Green Mile soon, too. It’s weird to think that with the exception of Misery, I haven’t finished a single Stephen King book since June, 2013. I’m starting to miss him and his weird use of parentheses.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I was thinking literally just last night, “I should convince Matt to read the Skulduggery Pleasant books.” I think you’d LOVE them – they’re funny, yet dark, and basically just… weird. If you died and came back to life as a walking, talking skeleton detective, you’d probably be Skulduggery. It’s your sense of humor, or something.

      He does use parentheses strangely. O_o I didn’t notice that with Misery, but I certainly noticed it while reading Carrie.

      • matttblack42 says:

        Well, that sounds promising. *adds Skulduggery Pleasant to To-Read List*’

        Yeah, I feel like he uses the parentheses more often his supernatural horror novels. Also, how’re you liking The Green Mile so far?

    • nevillegirl says:

      You have the same sort of ego, too. 😀 And I don’t even mean that in a bad way – I like Skulduggery’s ego. It’s very amusing. 🙂

      …well, it certainly has a very different writing style than that of Misery and Carrie, that’s all I can say. It’s good, but very different thus far.

  3. O_O

    That’s a lot of books. I read exactly 160, which I’m pretty happy about. But anyway, you read such a VARIETY of books. YA and classics and adult and MG and children’s and graphic novels. One day I hope to have such a variegated taste in books 🙂

  4. Mo says:

    Wow, you’ve read a lot! (Or I suppose it mostly looks like a lot because it’s an entire year.) I’ve read maybe 1/3 of the books on your list, and I should probably actually start reading Skulduggery Pleasant.

    My mom makes us keep a reading log for school (just a list, no analysis required) and by pasting the raw data, I read 244 things this year, but when I take out rereads and movies (which are put in the same Excel sheet) I only read 198, not counting school books. To be honest, I don’t remember a bunch of them, but some that are vivid in my memory and that I would definitely recommend are Mister Death’s Blue-Eyed Girls (sort of a creepy murder mystery), Mare’s War (about an African-American woman during WWII with a queer lady friend), The Reason for Dragons (lots of cool art but not a strong plot), and Shoplifter (very good illustrations). One of the series I read this past year was the Princess Diaries, which I had avoided for years because I thought “Ick, it’s probably a boring book about a girl who seems overly obsessed with getting a boyfriend!” but I was pleasantly surprised. (Okay, so she’s maybe a little obsessed with getting a boyfriend, but it’s not remotely boring.) And if you haven’t read it already, I’d also recommend reading Rapunzel’s Revenge and Calamity Jack. They’re graphic novels about Rapunzel, but western/steampunk and very cool.

    (And Cait, if you’re reading this, one of the branches of my library is closed until February.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      *big proud grin* I did read a lot this year. I’m very happy about that. 😀
      Yes, yes you should! I think you’d love them. They’re kind of like… like if the HP and Artemis Fowl series met and had a baby. xD Although that description makes it seem like it’s just a copycat series, and it isn’t. Anyway. It’s just zany and hilarious and dark and I’ve never read anything quite like it.

      Same here! My brother and I have to keep track of the books we read, which is part of the reason I started using Goodreads. 🙂
      OK, I’ll be sure to look for those books at the library!
      OMG THE PRINCESS DIARIES. I’m pretty sure I’ve read only the first one, but I loved it and that surprised me too, because I thought it would be DULL. But it wasn’t! 🙂
      I did read Rapunzel’s Revenge, silly. It’s #127 on the list.

      (*gasp* *shudder* Until FEBRUARY?! *whimpers* That sounds terrible. Let me know if you need a hug, tiny-friend-person.)

      • MOHE says:

        I’m just about to check out the first one! 😀

        …yeah I need a Goodreads account so I can actually remember what books are about.
        I liked the first one enough to keep reading, and at that point I said why not read all of them. And I will admit I enjoyed the movies, despite the being nothing like the books, because they’re still cute and fluffy.
        …yes. Well. I am unobservant.

        (I’ll accept hugs whether or not it’s conditional on the library. 😛 But at least it’s not the main branch that I go to, although that one was closed for a good week more than it usually is.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yay! Let me know what you think.

      Yeah, now that I think about it, the movie and book were pretty different, weren’t they? Both fun, but very different from one another.

      (*hugs*)

  5. moosha23 says:

    Randa Abdel-Fattah writes some amazing books (of which 10 Things I Hate About Me was the first one I read). You should read her Where the Streets Had a Name – it taught me a lot about living in Palestine in this age. It’s a beautiful book that offers a perspective we need to hear more from. ^.^ (Frankly, you’ve read 203!! I have to confess I only skimmed through this – BUT. How’d you find Carrie??)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ooh, thanks for the rec! I’d love to try any of her other books, to see if they’re better – the two I read this year were OK, but didn’t make me fangirl or anything.

      I loved Carrie! Very creepy, and a gripping read.

  6. My sister was just telling me about “What If?” the other day. I should check it out.

    I read 61 books last year – probably the most I’ve read in a year. And I’ve just borrowed The Mark of Athena.

  7. Miriam Joy says:

    not gonna lie, I skimmed this post very very lightly
    BUT
    moomins are my life
    so

  8. Erin says:

    Wooow that’s a long list. O.o Time to add some books to my to-read list! (Especially those Captain America ones…He’s my favorite superhero. <3)

  9. orphu44 says:

    I counted four books that we both read, but that may not be 100% accurate since I wasn’t counting very closely. (Four seems like a small enough number that that wouldn’t matter, but assuming I wouldn’t miscount seems like an overestimation of my general competence.)
    I quite like seeing the progression of Skulduggery descriptions. I remember when you first started reading the series and were talking about it as a lighthearted children’s series I was just trying not spoil anything about /how much/ it would change. (Although in fairness, the humour is still there.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ooh, what were the four books? 🙂

      And I’m glad you didn’t. 🙂 Because it really took me by surprise. I thought it would be goofy the whole way through… *deep sigh* *needs a hug*

      • orphu44 says:

        Harry: A History, Geography Club, Inheritance, Malice, I am Number Four, some Skulduggery books, and I thought I read Do Hard Things this year but it’s not on my list, so either I didn’t put it down or my memory is faulty.
        *sends you hugs*

    • nevillegirl says:

      *accepts hugs* What did you think of Malice, and did you read Havoc too? 🙂

  10. Pingback: Books I Read In 2015 | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

