A B See Photo Challenge: Y Is For Yellow

cameraI KNOW, I KNOW. I said on Friday that I would post a list of my 2015 bookish goals today. But I changed my mind. I need to wrap up the A B See Photo Challenge, and I’ve been putting off publishing this post for almost a month now because I still needed a few more photos!

So, here is a photography post! HERE IS A POST FILLED WITH REALLY, REALLY BRIGHT AND COLORFUL IMAGES. Yellow is not my favorite color, or even one of them, but I do think I appreciate it more during these cold, dreary winter months because, well, everything outside is varying shades of freezing white and slushy gray.

You’ll notice that two of the five pictures below were not taken recently… but since they were taken with the intent of including them in a previous A B See Photo Challenge post, I’ve decided to show them to you. Originally, I planned to include them in U Is For Unique To The County Fair, but since I already had five images for that post, I soon scrapped that idea. Anyway, these pictures were taken during last summer – in July, I believe.

Enjoy!

DSCN4047Subject of photo: A sunflower

Location of subject: My backyard

Techniques practiced: Nature, close-up

NOW THIS IS A (COLORFUL) BLAST FROM THE PAST. I am in love with this photo, and I am not afraid to say that I am very proud of myself for taking it. I love the detail in this picture – the spiky seed head! The big fluffy clouds! But I especially love the YELLOW in this photo. The petals seem to almost glow with color, don’t they? I may just have to print out this image, frame it, and hang it in my room to make me feel less grumpy during the winter!

DSCN5172Subject of photo: A stack of books

Location of subject: My room

Techniques practiced: Close-up

I like the detail in this photo – the worn, fraying edges of my well-loved books. On a slightly related note, I’ve heard that some people organize their books by color, and the pictures of their shelves look fantastic. Do you think I should try it too, or does that sound like a disaster waiting to happen?!

DSCN5167Subject of photo: Foil-wrapped chocolate coins

Location of subject: My room

Techniques practiced: Close-up

Most of these chocolates have since been eaten, but I made sure to take a picture before doing so! I like the patterns and tiny-yet-detailed line art found in this photo.

DSCN4023Subject of photo: Bags of popcorn

Location of subject: The midway of the county fair

Techniques practiced: Close-up

Again, this obviously isn’t a recent photo. I captured this image during last year’s county fair – my eye was drawn to the pattern of the stacked bags. Now, this picture just makes me hungry.

DSCN5166Subject of photo: A gift-wrap bow

Location of subject: My room

Techniques practiced: Close-up

I have NO IDEA how these are folded but they’re pretty cool, aren’t they?! In this photograph, I like the reflectiveness of the material (SHINY!) and the intricate, endless loops. The purple/black background is a nice contrast with the gold, too. (Yes, I know the these was supposed to be “yellow.” Shh.)

Which photo is your favorite and why?

P.S. I’ll try to post something for the letter Z as soon as possible… so, probably within a month or two at the most. It all depends on whether or not I can convince my parents to drive me to any nearby ZOOS. If I can’t (or if most of the animals cannot be viewed because they’re in warmer indoors enclosures for the winter), then I’ll think of something else to photograph. (Post your reasonable suggestions, if you have any, in the comments below! Please and thank you.)

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A B See Photo Challenge: Y Is For Yellow

  1. Cait says:

    THAT SUNFLOWER ONE, THO. It is gorgeous. You’re amazing. XD

  2. Yellow is my absolute favourite colour, and I LOVE the sunflower!!! My favourite by far. It’s so bright and gorgeous 🙂

  3. Mo says:

    I like them all! I think that the sunflower is a great pop of color, and I like the more peaceful (but still cheerful) tones of the books and the popcorn, although I have to say I’m not quite as keen on the coins because of the glare. :/

  4. themagicviolinist says:

    YELLOW. I love colorful pictures. 🙂 Especially yellow ones, since it’s my favorite color. I really like the sunflower and the stack of books. The detail in both are really cool.

    I found a list of adjectives that start with Z, if you want some inspiration: http://grammar.yourdictionary.com/parts-of-speech/adjectives/adjectives-that-start-with-z.html Some of them would be quite a stretch, but it might give you some ideas. 😛

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yay, I’m glad you liked my post! 🙂

      Thanks! I don’t have time to look at the list right now (I need to head off to class), but I’ll look at it as soon as I get a chance!

  5. moosha23 says:

    They’re so beautiful! I’ve got to say though that the sunflower is my favourite one (yeah, the petals are freaking glowing…it’s such a happy image!!!). Wow…”zoos” sounds amazing – love animal pictures! OH and since you said most of the chocolate coins were eaten there must be some left for me, eh? 😛

  6. Alexandrina Brant says:

    Yay! Yellow is MY favourite colour. I particularly like the sunflower and the texture in the seedhead. Sunflowers used to be my favourite flower.
    Shinyyy… Another fun fact (I’m full of them today): I collect the little Christmas gift-wrap bow things. I got three (white, gold, silver, all small size) from presents from my dad’s family over New Year, and promptly stuck them on their cat’s head. xD
    What sort of camera do you use?

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yay, I’m glad you liked it! It seems to be everyone’s fave from this post… 🙂

      Pfft, that sounds like something I would do. (Sticking them on my cat’s head, that is, not collecting them.)
      Um, it’s a Nikon Coolpix L20. Tiny little camera, but it takes good pictures. I’m hoping to upgrade to something bigger – currently, I’m researching the Nikon D3200!

      • Alexandrina Brant says:

        I’d love to upgrade to a proper camera (my Lumix DMC-SZ3 is about two years old, and it’s not so happy), but I just can’t afford something better at the moment. Nikons do look cool.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, I’ve saved up plenty of money from my job, so that’s nice. 🙂 And I’ll need a better camera before college anyway, if I’m to take any photojournalism classes! (I’d like to work for National Geographic someday. We shall see…)

  7. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Winter 2015 – Reading Slumps, “Agent Carter,” And An Assortment Of Beautiful Songs | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

