Bookish Goals For 2015

Remember when I promised you a post about my 2015 bookish goals? Well, here it is. I have a lot of book-related goals this year, so many that this post went from being a top ten list to just… a list. Because I aspire to read ALL THE THINGS.

After some of my goals, I’ve listed a few books as examples. These mini-lists are by no means exhaustive; they’re only meant as starting points for me, as reminders of what I’d like read and hopefully review this year. Also, you may notice that some of these books are mentioned more than once – because they count towards multiple goals! I mean, one book can be so many things, right?!

Anyway. Let’s get started!

1. Read 100 books in 2015.

But I’m pretty sure you already knew about this, since I’ve mentioned it both on Goodreads and here on this blog! I had the same goal in 2014 and surpassed it by one hundred and three books, so for a moment I did consider setting a higher goal for this year. But… this fall, I’ll start college. And I won’t have as much time to read non-school-related things, so I’m keeping my goal the same.

2. Read a lot of long books.

As I wrote above, I read a LOT of books in 2015, but most of them were short or moderate in length. I haven’t read very many loooooong novels in a while, and I would like to change that! It’s so easy to get into a rut of reading only/mostly short books because I can read three or four of them in the same amount of time it takes me to read one long novel! So it’s time to get started on the long stories that I’ve been putting off for, in some cases, YEARS.

  • American Gods by Neil Gaiman (656 pages)
  • Les Misérables by Victor Hugo (1463 pages)
  • Wicked by Gregory Maguire (406 pages)
  • The Stand by Stephen King (1153 pages)
  • The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson (1007 pages)
  • A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin (976 pages)
  • A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin (1125 pages)
  • The Once and Future King by T.H. White (639 pages)
  • The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien (386 pages)

3. Read some classic science fiction.

I read quite a bit from this genre last year, but what I read was mostly modern and/or YA stories. I’ve enjoyed classic sci fi before, so I’d like to read more “hardcore” stuff this year!

  • 1984 by George Orwell
  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  • Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick
  • I, Robot by Isaac Asimov
  • The War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells
  • The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
  • A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
  • The Andromeda Strain by Michael Crichton
  • Childhood’s End by Arthur C. Clarke
  • Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes

4. Read more classic/children’s fantasy.

Because I really do think that there’s such a thing as reading too much YA fantasy. I need to diversify my reading within this genre!

  • Watership Down by Richard Adams
  • Redwall by Brian Jacques
  • The Once and Future King by T.H. White
  • The Dark is Rising series by Susan Cooper
  • The Princess Bride by William Goldman
  • Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie

5. Read a few of Stephen King’s books.

I just finished Carrie (four stars!) and am currently reading The Green Mile for school. I like his writing style and would like to read more of his books!

  • The Stand 
  • Cell
  • The Long Walk (written under the pseudonym Richard Bachman)
  • Under the Dome
  • On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

6. Read more LGBTQ+ books.

MY TO-READ LIST FOR THIS GENRE IS ALWAYS HUUUUUUGE NO MATTER HOW MANY BOOKS I READ. Anyway. I’m going to make a few mini-lists now… the first includes children’s/middle-grade LGBTQ+ stories.

  • Gracefully Grayson by Ami Polonsky
  • Marco Impossible by Hannah Moskowitz

I’d like to read more books, both fiction and nonfiction, that are about transgender people.

  • Rethinking Normal: A Memoir in Transition by Katie Rain Hill
  • I am J by Cris Beam
  • Luna by Julie Anne Peters
  • Gracefully Grayson by Ami Polonsky
  • Beautiful Music for Ugly Children by Kirstin Cronn-Mills
  • Some Assembly Required: The Not-So-Secret Life of a Transgender Teen by Arin Andrews
  • For Today I Am A Boy by Kim Fu
  • Parrotfish by Ellen Wittlinger

I’d like to read more LGBTQ+ graphic novels.

  • Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel
  • Blue is the Warmest Color by Julie Maroh

I’d like to read more LGBTQ+ books with protagonists who aren’t white.

  • Huntress by Malinda Lo
  • If You Could Be Mine by Sarah Farizan
  • The House You Pass On The Way by Jacqueline Woodson
  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
  • For Today I Am A Boy by Kim Fu

I’d like to read more adult LGBTQ+ books.

  • Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit by Jeanette Winterson
  • Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters (and loads of her other books, too, because VICTORIAN LESBIANS ARE MY AESTHETIC)
  • Frog Music by Emma Donoghue (WOW I REALLY LOVE VICTORIAN LESBIANS)
  • The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

And finally, I’d like to read more books that talk about gender in general.

  • None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio
  • Pantomime and Shadowplay by Laura Lam
  • My Gender Workbook by Kate Bornstein
  • The Social Justice Advocate’s Handbook: A Guide to Gender by Sam Killerman

7. Catch up on my to-be-read shelf.

Right now, my Goodreads account lists 696 books in my “to-read” category! That’s a LOT of books, and I would like to push that number down to the 500s or maybe even the 400s. I know I will constantly find more awesome books to read, but I need to work on whittling down my current list, NOT picking up whatever random-books-with-shiny-covers I see first at the library. (Instead of being an impulse buyer, I’m an impulsive library patron!)

8. Read some more dark graphic novels.

I freaking LOVED V for Vendetta by Alan Moore and David Lloyd, which I read towards the end of last year. I need to read more books like that, and soon!

  • Watchmen by Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons
  • Batman: The Dark Knight Returns by Frank Miller

9. Read at least five books by Agatha Christie.

I read only two last year, and now I wish I’d read more. I love her books – the plots twist and turn like you wouldn’t believe, and they’re really quick reads. Plus, I love the quaint, old-fashioned setting!

  • The ABC Murders
  • Nemesis
  • A Caribbean Mystery
  • Hickory Dickory Dock
  • At Bertram’s Hotel
  • The Mirror Crack’d From Side to Side
  • Murder at the Vicarage

10. Read a handful of books about religion and philosophy.

Because they make me think, and they expose me to various forms of culture.

  • Harry Potter and Philosophy: If Aristotle Ran Hogwarts edited by David Baggett
  • The Ultimate Harry Potter and Philosophy: Hogwarts for Muggles by Gregory Bassham
  • Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis

I think I’d also like to take a look at the Quran. I don’t know whether or not I’ll read it all the way through, but I’m curious to know more about it, since… I’m not really sure what’s discussed inside. So, I have a question. I know that there are different editions/translations of the Bible – the KJV, NIV, et cetera. Is the same true of the Quran? If so, what is the most widely read version?

11. Read more comic books.

I fell in love with this genre in 2014.

  • Ms. Marvel by G. Willow Wilson
  • Batman: The Dark Knight Returns by Frank Miller
  • Uncanny Avengers by Rick Remender
  • Any of Ed Brubaker’s Captain America books (he wrote The Winter Soldier)

12. Once in college, read at least one non-school-related book per week.

I currently read about five books per week, although if they’re graphic novels and I’m feeling particularly productive/bookwormy, I may read as many as ten or fifteen. I would love to keep up this pace in college, but I don’t think that would be a good idea – ESPECIALLY since I’m double-majoring. I need to use most of my time for studying, but I don’t want to give up my free reading entirely, so I’ll cut it back to one book per week. (And loads more during breaks, as long as I don’t have homework or whatever.)

13. Read some Doctor Who novels.

These look like quick, fun, slightly dorky reads, and I already own a copy of the first one listed here!

  • Silhouette by Justin Richards
  • Only Human by Gareth Roberts
  • Vampire Science by Jonathan Blum

14. Finish some of the series I’ve started. 

I have trouble finishing things, apparently. I get distracted, all right?! Although sometimes, it’s not entirely my fault for not finishing a series, because not all the books have been published yet! There are a bunch of 2015 releases I’m looking forward to.

-~-

What do you think of my goals? And be sure to tell me about YOURS in the comments! What are three of your long-term bookish goals for 2015? What are three books you plan to read within the next week or so?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Bookish Goals For 2015

  1. Cait says:

    Your goals are amazing and highly good. And *waves* I TOO AM AN IMPULSIVE LIBRARY PATRON. I’m forever picking up books thinking, “Yeah I meant to read this” but, you know, I have like 20 at home I’m meant to read. And then I read all my library books because they have due dates and NEVER READ THE BOOKS I OWN. It’s ludicrous. I want to have a very small TBR for 2015. That’s my ultimate goal. *nods*

    • nevillegirl says:

      Oh my gosh, I’m so glad that I’m not the only one! Because I see all these other library peoples checking out maybe three or four books at a time and I’m just standing there struggling not to drop my stack of twenty onto the floor. 😛

      • Mom says:

        Now you’re just being modest. It’s not 20 books you struggle with, it’s usually 40.

        Or…you ask your mom to put some books on HER card since you’re at your limit…… 🙂

  2. I love your goals, as well as many of the books on your lists. I have read quite a few of them (reading Watership Down right now) and have even more of them on my own to-read list!

    I also have too many reading goals for 2015. Mine include:
    1. Keeping up with the challenge reads in the goodreads group I belong to (Into the Forest, focused on fairy tales)
    2. Reading as many of the source books for Disney animated movies as possible (to go along with my Year in Disney Movies project – http://ayearindisneymovies.wordpress.com) and
    3. Finish reading the Bible and explore some other Sacred Texts.

    I also made my own reading challenge catered to the massive amount of books that I own: http://laceylouwagie.booklikes.com/post/1066998/a-reading-challenge-all-my-own.

    I would love to friend you on Goodreads and follw your progress — my name over there is Lacey Louwagie.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks! Ooh, what do you think of Watership Down so far?

      That Disney challenge sounds neat! 🙂

      Sure, I will! I’m always happy to have more Goodreads friends because then I get even more book recs! 😛

  3. Oh my gosh so many things to comment on!!! You should totally read The Princess Bridge and Aristotle and Dante and just ALL the books. You’re going to be so smart if you read all of these 😀

  4. Mo says:

    [giggles for at least a full minute because bookish “goals” why would I have those] Ahem. You may notice that I’m not big on goals/self-improvement/planning ahead. (Although I’m pretty good about planning school and life events.)

    For 2015, I’d like to read more superhero graphic novels–I’ve read a lot of non-superhero-y ones but my library also doesn’t seem to have that many. And classics. I think my other main wish is to read more classics or stuff I’ve heard about for a long time but haven’t bothered to read. I’m still really conflicted about getting Les Mis…

    But for this week, I’m trying really hard to finish The War of the Worlds and The Picture of Dorian Gray because I’ve had them out for ages but put them down in the middle because SHINY NEW YA BOOKS. And I’m working my way through Skulduggery Pleasant.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *patpat* But that’s because you’re perfect and don’t need self-improvement! 😛

      Yeah, that’s basically what I started to do towards the end of 2014! I began to read more superhero stuff and fewer non-superhero graphic novels.

      I LOVED The Picture of Dorian Gray! Oscar Wilde is amazing. (Read: sarcastic and gay, the two bestest qualities. Naturally.)
      OOH OOH WHAT SP BOOK ARE YOU UP TO?!

      • Mo says:

        ENGIE NO I HAVE FLAWS
        SHUT YOUR BEAUTIFUL FACE I’M BLUSHING

        Well, given that you are have those qualities, they must be the bestest.
        I’m still only at the beginning of Playing with Fire.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *boops your nose* You’re awesome.

      But of course. 😛
      Ooh – Vaurien Scapegrace, Killer Supreme? ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ That book introduces so many of my favorite villains (both from SP and just in general).

  5. Miriam Joy says:

    I’ve read a few of the books on your lists — 1984, Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep, Hitchhiker’s Guide, A Clockwork Orange… (I do pretty well in the classic SF category) — and while I haven’t read the one you mention, I adored ‘Fingersmith’ by Sarah Waters. Because again, Victorian lesbians. And there is some truly excellent fan fiction for that book… not that I went looking for it or anything.

    My goals: read 75 books, read at least one non-uni book per week, actually read some of the uni books that are on my shelves which I have not yet read because I am a bad person. Also review more books. I’m doing my best with that but failing because TIME and LIFE and UNI ATE MY SOUL.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yay for classic SF! I may end up fangirling with you over some of those books, then. 🙂
      Yeah, Fingersmith is on my list too! VICTORIAN LESBIANS = HAPPY ENGIE.
      (I’ll have to go looking for it after I’ve finished the book, then! xD)

      Those sound like excellent goals! And I need to start commenting on your book review blog…
      I’M REALLY HOPING THAT COLLEGE DOESN’T EAT *MY* SOUL.

      • Miriam Joy says:

        I go to basically the most intense uni in the UK (and one of the most intense ones in the world), plus it’s a three-year course with eight-week terms, so to be honest I imagine at least your first year will be a bit more chilled out than ours — that’s the impression I’ve got about US unis or anywhere with a four-year course as they mostly seem to be. Even some of my friends doing other subjects seem to have less work than me but I think maybe they’re just more organised, for all they claim that I seem snowed under. (It’s the languages that do it.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      All US colleges are four-year courses, at least. 🙂 Some engineering majors have to add a fifth year to fit everything in. Aaaaaand I wish my first year would be easy, but what with the double major and everything, I doubt it will be. Also, after the first semester I’m going to work part-time as well to pay for stuff. (I don’t plan to start work right away because I want to get settled in and get used to a college schedule/workload.)

      • Miriam Joy says:

        At my uni you’re actually not allowed to have a job during term time because of time constraints and the way it would take away from your work. You can get one in the holidays, but not during term. So… :/ says a lot about their priorities.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Oh, wow. Pretty much everyone I know worked during college… (That’s actually how my parents met. xD)

  6. I want to read The Handmaid’s Tale and Ari and Dante, too. Good luck with Les Mis! (You’ll need it.) Sorry. Sorry. I’m just kidding (not really). I loved Peter Pan when I read it a couple years ago! It’s bittersweet and absolutely magical.

    Have you read Murder on the Orient Express?

  7. Actually, I found out about a lot of the books on my TBR from your blog! Good luck with the reading goals, if you want a YA philosophy book you should try Sophie’s World because it handles all the major philosophers in a more interesting way than some of those theoretical books.. Also, it’s set in Norway which is a change from the US/UK YA books, and has a metaphysical/fairytale element!

    My reading goals… I can never stick to anything, but I guess the ones I want to read soon are The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, and Good Omens by Neil Gaiman + Terry Pratchett.

    Happy reading, I expect you’ll be doing a lot of it! 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, that’s awesome! And I’m always happy to recommend more books, too.
      Oh, right, I’ve heard of that book before! But it wasn’t on my Goodreads TBR list yet, so… *scurries off to add it* And I always love to find YA books that aren’t set in the US/UK! 🙂

      I hope you enjoy Good Omens! I know I did. 🙂 And The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is on my TBR list as well.

  8. I’m reading Les Mis right now, and it’s just like WHOA. I could use it for weight-lifting. 🙂 The Once and Future King is really good, too! The Hitchhiker’s Guide is HILARIOUS. It has no plot, but I’d definitely recommend it. 🙂
    *flips out, rechecks sentence, then flips out again*
    OMG IF YOU READ REDWALL AND DIDN’T GIVE UP (nothing personal, just there’s only been one person out of like ten of my friends who has read it all the way through) I WOULD SCREAM ENDLESSLY FOR DAYS WITH HAPPINESS. My favorite series. Of all time. And I have no one to fangirl with. *le sigh*
    Have you ever seen the Princess Bride movie? The book is almost identical, but wonderfully book-y and hilarious. 🙂 Aristotle and Dante is wonderfully poetic and beautiful. ❤
    Hmmm, I've heard of Harry Potter and Philosophy, if you do read it you'll have to tell me what you think!
    There's this Doctor Who book at my school's library called Touched by an Angel, and I want to read it so bad!
    Lovely goals!

  9. Jess says:

    Under the Dome is AMAZING. It is a seriously long read – I think my copy is 1200 pages, about – but it’s definitely worth it. I think it’s my favorite Stephen King book besides Misery. Highly recommended. I want to read On Writing, as well, although I’m a little hesitant because I read so little nonfiction.

    I’m Jess, by the way!

  10. Wow, good luck with all that (in particular Les Mis and the The Silmarillion, the latter of which my dad gave up on). I think my goal is to read more often, even if it’s, like, a single page before bed or something (haha, like a single page is going to happen!). Actually, the good thing about the combination of editing and procrastinating (both of which I am/should be doing at the moment) is that it means I get to read books – if with the aim to look for grammarly or stylistic things at the same! I did some reading today. It was good. ^_^

    You’ve never read Hitchhiker’s?? I cannot rave enough about the Trilogy of Five + And Another Thing. VOGON POETRY! War of the Worlds is pretty good, if a little laborious. Though, I did read it ages ago. Probably worth a reread.
    Other than that, I approve of a lot of the books on your lists, even if I haven’t read most of them 😛 I didn’t realise I, Robot was an Asimov book. I need to read that at some point. Redwall, woop! I loved the Redwall series when I was a child (I even dressed up/cosplayed as Cornflower once), but I stopped reading them for no reason (probably that parents couldn’t buy me the books or something) and I never read all of the books. Still, the series is close to my heart. Definitely recommend it.

    Hmm, maybe I should get a Goodreads account, if only to transfer the books on my Amazon Wishlist to a “to-read” list.

    Did someone say Victorian Lesbians?? 😀

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yay!! What did you read?

      I only know about Vogon poetry from the movie. 😛
      Yeah, Redwall looks really good! I own the first book, so I can start on it right away. Theoretically, anyway. 😛 I’ll probably become distracted with something else…

      YES! You should! 🙂

      WHY YES I DID GKDALGLDSHGDLGKHSLDKGHSLD

  11. moosha23 says:

    LOVE THE GOALS (have I said that before?). Have fun reading about religion and philosophy (the most sound translation of the Quran is probably Abullah Yusuf Ali, except that he uses Old English like Thou, and Thee when writing. Also…translations are nooooo way near as good as reading the Quran from the actual arabic. Muslims literally have commentators that have published huge tombs on the verses so that you get a sense of what refers to which situation, and why it’s put there (it’s called tafsir, this, and you know, you can’t take the translation at face value but there’s a lot of tafsir on the Qur’an, whole chapters on one word, etc…it’s freaking big). ^.^

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, probably? I don’t know. 😛

      Thanks so much for your help! Ahaha, I would totally read it in the original if I could… I’d love to learn Arabic someday after Spanish, French, and Latin…

  12. I admit, I kind of flailed a bit when I saw A Clockwork Orange on your list – I love that book. It’s really short, but I feel the language used makes it seem longer – especially as I spent a long time trying to work out what all the words actually meant, but when you get used to it, it’s really easy. I tried to write my English dissertation on it last year, alongside Battle Royale and Divergent, but it didn’t go too well – I tried though 😛

    There are a few books on your list I’ve either read, or at least have been meaning to read (and some I’ve never heard of!) so I think I’m going to do my best to get caught up on all of them this year…*crosses fingers*

    And just to be really, really kind and recommend yet more books, I’m going to leave off by recommending two LGBTQ+ books: “Starring Kitty” by Keris Stainton (that would maybe fall under your children’s/middle grade, but I don’t know for sure because I don’t even know what middle grade actually *is*…) and “The Art of Being Normal” by Lisa Williamson (fictional book about a transgender teen), which is absolutely brilliant. I loved that one from start to finish, and should hopefully have a post of my own coming soon. I really recommend taking a look at it, even just to check out the cover – that’s what caught my eye. It’s just…agh, words fail me 😛

    • nevillegirl says:

      I know, right?! I tried to read it a few years ago but the language REALLY confused me, so I put it aside for the time being. But I hope to finish it THIS year. 🙂

      Ooh, which ones?

      I’ve heard of The Art of Being Normal, but not Starring Kitty, so I’ll have to add that to my list! 🙂 Thanks for the recs!
      (Hmmm… I consider middle-grade books to be for kids ages 8-12, roughly, although obviously this depends on each child’s maturity/interests/etc!)

  13. Pingback: My TBR List Is Out Of Control! | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

