The Struggles Of A Bookworm

I have a weakness for bookish tags, don’t I? I love them. They’re so much fun! This one comes from Cait @ Paper Fury – she didn’t tag me, but she DID say that we should feel free to steal it!

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

"WHAT DO I START READING FIRST?!"

“WHAT DO I START READING FIRST?!”

I have 700 books shelved as “to-read” on Goodreads. I don’t have a specific plan of attack, though. Rather, I just read whatever looks good. Sometimes, a shiny cover attracts me. Sometimes, I think, “Well, haven’t read much science fiction lately. I’d better find some.”

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

I usually commit. I don’t know why. I’ve wasted so much time on books that bored me…

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close yet so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up, and how?

Honestly, this seems highly unlikely for me because I read so much and so often. But if it DID happen, I would definitely try to catch up – probably by blowing off all my other responsibilities such as schoolwork and chores in order to read as many books as possible!

4. The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?!

Pffft. It’s STORY TIME WITH ENGIE, everyone! Gather ’round and I’ll tell you a tale. Once upon a time, in a galaxy far, far away, I decided to buy Derek Landy’s entire Skulduggery Pleasant series. They’re excellent books, but there’s a lot of them – nine books in the series proper, plus a novella and a collection of short stories.

I did not want to spend gazillions of dollars on these books. So I ordered them from AbeBooks.com, a fantastic used-book online marketplace.

And now, within that eleven-book collection, I can spot SIX different cover designs. Hardly any of them match! Additionally, some of these books are hardcover editions, while others are paperbacks. (And one was mailed to me without its dust jacket. I’m sure it feels quite naked.) Some of the books are taller than others, too.

And you know what? I REALLY DON’T MIND. When I was little, it used to bother me if the books in a series I owned didn’t match, but eventually it didn’t matter to me so much. Now I’m just happy to own the books – you can’t find Derek Landy’s books at any bookstores around here. At best, you’d have to order them from the stores’ websites, and like I said, that was really expensive.

5. Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

Even if almost everyone loves a particular book, there will always be a few who don’t – so I talk to the friends who share my opinion, or I read the one- and two-star reviews because I generally agree with them! For example, I found a Goodreads thread for people who disliked The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and was relieved to know that I’m not the only one who doesn’t understand all the hype. (I’m not so happy about some of the comments on that thread, though. The conversation often gets derailed by fans who want to argue with us. Just… no. Stop.)

6. You’re reading a book and are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

I don’t usually read in public… because my parents think it’s weird and antisocial! (So I’m actually more likely to cry in public because I don’t have a book.) But when I do manage to sneak a book into my purse and it makes me sad, well, I just go with it. After all, there are weirder things to do in public, right?!

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!

I've read only about 75% of A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin and now I want to finish it, but it's been nearly a year since I put it down so I don't remember what's happened so far! And I don't really feel like rereading the whole novel up until that point...

I’ve read only about 75% of A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin and now I want to finish it, but it’s been nearly a year since I put it down so I don’t remember what’s happened so far! And I don’t really feel like rereading the whole novel up until that point…

First, I’d cry in frustration. Then, if I had time, I’d reread the prior novel. If not, I’d just find a description on Goodreads or ask one of my friends who’s also read it to provide a quick recap. (Because my friends are awesome that way.)

8. You do not want anyone, ANYONE, borrowing your books! How do you politely tell people “nope” when they ask?

I would hit them over the head with a book and knock them out cold.

Like so.

Like so.

I’m just kidding. I would never do that. I’m not a very violent person. (Except, perhaps, when it comes to reading looooooong high fantasy books where the body count is almost higher than the page count.)

Actually, unless I really really REALLY love a particular book, I’d let people borrow my books. The problem, of course, is that I don’t usually buy books unless I love them, so most of the books I own ARE my favorites! But I do have some books that I only liked, and those were generally bought at library book sales and the like.

9. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

This is me right now.

This is me right now.

I am experiencing a reading slump right now and I DON’T LIKE IT but I’ve learned to just wait it out. Eventually, I do find something that looks good to me and then I devour the whole book in about an hour.

10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

As I wrote above, I don’t usually buy books unless I love them, and that obviously requires reading them first! So in this situation… I probably wouldn’t buy any. Not right away, at least. I’d borrow them from the library!

11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

HAHAHAHAHA. For a ridiculously long period of time, probably. A few months, at least. I have a short attention span when it comes to books.

-~-

I’m tagging:

And as always, feel free to A) ignore this tag if you’re not fond of them or B) answer these questions on your own blog even if I didn’t tag you!

Well, that’s all I have for today, readers/minions! QUESTION TIME: What are you reading at the moment?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to The Struggles Of A Bookworm

  1. QUESTION ANSWER: Les Miserables by Victor Hugo and The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. The 5th Wave is good. Les Mis is… well, Les Mis. Long. 🙂
    I love your answers! Especially the one with the Gandalf GIF. Love him. 🙂

  2. matttblack42 says:

    Aha! I have a solution to your Feast for Crows dilemma. There’s this website called “Tor” (I have no idea how popular it is) where this funny woman blogs A Song of Ice and Fire, reading a chapter or two and then discussing her reactions and whatnot. She’s very entertaining, and she does a good job summarizing each chapter. For instance, here’s her reaction to the Red Wedding http://www.tor.com/blogs/2013/05/a-read-of-ice-and-fire-a-storm-of-swords-part-30 and here’s her reaction to the purple wedding: http://www.tor.com/blogs/2013/07/a-read-of-ice-and-fire-a-storm-of-swords-part-36 .

    Oh, and thanks for nominating me. I swear an unbreakable vow that I shall participate.

  3. Cait says:

    I SO NEARLY TAGGED YOU. And then I thought, “Stahp Cait. You always tag Engie and she’ll be rolling her eyes at you by now.” XD I tell you, tagging people is the hardest of the world. BUT I’M SO GLAD YOU DID IT. This was hilarious. Your gif usage on #8 made me giggle.

    I would be very OCD about having Skulduggery books so so different. >.> SADNESS. I’m actually considering buying some right now (birthday money ftw, yes!) because I know I love them and I only ever buy books I love. XD I just got bk 4 from the library and like started it STRAIGHT AWAY even if I *cough* am still reading a Percy Jackson book. So I basically lied in my post today when I said “I only ever read one physical book at a time” because today I was reading two. LOL OK I’M RAMBLING I’LL STOP. XDXD

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, nah, I’m always up for a tag – especially bookish ones!
      I’m glad. 😛

      *nodnod* That sounds like an excellent idea. The SP series are pretty much the only books (except for the last Heroes of Olympus novel) that I bought without first reading them. AND THEY WERE SO WORTH IT WHICH MADE ME SUCH A HAPPY BOOKWORM.

  4. ranu2001 says:

    I’m reading Pride and Prejudice. About half way through, and it’s pretty good so far. it’s one of those novels I’ve been putting off reading.

  5. I think the “crying in frustration” thing is fairly common – I don’t have time to reread all the books in the series! Also I wish Australia had an equivalent of Abe Books. Shipping costs suck.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’m pretty sure you can still order from there, though – it’s international, and postage from a foreign country might cost a little more, but it’s still not actually that much. (And even when the postage was like $9, I didn’t mind because I bought the book itself for about $1 so all in all I didn’t spend too much.)

  6. moosha23 says:

    OH MY DAYS. We have the same book buying policy. Seriously. It dismisses half of the strife of a book lover to be honest…unless you get to those pesky arcs, or fresh off the shelves…then it’s almost sad when you don’t go over to the bookshop and buy it. Plus I love new books! So beautiful, and fresh, and in want of some lovin’ – yeah when I buy books I keep in mind that I’m investing hard earned cash on this gorgeousness so it has to be perfect. ABSOLUTELY PERFECT! ^.^

  7. Taylor Lynn says:

    Thanks for tagging me! And great post, although that’s impressive that you’re not bothered by the mismatched set of Skulduggery Pleasant. *shudders* I’m generally okay with books being different sizes–i.e. owning a series where some are paperback and some are hardcover–but I dislike it when publishers redesign covers midway through a series and they become mismatched. Also, the book without a dustjacket would drive me crazy! Case in point: When I was shopping for all of my used book Christmas gifts, I found a used copy of The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, which I want to read and could have owned for less than a dollar. But it had NO DUSTJACKET. So I said, “Sorry, nope,” and passed it by.

    Also, I have generally the same method for book buying as you do! With the exception of authors or series I already know I love, or sometimes a book that I have a strong hunch I’ll like, I usually get the books I want to read at the library first, THEN if I love it, I’ll buy myself a copy. I read too fast, and have too many books on my to-read list, to buy myself everything I want to read. I’d go broke too quickly. xD

    Also, reading slumps suck–hopefully you’ll get out of yours soon!

    • nevillegirl says:

      You’re welcome! (Ehehe, yeah, the UK SP covers are soooo much better… the American editions are boring!!)

      SAME HERE. I mean, I DO have a job, but most of the money I earn should/needs to go towards paying for college, NOT towards buying each and every book that looks the slightest bit awesome to me! 😛

      Me too, Taylor, me too. :/ BUT NOTHING LOOKS GOOD TO ME RIGHT NOW. Ughhhhh.

  8. Mo says:

    I’m rather proud of myself– I finished both The War of the Worlds and The Picture of Dorian Gray last night. Now I’m working on The Time Machine and finishing Vampire Science.

    I prefer having books that match. Like, I’m not going to be extremely hardcore about and when people give me book as presents I don’t mind that much. But in some cases, it does matter. For example, my Protector of the Small books. Because the covers that I can usually find are just plain ugly (IMO). So it took me over a year and a trip to Powell’s in Oregon to find the ones I like. My copies of Tamora Pierce’s Circle of Magic and Circle Opens series have different spines, but more or less the same art so I don’t mind that as much (plus I got them for free…). And then I’m a little bit annoyed because I have the weird boring version of Earthworld (although… I lent it to a friend in August or September and she still hasn’t given it back…) and the original cover is way cooler and would match my other EDAs.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yay!! What did you think of The Picture of Dorian Gray? 😀 I stg, the painting scenes are SOOOO GAY! xD

      Yeah… I ended up with only one SP book having a truly ugly cover* (seriously, it looks like someone used clip-art), so I wasn’t too bothered by the non-matchiness.

      *And it wasn’t even the one with no dust jacket. Sometimes I prefer to buy books without them, actually, because I always end up accidentally folding or tearing them. 😛

  9. Thank you for tagging me! I will have this up soon-ish. [Like Sunday…]
    As to what I’m reading: Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor, the sequel to Daighter of Smoke and Bone. I loved the first book SO MUCH I CAN’T EVEN and I’ll have the review up soon. If you haven’t read this series, I HIGHLY recommend it. At least so far.

    • nevillegirl says:

      You’re welcome! 🙂 I look forward to reading your post, and Sunday is fine – I know I always have so many post ideas that it’s difficult to publish them all as soon as I’d like to! 😛

      It’s on my TBR list! 😀

  10. orphu44 says:

    Ooh, thank you!
    You’ve got /six/ different cover designs? I wasn’t even aware that there were more than … I dunno, three.
    And as for the end-of-post question: I’m reading ‘How to Rob a Bank Without Losing Your Dentures.’ Which is a ridiculous title.

    • nevillegirl says:

      You’re welcome! 🙂

      Yeah. I think there’s at least two or three versions of American covers? Some of which are crappier than others. xD

      What’s that even about?! 😛

      • orphu44 says:

        Huh. I’ve seen the style that has Val and Skulduggery’s faces on the first cover, the style where everything’s all stylized and dramatic, and I think I may have seen one where the first Skulduggery just has the Sceptre on the cover? (Terrible descriptions, but still.)
        A group of old people who hate their retirement home and decide to embark on a life of crime, actually.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Oh, hmmm, I have a copy of book #1 that just shows the sceptre.

      It sounds intriguing. I’ll have to look for a copy, then. 😛

  11. Pingback: Bookworm Problems Tag | A Mirror Made of Words

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

