Linking Up With Loony Literate

I meant to publish a long, think-y, bookish post today, but… that’s not going to happen. Right now my brain is going IT’S THE WEEKEND, WRITE SOMETHING SILLY. So that’s what I shall do.

I’m linking up with my friend Emily @ Loony Literate for a blog hop / giveaway / celebration of the launch of her new, self-hosted blog! (She used to write at The Loony Teen Writer, but has since changed her title and URL because she won’t be a teenager forever. I hope you know that you could’ve avoided this problem by becoming a perpetually-seventeen-year-old vampire, Emily.)

Anyway.

Here are the blog hop questions!

1. What’s something a bit LOONY about you?

I rehearse basically all conversations before I have them… which doesn’t usually work very well, since conversations go off on weird tangents and can’t really be planned. BUT I AM STILL DETERMINED TO TRY.

This dates back to my middle-school years, when I was painfully shy. Whenever I was in social situations, even with people I’d known for years, I’d freak out and become incredibly anxious. I have no idea what brought it on, and I’m mostly over it now, but one lingering aspect of those days is my habit of thinking, “So, when I see [insert name of friend here], I’ll say hello and then I’ll say [insert something here] and then they’ll ask me [insert question here] and I’ll respond with [insert response here.”

I don’t do this very often with my online friends, because you guys don’t make me nearly as socially awkward and nervous. Thanks, people.

2. Since I’m Australian – what’s your favorite book by an Australian author?

I loved Zac and Mia by A.J. Betts, which I read last year. It’s about two teenage cancer patients who fall in love and IMHO, it is soooooooooo much better than The Fault in Our Stars. I… had a lot of problems with the latter book – with its writing style, characterization, et cetera – and Zac and Mia was basically the same story, only now the problems were fixed.

READ IT.

3. What’s your favorite kind of post to write, and why?

THIS IS A HARD QUESTION UGH WHY DO YOU DO THIS TO ME EMILY.

I like short, quick, easy-to-write posts (such as blog tags) and I love talking about books, so I suppose that my favorite kind of post to write is the one where I talk about books but do so quite quickly.

mockingjay[1]Not the kind where I spend like half an hour agonizing over the best ways to describe how much I loved/hated a particular book. Which is the kind of post I was working on until I decided to post this today. (This wasn’t a coincidence. My first post wasn’t going so well so I needed a better idea for today.)

4. Favorite genre of YA?

…I’m going to have to say “dystopian,” but this isn’t my favorite genre of all time or anything. I prefer fantasy as a whole, but YA fantasy on its own isn’t my favorite.

5. Biggest blogging goal?

I’ve been Freshly Pressed once before (way back in August 2012, FYI), and I’d LOVE for that to happen again. In general, I just want more followers. I have three hundred and sixty-four at the moment; someday, I’d like to have at least a thousand. (Promote my blog, peoples!)

6. Name another blogger who has been an inspiration to you.

I really love Miriam Joy @ Miriam Joy Writes, even though I constantly forget to comment on her blog. I love her writing style – descriptive, down-to-earth, geeky, and sarcastic all at once – and I love the variety of her post topics. I never know what she’ll talk about next: Will it be about college, writing, books, fandom, LGBTQ+ issues, life in general?

7. Trivia! A) A 2014 contemporary YA release where the main character is called Emily (and I loved it, by the way)? This author also wrote a book about a road trip.

Ooh, this is Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson, isn’t it? Which I recommended to Cait @ Paper Fury and then she recommended it to you, so I’m glad you liked it so much! I did too… one of my favorite contemporary YA books ever, to be honest.

b) Madam Rosmerta from Harry Potter makes lovely oak-matured what?

Well, your hint says it’s part of your name, and I know your last name is Mead. So… she makes mead!

8. If you haven’t done this already, look up your full name (or your pen name if you use one) on an anagram finder. What’s the best anagram of your name?

“nevillegirl” anagrams to:

  • Reveling Ill
  • Eviller Ling
  • Leg Liver Nil
  • Vile En Grill
  • Evil Ell Grin

Oh. My. God. None of those are any good – and why do so many of them sound vaguely evil, anyway?! (Except for “Leg Liver Nil.” Please, never call me “Leg Liver” again.)

Meanwhile, my full name (first name, middle name, and surname) anagrams to:

  • Hijack Eyebolt Hazes
  • Jezail Eyebath Shock (my Skulduggery Pleasant name, obviously)
  • Cheeky Zealot Hijabs

I didn’t find many interesting anagrams there, or any that made much sense, but I’m not surprised. Not with letters such as Z, Y, J, and K in my name. That’s hard to anagram!

9. One thing you want to see more of in YA?since you've been gone

I’ve been talking about fictional relationships a lot lately (here and here, in case you missed it), so I’m going to stick to that theme: I want to see better relationships between YA characters.

I want to read about more friendships between girls. I’m not interested in girls whose relationships with one another consist of putting down the other person. (Especially if it’s an attempt to steal someone’s boyfriend, or whatever. Actually, I’d just like to see fewer YA novels with characters who fight over significant others of any gender.)

I want to read about more friendships between two guys. I’m tired of reading stories where the dudes are like “no homo, man.” (Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle is a really good antithesis to this, if you’re interested.)

I want more YA authors to question the need for automatically pairing up their female protagonist with a minor male character, or vice versa. Can we please start questioning the idea that a girl and a guy can’t be just friends, and always have to have something more between them?!

I want more LGBTQ+ books that are about friendship between queer characters. YA romance isn’t my thing, but soooooo many LGBTQ+ YA novels are all about that.

Wow, I’m sorry – I think you wanted a short answer there, Emily, and I accidentally gave you a long one! Oops.

10. And finally – are you excited about Loony Literate?!

Oh my gosh, no. I’M KIDDING! Of COURSE I’m EXCITED! Would I take part in this link-up if I weren’t excited?! I love your new blog design, Emily, and I look forward to reading your future posts!

-~-

Don’t forget to link up with Emily – you can win a book by doing so! Farewell, dear readers, and have a lovely night.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Linking Up With Loony Literate

  1. YAY I’M SO HAPPY YOU JOINED IN 😀 When I wrote that question about an inspirational blogger I was actually thinking of you tbh 🙂 And yes, I read Since You’ve Been Gone because of Cait, because of you.

    Liver Leg. Haha 😛

    • nevillegirl says:

      *blush* Part of me wants to say STOP IT YOU and another part is like OMG REALLY?! 😛 ‘Cause I think that if anything, your blog is waaaay better than mine. My posts always end up being too long. xD

      *hides face in hands* I’m so embarrassed. That is the WORST anagram-name ever…

  2. Cait says:

    I can’t decide if I want to call you Evil Ell from now on or Leg Liver. THE CHOICES ARE JUST TOO GREAT. MWHAHAHAHA. *whispers* Leeeeg Liiiiiiiver.
    I also love YA dystopian but I kind of got burnt by so many dystopians that didn’t bother to develop their characters and honestly? I love characters. I adore characters. I don’t read for worlds or politics I READ FOR CHARACTERS. *calms self*
    Yes we can blame you for Since You’ve Been Gone. See what you’ve done?! 😉

    • nevillegirl says:

      How about Evil Ell? 😛 At least that one sounds slightly intimidating and not completely ridiculous!
      Yes yes yes I completely agree with your observation about dystopian characters. *nodnod* 🙂

      It was such a good book, wasn’t it?! 🙂

  3. Your answers were awesome! I must find this Zac and Mia book. I adored TFIOS, so then this must be better…? 😛
    Your anagram names were pretty hilarious!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you!
      It was really, really good. 🙂
      Ehehe, I’m glad you were amused. 😛 I tried anagramming the title of my blog, but I didn’t get any interesting results…

  4. Miriam Joy says:

    You flatter me.
    Also, ‘Miriam’ anagrams to ‘I’m a rim’, which is … weird. And confusing. So, “Joy! I’m a rim” is an anagram of my name. What even… Putting in my surname gets fun results like, “Jimmying Alarm Noo” (me in the morning), “Mammal Ironing Joy”, and far too many phrases containing the words ‘anal’ and ‘moaning’. I do not want to know.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

