A Question About Reviewing The Books I Read (& Loved) Before I Blogged

Hi there. I should be writing longer, better posts right now, but I’m procrastinating once again, so today’s post will be fairly short.

Also, I have more scholarship application essays to write, so I need to spend time on those instead. Joy.

Also, it’s been snowing so much here that the power was just knocked out, so today’s writing time is limited because eventually my computer’s battery will run out. Joy.

Anyway, today I have a question for all of you. A question about… books. OF COURSE.

I write a lot of posts about books. Not enough to make me a full-fledged book blogger, but
still a lot. The thing is, I don’t often talk about books I read a while ago. Books I read before I started blogging almost four and a half years ago.

DSCN3432I post reviews of books I read recently – books that were usually published quite recently – and I write lots and lots of lists and other short, light-hearted, fandomy book posts. Fandom/list posts allow me to talk a little bit about some of the books I read and loved years and years ago, but I don’t feel like I really get to talk about them, if you know what I mean. I mention them only in passing.

So my question is: Would anyone be interested in review-ish posts about those books? Actually, I doubt they’d even be formal reviews – some might even be lists! But I would talk about a particular book during the ENTIRE post, not just as one-tenth of a top ten list.

The reason I’m asking is that, well, hardly any of the books I think I’d like to talk about are current. I’d love to talk about them, but will anyone actually read a post about a book that was published in 2005? New books get all the hype, and that’s completely understandable.

I guess I’m just not really a must-read-all-the-new-books-NOW kind of person. Never have been, really. Sure, I read some, but I’m not nearly as on top of things as some of my blogging friends!

Furthermore, Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner – one of the bloggers I look up to – has a similar feature on her blog. It’s called Before I Blogged I Read and… well, I don’t know. It made me think, “Oh, I should try something similar on my own blog – if anyone would actually read it.”

Well, let me know what you think. I’ve been turning this idea over in my mind for a little while now, because I went to the library’s used-book sale and bought more than thirty books for less than ten bucks. YAY!Nevillegirl the Reading Fool 002

I picked up quite a few books I’ve never read before: The Lost Conspiracy by Frances Hardinge, almost all of the Charlie Bone books by Jenny Nimmo, and The Incredible Journey by Sheila Burnford, among others. (I also own approximately 1.5 books with Actual Lesbians now. Bless you, Julie Anne Peters.)

But I also found quite a few of my favorites: Millicent Min, Girl Genius by Lisa Yee, some of Terry Pratchett’s books, some of Richard Peck’s books, a really nicely illustrated edition of Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson, and best of all, The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer. (OMG READ IT READ IT IT’S A YA DYSTOPIAN SET IN MEXICO. I meant to merely skim through it last night, but ended up rereading the entire book in one long sitting. I’ve wanted my own copy for ages.)

And as you can probably guess from that last sentence, I get REALLY EXCITED about these books. I want to fangirl about them! I want to find other people who liked these books, especially some of the lesser-known ones. I want to write posts about those books so that I can convince you to try them, even though they’re the not the latest thing… even if they’re not what “everyone” is talking about right now. But I just don’t know if anyone would actually be interested in that.

I’m signing off now, so TELL ME WHAT YOU THINK, PEOPLES. And if you live somewhere that is currently very cold and/or snowy, stay safe. I’ve seen, like, only ten cars drive past my house today, and it’s already noon. (As I write this, that is. I have no idea when this post will be published because we don’t have Internet right now, either. Gah. #teenproblems) So long, and thanks for all the fish.

P.S. My Superbowl prediction is… Ireland will win, but Krum will get the Snitch.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Question About Reviewing The Books I Read (& Loved) Before I Blogged

  1. Cait says:

    I would basically read anything. SO THERE’S THAT. I also feel neglectful of books I really really loved before I started blogging. Omg, my goodreads doesn’t even say I’ve read the Hunger Games trilogy because I READ THEM BEFOR BOOK BLOGGING. *flails* Although my reread this year should fix that. ^_^

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, I’m glad. I do feel like we’d probably read ANYTHING each other posts, though, right?! 😛

      Yeah, same. Goodreads keeps recommending all these books it think I’ll love… I’ve already read them, though! I just never got around to rating them/read them before I was active on that site.

  2. Miriam Joy says:

    I’d be interested to see your thoughts on Charlie Bone because I have a complex relationship with those books (in that I started the series as a child, was scared witless by one of the books, and eventually went back to them when I was like fifteen or sixteen and therefore technically older than the target audience — and very embarrassed to be seen borrowing them from the children’s section). I don’t remember a huge amount about them but they occupy a fond if fearful place in my memory. I daresay they’re not nearly as scary as they seemed to me when I was little.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I haven’t actually read those books yet, but if I like them then I will certainly talk about them in a post! 🙂 I don’t know if I’ve ever had that same experience with a series, actually – I generally read all the books quite quickly, and don’t usually have to wait too long for the last few to be published. (I’ll probably be 93 by the time The Winds of Winter is released, though.)
      Also, getting books from the kid’s section never really bothers me. 😛 I’m always walking out of there with armloads of Percy Jackson or Skulduggery Pleasant books. 🙂

      • Miriam Joy says:

        It doesn’t bother me so much now but when I was about fifteen or sixteen it did, mostly because I was constantly mistaken for being younger than I am. Now that I don’t look like a twelve year old so much, I’m more comfortable being seen reading books written for twelve year olds, ha ha.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’ve just resigned myself to looking about twelve years old forever. (Maybe I’m secretly a very young, very tiny vampire?)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Let’s be children’s-book-reading vampires together, then.

  3. Robyn Hoode says:

    Hi.

    So, I sent you an email a few days ago. It’s kind of time-sensitive, so if you could please check for it and reply if you’re interested, that’d be great. 🙂

  4. YES OMG I WAS THINKING ABOUT DOING THIS ON MY BLOG. Like a spotlight on childhood books every so often (mostly for His Dark Materials, one of my favourite series EVER). I’d totally read whatever you write 😉

  5. moosha23 says:

    Go for it! I don’t even know why you had to ask. I mean. TERRY PRATCHETT!!! Also, The Charlie Bone series was brilliant! There’s so many books that I read even now that were published ages ago, and why should book bloggers only make hype about current books. Since when did book blogging turn into a job description – secret lieges hired by publishers worldwide? Didn’t book blogging come first. Didn’t people blog about books they’d read regardless of release date, publisher name and debut-ness?? Please do write reviews for books written ages ago, they deserve love – and frankly, lots of people read books without a care for the publication date. Especially library-frequenters. I would LOVE IT if you wrote whole posts about a particular book written in 2000…I think that would be wonderful.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yaaaaaaaaaaay!

      You basically put all my feelings into words better than I could – everyone talks about the latest books, and I totally understand the excitement, but people hardly ever devote entire reviews to older books.. especially if they’re non-classics. (Like Oliver Twist or some such thing. I’m talking about, like, something published in maybe the 90s.)

  6. Pingback: 7 Reasons You Should Read Louise Rennison’s “Confessions of Georgia Nicolson” Series | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

