The Inside Out Book Tag

Hello, everyone! Gosh, I keep procrastinating on writing those Real Posts, right? You know, the kind where I actually say something that’s either really funny or somewhat thoughtful? Yeah. Sorry about that.

But some days are like that. Some days, I am filled with Great Big Ideas and spend time blogging about them. On other days, I still want to blog but just don’t have as much motivation… or there are other things I need/want to do online. Such as finishing some Spanish homework and then watching Agent Carter. Which is what I’m going to do after this, so let’s get started.

I found this book tag at Books Over People. The first letters of each of the questions spells out “inside out.” Apparently whoever created this tag thought it was cool. I have no idea.

Also, I haven’t needed to use WordPress’s GINORMOUS LETTERING yet, but this seems as good a moment as any to whisk it out with a flourish. Enjoy!

I

Inside flap / Back-of-the-book summaries: Too much info? Or not enough?

Yes to both, actually. There’s usually plenty of info, but does it really tell us anything? I think a lot of plot summaries are badly written and don’t accurately reflect what the book is actually about. And I hate when books just have reviews instead of summaries. Why would I even care what some big-wig critic thinks when I haven’t even read the book yet?

the raven boysN

New book: What form do you want it in? Be honest: audio book, e-book, paperback, or hardcover?

HARDCOVER! I think hardcover editions look much more elegant than their paperback brethren, and they’re much sturdier, too – always a plus for those books that I want to reread over and over and over again without having them fall to pieces. Which describes most of my books, actually, because I rarely buy books that I haven’t already read AND loved.

Lately I’ve been thinking about buying a few of my favorite graphic novels. When I realized that the local Barnes & Noble (that’s a huge chain bookstore, for my international readers who didn’t know) doesn’t sell hardcover copies of what I’m looking for, I was momentarily grumpy. WHEN I SAY THAT I LOVE MY BOOKS TO PIECES, I MEAN THAT SOMETIMES LITERALLY. So I need hardcover copies. Sheesh.

S

Scribble while you read? Do you like to write in your books, taking notes, making comments, or do you keep your books clean clean clean?

NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO I AM NOT A HEATHEN.

The only books with markings you’ll see on my shelves are second-hand, usually picked up during a library book sale. I leave them be, though – I don’t erase pencil marks or anything like that. It seems overkill. I do usually uncrease the dog-eared pages as I read/reread the books, though.

I

In your best voice, read for us your favorite first sentence from a book.

Did this tag originate on YouTube? Or am I supposed to do some kind of magic and put my voice on my blog?

Anyway, I’m going to pick two, because I’m just such a rebel that way.

This is the first sentence from The Teacher’s Funeral by Richard Peck, which I recently reread:

“If your teacher has to die, August isn’t a bad time of year for it.”

I’d forgotten how hilarious and deadpan this book is… and also how, ah, “countrified” it is. It is one of the few books I’ve read that is set in my state – Indiana. Actually, come to think of it, all the other set-in-Indiana books I’ve read were also by Richard Peck. Huh.

Anyway, here is the first line of The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater:

“Blue Sargent had forgotten how many times she’d been told that she would kill her true love.”

This sentence is a surprise, and I love that. She’s just so matter-of-fact about it! This series (the Raven Cycle) has been on my mind all afternoon because the title of the fourth/final book was announced today: The Raven King will be published on September twenty-ninth, 2015! I’M SO EXCITED AND YET ALSO NERVOUS BECAUSE I DON’T WANT THIS WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL SERIES TO END DO YOU UNDERSTAND HOW I FEEL.

D

Does it matter to you whether the author is male or female when you’re 2004-1[1]deciding on a book? What if you’re unsure of the author’s gender?

I don’t usually notice this when I’m deciding on a book, but I usually think about it a lot while I’m actually reading it. Some authors just can’t create believable characters and sometimes I wonder if this is because they’re soooooo different from the people in their stories. I’m not saying that you can’t or shouldn’t write about people who are not like yourself, but I do think it requires more planning, thinking, et cetera.

Which would explain why some seventy-year-old men can’t write realistic teen girls. I’m looking at you, James Patterson.

E

Ever read ahead? Or have you ever read the last page way before you got there?

Oh my gosh, yes. I do this a lot with mysteries and thrillers, because the anticipation is just too much for me. I really, really need to stop. Note to self: Stop doing this with the A Song of Ice and Fire books. No no no. Stop. Bad Engie.

O

Organized bookshelves, or outrageous bookshelves?

A bit of both? I mean, my books are loosely organized, but only into fairly large categories. My science fiction books aren’t sorted according to age (classic versus newer) or subgenre (dystopian, aliens, et cetera). And I have an entire shelf of my absolute FAVORITEST books of ever that isn’t organized at all. (I may need to expand this collection to two shelves quite soon.)

U

Under oath: Have you ever bought a book based on the cover alone?

Only when I was buying a very cheap (read: used) book! I really like the cover of When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead, so I bought it the other day at a library book sale. (You may have guessed that I think library book sales are awesome.) Normally I would never do this, but it cost only twenty-five cents. So why not?!

T

Take it outside to read, or stay in?

Go outside? Why would I do such a thing? WE HATES THE SUNLIGHT, PRECIOUS. WE HATES IT FOREVERRRRRRRRRR.

Just kidding. Sometimes I do read outside but honestly, I don’t find it very comfortable. It seems like the weather is always too hot or too cold, or there’s a sudden breeze that ruffles the pages of my book so that I have to flip back through it and find my place again. Mostly, I like to read whilst lying in my bed, wrapped up in a fuzzy blanket, with the cat purring contentedly next to me and not, I don’t know, trying to sit on my book or chew on its pages or something equally foolish.

-~-

I’m tagging:

And as always, feel free to participate in this tag whether or not I tagged you! Or feel free to ignore the tag – you won’t hurt my feelings.

Tell me: What are you reading at the moment? I, for once, am not reading anything. Not really. I am still in the same pesky reading slump but since I have to take some Captain America comics back to the library soon, I might give those a try before they’re due.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to The Inside Out Book Tag

  1. booksoverpeople says:

    “I AM NOT A HEATHEN” haha.

  2. I GOT BLUE LILY IN THE MAIL TODAY AND IT’S HARDBACK. Which means that either I buy the other two in hardback or…well, there’s not really an “or” because I’m not having two in paperback and one in hardback. It just can’t happen.

    I like reading inside also 😉

  3. Bridget says:

    Thanks for tagging me! I’ll definitely do this one- it looks like a lot of fun.

    I just got over a reading slump of my own and then read We Were Liars in a couple of hours. There was a lot of purple prose, but the ending was devastating and definitely worth it.

    • nevillegirl says:

      You’re welcome! I’m glad you like it. 🙂

      Ah… We Were Liars. YES to the huuuuge amount of purple prose. I must confess, I wanted to stab that book with a fork. 😛 Her other books are soooooo much better.

  4. Back cover blurbs are so misleading. My sister sometimes writes in pencil on library books then erases the mark before they’re due. It’s troublesome, but, well, if it works for her … I don’t normally read outside because of the sun.

    I’m trying to read Anna Karenina. It’s very long but now that I’ve read Les Mis, it feels like nothing can really scare me anymore. 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      The blurb for The Raven Boys is AWFUL… I almost didn’t read that book because it seemed so boring, and also because it seemed like a paranormal romance. (And… it kind of IS. But it’s very light on the romance front, which I appreciated.)
      Teehee, what a rulebreaker. 😛

      Is it any good? Anna Karenina is on the list of books I’d love to tackle SOME day.

  5. Cait says:

    Okay, I have to ask…WHY IS IT “INSIDE OUT” THOUGH?! What am I missing?!! lol I love tags so I’ll do this one. xD But I just…I’m not 100% understanding of it’s origins. *ahem* ANYWAY. RAVEN KING! RAVEN KING!! EVERYBODY’S GONNA DIE!!! *flails and then cries*

    I am not a heathen either. *nods*

    I laughed at T too because, heck yes, why would you go outside when inside is so wonderful? x)

    • nevillegirl says:

      I DON’T KNOW I HAVE NO IDEA I JUST THOUGHT IT LOOKED LIKE FUN SO I DID IT.
      Ooh, yay! I wasn’t sure if you’d do it or not, but I thought it was worth tagging you anyway just in case. 🙂
      RAVEN KIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIING.

      Good. 😛

      And there’s food inside, too! 😀

  6. Giant lettering? xD
    I am currently reading ‘Who Could That Be At This Hour?’ by Lemony Snicket

  7. moosha23 says:

    This tag was pretty entertaining! Thanks for tagging me bdw 🙂
    Gosh…I haven’t read in ages. I mean I’m binge-reading on Wattpad but even that’s on a low these days…and I have a good load of books piled up ready for the devouring. Sigh. I agree with going outside and reading – I get way too distracted – the best way to read is to stay in my bed and snooze-read. However the better part of last year was spent reading at social conventions (this year’s resolution is to be more social, as a result) so I’ve gotten pretty good at blocking out noises and outside stuff. 😀

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, I’m glad you liked it! And you’re welcome. 🙂

      I know, right? There are so many books I want to read, and I even have plenty of books checked out from the library, but my level of reading-motivation is absolutely nil right now. *pouts*
      Teehee. I usually bring books to any social event, or I try to. (Sometimes my mom catches me: “No, you may not bring that book. Go be social.”)

  8. Pingback: The Inside Out Book Tag | Miss Alexandrina

  9. matttblack42 says:

    The Raven King is a great title. Not as good as “Dead Gansey, Gansey Dead,” but it’s definitely up there.

    I used to prefer paperbacks to hardcovers, but now all those paper books I bought a few years ago are falling apart, while my hardcover books are looking as bright and shiny as ever. I’d read more audiobooks, but only if they were narrated by either a: Benedict Cumberbatch, b: Kevin Spacey, or c: The women who plays Catelyn Stark. I don’t know why exactly, but I’ve always loved her voice.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Personally, I was hoping for “Ding Dong, The Raven King Is Dead.”

      I know, right? Same here. I’m afraid to even touch some of my really big paperbacks because their bindings are splitting and I feel like I might accidentally break them. :/
      Ohhhhhhhhhh man yes she does have a lovely voice! Very powerful and emotional and whatnot. Good for speeches… speaking of speeches & Catelyn Stark, have you seen this video? It is my new favorite thing and seems like your sort of thing as well: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O4MnBV6g4pI
      *nodnod* I would listen to soooooo many audiobooks if they had better narrators. I bet Christopher Eccleston would be a great narrator… Jennifer Lawrence has a great voice, too. And I could listen to Lena Headey alllllllllllllllll day.
      (I’ve heard Stephen Fry’s HP audiobooks are good? Have you tried them?)

      • matttblack42 says:

        😀 Oh god, this is the second* greatest video ever. I kind of wished they had played that song on the original show.

        I haven’t listened to StephenFry’s audiobooks, (I think).

        And while we’re listing people who’d make great narrators, I’m going to go with Morgan Freeman (obvious, but it needs to be said), the entire adult cast of the Harry Potter movies, and Bryan Cranston. Especially Bryan Cranston. There was a promo for Breaking Bad, where he read the poem “Ozymandias,” and it was glorious. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T3dpghfRBHE

    • nevillegirl says:

      IKR?! 😀

      Yessssssssss Morgan Freeman!

      Oh my god, that’s one of my favorite poems, and his voice is so cool! *thumbs up* Thanks, friend-person.

      THAT LAUGH TRACK THO
      I CAN’T
      I CAN’T EVEN

  10. Pingback: The Inside Out Book Tag | Stay and Watch the Stars

  11. Taylor Lynn says:

    Thanks for tagging me! I also like to own hardcovers; paperbacks are cheaper, which is good when you’re buying new, but hardcovers are usually nicer (and, as you said, sturdier). An exception would be if the paperback has a better cover design, in which case, I’d probably by the paperback because I’m a sucker for a lovely cover. 😉

    Also: THE RAVEN KING THE RAVEN KING OH GOD IT’S (sort of) ALMOST HERE. *squeals* *runs in circles* *cries* To be totally honest, I got giddy when I saw the title announcement on Maggie Stiefvater’s tumblr. I’m such a fangirl. :’)

    (PS Currently I’m reading “My Antonia” by Willa Cather, which is a lovely classic. Really enjoying it so far!)

    • nevillegirl says:

      You’re welcome! 🙂
      Ooh, yes, I hadn’t considered that, but you’re absolutely right! I’d rather have a pretty cover than a sturdy-yet-ugly one.

      I’M SO EXCITED OMG *hugs you and squees in excitement*

      (Oh, I enjoyed that book too! I read it last year for school.)

  12. Pingback: The Inside Out Book Tag: :gaT kooB tuO edisnI ehT | allthingswordy

  13. Pingback: The Inside Out Book Tag: :gaT kooB tuO edisnI ehT – The Controversy

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

