Senior Year Saturday: Senioritis

senior year saturdayWelcome to Senior Year Saturday, my newest regular feature! Essentially, I talk about any and all things related to my final year of high school, from homework and extracurriculars to updates on college planning and thoughts on graduation. And more! (Such as that dreaded feeling known as “senioritis.”) Enjoy!

Hey, everyone. How has your weekend been so far? Mine has been pretty low-key. I did manage to send off another scholarship application, though, so that was nice. And now I’m writing this post to you. Because… I have senioritis. Like, a very bad case of it. Read on to find out more!

P.S. Previous Senior Year Saturday posts may be found here.

What is senioritis? I’m not sure if this concept exists in countries outside of the US but I’m guessing that it does, albeit under a different name. Senioritis is, as I understand it, twofold: It’s a combination of laziness and impatience. Some seniors become very, very lazy, particularly during their final semester of high school, and grow impatient to graduate (and then head off to college, if that’s in their future plans).

I have turned into one of those seniors.

Actually, I’m pretty sure I had a strong case of senioritis when I began my junior year. So you can imagine what it’s like now.

I’m just so impatient to graduate and go to college. I feel like I’m biding time here at home. I’m whiling away the hours, anxiously waiting for the day when I move into my new dorm room and attend classes and live on my own.

But it’s not because I’m bored by my classes, or because I’m feeling like a rebellious teenager. I just want to move on from this time in my life, that’s all.

I’ve known since I was little that my parents expected/encouraged me to attend college, and I’ve prepared for that for years. And after a while, that gets a bit old. I want to be at college now. Soon. I’ve been preparing for so long and I’d like to see how I actually fare once I’m there.

I want to see how I deal with living on my own. Living with a roommate. Attending classes when there’s no one to remind me, “Engie, shouldn’t you be heading off to class?” Doing my own laundry. Remembering to take a break from my projects before I get so engrossed in them that I forget to eat. (It’s happened more than once.)

And even if I struggle or fail at some of those things, they’ll still help me to learn and grow and change and just generally practice being an adult. I’m really looking forward to the day when all this begins to happen, even if it’s complicated and scary and weird and challenging at times.

I’ve waited so long to go to college and now all I want is to just be there, already. Right now I feel like I’m just waiting for the rest of my life to start, quite frankly. I daydream of finally heading off to college – acing a major test, studying in one of the campus’s many libraries, writing for the school newspaper, dating a cute girl who makes me laugh.

I wish that time could go faster. I cannot wait to head off to college and it’s making me very bored now. It’s a weird, weird feeling and I know I’ll probably regret this entire post on my very first day in college, because I’m sure that I’ll be overwhelmed. But it will be a good kind of overwhelmed. Because I’ll finally be there, in college, stretching my wings and trying new things and moving on to the next stage in my life. Finally.

Has anyone reading this experienced a similar feeling?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Senior Year Saturday: Senioritis

  1. It’s strange because I’m actually the opposite – I’ve loved high school, all the teachers and my friends here, and I’m terrified to go to university. But also I want all my exams to be over as well. Plus, most Aussies don’t live in dorms, so I’ll probably be staying at home for a couple of years.

    I can’t wait to hear your stories of college and living on your own 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      *patpat* I’m sure it will be fine, and you’ll definitely make new, awesome (read: geeky) friends! 😛

      Yeah, I look forward to posting about it myself. But I’ll have switched over to posting less frequently by then since I’ll be so busy…

  2. ecofemcarson says:

    I’m in college, and senioritis happens here too. The allure of the ‘real world’, graduate school, getting off campus, having a life beyond classes, studying and homework.. It’s appealing.
    I’m a sophomore and already have senioritis. It doesn’t go away, merely changes as you do. I’m sure I will have a form of it while working (ex: can’t wait for summer, retirement, etc.) because the grass is always greener in the future. Good luck with handling your senioritis!☺

  3. Miriam Joy says:

    As far as I know, we don’t have a name for it, but I did experience those feelings last year. I felt trapped by my hometown, and school itself seemed fairly pointless. I just wanted it all to be done with so I could go, although unlike you I still had to get the grades to get in. I ended up rearranging my room quite a bit — that helped me feel like something had changed.

    It was only in August and September, when uni was fast approaching, that the fear set in and suddenly I didn’t want to go. But that was my anxiety talking more than anything else. Now that I’m here… well, it’s been a mixed bag, you know that from my posts and messages, but it’s probably still better than sixth form was so I’m glad to have moved on.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’m glad to find someone else who feels the same way. 🙂 It all feels so pointless and even if college is a mixed bag for me at first, at least that’ll be a change from this!

  4. Cait says:

    I can completely understand the feeling! I really really wanted to be done school. Learning and me have never been best of buds so the very second I could possibly graduate?! I WAS OUTTA THERE. Although, to be honest, I didn’t go on to college or leave home, haha. I really don’t like change. >_<

  5. moosha23 says:

    Yep been through the same sort of thing! Have to say it pretty much sucks since you have to bide your time, and the thing is what you wish for may not be what you get. :S
    But hey, try and make the most of now. It feels a bit like a slushy period of your life when college is solid and the far past is solid. But now? Now is the slushy time and make the most of it – even if it does feel weird and makes you restless.

  6. Levi says:

    ah man i am complete trash about this. worse thing is is that i still have 2-3 years at home cos of college.

    honestly can’t wait to move out

    • nevillegirl says:

      Aw, that does suck. *hugs* I guess that means I should get to work on that time machine, huh? 😛 So you can skip all the boring in-between bits and just go right to graduation.

  7. Mo says:

    I mean, I’m not a senior yet, but I have a lot of apathy in general. *shrug*

  8. orphu44 says:

    Oddly enough, I actually had ‘senioritis’ (if you can call it that) far more transitioning from elementary to secondary school than I did for actual university. I dunno, graduating didn’t seem 100% real and I didn’t really look ahead/prepare for it (which would explain why I’m so ??? at the moment, actually).
    Good luck with college, once you get there! (And with the rest of your senioritis-y year.)

  9. Pingback: Senior Year Saturday: Year’s End & A Wrap-Up | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

