Be My (Bookish) Valentine!

Hello, everyone! Today I’m doing two bookish blog tags about… Valentine’s Day! Yeah, I know I’m a little late with this. But I already had another post scheduled yesterday! Anyway, these look like fun, so I’m participating.

Enjoy!

-~-

Precious @ Clockwork Desires created the Be My Valentine book tag and tagged me in it! Thanks, Precious! Also, before I move on to the tag itself, there’s something I need to tell you: Every time I see your username, I think of Gollum and imagine him mutter to himself while he blogs. “Yesssss, precious, we likes this post, yessss we does!”

ashI’ve been wanting to tell you that for a while.

Who is your favorite couple in a book?

Ash & Kaisa! They’re from Ash by Malinda Lo, which is one of my favorite books of all time. They’re incredibly adorable together. OMG. I wish I were in a relationship half as sweet as theirs.

Which book character would you take to dinner if you could?

TANITH LOW. She’s from Derek Landy’s Skulduggery Pleasant series and she. Is. AWESOME. She’s a freelance monster fighter as well so if our date were interrupted by, like, zombies or something, she’d be able to fend them off.

And oh gosh now I’m sad because I thought, “Hmm, I wonder what we would eat,” and then I remembered the whole “I’ll make you steak, you don’t even have to show up” scene with [spoilery name redacted] and now I’m sad SCREW YOU DEREK LANDY GAHHHHHHH MORTAL COIL WAS SO HORRIBLE AND ALSO ONE OF MY FAVORITEST.

Villains deserve a little love, too. Which villain would the maleficent sevenyou give a box of chocolates to?

China Sorrows, maybe? (She’s also from the Skulduggery Pleasant series.) She’s not COMPLETELY villainous, technically – rather, she’s morally ambiguous. But I think that’s close enough. I’d give chocolates to her because “everyone falls in love with China” and also because maybe then she’d let me visit her library.

Her library is huuuuuuge, and freaking awesome. Consider me jealous.

Be a matchmaker; pick two characters from different books and pair them up.

Ooh! Ooh! I think Tana from The Coldest Girl in Coldtown and Puck from The Scorpio Race by Maggie Stiefvater would get along like a house on fire. Both girls love danger, albeit in very different forms. I doubt I’d hang out with them often, though, because they’d constantly be around bloodthirsty vampires and man-eating horses and whatnot and THAT LIFE IS JUST NOT FOR ME. I prefer the comfort of my quiet, book-filled, safe home, thank you very much.

What book setting would you like to visit while on a date?

Oh, I can pick only one? Drat. Um, then it’d have to been Minas Tirith from the Lord of the Rings trilogy. IT’S SO PRETTY. I’d probably gaze at the architecture more than I’d gaze at my date, though, which might be a problem.

It’s not all about romance. What’s your favorite non-romantic relationship in a novel?

I briefly discussed this yesterday, actually: It’s Skulduggery Pleasant and Valkyrie Cain. They’ve been through so much together, and I love them to pieces. They crack me up, but they also make me cry at times. They are my preciouses.

Venturing out of the book sphere for a bit: What song makes you feel loved?

I love “The Long Song” from Doctor Who! It’s from the episode “The Rings of Akhaten,” which is part of series seven.

Why do I love it? It feels like a warm fuzzy hug, I guess. Comforting. Encouraging. Happy.

Who is your favorite couple in a movie/TV show?

Um. I just realized that I don’t ship very many couples from movies or TV… and when I do, they’re generally fanon not canon. I’m rather fond of Vastra & Jenny from Doctor Who, though. THEY’RE SO CUTE TOGETHER. I have become slightly obsessed with stories about Victorian lesbians (both real and fictional) and I blame it on these two…

Now for the most important question of all: What is your favorite shade of red?

I like the reddish color of cherry wood, actually. No, not cherry red. It’s sort of brown but with red tones. I just think it looks really pretty and elegant.

-~-

I found this book-themed Valentine’s Day tag thanks to Tanya @ Read Run Study!

Favorite couple ever? You want to have their relationship.

the miseducation of cameron postWell, I already answered a slightly different version of this question above. So I’ll just expand upon that, I guess? I want Ash and Kaisa’s relationship because it’s… it’s very peaceful. They’re very content just to sit next to one another in the sunshine, letting a companionable silence develop. I like that. I like kind, quiet people; I don’t need a lot of excitement in my life. #relationshipgoals

Relationship that never happened? You wanted them to get together, but they never did.

Can I pick two? Like, from the same book? Because that totally counts as just one, right? I really, really wanted Cam (from The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth) to end up with either Lindsey or Coley. I was so crushed when neither relationship worked out. Sniffle.

Your bookish crush?

After Tanith, my current bookish crush is Johanna Mason from the Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins. I think if I have a “type” at all it is likely to be “ladies who could totally kick my butt.” Huh.

Favorite “feel good” romance?

Carl-and-Ellie-UpBut… but… I don’t read very many happy love stories! Almost all my favorites end tragically! I did like the romance between Carl and Ellie in Up, though. I mean… it ended tragically, actually, but for a while it was very happy and sweet and adorable.

Favorite genre to add romance to?

Adventure, as long as it’s well-written. If it’s added for no other reason than to heighten the drama and suspense, then forget about it. Otherwise, though, it’s kind of fun to read about a butt-kicking, adventure-having pair of friends who slowly fall in love.

-~-

I’m tagging:

And as always, feel free to participate whether or not you were tagged. Or ignore this tag if you so choose!

Tell me about your favorite love stories and fictional couples! Are they from books, movies, or TV? What makes you fangirl over them and go “OMG THEY ARE SO CUTE”?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Be My (Bookish) Valentine!

  1. moosha23 says:

    Thanks for tagging me Engie! I’ve got to agree – romance + adventure is the best…all that adrenaline seems to hype thing up! (Up was one of the best animated movies I’ve watched in a long time…even though both the Despicables, the Cloudy with Meatballs, and The Monster in Paris are close cuts). Gosh Engie you’re always advocating Ash…I’m going to have to get my hands on it some time soon! 😀

    • nevillegirl says:

      You’re welcome! And that’s a very good way of explaining it, with the adrenaline and all that. I wish I’d thought of that for this post. 😛
      (God, I love animated movies! Never seen The Monster in Paris, though – what’s it about?)

      I AM always advocating Ash. (And alliteration, too, apparently. *groans* I’m sorry, I can’t seem to stop, either. xD) IT’S SO FREAKING GOOD. AND ADORABLE. AND WELL-WRITTEN.

      • moosha23 says:

        hahaha!
        Monster in Paris is about this science experiment gone wrong which turns a flea into the size of a 7ft man. The flea apparently wrecks havoc in Paris which the evil Mayor hates, but really the flea just loves playing music and performing. It’s a funny story and it was originally French so lemme just say that French cinema is freakin awesome. You should watch it (or at least listen to the film soundtrack it’s freaking cool)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Pffft, that sounds absolutely ridiculous. 😀

  2. Precious @ Clockwork Desires says:

    Man-eating horses? I should probably check that book out. And yes, that IS something Gollum would say XD

  3. Pingback: Be My Valentine: Because Books Are My Valentines? | allthingswordy

  4. Pingback: Be My Valentine: Because Books Are My Valentines? – The Controversy

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

