Thoughts About The 2014 Academy Awards For Best Original Score

Are you watching the Oscars tonight?

I’m… I’m not, actually, because I am a weird minion who doesn’t really care to watch television unless it’s about something fictional. BUT! But. I am really excited to read about who/what won some of the awards, later.

Oh, who am I kidding? I’M ONLY INTERESTED IN WHAT WINS BEST ORIGINAL SCORE. You know me, I love film scores. I adore them. I’m always amazed by how much emotion and awesomeness they bring to movies, and I listen to them all the time even when I’m not watching any movies – while writing, reading, doing schoolwork. Basically, YAY FOR FILM SCORES.

2014’s nominations are as follows:

  • The Grand Budapest Hotel – Alexandre Desplat
  • The Imitation Game – Alexandre Desplat
  • Interstellar – Hans Zimmer
  • Mr. Turner – Gary Yershon
  • The Theory of Everything – Johann Johannsson

So who/what do I want to win? Well, that’s a bit complicated.

First of all, I’d just like to say that I REALLY REALLY REALLY think John Paesano’s score for The Maze Runner deserves to be on this list as well, but… it’s not a highbrow film, so of course the Academy isn’t going to even consider it. Whatever. It’s still an awesome piece of music, and you find find the score in its entirety right here.

All right. Now that that’s out of the way, there’s something else I need to tell you: I have only seen, um, ONE of the movies that was nominated for Best Original Score. I’ve listened to the scores of three of them, but only saw one in theaters (or at all, for that matter). I didn’t get to see Interstellar and The Theory of Everything because they were no longer showing at my local theater by the time I got really really interested.

My theater didn’t show The Grand Budapest Hotel and Mr. Turner at ALL, though. No one I know either online or in real life has seen them either, at least not to my knowledge. Actually, I’d never even HEARD about Mr. Turner until about five minutes ago, which puzzles me. I mean, for all I know, maybe I’m just a very ignorant little Engie and EVERYONE is talking about and seeing The Grand Budapest Hotel and Mr. Turner, but not in my corner of the world. Rrrrgh.

ANYWAY! Sorry for going off on that tangent. Where was I? Oh yes, all the other movies that aren’t either The Grand Budapest Hotel or Mr. Turner.

Well, The Theory of Everything looks great, but… I don’t know. Its score is lovely, but lacks that “wow” factor. Lacks that factor in my opinion, anyway. I mean, its composer has a great name – Johann Johannsson! – and I want to be all like, “Johann, dude, you rock,” but… but I keep getting distracted from this score by the other two I haven’t mentioned yet, and I think that says a lot. It says that I’d rather be listening to them!

I REALLY want to watch Interstellar. Its premise – astronauts, wormholes, space travel, et cetera – sounds great, and its film score is NOTHING SHORT OF ABSOLUTELY FREAKING GORGEOUS. AAAAAAAH. BEAUTY. PERFECTION. I CAN’T EVEN.

As it says in my list above, Interstellar‘s score was composed by Hans Zimmer. I discovered his music thanks to the Batman movies, and have since explored his other works, but I keep coming back to those Batman scores. Over and over again. They’re gorgeous! And so is Interstellar‘s score. Interstellar is much more mellow, though.

This is my favorite track, “Stay.” It’s beautiful and achingly sad and a little intimidating towards the end, and I love the whooshiness in the beginning. (You’ll just have to listen to it to know what I’m talking about.)

You can find Interstellar‘s complete score here.

The Imitation Game, with a score composed by Alexandre Desplat, is also wonderful and the only film of this bunch that I’ve actually seen. I don’t know if Interstellar and The Theory of Everything were good, but I can tell you that The Imitation Game was GREAT. Which made me happy, because I’d been looking forward to it for months.

I love Alexandre Desplat’s work. I may have freaked out a bit when I found out he was going to write the score for this film. (And for Unbroken, another film I saw recently – the movie was rather meh, but the music was nice. So there’s that.)

My favorite Desplat scores were written for The King’s Speech and the final two Harry Potter films. I suspected that The Imitation Game‘s score would probably be more like the former rather than the latter because they’re both biopics. Yeah, I know – not the best reasoning, but I was right! DJGHDKFGHDKFGHSKGD.

The best way I can describe The Imitation Game‘s score is “sad, but pretty.” Basically, it’ll make you cry, but you’ll like it all the same. And because I actually saw THIS film, I can say that the music is used to great effect within the movie. Bravo, Mr. Desplat.

My favorite tracks from this score are the main theme and the end credits theme, “Alan Turing’s Legacy.” Here’s the latter piece.

You can listen to the full score of The Imitation Game here.

So, which score do I want to win? In an ideal world, both. But because that’s not an option… I really don’t care, as long as either Interstellar or The Imitation Game win. I LOVE Zimmer and Desplat, and even if one of them lost and the other one, at least they were both nominated for being awesome their wonderful, wonderful music.

Who/what would you like to win in the category of Best Original Score? Be sure to tell me about your other Oscar predictions, too, if you have any!

P.S. Hey, I just realized that I never wrote anything about The Imitation Game even though I saw it almost a month ago. Oops. I owe you a post, I guess. Keep your eyes peeled for a fangirlish post!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Neville Sings The Blues, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts About The 2014 Academy Awards For Best Original Score

  1. Erin says:

    I LOVED the soundtrack for The Imitation Game, but was really happy that Grand Budapest Hotel won! I saw the movie, and, while a bit on the weird side, was fun, quirky, and the soundtrack was so unique! Oh, and Alexandre Desplat also did the score! He is so amazing.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, I want to watch The Grand Budapest Hotel too. 🙂 And I’m so happy that Desplat was nominated for TWO scores and won one! No one’s ever been nominated for two in the same year before, so that was pretty awesome. 🙂
      Thanks for reading and commenting!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

