My All-Time Favorite Books From The Past Three Years

What is this? A Top Ten Tuesday post that’s actually being published on a Tuesday?! This is so unlike me. Wow.

All kidding aside, though, I’m actually really really glad that I double-checked this week’s Top Ten Tuesday prompt at The Broke and the Bookish, because I thought it was about our favorite books of all time… and that list would be nearly impossible for me to write.

But instead, the prompt is “top ten all-time favorite books from the past three years.” Oh. I can do that. I can so do that. I’ve decided to list the following ten books in the order in which I read them – so they’re sorted according to year, but also according to when I read them during each particular year. Thank god for Goodreads, that’s all I can say. It’s excellent for keeping a record of this sort of thing.

Enjoy!

2012

1. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

beauty queensI picked this one up for its cover alone, and its insides are just as awesome! Beauty Queens is hilarious and satirical and feminist and queer and basically just… everything I look for in a book. Thanks, Libba Bray.

2. The Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien

This is one of the most beautifully written books I have ever had the pleasure of reading, and my only regret is that I waited so long to read this trilogy. Tolkien was truly a master of worldbuilding. I don’t think I’ll ever forget the wonderful (and wonderfully flawed) characters he created.

2013

3. The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforththe miseducation of cameron post

This is one of the most beautifully written books ever, too. It has gorgeous descriptions and characters who feel so real I half expected them to walk right off the page. This book made me cry more than ANY other book that’s not about death – normally I just cry when my favorite characters die, right? This book doesn’t really have that. It’s about growing up queer and homophobia in the name of “love” and trying to ignore who you really are and IT IS FANTASTIC AND I CANNOT RECOMMEND IT HIGHLY ENOUGH GO READ IT WHAT ARE YOU EVEN WAITING FOR.

4. The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

Maggie. Dude. Why? How? I don’t even understand. How can you write this well? How do you even get all your ideas? This is one of the best, most unusual fantasy series I’ve ever read. This isn’t just a story, this is LITERATURE.

2014

5. Ash by Malinda Lo

Oh my god oh my god oh my god, queer girls plus Cinderella? OH GOD YES PLEASE AND THANK YOU THIS IS EVERYTHING I’VE EVER WANTED. Gah. This was sooooo cute and so inventive and so well done. And now I’m jealous that I didn’t write it, because wow.

400px-Gatsby_1925_jacket6. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

So I know some of you aren’t really into classic books, but trust me – you have to try this. It’s an incredibly quick read, and completely immerses you in the jazzy, extravagant world on 1920s New York City. It’s fantastic, old sport.

7. Cress by Marissa Meyer

I don’t understand where Marissa gets her ideas from, either. Like… cyborgs and fairy tales? Marvelous combination, but I never would’ve thought of it. So I’m glad that she did.

8. The Maze Runner by James Dashner

After The Hunger Games, this is my FAVORITE dystopian/post-apocalyptic story EVER. It’s like reading a nightmare, basically. Thomas’s world is just that terrifying.

9. Mortal Coil by Derek Landythe maze runner

I love all the books from this series, but this one is my current favorite because I just reread it and DAMN THAT ENDING. That was the most beautifully-written-yet-heartbreaking ending I’ve found in a while. (The very last sentence? Whoa.) Keep up the good work, Landy.

10. V for Vendetta by Alan Moore and David Lloyd

Why did I wait so long to read this book? It’s great – possibly the greatest graphic novel I’ve ever read, which is saying something. (Because I read a lot of them. Like eighty or ninety last year?) This is a great classic science fiction story!

-~-

So, basically the pattern I’m noticing is that most of my new favorite books were read during 2014. I didn’t list anything from this year because I’ve only read seven books so far (yes, I’m slow now) and, well, that’s that. But I’m not surprised that most of my favorites are from last year. I read over two hundred books in 2014! Meanwhile, I hardly read anything at all in 2013, and 2012 was just far enough back in time that I don’t really remember much of what I read. Hmmm.

What are your favorite books from the last three years? I’d love to know!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My All-Time Favorite Books From The Past Three Years

  1. I MAY just have to break my book-buying ban to buy Cameron Post and Ash. Because I can’t find them at any libraries 😦 😦 THEY SOUND AMAZING.

  2. Cait says:

    I JUST KNEW 100% THAT ASH WOULD BE ON HERE. XD heh. Ooh, but yes yes to The Maze Runner trilogy. I love that book ginormously. I COULD HUGE IT.

  3. I don’t know about the last 3 years, but my favourite book of THIS year is currently standing as “Unspeakable” by Abbie Rushton – if you’ve not read it, do so! I can’t put into words how much I loved it, but you know how there are some books that when you’ve finished reading them, it’s awful because you don’t get to experience it for the first time ever again? Yeah, this is one of them. I’ll be doing a review of that the minute I get my thoughts into order, but for now all I can do is urge you very strongly to look at it!

    And basically all the Skulduggery Pleasant books should be on any top 10 list; they’re just so good! I was a little iffy with the last book, but I think I need to re-read that in order to enjoy it a bit more.. “Armageddon Outta Here” is definitely a top 10 -worthy book though; it’s the collection of short stories from the SP world and some (most) of them are just FANTASTIC.

    • nevillegirl says:

      It’s on my TBR list, actually! It looks amazing… I’ll have to see if my library has it! Thanks so much for the rec! 😀
      (Also, everything you just described about how you felt upon finishing Unspeakable is how I felt after finishing The Miseducation of Cameron Post. I can never read a book for the very first time ever ever again but sometimes I really really want to!)

      Skulduggery Pleasant is the bomb. ❤ And oh my GOSH, I LOVED Armageddon Outta Here! I especially loved the Tanith-at-Halloween story (don't remember the title) and "Across a Dark Plain."
      (Have you read The Maleficent Seven? Holy crap. It's always counted as "only" a novella, but it's one of my favorites from the entire series. Wow.)

      • Oh, excellent! It’s so worth the read – there were moments where her descriptions just had me in tears! The Miseducation of Cameron Post is definitely another such book; I really want to read it again but I got side-tracked by Annie on My Mind again xD

        I love Skulduggery Pleasant – I’ve been reading them for 5 years, and then BAM they went and ended last year 😦 They were all such great stories; I was reading it at work and just sitting there giggling away to myself. YES! I read The Maleficent Seven a while ago, but I can’t remember too much about it – I really enjoyed it though!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ooh, good – that sounds exactly like my kind of book.
      I still need to read Annie on my Mind… 🙂

      *flails* SKULDUGGERY PLEASANT FTW FOREVER AND EVER AND EVER AND EVER

      • I’d certainly say it’s worth a read, anyway 😀 Ooh, I thought you’d read Annie; I must just be imagining things now! That’s a very good book, but like the Miseducation Cameron Post there are parts that will just make you so angry over how they’re treated! I’ve read it two or three times now, and every time I’ll sit there with a really grumpy expression, thinking “that’s so unfair!” – it’s a very enjoyable book. And I love the cover too!

        I’m so glad I stole the first book off my brother all those years ago… :’) They’re certainly some of the funniest and best books I’ve read, although I’m still convinced I really wasn’t that keen on the last book!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, no, I haven’t, actually! I REALLY want to, though. SO MANY BOOKS TO READ AND I DON’T EVEN KNOW WHERE TO START.
      Haha, yeahhhhhh, that really sums up Cam Post, doesn’t it? I spent so much of that book sad/mad because of what happened to her.

      Indeed.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

