Senior Year Saturday: Academic Bowl – “The Grandeur That Was Rome”

senior year saturdayWelcome to Senior Year Saturday, my newest regular feature! Essentially, I talk about any and all things related to my final year of high school, from homework and extracurriculars to updates on college planning and thoughts on graduation. And more! (Such as that dreaded feeling known as “senioritis.”) Enjoy!

Well, I lied. I said I wasn’t going to post about Thursday night’s academic bowl, but I changed my mind. I wasn’t very enthusiastic about it in my last post, I know, but I am now. BECAUSE WE DID AN AMAZING THING ON THURSDAY, PEOPLES. AND I AM REALLY FREAKING PROUD OF US…

P.S. Previous Senior Year Saturday posts may be found here.

So as I mentioned in my most recent post, two nights ago I participated in an academic bowl as part of a team of fourteen homeschoolers. We competed against seven other local high schools.

This year’s theme was “The Grandeur That Was Rome.” (Following up 2013’s theme, “The Glory That Was Greece,” I suppose?) We’d been studying since October and it all culminated on Thursday night with six rounds of questions about the following subjects:

  • English
  • Math
  • Science
  • Social Studies
  • Fine Arts
  • Interdisciplinary (combines all of the above)

Each round has twenty-five questions, which become increasingly harder as one progresses through the question set. Oh, and they’re timed.

It’s lots of fun, in a geeky way.

This year I was on the English, Social Studies, and Interdisciplinary teams. (I’m the captain of the English team, actually.) And, well, in my last post I wrote that I was not too thrilled about my English teammates because they’re so obnoxious.

I still stand by that statement, but I will now grudgingly admit that they really know their stuff. Working with them may be like trying to herd cats – a group of incredibly socially awkward cats – but when it comes down to the day of the competition, they definitely performed well.

Actually, all the homeschoolers did.

Like, really well.

Like, “WINNING-THE-ENTIRE-FREAKING-COMPETITION” really well.

I'm the girl seated in the middle, with the bright blue pants. Also, why do I look weird in EVERY photo? It looks like I'm wearing a trophy on my head. Great. Anyway, here we are with all our trophies - one for each subject area, plus a huge one for being the champion squad.

I’m the girl seated in the middle, with the bright blue pants. Also, why do I look weird in EVERY photo? It looks like I’m wearing a trophy on my head. Great. Anyway, here we are with all our trophies – one for each subject area, plus a huge one for being the champion squad.

…we won in every single subject. I’m still stunned by that – every so often I think, “Did that really happen? Did we really do that?!”

So, yeah. I’m really happy about that. I’m really, really, REALLY proud of us. When I wasn’t competing, I’d leave the competition room to eat dinner, or use the computer, or whatever, and then when I came back one of the other homeschooled students would be like, “Oh, hey, we just won that round, too.” Really? Wow.

Apparently no other school group has won in all the subjects in the history of that competition? Wow. We thought we’d tied or placed second in Social Studies, actually, and were utterly surprised to learn that we’d won by just a hair.

Yay for homeschoolers! Yay for a night that will doubtless go down as one of the best of my high school years, or even as one of the best from ALL my years of homeschooling!

God. Wow. I don’t even know what to say, other than that I’m really really happy and also laughing because our official team name is the “Home Scholars” and… wow, that makes us sound so, well, scholarly. So studious. Dude, I studied for the academic bowl by lying in my bed, wearing my pajamas, reading The Aeneid and listening to music on my iPod.

But hey. I guess those study methods worked.

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH THERE STILL AREN’T EVEN WORDS TO EXPRESS MY HAPPINESS AND SURPRISE AND PRIDE AND GEEKY FEELINGS OF JOY.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Senior Year Saturday: Academic Bowl – “The Grandeur That Was Rome”

  1. Cait says:

    OMG OMG CONGRATULATIONS!! EVEN THOUGH YOU HAVE A TROPHY ON YOUR HEAD. BUT YAAAAAY FOR HOMESCHOOLERS AND YOUR FANTASTICNESS.

  2. Mo says:

    Yay! This is amazing! Good for you!

  3. Miriam Joy says:

    I revised the Aeneid in a bubble bath when I did my Classics A-Level. (I revised quite a few things in the bath.) It lends itself to that kind of location.

  4. Danny says:

    I’m happy for you (u freakin nerd) ❤

  5. orphu44 says:

    Congratulations!

  6. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Winter 2015 – Reading Slumps, “Agent Carter,” And An Assortment Of Beautiful Songs | Musings From Neville's Navel

  7. Pingback: Senior Year Saturday: Year’s End & A Wrap-Up | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

