Top Ten Books For People Who Like Books

Matilda[1]Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s prompt is “top ten books for people who like ______.” That’s right, the prompt is pretty open-ended and we can fill in that blank with whatever we please!

I spent quite a while wondering what I should write about. I mean, I can pick anything?! There were sooooo many cool possibilities but eventually I settled on… books for people who like books!

TWICE AS MUCH FANGIRLING ABOUT BOOKS? BRING IT ON.

Enjoy!

1. Matilda by Roald Dahl

This is, in my opinion, the greatest book about books. The ultimate love letter to stories and their power to transport the reader to strange worlds and faraway places. I fell head over heels in love with Matilda’s story when I was five years old and I see myself in her even today. THANK YOU, ROALD DAHL.the neverending story

2. The Inkheart series by Cornelia Funke

Haven’t we all imagined reading our favorite characters out of their stories, at some point in our lives? Well, Maggie’s father, Mo, inadvertently does just that – not just with their favorites but with the bad guys too. Wonderful stuff. Oh, and each chapter is prefaced with a quote from another book!

3. The Neverending Story by Michael Ende

 I read this book because it was quoted in Inkheart! I have to say that I can certainly see where Cornelia Funke may have gotten her ideas from because Bastian, the protagonist of this novel, reads himself into a story. This is one of my favorite children’s fantasy stories ever!

0-545-16044-84. Malice and Havoc by Chris Wooding

I guess I like books about characters who accidentally end up in stories? Because that’s what happens here. This duology is TOTALLY STUNNING and reminds me of urban legends: The main characters perform a seemingly harmless ritual that ends up transporting them to the terrifying world of a popular comic book! They’re told through both prose and pictures and sdjghdfkghdkgjhfsfg I loved them so much. If you liked the format of The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick, you’ll probably like these books.

5. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart

This is a story about three books – a decades-old journal, P.G. Wodehouse’s Code of the Woosters, and books Frankie is required to read for her high school social sciences class. They end up making quite the impression on her, and she becomes something of a criminal mastermind at her prestigious private school. ABSOLUTELY FREAKING BRILLIANT.

6. The Ultimate Teen Book Guide edited by Daniel Hahn, Susan Reuben, and Leonie Flynn

This is literally just a GINORMOUS list of over 750 books for teens, with reviews written by teens, teachers, writers, and publishers. I love that the guide doesn’t limit itself to only YA, either – loads of middle-grade and adult books are recommended here.1050599[1]

But my favorite part? Is how this book has literally NEVER let me down when it comes to reading suggestions: American Born Chinese, Kirsten Miller’s books, Maus, Persepolis, the Alex Rider series, E. Lockhart’s books, the Jess Jordan books, The Plain Janes, the Confessions of Georgia Nicolson series, V for Vendetta. I FOUND SOOOO MANY OF MY FAVORITEST BOOKS THANKS TO THE UTBG.

I refer back to it frequently, and should probably just go ahead and buy my own copy instead of constantly borrowing it from the library and running up huge overdue fines. The only change I’d make to this book is to update it; The Ultimate Teen Book Guide was published in 2008 and therefore doesn’t include some of today’s favorites and blockbusters.

7. The School Story by Andrew Clements

Natalie has written a story. Her best friend, Zoe, is pestering her to publish it. The only hangup? Natalie is twelve. I read this wonderful story when I was around seven years old and it immediately gave me “writer fantasies,” as Mr. Pleasant the skeleton detective would put it. Yay!

8. Misery by Stephen King

Stories within stories? Yes, please! Stories that are written and revised in small snippets as the larger story progresses? EVEN BETTER. I didn’t think I would like this book because it’s horror and that is so not my thing, but… if you can get past the gore, it’s a really fascinating portrait of writers, their relationships with fans, and the struggles of their craft.

Stephen_King_Misery_cover[1]9. The Professor and the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity, and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary by Simon Winchester

This is a true story! If you like weird slices of history and nonfiction that’s written like a story, this is the book for you. Believe it or not, the world-famous Oxford English Dictionary was written by a respectable professor and an… insane murderer. A fascinating tale.

10. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

If you have not yet read this classic work of dystopian fiction – what are you waiting for?! It’s about book burning, peoples. The title comes from the temperature at which book-paper ignites…

-~-

Are there any books-about-books that you want to recommend to me? I’d love to know!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Top Ten Books For People Who Like Books

  1. This is a brilliant choice. At first I thought it was just REALLY BROAD, like books for people who read, lol. But I really love Inkheart and Matilda (why isn’t The Book Thief on here???? :P)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you so much! 🙂 Ehehe, yeah, I suppose that title IS very broad… oopsie. 😛

      …because I just couldn’t get into the story and so I didn’t finish that book. xD But I’ll come back to it someday, I suppose.

  2. Cait says:

    I seriously need to read Fahrenheit 451 aaaaand The Never Ending Story. I actually borrowed that one out (because you raved about it at some point. xD) and then ended up having to send it back unread because tiiiiiime. Gah. Loved Havoc though. xD AND YES YES YES TO MATILDA AND INKHEART.

  3. This is a wonderful list! Matilda used to be my favorite book of all time. The School Story gave everyone writer fantasies I bet. 😛

  4. moosha23 says:

    I want the Ultimate Teen Book Guide! (I’m glad it spreads over all genres and that all the books were freakin’ amazing!)!

  5. Miriam Joy says:

    “Among Others” by Jo Walton is a good one. The main character reads continuously and uses those books to relate to the world around her. Jasper Fforde’s “Thursday Next” books are also good for book lovers.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks for the recommendations! Thursday Next was already on my TBR, but I hadn’t heard of Among Others before.

      (Oh, hush. I’m catching up on my comments, and noticed that I’d never responded to this one… ugh.)

      • Miriam Joy says:

        It’s a very odd book — a weird mix of the real world in the 70s, and also fantasy, and some of that isn’t entirely explained. Heh. I think I reviewed it on my book blog a while back. All of Jo Walton’s books are weird though (well, the two I’ve read were…).

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

