The Idles Of March

Yeah, yeah – I know it’s actually the Ides of March. But “idle” actually relates to the rest of this post, and I couldn’t resist making a joke about the date anyway. I tried to convince my parents to make Caesar salad for dinner so I could stab it with a fork* but noooooo, apparently we had to have something else. Teehee.

(*I realize that it seems as though I am insinuating that Julius Caesar was stabbed with a fork on March fifteenth. This is not, in fact, what I meant to say. For one thing, I don’t think forks were even commonplace back then. But, like… who eats their salad with a knife? Also, I’ve already gone way off topic and it’s far too early in my post to be doing that. I apologize.)

March is a weird month, isn’t it? It’s an in-between month. It’s not quite wintery enough to be winter, yet not quite springy enough to be spring. I love how the weather is finally beginning to warm up, so that I don’t need to wear a coat all the time. The increased hours of daylight are nice, too.

But it’s still not properly spring and I wonder if that’s been affecting my mood. I’ve been so sluggish lately! I’ve felt so groggy and unmotivated lately, and spent quite a lot of the past week sleeping. (It was spring break, though, so why not?) I’ve just felt… idle, lately.

In general, winter is a “blah” time for me. I’m always so excited at the beginning of that season but by the end I’m always like WILL YOU JUST LEAVE ALREADY?! And that’s not very pleasant.

And now it’s the end of winter, and I’m just tired of it, and as winter segues into spring, I need to get out of this mood and start doing more stuff.

I need to read more. I haven’t read anything since mid-January, believe it or not. (Other than what’s required for school, obviously.) I just haven’t been in the mood for books lately, and besides… once I get into a reading slump, it’s difficult for me to crawl back out of it.

But like I said, I’m trying to do something about this idleness, so the other day I went to the library and got a stack of books. Mostly comic books, because they’re short and easy to read and I’m hoping they’ll help me transition back into reading more regularly once again. Also, comic books heroes (and heroines!) are just plain awesome.

I need to get back into writing, as well. I set aside most of the short stories and whatnot that I’d been messing with this fall/early winter, but I need to keep going. I don’t know whether I’ll back to those stories right away, or take a break to write something new. I’m kind of thinking about outlining one of my ideas for a graphic novel, and maybe doing some basic storyboarding for it? Complete with stick figure people because that’s pretty much all I can draw?

Exercise, too. I need to get back into that. Haven’t been to the YMCA in forever.

And photography. I need to finish the A B See Photo Challenge – only one letter left, hurrah! – and then finally buy a new camera. I found a list that I’m going to use for another photography challenge, but I want to use my new camera for that, because I want the image quality to be consistent and my new camera is, presumably, of higher quality than my current model.

I need to get back into the swing of things and stop being so idle. I let a lot of favorite activities fall by the wayside these past few months, and I need to make progress.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Idles Of March

  1. riachl says:

    Haha. Love the salad and fork joke. (:

  2. Cait says:

    Holidays and breaks ARE for sleeping. It’s like a requirement of enjoyment. xD ANd I hear ya with the reading slumps. I’m like THIS CLOSE to burning myself out. Blah. I read like 8 books last week and I’m tiiiiired. But I’m trying to keep going really really fast because I want to have an invisible TBR by April so I can do Camp NaNo. XD
    OOH, NEW CAMERA?! I keep hinting at my older sister to give me hers while she upgrades. But I suppose I also need to learn how to edit photos properly. All these things to do. xD

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, maybe so… 😛
      *patpat* Reading slumps suck.
      I doubt I’ll participate in Camp NaNo this year, I’ll be too busy…
      YES YES A NEW CAMERA HOPEFULLY SOON ❤

  3. Mo says:

    …You nerd. xD

    You should read Fairest as soon as you can. A friend lent me her copy and there’s a Thing in the preview for Winter that made me think of you.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I am the nerdiest of nerds. *nodnod* 😛

      Yeah, I should. I forgot to get on the library’s wait list early enough, so now I have to wait a realllllllllllllllllllllllly looooooong time.
      (Ooh, what was it? Was it GAY? Because I swear Sybil Mira had a Thing for Queen Levana. I certainly hope so.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      …well then just TELL ME already, even if it IS only subtext. 😀

  4. moosha23 says:

    Ah March, March, March! It’s springtime! YAY!
    Sometimes I feel really jealous of my “idle” times, perhaps because they let me reflect on everything I need to do while also letting me relax and enjoy myself. (tbh this month has not been very idle for me…but I’m getting there!)

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

