The Springtime Beauty Book Tag

It’s the first official day of spring, and to celebrate I’m borrowing this bookish tag from Tanya @ Read Run Study! Even if it doesn’t feel very much like spring yet, I’m excited – winter always makes me feel groggy and bored and “meh.” So I’m looking forward to warmer weather, more sunshine, bright flowers, et cetera.

Ella_enchanted_(book_cover)[1]Enjoy!

Spring sun – the days are getting longer and the sun is starting to shine
Name a book that fills you with hope

Gail Carson Levine’s Ella Enchanted, probably? Because it’s an old favorite, so it comforts me. It’s funny and sweet, as well, which helps. I can’t reread that book without having a huge smile slowly spread across my face!

Crocuses & tulips – spring flowers are starting to sprout everywhere
Name an author or series you just discovered that you want to start or read more from

Ooh! That would have to be Batwoman: Elegy by Greg Rucka, which I recently borrowed from the library. I still have yet to read it, but I’m excited to. I heard about it in an online article about LGBTQ+ superheroes and BASICALLY LESBIAN SUPERHEROINES KICKING BUTT AND WEARING CAPES AND MAKING OUT WITH THEIR GIRLFRIENDS IS MY AESTHETIC.

A cool breeze – the days are getting warmer but are still nice and cooldark days
Name a character who was like a breath of fresh air

Valkyrie Cain! She’s from the Skulduggery Pleasant series by Derek Landy and she’s amazing, truly amazing. Because she’s not perfect – she’s realistic. Too many heroines (especially in YA) are perfect LITERALLY ALL THE TIME, and as a result they don’t seem realistically human.

But Val? Sometimes she’s nice. Sometimes she’s selfish. She’ll hug someone and make them laugh, then act petty later on. She loves her family, but she’s definitely not the perfect daughter. She likes dresses AND getting her hands dirty. Sometimes she’s incredibly kind. Sometimes she screws up really, really badly.

She acts human.

Blossoming trees – all the trees are bursting with spring color
Some book covers that remind you of spring

adaptationMalinda Lo’s dystopian YA novel Adaptation reminds me of spring because its cover is green! In general, most green covers remind me of spring. What can I say? I’m predictable like that.

T-shirts & shorts – with warmer weather comes cooler clothing
What is your favorite short book?

I quite liked Kieron Gillen’s Young Avengers trilogy of comics. Yay for smart-mouthed teenage superheroes! Yay for gloriously colorful illustrations and butt-kicking and SO MANY CANONICALLY QUEER SUPERHEROES OMG.

(LGBTQ+ superheroes are one of my fangirl passions, in case you hadn’t already noticed. #bisexualsteverogers2k15)

Spring is the time for new beginnings
What series are you hoping to start this year?

I’d really like to start reading Kristin Cashore’s books! Orphu @ A Mirror Made of Words recommended her YA fantasy Graceling Realm trilogy – Graceling, Fire, and Bitterblue – to me, and Orphu’s recommendations have never let me down! (She’s the reason I read Derek Landy’s and Malinda Lo’s books. THANK YOU, YOU WONDERFUL AND LITERALLY PERFECT PERSON, YOU.)

DSCN2888Springtime beauty
What are some of your favorite spring flowers?

I love pretty much all flowers, to be honest, although that doesn’t necessarily mean that I know many of their names. (My mom does, though. But as for myself? I’m clueless.) One flower whose name I do know, though, is the poppy. THEY’RE SO PRETTY AND BRIGHT. I took the picture above as part of a photography project and I’m really proud of it, if I do say so myself!

-~-

I’m tagging:

And as always, feel free to participate whether or not I tagged you. Or ignore this tag, if you so choose.

-~-

Now it’s YOUR turn! Which books remind you of spring? What do you love most about this season? And what books are you reading / want to read this spring?! I’d love to know!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Springtime Beauty Book Tag

  1. Oh, I LOVE Ella Enchanted! 🙂 Such a favourite of mine. I loved the movie too. Also – *runs to the library to find some Derek Landy and Malinda Lo*

    Thanks for tagging me! I just scheduled a post for…Tuesday, I think, that I tagged you in 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      *squee* SKJGFKDSHKHGD THAT BOOK.
      Ehehe, the movie was not my cup of tea, but I’m glad you enjoyed it, anyway! 😛

      You’re welcome! Ooh, I can’t wait to read that post! 🙂

  2. Cait says:

    DUDE YOU MAKE ME CRY. IT’S GOING TO BE WINTER HERE AND I DON’T WANT IT. *throws tantrum* I can’t even think of anything I like about winter. It used to be hot chocolate, but I’m somewhat allergic to milk and can’t have a proper hot chocolate anymore so just let me diiiiiie in my tears.
    Okay, yes, I’m finished with the drama. *ahem*
    I LOVE EVERYTHING YOU SAID ABOUT VAL. I promised myself I’d read Skulduggery 5 this month and it’s like only a few days left. Meh. I think maybe I’ll start it this afternoon. XD Also that photo of that yellow flower is GORGEOUS.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I AM SORRY THAT IT WILL BE WINTER FOR YOU. And that sucks! I LOVE hot chocolate. (But you could make hot chocolate with your tears, I guess? xD *is not being helpful at all*)
      Val is my favoritest. ❤
      WHY THANK YOU. 🙂

  3. Miriam Joy says:

    I read Graceling recently as Tori gave it to me for Christmas. My opinions were mixed (see my Goodreads review of it). While I liked it, I definitely became less interested in the protagonist as the book went on.

    I don’t know as I have many books that remind me of Spring. It didn’t really occur to me to attach seasons to books. Now that I think about it I can think of a view summer and autumn books but Spring is a hard one.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Aw, that’s too bad. I’ll definitely go check out your review after I’ve read the book, though. 🙂

      I know, right? Even based on colors alone, most books with green or yellow covers remind me of summer. *shrugs*

      • Miriam Joy says:

        I rarely think about colours of books, I’m not sure why. Lament by Maggie Stiefvater is very much a summer book though, in my mind. (it’s set in summer) Ballad is an autumnal book.

    • nevillegirl says:

      See, I’d see it as a spring book because of the clover on the cover, but I didn’t count it here because I haven’t read it yet. 🙂

  4. moosha23 says:

    Ah, Spring! I was dreaming about spring and cool breezes, leafy trees and ice cream just yesterday! I love it when the weather takes a turn – but it’s got its rainy days too. I love how spring cannot make its mind up (summer is way too hot, spring is the one for me). Breath of fresh air (well, as fresh as it’s going to get). AND ALL THE SPRING-Y BOOKS. I love them too! 😀 😀

  5. Mo says:

    Today I took a walk outside! Without a coat! Spring is nigh. (Although the end is Nye.)

    Hmm, spring-y books. (But not springy books. Because that would be weird.) Tamora Pierce’s Trickster’s Choice and Trickster’s Queen make me think of spring because I listened to the audiobooks repeatedly on one Easter Break, although the books themselves are more summery.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!
      Is that from… book eight, I believe? 🙂

      Yeah, I’m more likely to associate books with various seasons/holidays because I read them at certain times of the year. Like Ash I just automatically associate with Valentine’s Day because that’s when I read it! 🙂

  6. Heather says:

    Ella Enchanted is the only one I recognize, alas. But, they all sound springy in one way or another! I can’t think of any books that remind me of spring… When I think of books I think of caves, which is an interesting thing in and of itself…

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

