82 Reasons I Enjoyed “Cinderella”

Cinderella-2015-dress-1426083242This past Saturday, I went to the movies and watched Cinderella, Disney’s recent remake of the classic fairy tale. I’d been looking forward to it for months! (I think they showed its trailer before Mockingjay Part One?) I loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove fairy tales, and “Cinderella” is my fave. So I love reading/watching any and all adaptations of that story – Ella EnchantedAsh, the Lunar Chronicleset cetera!

And this new movie did not disappoint. It was so much fun! I may have been one of the few teenagers in a sea of girls five-and-under in that theater, but I didn’t even mind. Because fairy tales are the bomb, peoples. And you should totally go see Cinderella.

Still not convinced? Here’s a flaily, fangirly, and at times only semi-coherent list explaining why I loved this movie!

  1. Did I mention that I freaking love fairy tales?
  2. And that “Cinderella” is my all-time FAVORITE?!
  3. Lily James was an absolutely perfect Cinderella – affectionate, witty, kind, pretty, and sweet
  4. And sassy, too, sometimes – which I loved
  5. Did anyone else just want to hug her to infinity and beyond and tell her everything would be all right?
  6. Young!Cinderella was SO TINY AND CUTE
  7. SO MANY PRETTY DRESSES
  8. And lots of sparkles and glitter as well
  9. The pet mice were adorable
  10. The film score was LOVELY
  11. The film score was composed by Patrick Doyle (Thor, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire), so did anyone really expect it to be anything other than lovely?
  12. I really loved the music that played after Cinderella found out her father wouldn’t be returning
  13. This film was so BRIGHT and COLORFUL
  14. THE EVIL STEPSISTERS WERE SO HILARIOUS THOUGH
  15. THEY CRACKED ME UP
  16. Especially during that singing scene
  17. And during that conversation in French
  18. And while they were trying on Cinderella’s glass slipper
  19. I wouldn’t be caught dead wearing any of their dresses but they were rather disgustingly cute in a color-coordinated way
  20. I cried multiple times during this movie
  21. Fairy tales are feels-y
  22. RICHARD MADDEN (Robb Stark on Game of Thrones) PLAYED THE PRINCE
  23. He was dfsjhgdfjhgdfkjgkshgkdfg amazing
  24. He was very gallant
  25. And charming
  26. And I liked his outfits as well
  27. And he has very princely hair
  28. AND THAT PORTRAIT SCENE WAS HILARIOUS
  29. Prince Richard Madden is evidently an excellent dancer
  30. Basically I want to spend hours dancing with him now #nohetero
  31. I flailed and fangirled at the sight of all those bright, colorful dresses and women twirling around
  32. Let’s be honest, one of the reasons I went to go see this movie was because fairy tales are guaranteed to have badass and beautiful women and evidently Engie can’t control the gay
  33. I would’ve liked to be one of the extras in that scene just so I could wear a fairy-tale dress (and dance with those women)
  34. The prince and the king had a great father/son relationship
  35. Sometimes they bickered but ultimately they loved one another
  36. Speaking of love, I loved how this movie discussed the concept of love at first sight
  37. The king doesn’t want his son to marry a common girl he barely even knows, and the prince points out that he barely knows any of the princesses he’s expected to wed
  38. Cinderella and the prince had a very sweet relationship and while I can’t truthfully say that it’s my new OTP or anything, I did enjoy watching their onscreen interactions
  39. Basically they were cute and their flirtations didn’t put me to sleep or have this reaction which is how I react to, like, 97.5% of fictional straight couples
  40. Nonso Anozie (Xaro Xhoan Daxos on Game of Thrones) played the captain/adviser to the prince and basically I kept wondering if there was some secret Game of Thrones cast reunion that I didn’t know about
  41. This movie definitely could’ve been more diverse but I did appreciate that Captain Whatshisname was black
  42. Cate Blanchett was absolutely FANTASTIC as the evil stepmother
  43. Side note: Like, half the reason I went to this movie was because I have a rather large crush on Cate Blanchett
  44. The movie did not disappoint me in this regard
  45. She was so EVIL
  46. And SCHEMING
  47. And wore the most gorgeous dresses, damn
  48. Especially that yellow-and-green ensemble
  49. AND WHOA, THAT HUGE HAT
  50. I know Cinderella probably thought her new living quarters were lonely and cold, but I’d kill to have my own huge attic room far away from evil stepsisters
  51. Poor Cinderella, having to do all those chores
  52. I JUST REALLY HAVE A FONDNESS FOR RAGS-TO-RICHES STORIES OK
  53. I LIKE PRINCESSES
  54. I WANT TO BE A PRINCESS
  55. Cinderella’s dad was sooooooooooo nice
  56. And adorkable
  57. Hayley Atwell played Cinderella’s mother and OH MY GOD, I HAD NO IDEA SHE WOULD BE IN THIS MOVIE AND OH MY GOD, FILMMAKING PEOPLES, YOU CAN’T JUST PUT MY WIFE IN MOVIES WITHOUT TELLING ME because the people around me in the audience were not prepared for my SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
  58. Hayley Atwell is really pretty as a blonde (bonus)
  59. She wasn’t in the movie for very long but she was very sweet and wore some super-pretty dresses
  60. Seriously, the people in charge of wardrobe and design for this movie worked their butts off and did an amazing job
  61. THE DRESS TRANSFORMATION SCENE THOUGH
  62. IT WAS SO PRETTY AND GLITTERY
  63. I APPROVE OF SOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH TWIRLING AROUND IN A PRETTY DRESS
  64. Helena Bonham Carter was hilarious – and sarcastic – as the hairy dogmother fairy godmother
  65. She actually had a pretty amazing dress transformation of her own
  66. Cinderella’s pumpkin/coach was SO SHINY AND GOLDEN
  67. LIZARD FOOTMEN
  68. L I Z A R D  F O O T M E N
  69. “I can’t drive! I’m a goose!”
  70. Did anyone else think the horses-with-mouse-ears were hilarious or was that just me?
  71. The fleeing-the-palace-at-midnight scene was great
  72. I’m jealous of the prince’s castle
  73. ALL THOSE LADIES TRYING ON THE GLASS SLIPPER
  74. Watching this movie made me feel five years old ago, full of delight because SPARKLES and MAGIC and PRETTY DRESSES
  75. The scenery was sooooo pretty too
  76. So many gratuitous panoramic camera angles
  77. The singing in this movie was so pretty
  78. Seriously, if Lily James and Hayley Atwell did their own singing – and weren’t dubbed – then they’re, like, really really good
  79. CINDERELLA’S WEDDING DRESS THOUGH
  80. Happily-ever-after endings are wonderful
  81. Basically this movie was really, really sweet and adorable and happy and cute
  82. It made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside

I loved Cinderella. You should go see it, too. It’s a really fun movie and is basically guaranteed to make you smile – and flail over sparkly dresses, too, if you’re so inclined. I’m so glad I went to this movie – I’ll never be too old to enjoy fairy tales! Especially the glittery kind.

What did you think of the new Cinderella movie, if you’ve seen it?

P.S. Stay tuned for an extra-special fandomy post tomorrow!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 82 Reasons I Enjoyed “Cinderella”

  1. I saw it recently too [and may see it again :P] and loved it!!! All the actors were fantastic and all your reasons are like 100% on point. 🙂 THOSE DRESSES THO. It unleashed my inner princess, especially the ball scene and all those pretty gowns!!!!! O.O

  2. LIZARD FOOTMEN that’s like in Alice in Wonderland 😛 OOOOH BUT I REALLY WANT TO WATCH THIS BECAUSE I KEEP SEEING IT ADVERTISED ON BUSES AND I TOO LOVE FAIRYTALES AND I JUST ASDLJSDGLKJSLGKSLGKJDSLK.

  3. I saw the title of this post and was like YESSSSSS CINDERELLA. Lily James was indeed a perfect Cinderella! The singing scene and that French conversation were HILARIOUS I swear my mom and sister and I all died laughing in the theatre 🙂 I cried a lot too…there was so much death. Jeez. RICHARD MADDEN WAS THE PERFECT PRINCE OMG HE WAS WONDERFUL. and they actually named the prince (Kitt?) which was nice. Charming doesn’t work for everybody. 😛 YES THE PAINTER WAS HILARIOUS! Yes extras that would be so freaking awesome! Cate Blanchett does a very good job of playing unlikable people. YES I LOVED THE DRESS TRANSFORMATION LIKE BUTTERFLIES AND PRETTINESS AND SPARKLES the horses with mouse ears were hilarious and adorable. 🙂 It was so weird seeing Helena Bonham Carter go from Bellatrix to blonde fairy godmother… The only thing I’m mad about is that they didn’t put “Lavender Blue” (the one she sings when she’s locked in the attic and they’re trying on the shoe?) on the soundtrack so I’m like grrrrrr. BUT YES WARM FUZZIES THIS MOVIE THANK YOU FOR THIS POST.

  4. Nirvana says:

    YES YES YES THAT MOVIE WAS AMAZING ❤

  5. Mo says:

    I loved the pretty people–Cate Blanchett was fantastic–and I loved the costumes–the wedding dress was amazing, and I actually liked the stepsisters’ outfits because they also had a 50s vibe to them that I liked. Also, the prince’s Fiyero pants.

    However, it didn’t feel special to me. I don’t think it added that much to the Cinderella story. I like that Cinderella and the prince got to spend a little more time together, but I didn’t see that much chemistry between them overall–I also thought that the scene in the garden was a tad on the creepy side.

    I definitely enjoyed it, but I did sit there wondering why they did a remake.

    • nevillegirl says:

      SO MANY PRETTY PEOPLE AND PRETTY CLOTHES. ❤
      What are Fiyero pants? I'm pretty sure that's a Wicked reference, but IDK what those pants look like…

      What about the garden scene was creepy?

      IDK, I just really love Cinderella, so basically I am dfkgjdhfsjdhskhg about any adaptation. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Spring 2015: College, Comics, & A Collection Of Cool Songs | Musings From Neville's Navel

  7. Pingback: 2015 End-Of-Year Book Survey! | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

