New Who: The Tenth Anniversary

HAPPY TENTH ANNIVERSARY, NEW WHO!

Sixteen years after his last appearance in a serial and nine years after the mid-nineties movie, the Doctor returned in a brand-new episode on March 26, 2005. “Rose” – series one, episode one – aired ten years ago on this date.

Pretty cool, no? I can’t believe it’s been ten years already! And I haven’t even been a fan of the new incarnation of the show for its entirety – only since late 2013. But I guess I consider New Who to be, like, the baby sibling of Classic Who? The majority ofΒ Doctor Who stories and characters are from the time when the show was produced as seasons, not series. So the ten-year anniversary is a bit surprising, IMO.

Anyway, I’m so glad that I got into this show – while it’s not my FAVORITE, it is ONE of my favorites. And it’s a lot of fun! It introduced me to a bunch of great characters who became some of my favorites ever, from any book or show or movie – Martha, Donna, Wilf, the Ninth and Tenth and Twelfth Doctors.

And while we’re on the topic of characters, I think a shout-out is in order: Thanks, Christopher Eccleston and Billie Piper. Nine is my favorite Doctor and… well, honestly, Rose isn’t my favorite companion. But you know what? Regardless of your personal opinion of them, if they hadn’t done a decent job in the first series we wouldn’t be celebrating this tenth anniversary. They brought back the show, so kudos to you two.

Tardis-in-Space-tardis-6289810-1280-768Anyway… what are your favorite memories of New Who? These can be favorite episodes, geeking out with friends, et cetera. I have to say that one of my favorites has been watching all the series eight episodes with my brother – we’re not in many of the same fandoms, but this is something we both enjoy! (And even then, we rarely agree about any other aspect of the show other than that MARTHA JONES IS WONDERFUL. Yay, brother!)

I was lucky enough to see the series eight premiere, “Deep Breath,” in theaters this past August, and that was pretty memorable too. And of course, beginning to watch the show was fun! “Rose” is a totally cheesy episode but I liked it well enough to want to continue, so that’s something.

And now I’m rambling, so I’m going to wrap up this post.Β But before I sign off for the night, there’s a video I’d like to show you:

It’s a fan-made trailer for all ten years and eight series of New Who! IT IS THE GREATEST THING AND I SQUEED SO MUCH UPON WATCHING IT. It’s a really good summary/portrayal of the new incarnation of the show, even if I do think this trailer included aΒ few too many explosions. Ha. Oh, well.

TELL ME YOUR THOUGHTS ABOUT NEW WHO! Favorite companions, favorite episodes, favorite memories? How does this version compare, in your opinion, to Classic Who? I’d love to know!

P.S. I think this quote is quite appropriate for the occasion: “2005? Tell you what… I bet you’re gonna have a really great year.”

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to New Who: The Tenth Anniversary

  1. Wow! I didn’t know that it was the tenth anniversary! Yay, New Who! Nine is my favorite Doctor as well, he’s just so serious and loving and kind. I was so sad when he was gone. Rose honestly wasn’t super fantastic or anything, I think it was the emotions that came with her that made us all fall in love. πŸ™‚ My favorite companion is Captain Jack (well, for the like five episodes he’s in) because ALL THE SASS. But he’s also so lonely sometimes… I haven’t made it to Eleven yet, but am doing (somewhat) better! Who’s your fave companion?

    • nevillegirl says:

      I know, right? He was always like “I am So Serious and I wear a Tough Guy Leather Jacket,” but he’s actually rather sweet and oMG WHEN HE SMILED IT WAS THE GREATEST THING IT LIT UP HIS WHOLE FACE.

      Agreed. (About Rose.)

      Ooh, yes, Captain Jack. After you’ve finished watching New Who you should totally watch Torchwood, where Jack is the main character! πŸ™‚

      My fave companion… is either Martha or Donna. πŸ™‚

      • YES WHEN NINE SMILED IT WAS A BEAUTIFUL THING. He was so the loving dad figure that Rose needed. :’) I’ve heard so many good things about Torchwood that it’s going to be impossible not to watch it now. ;P
        I really like Martha, she’s smart, which is awesome. And she’s just cool in general.

  2. Bec Graham says:

    I can’t believe it’s been 10 years. Where has that time gone? I totally agree with you about Rose and Nine: those characters restarted it all and without them we would’ve never made it to the 50th anniversary!

    Ten will always be my favourite, with Rose as my favourite companion (closely followed by Donna). And my favourite episode? ‘Tooth and Claw’. Tennant had to “fake” a Scottish accent, which was his real accent, and then slowly let that “faked” accent slip to his “real” English accent, which was actually fake. That episode ia the main reason why Tennant is not only my favourite Doctor but among my favourite actors!

  3. moosha23 says:

    Ten years already? Bloody hell. I’ve been regularly watching Doctor Who for at least eight (Dad’s been watching New Who and Old Who for who knows how long…). Loved the ninth Doctor and “Rose”, especially the scary beautiful lady who was reduced to a piece of stretched out skin. Gah.

  4. hannwells says:

    Gonna have to say 10 is my favorite…I love tenant! I agree with you about rose…I liked Amy and Rory the best I think but I also liked Clara (though I know a lot people who don’t?) idk but either way

  5. hannwells says:

    Also captain jack is the best

  6. themagicviolinist says:

    The love I have for Doctor Who is on an indescribable level. I can’t even begin to explain how at home I felt when I watched it. The characters are what make the show, and I still feel like the Doctor and Rose are family. Ten and Rose will always be the first people I think of when I hear “Doctor Who.” I’m just amazed at how relevant it still is, after all these years, and then I’m not. The constant regenerations of the Doctor, a still familiar character but with a brand new face and personality to bring to the table, helps to keep things current. Switching out the companions periodically is also a good idea so it doesn’t get stale (although they should listen to the fans and find someone new, because Clara’s time is up). It’s definitely my comfort show. Whenever I need a pick me up, Doctor Who is always there.

    And that’s a fantastic trailer. πŸ™‚ I love great fan-made videos!

    • nevillegirl says:

      You need to watch Classic Who – soooooo many other regenerations of the Doctor! To me, Four will always be the Quintessential Doctor. He’s the first one I saw because my dad showed me old episodes.

      • themagicviolinist says:

        I really, really, really want to watch Classic Who (Tom Baker and Sarah Jane!), but Netflix is so weird with their episodes. πŸ˜› They have like 80 random ones in no obvious order or something? IDK. It’s confusing.

    • nevillegirl says:

      TBH, that’s never bothered me… most of those episodes’ plots are self-contained, so it’s not necessary to know a lot of continuity. Just pick an episode and start somewhere!

      -“Spearhead from Space” is Three’s first episode, so you don’t need any prior knowledge of his character. The Brigadier is in it, too, which is awesome. (He was mentioned in series six/eight.) Three is my favorite Doctor after Nine! ❀
      -"The City of Death" with Four and Romana (a Time Lady!) is another favorite of mine, basically they're just running around Paris and traveling back and forth in time and dfgsjhsfdg THERE'S SO MUCH SASS OMG. This episode has a bunch of ridiculous one-liners. πŸ˜›

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

