International Transgender Day Of Visibility: A List Of 9 Cool Things I Found

It’s the International Transgender Day of Visibility!

I’m not transgender, but… representation is important? Visibility is important. And hey, I’m not bisexual, either, but I wrote a post in 2014 about the Bisexual Day of Visibility too. It was mostly book recs and links to #bisexualsteverogers Tweets because I’m just awesome that way. And because I can’t speak from personal experience about bi or trans things – but I can help out by linking and directing people to things others have written about their lives and experiences.

So that’s what I’ll be doing today. Here are some of the coolest trans-related thingies I’ve found on the Internet during the past few weeks!

1. Here is a graphic with some statistics about transgender people. (The article that goes along with it is pretty neat, too.)

2. Here are some selfies people are posting on Twitter to celebrate #transdayofvisibility! SO. MANY. CUTE. PEOPLE.

3. On her blog, author Malinda Lo lists YA books by and about trans people.

*insert heart eyes emoji here*

*insert heart eyes emoji here*

4. I have some issues with the It Gets Better Project, but you know what? Laverne Cox’s video for IGB is flawless and so so so so important and did I mention yet that she’s basically my favoritest LGBTQ+ role model ever?!

5. THIS SERIES OF PHOTOS OF ELDERLY TRANSGENDER FOLKS IS THE BESTEST THING. Seriously. The average lifespan of a trans person is currently hovering in the early thirties, due to high rates of suicide and violent hate crime and… I don’t know, I was just kind of stunned when I looked at that article because I’d never seen an older transgender person before. And that’s not the way it should be. Selfies of teens and twentysomethings are nice, but there just isn’t a whole lot of representation in the media about life as a successful older trans person.

6. Here is a list from Autostraddle.com: 15 ways to support transgender people.

7. And from the same site, here’s a playlist of music by trans people – including my crush/favorite, Angel Haze! (Also, yes: I love Autostraddle. I adore it. Along with AfterEllen.com, it’s one of my fave websites written by and for queer women!)

8. I swear I was going to stop linking you to Autostraddle stuff, but I just can’t stop myself: Did you know that two-thirds of trans women are lesbians? (QUEER POWERS X 2!) Here’s an interesting article about their experiences.

9. And finally, here is an article (not from Autostraddle, for a change!) about the slow but steady progress in trans representation on TV.

Happy TDOV, and I hope everyone has a lovely evening!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to International Transgender Day Of Visibility: A List Of 9 Cool Things I Found

  1. AWESOME ARTICLE. I had like twelve thousand tabs open checking the links out! Those stats on trans people are horrifying, though. Despite having read a few memoirs, and stuff all over the internet, it’s confronting to see the hard stats. We definitely have a long way to go. And International Transgender Day of Visibility is hopefully a great start 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      WHY THANK YOU.
      I know, right? 😦 I get so frustrated when people act like marriage equality is the only/most important LGBTQ+ issue because… it’s not. Trans people are still treated HORRIBLY, and we need to do more to change that and stop throwing so much money the “gay marriage and Macklemore” side of things. :/

  2. This is so cool! I have to admit that I only clicked on the links to pictures (I used most of my brain cells for NaNo today, okay?) but they were very awesome. They are all such beautiful people. I especially liked one woman’s hair; I wish I could pull that off…lol
    Thanks for all the awesome linkies. 🙂 Happy International Transgender Day of Visibility!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

