A Quick Update: Senior Year, College, Speeches, & Comics!

It’s (almost) the end of another week, and there are a variety of small updates and thingies that I’d like to write down! So. I shall be doing that in this post.

-~-

First of all, my mom finished planning my last little bit of schoolwork, so we’ve figured out that I’ll finish my at-home assignments at around the same time my dual-credit college classes wrap up – the first week of May.

In other words, it’s almost the end of my senior year.

Wow. Where did the time go?! I can’t believe I’m already nearly done, and that I’ll be heading off to COLLEGE this fall, and… gah. I’m actually really enjoying my college classes this semester – my speech class is soooooo much more fun than I ever thought it would be, and I feel like my Spanish skills are improving by leaps and bounds.

I’m antsy to HEAD OFF TO COLLEGE, ALREADY but I also know that I just need to be patient and that day will arrive. Eventually. In the meantime, I’ll just keep doing my Part-Time College Student Thing. I do feel rather proud of all the credits I’ve accumulated since the beginning of my sophomore year – I don’t remember the exact number, but there’s a fair amount of introductory classes that I can probably skip or test out of this coming fall. Which is VERY NICE.

-~-

I feel as though I just passed a Nerd Milestone this afternoon – going to a comic books store and BUYING MY FIRST COMIC BOOK! Can you guess what I bought?!

If you guessed “Captain America,” then you are awesome and 100% correct and you know me quite well. (Or possibly I’m just very predictable?! That too.) I bought Captain America: The Winter Soldier because A) Steve Rogers is my favoritest, B) The Winter Soldier is one of the best Marvel storylines I’ve yet read, and C) it was one of the very first comic books I ever read. [Strokes book adoringly] My precious. I’m gonna reread it tonight AND CRY OVER FICTIONAL CHARACTERS. As one does.

(Seriously, I’m so pleased to actually OWN a comic book now. Because normally I borrow them from the library! But I think I’d like to start assembling a SMALL collection of some of my absolute favorites from the genre. I wanted to buy some of the new Operation S.I.N. stuff that has Peggy Carter and also some Young Avengers stuff, but The Winter Soldier was already expensive enough. Maybe another day?)

I went there for a School Thing, actually! The third and final assignment in my speech class is a persuasive speech, so I’ve decided to persuade people to read graphic novels and comic books. And one of my cited sources must be an interview, so I was there to set up an interview with the owner to talk about who reads comic books, how people are introduced to comics, et cetera. I thoroughly enjoyed giving my first two speeches, but I’m REALLY pumped for this one. Because geekery.

Also, while I was at the comic book store a dad came in with his two little kids and AAAAAH THE ADORABLE. They went straight for the Ms. Marvel comics and the lady!Thor comics, so obviously they have good taste.‪ #‎awesomegeekyparentsftw‬ #goodjobdad

-~-

What’s new in your life?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Quick Update: Senior Year, College, Speeches, & Comics!

  1. WOAH your senior year is almost over!! That’s crazy! I don’t finish till the beginning of November, but it feels like it’s going way too fast O_O High school is such a pleasant little bubble. But YAY comics! We’re doing a unit on superhero films in my society and culture class, which is excellent, so I’ve been getting into Marvel stuff a lot more. Who knows? Maybe I’ll end up a comic fanatic 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      November?! I don’t understand the Australian school schedule at all. 😛

      OMG THAT IS SO COOL. I’m hoping to take a class about superheroes during college – my university has a literature class that’s all about comic books! 🙂

  2. AHH so many things I love here! I super enjoyed my speech classes too; and your persuasion sounds like it’ll be awesome! ¡También, pienso que es muy bueno que aprendes español porque es mucho divertido! You are at such an exciting time in your life!! :)))

  3. Cait says:

    OH A COMIC BOOK THAT IS SO SO COOL. xD I want to buy one of those one day..*adds to bucket list* But that dad with the two kids though. AWWWW. That is the best thing to hear in the world. 😉

  4. Mo says:

    Yeah, comics are weirdly expensive, right? I mean, they’re tiny books, but I guess it’s all the colored ink that they use. I bought myself the first Ms. Marvel volume at the beginning of March, and I’ve read the first two Young Avengers volumes. I also binge-read through a lot of Wonder Woman comics from the most recent reboot as well as this one, but I’d love to find the female Thor books too.

  5. Pingback: Free Comic Book Day! | Musings From Neville's Navel

  6. Pingback: 10 Books I Recently Acquired | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

