Blogging About Parents & Children In Fiction (+ Thoughts About Post Series)

I blame this post on Cersei Lannister. Because Game of Thrones, season five, has just begun and AAAAH I’VE SEEN SO MANY COOL CHARACTER ANALYSIS POSTS AND WHATNOT ALREADY – which reminded me of an idea for a another series of blog posts. I thought of it a few months ago, but it’d slipped from my mind since then and, well, now the idea is back!

This season has one of my fave subplots – in the book, Cersei finally gets her own POV chapters, so we should be seeing a lot more of her in season five! I don’t love her as a person – oh my god, no way – but I love her complexity. The bits about her relationships with her family particularly fascinated me: Her mixture of admiration and resentment towards her father, her up-and-down relationships with her brothers, and her protectiveness towards her children.

Basically I just have a lot of FEELINGS about Cersei and will probably end up writing them down and posting them here at some point. But here’s the thing: I also have a lot of FEELINGS about other parent/child relationships in fiction. They’re just so much fun to explore and think about!

I really really like stories where the parents are actually involved. Stories where the parents don’t have much of a presence and the kids just run around doing whatever? Those don’t interest me so much. Because I don’t find that very realistic, and because I love reading about all different types of fictional relationships. (YA novels where the only relationships are romantic ones are like… meh. I mean, if you want to include romance, GO FOR IT, but don’t let them be the only connections between characters. Bleh.)

Anyway, I love reading about all the different types of parent/child relationships. The dorky parents. The “tries to be their child’s best friend and not their parent” parents. The parents who would do anything for their children. (CERSEI LANNISTER, BASICALLY. If someone goes after her children, she gets mean. #imquakinginmyboots) The parents who adore their children, the parents who don’t treat their children well, the… I don’t know, the mad-scientist parents who are raising their children to be Tiny Mad Scientists. Whatever.

Those relationships between generations just really, really interest me. And so… today I’m here to ask if you’d be interested in a series of posts about them. I want to talk about the parents/children in House Lannister (and soooo many other houses in A Song of Ice and FireGame of Thrones) and the Raven Cycle and Harry Potter and Skulduggery Pleasant and The Hunger Games and… and loads of other stories! Books and TV shows and movies, et cetera.

But what do you think? Sometimes I feel like my blogging is a shout into the void, so I’m super-interested in what my readers think – I don’t want to bore you, so I could always just write one or two posts about, I don’t know, House Lannister and then call it quits. Or turn it into a post series?

Well, be sure to let me know if you’re interested – and give me suggestions, if you’d like! Suggestions based on fandoms I’m already in, or suggestions of fandoms I should join because they have interesting subplots about families.

-~-

On a side note, what is it with me and starting new posts series and then updating them very sloooooowly? I still need to finish the A B See Photo Challenge – only Z is left, and I’ve been working on it, so never fear! – and I really, really need to work on Reading The Rainbow. And I’m sure there are a few other ideas I’m forgetting. The Good-Sinful Alliance and… something else?

Anyway. This is the way I work on things, I guess – I like to add to them little by little, whenever I feel inspired to, and not ALL AT ONCE. Whenever the ideas happen to strike me, you know? Hmmm.

Have a lovely day/night/whatever! And be sure to let me know what you think of my latest idea!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Blogging About Parents & Children In Fiction (+ Thoughts About Post Series)

  1. Brynn says:

    A Raven Boys post would complete my life.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Excellent! The parents (and adults in general) in that series are really, really well-written and complex people, which doesn’t often happen with adult characters in YA fiction – they’re usually glossed over or left out of the story entirely!

  2. Cait says:

    *crawls cautiously out of the void* HELLO. Well I like posts on these topics. I LOVE DISCUSSION. Also, yes and yes to needing parents in books. I love it when parents play a huge part. I find, a lot of the time, in YA epic-fantasies they kill of the parents and have orphans running around with pointy objects making bad decisions. which is fine and good, buuuut, I do love some parental influence. #GameofThronesWinsEverything Ceresi is rather amazing. 0_0 But very scary. But, ya know, I don’t feel too qualified to say much because I’m only on book 1. hehe. I do feel Catelyn is a bit of a dodgy parent though, umm, yes. I mean, YES she’s in battle with Rob, but she’s totally abandoned her younger kids. THEY NEED THEIR MAMA! And no one cares a pickle about Arya. So yeah. Okay, okay, I’m gooooing. I’ll shush.
    *dives back into the void*

    • nevillegirl says:

      YAY YAY YAY I AM GLAD YOU ARE INTERESTED IN THIS POSSIBLE BLOG POST SERIES. 😀

      I know, right? I don’t like HOW she does things, but I have to admire her motives – she can be very loyal.

      Yeahhhhh… I mean, I /generally/ like Catelyn as a parent because of things that happen in the later books, but she definitely has issues too, and I’m happy to see that you’re not just being like “LOL Catelyn is the best and Cersei sucks” like a lot of fans are because honestly? They’re motivated by similar things, and both sometimes play dirty.

  3. This sounds like an awesome idea! I know I’d love to read them!

  4. moosha23 says:

    So many YA books lack in-depth and complex familial relationships (esp between parent and child) so this post series would be really cool! I say go for it!!

  5. orphu44 says:

    You seem to have a number of similar comments here, but I’m adding my vote in favour of parent/child posts — it sounds interesting! (Also I had an unreasonably difficult time deciphering the #imquakinginmyboots hashtag for a moment there — I thought it said something about boats.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      OMG, thank you! (Do you have any suggestions for families I should discuss, particularly those who haven’t already been mentioned in this comments section?)

      Pfffft. Yes, I am quaking in my boat as well. Let’s hope I don’t fall out into the water… there might be sea monsters lurking beneath the surface…
      (Or possibly just cute mermaids? Yes please.)

  6. Pingback: I Finally Saw “Interstellar” & Here Are 15 Thoughts I Had While Watching It  | Musings From Neville's Navel

  7. Pingback: An Update Regarding This Summer’s Blog Content | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

