¿Hablas Español?

¡Buenas noches! ¡Hablo un poquito de español! Me gusta mi clase de español y tengo un interés en aprender más. ¡Quiero ser bilingüe eventualmente! En esta entrada del blog, escribiré mis pensamientos sobre de la clase.

Translated, the title reads: “Do you speak Spanish?” Meanwhile, the italicized words above are, “Good evening! I speak a little bit of Spanish! I like my Spanish class and have an interest in learning more. I want to be bilingual eventually! In this blog post, I’m going to write my thoughts about the class.”

And instead of numbering my thought-thingamajigs as 1), 2), 3), and so forth, I’m going to number them in Spanish because WHY NOT. Enjoy!

número uno

So in addition to taking a comm class, I’m also in Spanish 202 this semester, which is my fourth college-level Spanish class. I like it about as much as I liked 101 – which is to say that I enjoyed it – and SO MUCH MORE than I liked either 102 or 201.

Spanish 101 was fun because it was sooooooo easy. Half of it was just a review of things I’d previously learned on my own, and even the new material was ridiculously easy to memorize and understand. Numbers, colors, the alphabet? OK. No problem. I can do that in my sleep.

102 and 201 were a bit frustrating, though. I knew quite a bit, but there was still so much that I didn’t yet know. Attending the 202 class feels a bit like coming out of a thick fog – now my grasp of the language is more clear. It’s really, really frustrating when you want to say things in a foreign language, but you can’t because you don’t know how to.

I couldn’t talk about the past or future (or about things I could/should/would do, which is the “conditional tense”) until this past semester. Now I can, and I love it. I love slowly-but-surely learning to express myself. That middle stage of learning another language is tough because there’s nothing you can do but keep on going until you reach more difficult material, but you’ll get there in the end. I love learning weird new vocabulary words, and I LOVE FINALLY BEING ABLE TO TALK IN SOMETHING OTHER THAN THE PRESENT TENSE.

número dos

Another thing I love about taking an advanced(ish) Spanish class is that it includes way more cultural stuff than what was in my previous classes! We’ve watched a bunch of short films in Spanish, and my teacher frequently talks about the differences between Mexican culture and American culture, and then we’re supposed to practice our skills by responding in Spanish.

And… I don’t know, I guess my point is merely that I LOVE LEARNING ABOUT OTHER CULTURES. I feel like that should be a big part of learning a second (or third or fourth) language: Have some context. Don’t learn just the language; pick up some knowledge of the culture and all its quirks, too.

Also, I’m just incredibly jealous because in a recent class, my teacher showed us photos of the college she attended as a young adult and IT WAS SO PRETTY. Waaaaay pretty than any American college campuses I’ve ever seen, either in real life or in photographs. She graduated from the Universidad de Guanajuato and basically I am just overwhelmed by all the beautiful architecture there. I mean, look at this. I need a palace like this.

número tres

Aaaand… that’s pretty much it, actually. Now all I have left is studying. STUDYING FOR FINALS. So I’m looking through the study guides and brushing up on vocabulary words and trying to figure out if I should make flashcards for review.

And cursing the fact that this final exam is cumulative. None of my other Spanish finals were – they just covered material from the last few chapters we studied each semester! Ugh. Oh, well. I suppose it is a 200-level (second-year) Spanish class, so of course it’d be more difficult.

-~-

Are you currently studying any foreign languages, or have you done so in the past? Can you say anything in Spanish?! I’d love to know… and now I can respond to you using multiple verb tenses! #yayforme

See you later, or: ¡Nos vemos!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to ¿Hablas Español?

  1. orphu44 says:

    I’m pretty sure you know this, but I know French and have been learning German for the past few years. (It’s been like a year since I’ve used German, though, so my German’s probably significantly worse than it used to be … oops.)
    As for Spanish, I can’t really /say/ anything other than maybe stray words, but if it’s written rather than spoken I can understand some. I mean, I more or less got the post’s introduction, aside from the fact that I assumed ‘entrada’ was closer to ‘introduction’ than ‘post.’
    Good luck on your final!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Pffft, well, the only German I know is “ja” and “ich liebe dich.” ❤

      I think "entrada" might be "entry"? Like an entry in a journal? But I'm just guessing here, so. 🙂

      Thank you!

  2. HOLLY says:

    ¡Hola! Tengo dieciocho años también y quiero estudiar la lengua de español en universidad en el próximo año. He asistido la clase de español en mi escuela para cuatro años ahora, pero no soy muy buena. Entonces, yo no sé las palabras para este en español pero if you wanted to practice writing Spanish, I would love to do a sort of pen pal thing with you! We could email back in forth in Spanish or whatever to practice. I don’t know if that sounds like something fun to you or if you would like to do it, but if you don’t that’s totally okay. I just thought I’d ask because it’s something I’ve been thinking about doing for a while. Anyways, awesome post!

    • nevillegirl says:

      ¡Si! ¡Eso sería muy divertido! That sounds like a very good idea, actually – now that I (probably) won’t be taking any more formal Spanish classes, I need to keep practicing the language so that I don’t forget it! 🙂

  3. Mo says:

    Ay, Engie, lo siento, pero creo que tienes un pequeño error–debe de ser “tengo un interés de aprender.”

    Y es bueno que aprendiste a hablar de eventos pasados, porque si no puedas, ¡no serías capaz de hablar bien de los libros que has leido!

  4. I’m in my eighth year of taking Spanish as a seventh grader. At my school, a K-8, we start taking it in kindergarten. I’m pretty ok at Spanish. I know present tense, preterite, and imperfect. I’m going to continue taking Spanish in high school, too, and I want to become proficient in it, hopefully bilingual!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ooh, that’s AWESOME! I started learning Spanish using the Rosetta Stone program when I was in… fourth or fifth grade? So that gave me a decent background of basic Spanish knowledge for my first Spanish class in college, and it was probably easier to pick up those basics due to my age when I started learning. 🙂 I wish more schools in the US taught foreign languages early – I think the schools around here don’t start until grade 8, at the very earliest!

  5. Miriam Joy says:

    I’ve never studied Spanish. I’ve got seven years of French and four of Italian under my belt (all I can remember from that is ‘sono il solo investigatore consulenza nel mondo’ which is NOT USEFUL — ‘I am the only consulting detective in the world’). Now I study Old Irish and Old Norse. Next year, though I’ll be dropping Old Norse and taking a paper in Medieval French which is largely literature based, so it will just require my existing French knowledge and a dictionary rather than in-depth study of the language. Or at least, that’s what I’ve been led to believe…

    I’m also dabbling in Esperanto and Manx whenever I get bored enough to play around on Memrise.com — a brilliant way to learn vocab, by the way, if you need it.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

