Free Comic Book Day!

Today marked another Nerd Milestone for me – finally, I have my very own actually-really-technically-a-comic-book comic books! I bought Captain America: The Winter Soldier by Ed Brubaker last month, but that was actually an… an omnibus edition, I guess? Multiple comics from that particular storyline, repackaged into one big book.

Today I got little comic books, about twenty pages each. So, actual literal technical comic books. To be quite honest, I’m not sure that I’d buy comics in this format – it seems like an awful lot of money for something that I’ll read in just ten minutes!

But today was Free Comic Book Day, so why not pick up a few?

FCBD is, apparently, a world-wide (though predominantly North American?) annual event held on the first Saturday in May. I had literally no idea it existed until a couple of months ago, because I only recently became interested in comics.

Basically, you’re allowed to pick some free comic books out of a predetermined selection of comics, and it’s AWESOME. The comic book store in my town was giving away four free comics per person. (And eight if you came in costume, ha ha!)

Here’s what I chose today:

+ Some Doctor Who Special thing? I am not actually sure if it has a specific title, but basically it appears to be three tiny stories. There’s one about Twelve and Clara, and then one each with Ten, Eleven, and some characters I don’t recognize. I’ve actually been meaning to read some of the Doctor Who comics, so this was an awesome find!

Hatter M: Love of Wonder. What I have appears to be the intro to volume five? I’d never heard of this story before, but apparently it’s about the Mad Hatter. One of the comic book store employees recommended it to me after we talked a little bit about other comics I’ve enjoyed, so THANK YOU. This looks good!

+ A Dark Circle Comics story about the Black Hood, the Fox, and the Shield. This just looked really cool? I’m not entirely sure what it’s about, but I liked the cover art and illustrations inside, so… yeah. Side note: I feel like these comics probably have actual titles, but at the same time most of them seem to be sneak peeks of longer, upcoming stories, so maybe they don’t have titles. Who knows? The FCBD website lists very few specific titles – it just shows the covers, which doesn’t really help.

The All-New, All-Different AvengersWHAT AN AWESOME SUPERHERO LINE-UP: Iron Man, Sam Wilson as Captain America, Kamala Khan as Ms. Marvel, the Vision, lady!Thor, Miles Morales as Spider-Man, and Nova! I’ve been meaning to find some stories about lady!Thor and Morales anyway, and I am LOVING the racial and gender diversity in this line-up! Super super super excited for this comic, in particular.

-~-

I can’t wait to read my new comics! (How cool is it that FCBD and Age of Ultron fell on the same weekend?!) Did you pick up any fun stories as part of Free Comic Book Day? Be sure to tell me all about them in the comments!

P.S. More information about FCBD may be found here, if you’re interested.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Free Comic Book Day!

  1. Cait says:

    I AM SO JEALOUS RIGHT NOW. THAT IS SO COOL THAT AMERICA DOES THIS. I AM SO JEALOUS. haha. Good on you for getting those comics though! They sound incredible. ^-^ I’ve brought a few mini comics before…and then…um…cut them up for craft so, yeah, shall I go sit in the corner of shame now? (But they were totally DC so that’s okay, right?)

    • nevillegirl says:

      *runs around shrieking about COMIC BOOKS EEEEE*

      Noooooooooooo! *shudders* Cutting up books?! *whimpers* Haha, but that’s what I figured you were doing to make those mobiles… which are really cool, BTW! 😀

  2. Mo says:

    …Yeah, I was going to get free comics–hopefully the DW special or the #1 Avengers–but by the time we rolled around to the local comic store they didn’t have many left, although my dad did pick up the Dark Circle Comics one. But I did buy other comics–I bought the first She-Hulk and three (all that are available right now) Princess Leia comics.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *patpat* I shall fly over to your house with the superhero powers I seem to have suddenly developed, and share my comics with you. ❤

      I wanted to buy the Young Avengers series, but I think they were all sold out… 😦

  3. Alexandrina Brant says:

    I’d never heard of FCBD, despite how young me would have been all over it. I was terrible: reading The Simpsons comics was what stopped me from reading longer books when I was younger, which is why I – shamefully, you might say – gone off comics nowadays.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Pfffft. 🙂 Well, maybe there’s next year, at least?! I’m not sure how “worldwide” this event really is, but that’s what the website claimed – surely there are a few participating locations in the UK? *shrug*

  4. Miriam Joy says:

    I didn’t pick up any comics of my own — there’s a Forbidden Planet in Cambridge but it’s on the other side of town, and I wasn’t sure if they were participating. The local library had a shelf of comics near the door advertising that it was free comic book day (although it’s a library and they were encouraging people to borrow them not keep them), so it *is* something people know about here. I borrowed a Marvel graphic novel / omnibus called Morbius: The Living Vampire which was full of characters I’d never even heard of before and didn’t know from any other Marvel things, due to my painful ignorance of comics generally, but it was pretty interesting. It had quite a lot in common with the recent Netflix Daredevil series, which I loved.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ooh, good! Spread the comics love EVERYWHERE. 😀

      Hmmm, I’ve never heard of that one before, either. The Marvel universe is sooooo huge and complicated, I stg.

      I still need to watch Daredevil… it looks really good, and I’ve been meaning to branch out more, comics-wise, anyway.

      • Miriam Joy says:

        It is good. I wrote a post about it the other day — no spoilers, I was only halfway through it when I wrote that, just my thoughts on it.

        I think it’s relatively new? Idk it’s part of a different branch of the Marvel world than the ones I know, but vaguely related to Spiderman; I think Morbius might be a villain in some of the Spiderman comics or something but to me he seemed neither villain nor hero, just something in between.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, I read it – meant to comment, too, but I forgot. I’ve been HORRIBLE about commenting on anywhere besides my own blog lately. Gah, I need to work on that.

      Hmmm, I googled him just now and according to the Marvel wiki, he first appeared in an issue of Amazing Spider-Man, so I think you’re right.

    • nevillegirl says:

      OK! I should try to find that at the library; it sounds cool and also I should get back into reading… maybe something short, like comics, will help?

  5. wondrousadventurer says:

    i picked up the dr who one this weekend too! for future reference, the other companions you didn’t recognize are actually comics regulars. and they are AWESOME for assorted reasons — ten’s new companion, gabby, is the first hispanic companion to appear in any dr who media… ever, i think. and alice (with eleven) is similarly diverse and lovely.

    that was the only free one i got though — although i bought a steven universe comic for my littlest sister, and the 2nd and 3rd princess leia ones for myself (which! 😀 they’re doing such a good job with them! i’m so happy. although now that i’m all caught up i have to impatiently await the fourth one….)

    • nevillegirl says:

      OK! I wasn’t sure if they were brand-new characters, or if I just didn’t recognize them because I’ve never really read a DW comic before. 🙂 And yay for diversity! ❤

      Ooh, I didn't know there were Steven Universe comics! …I still need to start watching that show. SO MANY SHOWS, SO LITTLE TIME. 😛

      What are the titles of the Princess Leia comics? I might look for them at the library, unless they're super-new in which case the library probably won't have them yet…

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

