Senior Year Saturday: Year’s End & A Wrap-Up

senior year saturdayWelcome to Senior Year Saturday, a regular feature here on Musings From Neville’s Navel! Essentially, I talk about any and all things related to my final year of high school, from homework and extracurriculars to updates on college planning and thoughts on graduation. And more! (Such as that dreaded feeling known as “senioritis.”) Enjoy!

Hello there! Since I graduated yesterday, this will be my very last Senior Year Saturday post… so I thought this would be a great opportunity to recap my previous SYS posts! And then at the end of this post I’m going to discuss a variety of other things related to my senior year, so… yeah. Enjoy!

-~-

My first SYS post was about GOALS. I didn’t accomplish many of these, actually, but I’m trying not to feel too bad about it because some of those activities are things that would probably be more fun in college, anyway: Joining a GSA and job-shadowing at a newspaper and whatnot. I did remember to do some of the other things, though, such as applying to a bunch of scholarships. The only goal I’m disappointed about not completing is “reading at least seventy-five books during the school year,” but hey. Reading slumps happen, and that’s OK.

Towards the very end of August, I recapped my first week back in school. I was so busy then! But it was a lot of fun, so I didn’t mind.

In late October, I listed five schoolish things I’d done that week. I talked a little bit about homeschooling, a little bit about dual-credit classes (that I finished just this past week), and a little bit about college stuff such as applying for housing. It was kind of fun to reread this post and remember that week!

A few months later, I talked about scholarships… and how much I hate writing application essays for them. UGH. But hey – college costs a freaking TON of money, and every little bit helps! (Does Hogwarts even charge tuition? I should’ve enrolled there.)

I discussed the subjects I studied during the spring semester: Spanish, comm, statistics, astronomy, and American literature. Out of those five courses, my favorite was definitely comm – I learned so much and my confidence in my public speaking abilities grew by leaps and bounds! At the beginning of the spring semester I thought I’d hate that class, but in the end I’m so glad I took that subject.

Ah, senioritis. That dreaded affliction. I hoped to avoid it, but I… didn’t. I so didn’t. I can’t wait until college, when everything will be new and different!

I’ve participated in a local high-school-level academic bowl for the past few years, but this year’s competition was my favorite, EVER. Our team, comprised entirely of homeschoolers, won first place in all eight categories and I’m still SO PROUD of everyone. Wow. That’s an experience I certainly won’t forget…

In April, I described a day in the life of a homeschooled senior. I looooove writing those posts… maybe I’ll do one in my freshman year of college! (Also, you should totally check out my friend Miriam’s version – she’s a student at the University of Cambridge!)

-~-

First of all, THANK YOU ALL SOOOOOO MUCH FOR ALL YOUR CONGRATULATIONS, WISHES OF SUCCESS, ET CETERA. Everyone’s comments on my graduation post were lovely and much-appreciated and I just… dfsjghdfkghdfkshfgsfg you are the NICEST people ever. Thanks! XOXO

(I will get around to replying to all those comments… eventually. I was at a volunteer thingy  throughout most of the afternoon, but I’m back now and currently reading through all your messages with a ridiculously huge and dorky smile on my face because awwww.)

-~-

So. Senior Year Saturday. I really enjoyed creating that regular feature, and writing posts for it, and whatnot. It’s been fun to reread those old posts and remember everything that happened during my senior year of high school! I may not have written as many SYS posts as I’d originally planned on – I wanted to write around twenty or so, but I ended up writing eight – but that’s OK. I do feel like I have a much more complete record, blog-wise, of what went on than I do for some other school years. Which is nice.

Anyway, now I’d like to know what you thought of all my SYS posts! Did you like them? Do you have any suggestions relating to things differently? Because I’m thinking about writing a similar series of posts for college… so let me know what you think of THAT particular idea, as well! Are there any college-y topics you’d like me to blog about? Be sure to let me know in the comments section below!

-~-

What’s happened recently in your life? Anything exciting? Any schoolish thingies? Read any good books lately? I’d love to know!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Senior Year Saturday: Year’s End & A Wrap-Up

  1. Miriam Joy says:

    Hogwarts is free for witches and wizards in Britain (no mention of international students) but since it primarily teaches 11-18 year olds, being a secondary school and not a college or university, I think you’d be too old 😉

  2. CONGRATS AGAIN – you need the congrats, I feel, because it’s such a HUGE milestone. And yes, I want to hear all about college!!! About living on your own, your classes, EVERYTHING 😀 And now I’m going to go back and look at all the SYS posts I missed…

    • nevillegirl says:

      *blush* Thank you! I’m still kind of like “Wait, what, really?!” whenever I realize (again) that I’ve just graduated. Wow. 😀

      Yay, OK! 🙂 I won’t be able to post nearly as often once I’m in college, but I will definitely try to write occasional updates!

  3. Briar Eden says:

    You should start a college life series! I’m still stuck in school, so I’d love to read that – especially because I like your writing style.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *blush* Aw, thanks, I’m glad you like my writing style! 🙂 I’ll probably end up writing, like, lists or something about college. Because lists are soooo easy. 😛

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

