I Am Always Behind On My Reviews

I am behind on my reviews.

I am perpetually behind on my reviews.

I love writing reviews (of anything – books, movies, TV shows, and sometimes music) and posting them on this blog, but I never ever ever manage to check every item off my reviewing to-do list.

I still need to write a review of Agent Carter.

I saw The Imitation Game (which was AMAZING, by the way) in January and keep forgetting to write up a review post for it. (In fact, I’ve taken so long to even outline a few basic ideas for the review that I might as well wait a few more weeks and use it as a Pride post in June… LGBTQ+ history and all that.)

I have yet to review some books I during our family vacation way back in August.

After I finish watching Daredevil (which you should try! superheroes galore on Netflix!) and the X-Men movies, I want to write reviews of those too. And once I’ve read The Dying of the Light, a super-fangirly Skulduggery Pleasant-themed post is probably in order.

And then Carmilla season two is due to begin any day now (we don’t have a specific release date) and season five of Game of Thrones will end in a few weeks and OH MY GOD THE POTENTIAL FOR REVIEWS, THERE. REVIEWS THAT I WILL TAKE FOREVER TO WRITE and finally publish like five months after I really should.

I know why I’m always behind on my reviews: I get distracted. I read a story and LOVE IT and then see a fun-looking TV show and go, “OOH SHINY” and… get completely distracted from one fandom by another.

Which is kind of fun, because then I end up in all sorts of cool fandoms, but it also makes reviewing a little difficult.

Also, by the time I finally sit down in front of my laptop with a Tiny Person Who Is Determined To Review The Thing expression on my face, I’ve often forgotten some of the things I originally wanted to mention in my review. For example, I should probably rewatch at least a few episodes of Agent Carter, if not the entire first season, because I’m fairly certain there was SOMETHING I planned to include in my review – but now I don’t remember what it was. Quite possibly it was an accurate count of how many times Peggy Carter does something hella bisexual. 

So. Reviews. They always cause trouble for me, in one way or another. I loooove writing reviews, but I get distracted. Or forget things. And then post them months and months after I’d planned to.

Does anyone else have this problem? Are you perpetually behind on your reviews, too? Or do you write reviews of [insert STUFF YOU LIKE here] right away in order to stay caught up?! I’m curious to know what works for you…

…and by the way, don’t expect to see any review posts here until, like, at least late May. Or possibly even June.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I Am Always Behind On My Reviews

  1. Cait says:

    Nope. I write my review straight away. BUT DO I POST IT, LIKE, EVER? NO. I still have a review for The Giver sitting in my drafts! I don’t even know…gah. I think I like writing reviews more than my blog followers like reading them, hehe. But still! it’s soooo hard to remember all the awesome stuff right?!
    OH I WANT TO WATCH DAREDEVIL. I can’t find it able to be watched anywhere for Australians. *cries copiously*

    • nevillegirl says:

      Pfffft, so you have the opposite problem… once I actually write my post, I post it right away, but it takes me forever to even remember to write it in the first place! 😛

      Ehehe, same. I love writing reviews, but they’re not my most popular posts. :/

      *patpat* IT’S SO GOOD AND I HOPE THAT SOMEHOW YOU WILL ABLE TO WATCH IT SOON. 😀

  2. I feel the same! I’m always like “Oooh, this was really good, I should review it” when in reality I have like four reviews on my blog.
    AND CARMILLA SEASON 2 AHHHHH. Have you seen their MsLabelled? Not as good, but still filling as we wait. 🙂

  3. Precious @ Clockwork Desires says:

    Oh, I know how you feel! I’ve been trying to write a book review for a month now, but I still haven’t gotten around to finishing it… Sometimes, I feel like I might forget or mix up important details, too.

  4. Miriam Joy says:

    I don’t really write reviews. I’m trying to write a couple of lines about each book I finish when I update Goodreads, so that I can remember what I thought of it if I ever need to tell someone or if I’m thinking of rereading, but I don’t write full-blown reviews unless I feel the need. I tried reviewing books for a while, but I’ve realised it’s not really my thing.

  5. I try to get book reviews up asap because I don’t want to forget stuff. But I read about a book a week, so it works out for me. 😉
    Maybe you should do a bunch of mini reviews. Then you can get them all in one post.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *nodnod* I’ve done that before, and I’ve actually seen other bloggers do the same thing and credit the idea to me? O_o Like, I’m not the first person to think of that… but whatever. Anyway, I like to write mini reviews for books that just didn’t make me think QUITE enough. If I loved a book or hated it, I’ll have plenty to say and will write a long review, but if not I just include it along with a bunch of other mini reviews in one post. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Agent Carter | Season One Review | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

