Summer Reading Goals, Part I

Hi, everyone! A few days ago I promised to talk about my summer 2015 goals, and this is the first of four posts about my plans for the upcoming season. Today (and tomorrow) I’m talking all about books. BOOOOOOOKS. Books!

And as mentioned previously, I’m trying to set more realistic goals this summer: As much as I may want to read EVERY SINGLE BOOK IN THE UNIVERSE, that’s just not going to happen. And I need to accept that. And one way I can begin to accept that is by developing a more relaxed attitude towards reading. If reading is supposed to be fun, why am I putting so much pressure on myself to read read read ALL THE TIME?!

So this summer, I’m scaling my reading goals waaaaay back. Only three of my goals are absolutely set in stone; the rest are far more flexible. Today I’m discussing those three definite goals – tomorrow I’ll list a bunch of other possible books/series and then you can vote for the ones you think I should read!

Anyway, I need a bit of help from my readers today as well! I need some ideas as to which books I should read as part of accomplishing my definite goals. So whenever you see the phrase “Engie needs some book recs,” that means… I need book recs! And I’m counting on you peoples to help me out!

-~-

1. Reread Harry Potter (and read some related books)

I’ve been meaning to do this for the last few summers, and so far it hasn’t happened. But who knows? Maybe this year I’ll finally do it. I’m really curious to see how this particular rereading project will go, because Harry Potter was my EVERYTHING as a kid and now I’m not even in that fandom. I’m much more critical of stories now, so this should be an interesting experience… half nostalgic and half “[insert other fantasy book here] is way, way better.”

Additionally, Harry Potter and Philosophy and The Ultimate Harry Potter and Philosophy have been sitting on my bookshelf for practically FOREVER, so I may try those books as well.

ENGIE NEEDS SOME BOOK RECS: I read Harry: A History by Melissa Anelli last summer and really enjoyed it; do you have any recommendations for similar nonfiction books about Harry Potter and/or J.K. Rowling?

2. Further explore the comic book genre

Squeeeeeee! I love comic books. I’m not picking any SPECIFIC comics to read, but I will list a few ideas. (Mostly for future!Engie to refer back to when she forgets which comics she wanted to try this summer.) I haven’t read anything about Black Widow or Thor yet, so I’d like to try some stuff. I want to read about Kamala Khan as Ms. Marvel. I’d like to read some stories in which Scarlet Witch and/or Quicksilver are the main characters, because I adore those two but I’ve only read about them as side characters in someone else’s story. I might try the Civil War stories, and I might finish reading the death-of-Captain-America storyline.

I’m thinking about trying some X-Men comics as well, because I’ve been watching the movies lately and I really really enjoy them. I’d like to read some Deadpool comics. And of course, I want to expand my knowledge of characters from DC Comics – Batman, the Joker, Harley Quinn, Poison Ivy, et cetera.

ENGIE NEEDS SOME BOOK RECS: What are your favorite comics about the characters listed above?

3. Listen to audiobooks

I don’t often listen to audiobooks but whenever I do, I always think, “I should do this more often!” A few weeks ago my lovely friend Cait @ Paper Fury mentioned that she listened to A Game of Thrones on her iPod and… well, first, Cait, I have to commend you for BEING AWESOME and FINALLY READING THAT WONDERFUL BOOK. Anyway, I’d also like to thank her for planting the idea of audiobooks-via-iPod in my tiny fangirl brain.

I’ve transferred music from CDs to my iPod, so why not do the same thing with audiobook CDs?! It’s a much easier, more portable method of listening to audiobooks, rather than sitting right next to my CD player and not being able to, say, get up and talk a walk outside in the sunshine while I listen to a great story. So. Anyway. I borrowed a bunch of audiobooks from the library the other day! They include Where She Went by Gayle Forman, The Kill Order by James Dashner, The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black, Winger by Andrew Smith, and Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer.

ENGIE NEEDS SOME BOOK RECS: Which of the five audiobooks mentioned above should I start listening to first?!

-~-

So, to recap what I talked about in the intro of this post: I have three definite reading goals this summer, but I could still use some help in choosing bits and pieces of those goals. I’d really appreciate it if you listed some recs in the comments section below, and… I’ll see you tomorrow! With more reading goals and more requests for recs!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Summer Reading Goals, Part I

  1. I’ve been consistently rereading Harry Potter since I was a kid, so luckily I haven’t noticed any glaring flaws in it (whereas if I’d taken a long break from it, I probably would have). I haven’t actually read any non-fiction ones, though…

    As for audiobooks, The Darkest Part of the Forest was pretty excellent 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, mostly now I’m reading it more analytically, trying to see which parts influenced my own writing, et cetera. 🙂 And for nostalgia’s sake, too – that’s basically the only connection I have left with it? Like, it may not be my fave series anymore BUT I grew up reading it, so I have a lot of memories of reading those books when I was but a wee Engie. 😛

      Ooh, excellent! Thanks for letting me know!

  2. Cait says:

    AFJDLKS YOU ARE SO WELCOME. XDXD Bringing a portable book in your ears wherever you go is amazing. Unless, of course, like me you forget the music is attached to your head and leave your iPod on the table while you lurch off to go fetch something and end up having your ears about torn off. BUT YEAH. Minor details. Audio books = so much win. hehe. DO DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST. Or Winger. But mostly because I want to read Winger and I can’t find it anyway, soooo be my guinea pig and tell me if it’s awesome. (Belhzar is…weird. I didn’t like it. >.> But then maybe I wasn’t in a kind mood when I read it, but the romance is very odd.)

    These are gREAT summer goals, btw. I would like to read more comics, but I can’t find anymore Deadpool (omg, have you read Deadpool?! LOVE HIM) and zero to Black Widow, who is the one I really want to read about. Boo.

    • nevillegirl says:

      YES YES YES I ACCIDENTALLY DO THAT /ALL/ THE TIME. :/ My ears don’t like it when that happens. 😛

      Pfffft, maybe I will be your guinea pig! 🙂

      I’ll have to see if my library has any Deadpool comics!

  3. Mo says:

    There are, of course, far more comics that I know less about, but…
    So, Marvel: as for Kamala, there’s really only Ms. Marvel right now, although once the new Avengers lineup gets going, she’ll be in that. I like the current Black Widow run by Nathan Edmonson–there’s only two trade volumes so far, but the art is amazing. And I know I read some Deadpool comics at some point but I can’t remember which ones. Also, Silk. Read Silk.

    And I haven’t gotten into DC quite as much yet (and for some…mysterious…reason I’ve mostly read comics about superheroines so far), but I highly recommend the Brian Azzorello Wonder Woman series–IT’S AMAZING. Batwoman: Elegy is just one volume, but I think you’ll like it (there’s lesbians). Another fun one volume piece is Black Canary and Zatanna: Bloodspell, which goes along with the “supportive and positive female friendship” vibe.

    • nevillegirl says:

      What is Silk about?

      Yeah! 😀 I borrowed Batwoman: Elegy from the library once, but had to return it before I could read it. :/ But LESBIAN SUPERHEROINES = MY AESTHETIC TBH. Obviously you know my reading tastes quite well. 😛

      *adds Bloodspell to her Goodreads TBR list* Thanks for all the recs! *big thumbs-up* 😀

  4. Miriam Joy says:

    I really liked ‘The Darkest Part of the Forest’, so you should read that first. Heh. 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      OK, I will. 🙂 What’s it about? To tell the truth, I have no idea – all I know is that the cover looks good, and that I’ve enjoyed Holly Black’s previous writing.

      • Miriam Joy says:

        Fairies! It’s set in the same world as Tithe, but has none of the same characters and is in a different part of that world. There’s a sleeping prince in a glass coffin and the main character and her brother are both kind of in love with the sleeping prince. There’s quite a lot of gay, which is great.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ooh! That DOES sound great. 😀
      (And fantasy with “quite a lot of gay” is something I love, too.)

  5. Pingback: Plans For The Summer Of 2015 | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

