Summer Reading Goals, Part II

A few days ago, I talked about scaling back my goals to make them realistic, not idealistic. I discussed, for example, scaling back my bookish goals and not pressuring myself to read INCESSANTLY this summer.

Yesterday, I listed my three definite reading goals! And today, I’m talking about a few other reading goals – the flexible ones.

Basically, this is a list of books I’ve been meaning to read. In years past I probably would’ve included ALL OF THEM on my to-read-this-summer list. But this year I’m not doing that! Instead, I’m going to list all of them and then…

…YOU GET TO VOTE FOR WHICH BOOKS I SHOULD READ! I’ll explain the voting process at the bottom of this post. In the meantime, I’ve listed a bunch of series/books, their authors, and a few quick comments about those books.

-~-

one

The Children of the Red King series by Jenny Nimmo

  • Midnight for Charlie Bone
  • Charlie Bone and the Time Twister
  • Charlie Bone and the Invisible Boy
  • Charlie Bone and the Castle of Mirrors
  • Charlie Bone and the Red King
  • Charlie Bone and the Beast
  • Charlie Bone and the Shadow
  • Charlie Bone and the Red Knight

Children’s fantasy! This looks lighthearted and fun.

The Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare

  • City of Ashes
  • City of Glass
  • City of Fallen Angels
  • City of Lost Souls
  • City of Heavenly Fire
  • Clockwork Angel
  • Clockwork Prince
  • Clockwork Princess

Urban fantasy? That all my friends are raving about? (The first book, City of Bones, isn’t included here because I read it last summer.)

two

The Wolves of Mercy Falls series and the Books of Faerie series by Maggie Stiefvater

  • Shiver
  • Linger
  • Forever
  • Sinner
  • Lament
  • Ballad

Basically, all the Stiefvater books I haven’t yet read!

Modern Faerie Tales series and Curse Workers series by Holly Black

  • Tithe
  • Valiant
  • Ironside
  • White Cat
  • Red Glove
  • Black Heart

I LOVED Black’s The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, and these look like really good urban fantasy novels! (Even if I don’t end up reading these two series, I do plan on listening to her story The Darkest Part of the Forest as an audiobook.)

three

Legend trilogy by Marie Lu

  • Legend
  • Prodigy
  • Champion

A YA dystopian trilogy WITH DIVERSE CHARACTERS?! Finally, a YA dystopian trilogy worth my time.

Graceling Realm series by Kristin Cashore

  • Graceling 
  • Fire
  • Bitterblue

My lovely (and cute!) friend Orphu @ A Mirror Made of Words loves these books. OMG YA FANTASY.

four

Code Name Verity series by Elizabeth Wein

  • Code Name Verity
  • Rose Under Fire

Stories about WWII fascinate me! And I loooove historical fiction novels with teen girls as protagonists!

Assorted Middle-Earth books by J.R.R. Tolkien

  • The Silmarillion
  • The Children of Húrin

Because I miss Middle-earth, and I thought reading some more books about it might be a more productive use of my time than marathoning the movies.

-~-

SO! The voting process is quite simple, really: Pick one choice from each category! As you can see, I’ve organized it so that a long series is paired with another long series, a short series is paired with a short series, and so on and so forth. So, for example, if I don’t end up reading [insert long series here] this summer, I’ll just… read the other option for a long series instead!

There are just sooooo many books I want to read that sometimes I have a hard time making decisions about what to read next! So your suggestions will be MUCH appreciated – tell me which books/series you think I should read! Which books did you enjoy? Which books do you think I might enjoy most, based on what you know about my taste in books / characters / plots / et cetera?

THANK YOU FOR HELPING ME! NOW VOTE VOTE VOTE!

-~-

Oh, and… I might end up reading more books than what’s listed here? I plan to achieve my three definite reading goals (from yesterday’s post) and read four of the eight sets of books listed here. And after that? Maybe I’ll read the other sets of books that didn’t end up winning this little voting thingamajig.

Or maybe I’ll read something else entirely – after all, there are soooo many books in the world. I’d like to read a bunch of diverse books, basically, and possibly further explore the genre of classic sci fi / classic dystopian fiction? If I have enough time? And perhaps a little bit of contemporary YA, such as Sarah Dessen’s books? But like I said, that’s only if I have enough time/interest – my reading goals are really quite moderate this summer.

-~-

Which books are you planning on reading this summer? And why did you choose those particular stories?! I’d love to know, so tell me in the comments – and don’t forget to vote, please and thank you!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Summer Reading Goals, Part II

  1. Miriam Joy says:

    I liked Children of Hurin whereas I barely got through the Silm; CoH is tragic and beautiful and I cried.

    I didn’t get on brilliantly with Graceling… I don’t know why, it just didn’t work for me. The character seemed to get less interesting as the book went on.

    I remember reading the Charlie Bone books a few years ago. I’d read the first couple when I was a kid and one of them gave me nightmares, heh — not because it was scary but because I was feverish and I read it late at night and thus it entered into my fever dreams and was very scary — so it was years until I read the others. Got there in the end, though. I remember enjoying them, but I can’t remember details.

    If you want queer characters, Cassandra Clare and Holly Black are my picks from this list. Tithe was the first book I ever read with a gay character, when I was about twelve.

  2. hannwells says:

    Everything by Maggie stiefvater is really good so I’d recommend that but I did find lament a little confusing, but that may have been just me. Also I thought that the mortal instrument series was interesting, but I kind of lost interest after the second or third book (could have also been just me). So I’d recommend stiefvater’s books. For ones not on the list, I really personally want to read Ready Player One (I can’t remember the author) but also Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close (Jonathan Safran Foer), Wake (Amanda Hocking) and its second and third book, The Name of the Star (Maureen Johnson), Wings (Aprilynne Pike) but I didn’t like the second one but there is a sequel I think it’s called spells. Those are kind of all-over-the-place genres so idk if you want to check them out but either way 🙂

  3. hannwells says:

    Sorry that was really long

  4. Julia says:

    My votes:

    One: Definitely the Children of the Red King. I just recently gave up on the Mortal Instruments series after reading the first three books and part of the fourth. I liked the first book but after that it turned into a whole lot of really boring romance that I slogged through because I was mildly interested in the plot; I found myself wishing I’d just stopped at the first one.
    Two: The Maggie Stiefvater stuff because she’s awesome. I read the Wolves of Mercy falls series last year and didn’t like it as much as some of her other stuff, but it was still pretty good, and the Books of Faerie series is definitely on my to-read list for this year.
    Three: Gosh, this is tough. Both of these are on my summer to-read list; I just started Graceling, actually. But I’ve heard a lot of great stuff about both and I don’t think I can pick one.
    Four: Hmm, another tough one. I’d go with the Tolkien stuff, though.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you!! 🙂

      …yeah, I found the Mortal Instruments a bit slow, too, but IDK if that’s just me or not. I don’t know, some series start off quite slowly and take a while to really get going…

  5. Okay, I’ll vote for Charlie Bone, the Maggie Stiefvater books, the Legend trilogy and the Elizabeth Wein books BECAUSE THEY ARE SO GOOD. Although I haven’t read many of the books here, sadly 😦 Maybe I should make up some winter reading goals!

  6. orphu44 says:

    For the first I’d vote for Cassandra Clare — which I admittedly haven’t read but I feel like they’ve got potential. whereas I read Charlie Bone and then just didn’t really feel any particular way about the series once I’d finished.
    For the second … I’ve had next to no experience with either author, so really either/or.
    For the third, I don’t know anything about the Legend trilogy and obviously like Kristin Cashore, so the Graceling books! (also no, /you/ are the lovely cute friend)
    And for the fourth, I’d pick Middle Earth books! (… although I was a little torn because although I know nothing about Code Name Verity you make a very convincing point with ‘historical fiction novels with teen girls as protagonists.’)
    That was admittedly a very indecisive bit of voting, but still.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Pffft, I am amused by how so many of the people who voted either loved TMI and TID & disliked Charlie Bone, or loved Charlie Bone but disliked TMI and TID. 😛

      Thank you for voting, Lovely Cute Friend! ❤

  7. Cait says:

    BUT THIS IS HARD. JFADKLS I WANT TO VOTE FOR ALMOST ALL OF THEM. Seriously, Elizabeth Wein is a soul eating monster, but I love her and you need to feel the pain I feel. (Plus I really think you’d like all the girlpower.) ALSO. I love holly Black and Cassandra Clare. I’ve actually just ordered Tithe (!!) and it should get here sometime in the…near…future? I hope. I got an email that said it’d take like a month. boo. BUT ANYWAY. Coldest Girl in Coldtown made me like vampires for the first time ever. :’) And OF COURSE I LOVE ALL THE STIEFVATER BOOKS. I love Shiver, even though I think it’s her weakest book. Ballad and Lament are better than Shiver, buuuut the third book hasn’t come out in like 5 years. So there’s that awkwardness.
    I loved Graceling a LOT.
    Buuut, I’m not a fan of Marie Lu. 😦

    SO VOTES. I vote for City of Ashes (and Clockwork simultaneously cause, c’mon). And Lament. And Rose Under Fire. And Graceling. And White Cat (because fjadskl crime families and sociopaths).

    • nevillegirl says:

      “A soul eating monster” is the kind of author I’d like to be, tbh. 😛 OOH and GIRLPOWER. Girls being badasses in WWII = perfection. *whispers* Case in point: Peggy Carter.

      Thanks for voting! 😀

    • Miriam Joy says:

      Maggie said she isn’t going to write the third Faerie book, Requiem. For reasons. Mostly to do with artistic development and things. I was very upset at first but I’ve come to terms with it; I will always have Ballad and James Morgan (my heart…) and I would rather she didn’t write the third one than wrote one that wasn’t good or somehow destroyed Ballad’s glorious ending, you know?

    • nevillegirl says:

      Aw, that sucks. But on the other hand, it ALSO sucks when authors screw up the endings of their stories by adding more. I see this a lot in movie franchises, actually… :/

  8. Pingback: Plans For The Summer Of 2015 | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

